You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

GOOD MORNING

The 9 at 9 It’s Thursday – and here’s everything you need to know before 9am.

EVERY MORNING, TheJournal.ie brings you the nine stories, a little before nine, you need to know with your morning coffee.

1. #SHOOTING Gardaí continue to investigate the shooting of a man in Clondalkin last night. The  critically injured man has been named as Michael Frazier, a car dealer known to gardaí, who drove himself to a garda station after being shot.

2. #JOHN DUNDON The legal team for John Dundon has begun to review his conviction for the murder of Shane Geoghegan, in the wake of the GardaGate taping scandal, the Daily Mail reports. They believe their conversations were taped by gardaí.

3. #MEETING US President Barack Obama and Pope Francis are to meet for the first time today at the Vatican. Ahead of his visit, Obama said that the Pope “implores us to remember people, families, the poor”.

4. #PARAMEDICS Almost half of paramedics checked in a HSE inspection of one region did not have Garda clearance, the Irish Times reports. Professional competency training of paramedics in some areas was also found to be in need of “urgent attention”.

5. #IT’S A GIRL Deputy Lucinda Creighton has given birth to a bouncing baby girl, the Daily Mail reports. The 8lb 10 ounce baby was born yesterday to Creighton and husband Senator Paul Bradford.

6. #RIP Fine Gael Nicky McFadden will be laid to rest today in Athlone. McFadden died following a long battle with Motor Neurone disease and her family have asked for donations to the Irish Motor Neurone Disease Association or the Irish Guide Dogs for the Blind.

7. #GARDAGATE Gardaí sought advice from the Data Protection Commissioner on how to dispose of illegally-obtained recordings four days before Taoiseach Enda Kenny was told about the practice, the Irish Times reports. Meanwhile, former Justice Ministers told us if they knew about the garda recordings.

8. #EXECUTIONS The number of people executed worldwide rose by more than 15 per cent last year. At least 369 people were executed in Iran, 169 in Iraq, 79 in Saudi Arabia and 39 in the United States. Amnesty International said the ‘virtual killing sprees’ were “shameful”.

9. #INQUEST Tom O’Gorman died from blunt force trauma to the head and stab wounds to the neck and chest, his inquest has heard. The Herald says he was identified using DNA sampling from his siblings. Saverio Bellante has been charged with his murder.