TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 17 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

The 9 at 9: Sunday

Good morning! Here’s the nine stories you need to know as you start your day.

Image: Pinkcandy via Shutterstock

EVERY MORNING, TheJournal.ie brings you the nine stories you need to know as you start your day.

1. #OPINION POLL: A new opinion poll shows support for Fianna Fáil continues to increase with the party jumping six percentage points to 22 per cent, making it the second most popular party in the country. The party’s leader Micheál Martin is now the most popular party leader in the country, according to the Sunday Times Behaviour and Attitudes poll.

2. #GAZA: Israel has struck two buildings in Gaza City overnight, injuring several journalists on the fifth day of attacks on the territory. The BBC reports that 48 Palestinians and three Israelis have been killed since Israel launched Operation Pillar of Defence on Wednesday.

3. #SAVITA: Fine Gael is pushing to introduce guidelines for abortion in Ireland in a bid to avoid having to vote on legislation, the Sunday Business Post reports this morning. Thousands of people attended protests across Ireland yesterday to mark the death of Savita Halappanavar.

4. #FRONTLINE: RTÉ is to publish a report into the Frontline presidential debate of October 2011 – and the notorious ‘Tweetgate’ which was seen as fatally damaging to Seán Gallagher’s campaign for the Áras – today. The report will state that a number of mistakes were made by the broadcaster but that they were not made as a result of bias.

5. #MISSING: Police investigating the disappearance of missing 22-year-old Sarah Cafferkey in Australia have found a body at a house in Melbourne. The Australian reports that the body is believed to be the missing woman, who has family connections to Achill Island, and who was last seen on 9 November.

6. #REFERENDUM: The president of the Union of Students in Ireland has defended the student turnout at last weekend’s referendum on children’s rights after a Fine Gael TD criticised students for failing to get out the vote. John Logue hit back at the criticism, saying that many students had been unable to return home to vote because they were still waiting for their first grant payment and could not afford the fare.

7. #TRIBUNAL: The Sunday Times reports that Conor Haughey, the son of former taoiseach Charles Haughey, is to sue the Mahon tribunal for defamation after he was mistakenly named in the final report of the inquiry after being mixed up with his brother.

8. #CRIME: The number of people convicted for white collar crime offences has dropped significantly in recent years, according to new figures released in a parliamentary question to Labour TD Robert Dowds. RTÉ reports that the figures also show that there are no solicitors or barristers and only two accountants employed by the Garda Bureau of Fraud Investigation.

9. #EU 2012: Minister for Justice Alan Shatter is to use Ireland’s forthcoming presidency of the European Union to seek the expansion of an EU-wide system of confiscation bodies similar to Ireland’s Criminal Assets Bureau. Britain has followed Ireland’s lead but the Justice Minister is aiming to see similar bodies created across Europe.

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (17 Comments)

• Oh how we for get that in such a short space of time that M Martin, was a happy member of a party that for decades, milked the system – enriched a few elites and one ran this country into the wall! If his popularity rises then we are doomed to sit in a spiral of persistence servitude – and i am gobsmacked that this news is filtering through. Anyone noticed yet how easy it is to be in opposition – Gilmore was a product of that; and what’s to say it will be different again. These guys like Micheal Martin are ‘professional’ representatives – people who would stand up for anything if it followed the voting stats and paid the mortgage and pension (like his mentor Bertie) and would rely on the hundreds of specialist report rather than risk is own opinion and judgement. Chemeleons the lot of them – no wonder we have no leaders in this country capable of getting us out of this mess.

• Sorry, but guidelines are not good enough.

• Guidelines! Absolutely not! Nothing less than legislation is required , they must not be allowed to do this.

• Fianna Fail on the rise. No surprise there. Martin is quite an affable chap. FG are strong but they and FF always had a big base. But it’s down to Labour abandoning their base vote. They have ignored poverty and the poverty trap in favour of pronouncements on social change. Social change is grand but when people can’t afford to eat then it should not the priority. All I’ve heard from Gilmore recently is on the subject of gay marriage . that is laudable but I’m sure people would prefer to be free of economic slavery first. Hard to care about gay marriage when you’re skipping meals. A leftie uptopia with hungry people? We have that already its’ called north korea.

• One of the problems with democracy is that citizens who don’t know what they want get to vote.

Hence we have the goldfish-memory effect contributing to the FF lift in the polls

• thats because we have very little choice…..I voted FG because not alone was i very angry with FF but Kenny made promises that sounded like change was really going to come about,alas it was not to be, so basically I will never vote in this country again, whats the point?, FF/FG would get in to same bed just to hold power, we have seen that independants are useless, the current shower dont even have the power to kick a tax cheat from their group, so I have decided the best thing to do is just not vote because if I did I would be part of the huge con job/corruptness that is rife in irish politics, in every election we are being told lies yet once we cast our vote we have no recourse at all, and the Horror and reality of it all is evident in the rising support for Martin and FF, …..is someone putting mind altering drugs in our water supply????

• @John: Saying you will never vote again is disappointing as it is very much possible that there are many more like you. When election turnouts are low, it tends to be the radical and fringe elements of political society that win. No matter how mediocre, incompetent or two-faced our middle-of-the-road parties and politicians are – and I include not only FF, FG and Labour in that, but also the ULA, things could get a lot worse with a radical right-wing (e.g. neo-Nazi, or fundamentalist religious) or radical left-wing (old Soviet-style) representation.
      This is because those who vote for a thriving, but fair society are somewhere in the middle. They are the first to get disillusioned with poor politicians. Those who support radical policies will continue to the bitter end.

Keep voting for the best of a bad lot. Otherwise it could get worse.

• Yes, the are putting something in the water supply. It’s called fluoride and it makes people dumb and apathetic.

• Fianna Fail (blaming Fine Gael & vise versa) will promise the sun, moon & stars to get back into power, unfortunately their leader Michael Martin (who had a RDS conference while next door hundreds queued for a Canada jobs expo to emigrate) is suffering amnesia before Bertie had to leave Fianna Fail, they are useless, is Martin paying for people to do these surveys? Unfortunately Fine Gael & Labour (who are not really Left) are no better.

• To loose ones baby is difficult enough to loose ones life as a result of non action is a crime against humanity.
    where is the compassion of those who claim to be followers of the Christ. They must ask themselves what would the Man who refused to stone the woman taken in adultry have done.

• Infamous Vincent Browne episode, at 0:20 http://youtu.be/LQ7vsqfOuYo where Fine Gael TD Eoghan Murphy finally admits they do not know where the unsecured bail-outs will end or leave Ireland

• FF it seem`s voters not so long ago were eyeing up every dtfeet lamp to leave FF hanging from but I suppose all that is happening now its easy to forgive I do hope that FF have cleaned up their act and got rid of the myself act I`m glad to see LB doing so bad in the polls long may it contiue for as long as they hurt the working people in Irelando

• I can’t believe that the people of Ireland would be so incredibly stupid as to turn back to Fianna Fail after everything they were guilty of the last time around!

• sorry for the mix up in my post FF. could not get it back to sort it

• Labour and Eamon Gilmore in particular have become a laughing stock. As for FG, it doesn’t say much about their belief in themselves, when they felt it was necessary to tell blatant lies so as to get elected. FFS they couldn’t lose! The crimes committed against the ordinary people of Ireland by FF and the Greens would ensure in most democracies, that they shall never be given power again!

Add New Comment