TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

440 Irish troops prepare for peacekeeping deployment to Lebanon

Irish soldiers were first sent to Lebanon in 1978. Last month, Minister Shatter appointed Frank Callanan SC to review information surrounding the deaths of three Irish soldiers there in 1989.

Irish Defence Forces undergoing training today at the Glen of Imaal in Co Wicklow.
Image: Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland

HUNDREDS OF IRISH TROOPS are preparing for their deployment to Lebanon as part of the UN’s peacekeeping mission there, the UN Interim Force in Lebanon (UNIFIL).

The Dail approved the deployment of 440 troops to UNIFIL on 21 April, which Minister for Defence Alan Shatter said completed the ‘Triple Lock’ mechanism under which the UN, government and Dáil must grant approval before Irish troops are given the go-ahead to deploy.

An advance Defence Forces team will travel to southern Lebanon on 23 May before the main bulk of the troops are sent over on 23 and 26 June.

Today, the soldiers have been participating in the final phase of their training sessions to simulate situations they may face once deployed. The exercises include simulated explosions, helicopters and armoured personnel carriers.

Minister Shatter has described Ireland’s participation in the UN’s Lebanon operations as “an illustration of the very positive and practical difference that small countries like Ireland can make in the world’s trouble spots by supporting the United Nations”.

“It is vitally important for Ireland to maintain a level of commitment to international peacekeeping operations and the obligations it has assumed through its membership of the UN,” he said.

Review of Lebanon deaths

Irish peacekeepers were first deployed to Lebanon in 1978. Last month, Shatter appointed senior counsel Frank Callanan to review issues regarding the deaths of Irish soldiers Cpl Fintan Heneghan, Pte Mannix Armstrong and Pte Thomas Walsh while serving with UNIFIL in 1989.

In a statement, Shatter said new information had come to light since the Department of Defence conducted its review of the deaths in 2003 and decided not to pursue a further investigation. Callanan is expected to present a report to the minister within three to four months.

Forty-eight Irish soldiers have died while on duty in Lebanon.

Read next:

Comments (22 Comments)

• Barry R. 05/05/11 #

Brian and Gerry B,
    Without wanting to sound rude, you really don’t understand oir defence forces and the role they play.

Incidentally, I would object if I was a highly trained soldier and was asked to shovel snow !!!! What are county council workers for ?

We used to have a defence force of over 14,000 when the IRA threat was at its height and it is now many thousands less, with many barracks closed. it is ridiculous to suggest we don’t need tje defence forces.
    Its also ridiculous to suggest they don’t use the opportunity to train overseas with other leading military forces. Surely this can only make them better at what they do.

Finally, many of these missions are ‘dry’ so there is NO alcohol at all.

And of course the sun, ahhh yes, standing on guard on a hostile main road, with a 40kg pack on your back in full combats, flak jacket and helmet is great fun !

• Disbanded? Your conveniently forgetting the dissident threat posed at present. So if the army was disbanded what do you suggest as an alternative? As it is the defense budget is minimal. I don’t think the families of the 48 soldiers who lost their lives serving in Lebanon viewed it as a sun holiday do you? Keyboard warriors comes to mind.

• Barry R. 04/05/11 #

The UN !!
    and incidentally has a clause for a premium payment back to the Irish state (almost like a ‘rental’)

This is great value and a great training ground for the troops too !

• Another nice sun holiday, kindly paid for by…??

• Barry R. 05/05/11 #

I actually don’t know how to answer a comment like that.

You demonstrate such a fundamental ignorance of the Ireland defence forces, – just because military aren’t standing on every street corner does not mean they are doing nothing.

Perhaps a stint of national service might make you appreciate it a little more.

Re. army deafness.
    Every modern military force have used ear protection for many years except for….. The Irish. The government did not invest in our military for years and have paid the price and are now playing catch-up.

Finally, if you are ever lucky enough to meet a member of the army ranger wing, why don’t you make your comments to his face :)

• How have you come to this conclusion Gerry? Are you involved firsthand in recruitment? An awful slur on those who proudly serve this country with distinction

• Jeff 05/05/11 #

Highly trained is this the same high trained army that had to buy fat busting pills in 2008 & enforce diets, what do you mean highly trained now long does it take to learn to fire a gun ? and as for tactics are forces haven’t the equipment our technology to fight a modern war ? so why pretend we do.

