TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

The 9 at 9: Wednesday

Good morning. Here are nine things to know as you start your day.

A Journal mug* for anyone who knows the footballer. *not really
Image: PA/PA Archive/Press Association Images

EVERY MORNING, TheJournal.ie brings you nine things you need to know as you kick off your day.

1. #MAGDALENES: Survivors of the Magdalene Laundry system have been invited to contact the Department of Justice as the redress process begins today. The move comes after the Taoiseach’s formal apology to the women in the Dáil yesterday evening. Describing the practice of sending girls and women to the laundries as “a national shame” and quoting a line from a song ‘Whispering Hope’, Enda Kenny choked up before concluding, “Let me hope that this day and this debate – excuse me – heralds a new dawn for all those who feared that the dark midnight might never end.”

2. #SOUTH AFRICA: Oscar Pistorius is back in court today to hear if he will be granted bail by the South African magistrate. The 26-year-old athlete stands accused of the pre-meditated murder of model Reeva Steenkamp. The Paralympian insists he did not intend to shoot his girlfriend.

3. #LIGHT UP: Gardaí have set up check points around the country today to intercept drivers who have broken, missing or inappropriate lights on their vehicles. Motorists who do not satisfy legal requirements will be hit with an on-the-spot fine of €60.

4. #TALKS: As tensions between rank-and-file gardaí and senior management mounts, Commissioner Martin Callinan is to meet with the central executive of the Garda Representative Association this morning. Members want to “convey their dire financial circumstances” amid talks on pay cuts and reform.

5. #HACKED OFF: Apple is the latest tech company to admit it was targeted by hackers. However, the firm insisted no data was stolen during the attack.

6. #CHILD BENEFIT: An expert group report on child benefit is to be published today. According to the Irish Times, it recommends a two-tier system which would qualify only families earning less than €25,000 for maximum payments.

7. #ROADS: Four adults and three children were injured in a three-car collision on the M50 last night. Gardaí say the man drove his car the wrong way down the southbound section near Sandyford.

8. #MORTGAGES: The Irish Independent reports on its front page that up to 300,000 homeowners could see their mortgage interest payments rise as AIB plans to increase its variable rates.

9. #AN DAINGEAN: After an eight-year fight, Kerry’s most well-known tourist hotspot will get its name back. To the confusion of many, Dingle was abolished in 2005, and replaced with An Daingean or Daingean Uí Chúis. Councillor Seamus Cosaí Fitzgerald told TheJournal.ie that the change is important to help tourists find their way.

• Over on DailyEdge.ie: Hey you guys, Brian McFadden can really play guitar, Justin Bieber ATTACKS One Direction fan in Dublin, and we love Kelly Brook… it’s The Dredge

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (18 Comments)

• Would please explain the logic in a government that allows a state owned establishment to increase their charges on homeowners whilst also trying to find a way of curtailing the number of people who can’t afford the mortgage charge at its current level! It’s mad hatter stuff! Welcome to Ireland in wonderland!

• It’s an automatic entitlement to receive child benefit, so there should be a 2 tier system.
    Can anyone on this thread justify the single mother unemployed receiving the same benefit as a company director earning over 1 million. It’s absurd, keep benefit levels for those that actually need it

• made 20/02/13 #

AIB announced yesterday that it will do a deal with people who can’t afford their full mortgage and now they’re going putting up the rates????? And just watch as the government say that their hands are tied and cannot do anything about it even though it’s state owned, useless shower of self absorbed ass holes.

• I will only start to respect this government when they reduce there own wages / pensions / expenses. Reducing child allowance makes me sick , hitting the most venerable.

• @rory. Agree completely. It is another form of taxation. Screwing a small minority and taking more money out of the economy.

• Mike Summerbee

• Commissioner Callinan will have to sit and listen today let’s hope it goes in and he starts to protect his troops wellbeing instead of being a puppet for shatter

• “Today we live in a very different country, with a very different consciousness and a very different awareness. An Ireland where we have more compassion, more empathy, more insight, more heart. We do because at last we are learning those terrible lessons”. ~ Enda Kenny

On Friday it will be 4.5 years since I was locked into a backward Psychiatric unit, having reacted to “anti-depressant” medication (which can lead to suicide, violence or in my own case “mania” – there is even a Yale study to back me up on that – http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/11235925). Last year I got some of my records under Freedom of Information. I have experienced 4.5 years of stigma and discrimination, on and off. I was given high doses of medication long term, some of which have lawsuits against the maker. I lost my career. I no longer get a proper nights sleep. I wake up in physical pain.

I no longer take their dangerous drugs or attend Psychiatrists. And my biggest regret was ever going near one in the first place. They are (with some notable exceptions) a drug pushing cult.

So while I wasn’t subjected to slave labour and I realise what went on in the Magdalene Laundries and industrial schools is probably unimaginable, don’t be fooled into thinking we are a great, compassionate nation. Especially when it comes to mental health issues.

Basic EMPATHY and COMPASSION is lacking in some of our “mental health system”. And among family and friends. Some of what I read in my records was untrue and quite damaging emotionally. It was based on prejudice. The HEALING PROCESS has been slowed down by my treatment. How many more have gone through what I went through and far worse, including Electric shock treatment which is still used to this very day. Looking forward to changes in The Mental Health Act and for people to wake up to what is going on in Psychiatry.

[Never stop or change medication without the advice of a good doctor, due to the dangers of withdrawal]

• #lightup a big reason why people have missing bulbs on their vehicles, is because the roads are in such a state with potholes etc. Some are more like lunar landings.

Add New Comment