TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 7 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

The 9 at 9: Sunday

Every morning, TheJournal.ie brings you the nine things you need to know as you kick off your day.

Image: Lilyana Vynogradova via Shutterstock

EVERY MORNING, TheJournal.ie brings you the nine things you need to know as you kick off your day…

1. #POWER CUTS: Hundreds of homes are without electricity this morning as heavy gusts knocked out power lines overnight. ESB Networks said it is working to fix the faults as soon as possible.

Meanwhile, Gardaí have urged caution on the country’s roads this morning due to fallen trees and debris.

2. #ROADS: There was devastating news for one Cork family this morning as a 32-year-old woman died in a car crash at Ballinneen overnight. She was the front-seat passenger of the vehicle.

3. #RIP: A number of politicians have spoken out this morning about the abuse written online about Shane McEntee in the two weeks before he died by suicide. Fine Gael TDs spoke with both the Sunday Independent and Sunday Times about how upset the 56-year-old was about the “public vitriol” that followed his comments about the respite care grant cut. The junior minister will be laid to rest after a funeral mass in his native Meath tomorrow.

4. #GANG RAPE: The victim of a vicious gang-rape has recounted her ordeal to police, on the same day as authorities banned related demonstrations in Delhi. The Hindustan Times reports that the 23-year-old student told detectives that she was raped and physically abused by six men on an off-duty bus.

5. #NEW PARTY? A MillwardBrown/Sunday Independent poll has shown that 50 per cent of voters feel there is a need for a new political party in Ireland.

6. #PROPERTY: The Sunday Business Post reports that 185 properties were sold for more than €1 million this year, a jump of 29 on 2011 figures. And the actual average spend for the homes was €1.99 million.

7. #DEBT DEAL: Enda Kenny told a number of reporters, including Stephen O’Brien of the Sunday Times, that there is a June deadline for EU leaders to indicate to international markets how they will write-down Ireland’s massive bank debt.

8. #EGYPT: Amid claims of fraud by Opposition parties, the ruling Islamists in Egypt said the majority of voters had backed a controversial constitution in a two-round referendum

9. #STRICTLY: BBC’s feel-good family show Strictly Come Dancing annihilated the competition in the annual winter Saturday-night television ratings battle, wiping the floor with the jaded X Factor in recent weeks. And the presence of Olympic star Louis Smith could well have been one of the contributing factors. The silver medallist at London was named this year’s champion last night, stating he can “finally say I won something in the year 2012″. His showdance with partner Flavia Cacace earned him a perfect score:

Read next:

Comments (18 Comments)

• my deepest condolences to the McEntee family at there sad loss ,however i would like to make the point that this is what this governments policies are doing to people,everyday we hear of another suicide because people cant cope ,and sadly its going to keep happening ,this government need to realise people can only take so much and i think they need to start rethinking there policies of targeting the vulnerable time and time again ,its clearly not working and is causing devastation all over the country .its time to grow a backbone Enda and Gilmore ,take on the people responsable and leave ordinary people alone !!!!!!!!!

• Well said Marion I totally concur with everything youve said and now that it has hit closer to home they might realise the destruction they are causing to peoples lives. I dont think its time for them to grow a back bone though as I think they are incapable of that, I think its time for them to go but no they won’t do that, they will cling on to power for as long as they can uncaring of the misery they are causing to good peoples lives. Well are a very tolerant nation but everyone has a breaking point.

• these leaching bastards will go as soon as the majority of the people tell them enough is enough and not a minute before this happens!! we are the reason they get away with it, nobody else to blame but us for not standing up against them!! If we don’t stand together in 2013 and demand change we will all be crying about the same sh1t again next Christmas, mark my words!!

• Sorry just seen it now, so sad R.I.p.

• Are you kidding me? Are politicians suggesting that public response to the minister’s ill-conceived remarks may have somehow been a cause of his death? That is a bit of a stretch, don’t you think?

• If he had to lie repeatedly to constituents it would contribute significantly to mental ill-health. Also, he was the first in his family as a politician, so probably had great intentions but didn’t know what he was getting himself into.

May he rest in peace.