Perhaps you mean highly trained in regards to how to sue the government for deafness and stress in relation to firing there guns or just doing there job. Is this the same highly trained army that was so busy it could only send 50 “soldiers” to fight the fire’s in Donegal. In fact the army are always the last of the arms of Government to help out in national or local problems busy pretending been soldiers I guess or keeping a eye on the border, oh wait the border is patrolled by Gardai so what are they doing day 2 day ?.

And lets not forget what this Dads army costs us, yes there is some need to keep a token force and Rangers, IED teams but the rest ? if they wanted to be real soldiers they would join the Royal Irish Regiment, Irish Guards, USMC, are French Foreign Legion, where I sure they would have more to worry about than “standing on guard” and the comfort of there uniform.

€827,479m this year + €209,000m pensions
    - scrap most of the army, keep just two part time battalions for internal security
    - keep the navy as is
    - scrap all the silly pretend fighter jets in the Aer Corps

We don’t have the money for this pretend Dad’s army any more

• Perhaps you might recheck your figures on salaries Jeff!!Perhaps years ago pensions were these figures but not for new recruits.I know my sons take home wage is doesnt exceed 400 euro,He is currently in the Lebanon,I dont know what he earns but he tells me the time is flying in as they are constantly working,they arent allowed to drink over there and my son is doing a marathon ther shortly.Please keep your biggoted view s to yourself and I hope you or your family never need the help of the army that im sure would serve you well!

• Two part time battalions? So your happy to let the security of the state in hands of glorified sandbags? Your ignorance in all matters relating to the defense of the state astounds me.

• Jeff 05/05/11 #

1st rule of defence planning is to define the enemy and plan according ? Who is the enemy ?… and before you say “dissident threat”. The Gardai, Rangers & a few part time battalions are well capable of dealing with it. Certainly the ordinary solders isn’t helping 2 deal with that “threat” at the moment.

• Jeff 06/05/11 #

So to sum up Barry R. & Alan Kelleher point then, we have a army in case the North goes “rogue !!..” manges to beat the British Army, NATO, & we will stop the Northern Hords with soldiers that apart from a hand full of good one’s are military useless. But lets not forget the armies important role in cash transfers !!.. is it really sometime the army should be doing? For the saving made doing away with the army I sure we can get more armed Gardai, that can also arrest anyone trying to rob the cash transfer too & I don’t see Para’s putting that on there cash transfer on there CV.

As for a problem with the army i have no problem with the army and served after 303 enfield (great rife) was retired for 4 years which was great fun and proud to do it. But anyone in the FCA that wants to be a serious soldier doesn’t join the Irish army, 1/3 my squad end up in the Royal Irish or USMC. My problem with the Irish Army is that it is a joke and a expensive 1 at that and represent little value to the taxpayer.

However if your serious about defence you need to spend more ? is this really a area we want to ? I doubt it ? so why billion’s on something that a useless waste in peace time & is a little less than useless if we are in a war, Lets face it a invasion from space is a more serious threat to us that the UDA etc driving tanks through the Dail gates.

PS if you really think the “North” is a threat perhaps we should attack them 1st !!… but with what ?..

• The defense forces have served throughout the globe on numerous un and nato missions which is common knowledge. And many have given their lives whilst serving. Unless you think it’s far more dignified for our lads to die in Afghanistan or Iraq? Billions? What planet are you on. The defense budget is minuscule at present. Having served for a considerable period in the fca/rdf and coming from a family of df personnel all this talk of lads joining the marines etc etc is pure bull. These options only become popular during times of stagnation in recruitment and it’s a well known fact that many of those unsuccessful in the df recruitment process travel north which is seen as having a lower entry requirements. So what do the 2 armchair generals view as an alternative to the current defense force? I’m all ears lads and spare me copying and pasting reams from various Dublin rags. Genuine opinions please. Its glaringly obvious Ye both have a major bee in yere bonnets, perhaps Ye failed the Medical in bricins all those years ago or you didn’t get to keep the greycoat when you done your time with the free cloths association :)

• Gerry b 04/05/11 #

Fair point Barry, I cant say for sure whether or not the UN payments exceed any contribution Ireland makes.

However I do know many who have served in Lebanon, Cyprus etc – they look forward to it like a holiday. Huge tax free pay, loads of boozing and very little work.
    Btw …Training for what ?? These useless feckers were shamed into shovelling a bit of snow last December and then had the cheek to demand extra pay as clearing public walkways was not their role! If we can’t rely on them to do the occasional bit of snow clearing when the country is ground to a halt, you hardly expect them to be competent enough to defend us in the event of attack..@

• dead right Gerry. I too know loads of these people who as you said look forward to a free holiday . this ‘army’ is in no state to defend this country. no slur on the lads involved is intended, it’s just the system is crap. this army is a huge waste of money and is of minimal benefit to the country and as a result should be disbanded

• Barry R. 05/05/11 #

@jeff
    I can only finish this now and move on as there is simply no sense in what you are saying.

In the most benign way possible I say to you that you really don’t understand the topic you are discussing and I cannot provide reasoned argument back to you.

• Gerry b 05/05/11 #

Mr Redmond, I am surprised at someone like urself being so defensive of the Irish army. True as with most large organisations there are always a “few good men”, but I think its fair to say the army is primarily made up of dropouts/pissheads and thugs, that are in fact more likely to be colluding with the above mentioned enemies.

• Jeff 06/05/11 #

Still haven’t answer the core issue ? what’s it for ?… and what benefit is there to Ireland, seem you saying its for show and we spend close to a billion on the army each year ? to keep up with the international Jones. As for UN missions what use was the Irish army in Lebanon as by all they could do is say “down with that sort of thing” as the IDF tanks rolled by, could to think of it if there is any danger in a UN mission funny enough the Irish Army tends to skip that mission. Is that because we don’t have the equipment and training ? and would just get in the way of the premier league armies. Where was the Army in Bosnia, the 1st Gulf army, Korean war etc or any UN mission where it was more than a police action ?

Also this personal abuse you keep throwing most unbecoming someone with “service” RDF history, but not a surprise as brawn seems to be more important than brains in our “military”

But you are right I never wanted or tried to join the army as its not for me, it was fun in school & collage but then, I did grow up !!.. and lets face it no cash in soldiering and certainly while you “guarding” something I prefer to be actually doing something constructive.

Lets stop pretending we have a modern army and spend the money on something we actually need.

PS didn’t know we are now part of NATO missions perhaps you better tell the Enda (training or gun shows doesn’t count as a mission)

• Jeff 05/05/11 #

So let me get this straight, you don’t know what they do either ?. And the only way I can “appreciate” the role of the army, is if I join up and stand around doing nothing waiting for a war we can’t win and wouldn’t fight…

As for a stint of national service we as a ex FCA man which even I will admit it was a joke, it seemed to be get us ready for a Somme style offensive as Irish army tactics seem little changed, which came in handy when filming Saving Private Ryan & Braveheart. But the was some hope that after the army had lost any war we would help form a some sort of resistance army !!.. assuming HQ burned our files with our names and addresses on it.

Apart from deafness which didn’t seem to be a problem for soldiers of WW1 WW2, or Korea War armies or any army until lawyers & health and safely made it a issue. Defence Forces personnel have taking cases against the government for post-traumatic stress disorder after witnessing deaths, injuries or gun battles while on overseas duty. ? WTF….. battles are stress full ? our perhaps it was the stress of “guarding”. A number of soldiers have already successfully sued the state for damages, with one former private getting more than €300,000 in damages for doing his job.

As for a Ranger I believe I would be very lucky to meet 1 as the career path of a Ranger seems to involve getting out of the Rangers as soon as possible. So that you can earn big money as a soldiers of fortune in Iraq or world trouble spots etc guarding the UN or VIP’s.

The Irish army is a joke… we can’t afford, we not going to fight any wars and know 1 is going to invade us ? why pretend we have a modern army, we don’t, and we don’t need it.

“Semper Fi”

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/courts/experts-dispute-army-mans-claim-of-stress-2068448.html

• You seem to have a major grievance with the defense forces which have moved on from the days of 303 rifles and bulls wool uniforms! Training is of a high standard and those who serve overseas are held in high esteem by there foreign counterparts. Should the situation up north deteriorate who’ll be called up to secure the border? Who provide security for cash in transits? Who represent Ireland on an international level? Bomb disposal and in recent years “dogs bodies” during flooding etc etc. The gardai are no way equipped to cope with these scenarios. Comments regarding the deafness claims taken onboard however things have changed greatly in recent years and with the slow down in recruitment units will gradually become more streamlined. Don’t be basing your opinions on the df on a few drunken weekends in the glen of immal playing soldiers mate

Add New Comment