• Dreadful news but at least the catholic church have moved into the 21st century and are allowing him a funeral.

• It is indeed a terrible tragedy for the Family of Shane McEntee. and i send my condolences to them.
    Our politicians made decisions which destroyed and cowed a country and that is unforgivable. And it must be no surprise that the public in their desperation and helplessness will voice their anger at politicians.The politicians should pray that the anger expressed in emails etc stays there and not boil over on to the streets.

• You doing a Westboro Baptist Church on him then?

• Irish people have a lot of humanity, and so I express my condolences and nothing added.

• Vinnie is only stating a fact and he is correct and right in doing so. We all know what happens when you bottle something up inside for too long so imagine what will happen when the majority of the country snaps and it’s coming. As I’ve been saying for a long time now it will be too late for platitudes from the 1% when that happens!! By all means ignore this and say it’s only the ramblings of one man but some day you will regret not doing all you could to demand change while the mood was still semi-normal.

• where the hell did my comment go?? As I was saying this is hpw they will sell it to the sheeple to try keep them quiet but to also feed their denial. That’s how this system works ya see!! The fact is we have the blood of this poor man and all that have went before him on pur hands due to our collective silence. Nothing will change in this country until the majority are seen to be demanding it and unfortunately for those who’ve been demanding it for a while now at this stage we are only a small voice until the rest of ye come and join us. Do you not want something different for you and your kids in 2013???

• I would like to begin by offering my condolences to the family and friends of Minister McEntee, and I would then like to say that I am disgusted at the level of comments above. Are people really so sensitive?

A few things to point out:

1. The fact that someone above has more or less said that he has gotten his just deserts for the stance he took on policy is absolutely abhorent! To say that it is only another suicide is beyond the ridiculous! Every time a life is taken, by ones self or another is only tragic!

2. As a member of the Young Fine Gael National Executive (watch the hate flow in for showing my political views from all the trolls on here) I have met with a fair few members of the government. I have yet to meet one thatll tell you they are having fun. This just proves that the “gravy train” is not as sweet as many believe. These people have the fate of a struggling country on their backs, and for one day I think people could leave aside the politicised comments with regard to Mr McEntee’s death. Believe me, its not fun opening mail to read that some one is going to take your life in their hands. The constant flow if abuse is spectacular. I very much respect the right to lobby and protest,I do it myself, but when you see the utter disregard for the tough position these men and women find themselves in it is little wonder that he let it get to him.

All I ask is for one thing, leave it alone until he is in the ground, let his family grieve and leave politics out of a tragic loss of life.

• if the constant flow of abuse is spectacular well then do something about it already!! I’m sorry I agreed with most of your post and for me I couldn’t care less of your political affiliations, in fact I don’t care who’s in power as long as they’re doing all they can for the people who elected them and this is not the case at the minute!! You will be wasting your time trying to convince me otherwise as I stopped being so easily lied to back in 2007 when my friend woke me from my slumber. Also if any politician cannot stand the heat well then get out of the kitchen and ask themselves why did they apply for the job in the first place cos it’s not like people were under any illusion as to where we were as a nation. I’ll say it again, RIP to the man but things have to change majorly around here or he most definitely won’t be the last to crack under the pressure.

• do any of these politicians give a damm when some ordinary person reach’s the deepest of depresions and takes their own life due to theuncaring policies that THEY brought in? if they had the slightest bit of decency and moral conviction they would have voted down the cuts in the budgetm they would have done more to ensure that the burden of this financial mess was born by those that were responsable for its creation, they would have started any cut backs at the top and led by example ,taking a proper cut in their own pay and pensions ,not a measley 2.5 % cut but a 30 to 50% cut, they would have closed all the tax loopholes that allow their very wealthy friends to get away with paying nothing, and they would have stamped down on the disgusting amounts being paid to former politicians in pensions and saleries on government advisory board. face up to the truth mr murphy, the political classes DO NOT give a hoot about the ordinary people who are suffering ,or those who have been so desparete that they take their own lives, but they expect us to shoulder the blame when its one of theirs.

• sad news from cork ?

Add New Comment