TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 2 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Community shocked after shooting dead of ‘respected’ Garda detective

Gardaí say there have been no arrests at this stage as an investigation into the shooting dead of Adrian Donohoe gets under way.

Garda Detective Adrian Donohue
Image: Screengrab via Sky News

THE SHOOTING DEAD of Garda Detective Adrian Donohoe at a credit union north of Dundalk in Co Louth last night has left the local community in a state of shock.

Detective Donohoe was described as a “fine, fine fella” by colleagues as local councillors condemned the shooting at the Lordship Credit Union at around 9.30pm last night and said that the community in Jenkinstown was in shock.

Gardaí said this morning there had been no arrests at this stage and an investigation is ongoing. A press conference may be held later today.

Donohoe was a father-of-two who lived less than a mile away from where the shooting happened. He was stationed at Dundalk Garda Station.

Adrian Donohoe death

Gardai man a checkpoint near the scene last night. Pic: Julien Behal.

In a joint statement, Sinn Féin councillors Jim Loughran and Edel Corrigan said: “This is a close knit community where everybody knows each other. This Garda was admired, trusted and respected by all in the locality.

“He and his young family are part if the daily life of the area. We want to express our heartfelt sympathy to the Garda’s family, friends, colleagues and neighbours at this sad time.”

Traumatic

Loughran, who knew Donohoe through the local GAA club, St Patrick’s, condemned those responsible saying they had “attacked a community and must be apprehended”.

“There is no excuse for the murder that took place in our community tonight,” he said. “Those responsible are dangerous criminals who have no decency. They went out to commit a crime and fully prepared to murder anyone who stood in their way.”

The credit union stayed open late on a Friday evening and it is believed that staff were locking up when the attempted robbery took place and the shooting happened.

Adrian Donohoe death

Pic: Julien Behal/PA Wire

Donohoe was with a colleague who is said to be extremely traumatised but otherwise unharmed from the incident. Gardaí say that four people fled the scene, travelling towards Dundalk in a dark coloured car.

The President of the Irish League of Credit Unions (ILCU) Jimmy Johnstone extended his sympathies to the family and those affected by the shooting saying that the ILCU would provide counselling to those involved n the incident.

He said it had been “extremely traumatic and difficult for everyone involved”

“We are not in a position to comment any further at this time as we are co-operating with the  Garda investigation,” he added.

More: ‘This dreadful news is what every police family fears’ – tributes paid to murdered Garda

Read: Garda killed in shooting at Louth credit union

Read next:

Comments (87 Comments)

• Take down the dressing of this man being a detective , three kids two young left without a father and no doubt a wife left husbandless because of cowardly bastards it makes you ill. RIP.

• I am so so sorry to hear this horrible news.
    A wife and two children left behind.
    Every Garda in the country will be saddened by this and every family member will always wonder if their husband/wife dad/nam will come home again at the end of the tour of duty.

They do not get enough credit.

R.I.P

• The Lord have mercy on him , may he rest in peace.

• Three kids grow up without a Dad they loved. How terribly sad.

• Rip to a brave guard and deepest sympathies to his family. Shatter if you read our comments please note..zero tolerance enact it NOW don’t talk about it DO IT

• David 26/01/13 #

Alan Shatter should resign, he is overseeing a crime wave and has proved he has not the empathy or mental capacity to tackle it. Justice must be harsh and quick in this case. A message has to be sent out, you commit murder, the keys get thrown away forever. My heart bleeds for those kids and his wife.

• Shatter doesn’t talk about “zero tolerance”, he’s more about seeing the criminal as a victim of society horsesh1t. Prisons cost money, so it seems his two-pronged approach is to reduce the ability of the Garda to catch the criminal, while reducing the prisons to hold them in.

• This is not the time and place for party politics. RIP to this brave man and condolences to his family and friends.

• Thankfully with Ireland’s shitebag “gangsters” they will not be able to keep their mouths shut about the perpetrators who carried this out and Gardaí will know exactly who they’re looking for in a few days.

• ENOUGH IS ENOUGH! How many more ordinary decent people going about their daily lives have to die/ be assaulted/ live in fear everyday of their lives because of these spineless Individuals! It’s time to take them to task; catch them, bring them to court and punish them, appropriately!! No more of this slap on the wrist rubbish.

• Another victim of habitual criminals, if we could only get these people to import garlic maybe then would they be locked up for a while.
    I am truly saddened for this man’s family and I hope these People are quickly caught and punished

• RIP his poor family. People should remember this sacrifice and the dangers all gardai face everyday when they call for a cut in their pay etc. our frontline public servants deserve our respect

• May he rest in peace died doing his job such tragedy

• This is terrible! It’s a very dangerous job especially when the criminals on the streets are carrying guns and most guards don’t.. R.I.P

• rip det garda donohoe and deepest sympathy to his wife and children and his extended family. these people must be brought to justice and locked away for a very long time as they had every intention of shooting someone-why else would they have guns with them. they should not get free legal aid either if they look for it-this is a joke and is paid for by the people.it likely not the first time they have been involved in robberys like this

• There is no deterrent to commit crime in this country.
    We need big fines for those who commit crime but are not a physical dander to society. If they can’t pay, seize and sell assets.
    We need to lock up criminals who ARE a physical danger to society. Prison needs to be a place you would NOT want to go back to.
    Judges need to apply the law fully! It should be no concern of theirs that prisons are full – that’s the MoJ’s problem and we are his paymaster.

• rip det garda donohoe and heartfelt sympathy to mrs donohoe and children and to all the family . these people need to be caught and none of this free legal aid when they come to court. the whole thing of legal aid is a joke. its likely not the first time they robbed places

• May he rest in peace.

Alan Shatter has a lot to answer for. His systematic disassembling of Án Garda Siochána through slashing head count, new roster, overtime bans, etc., has emboldened criminals and gouges. They believe they’ve a better chance of not getting caught, so crime is rising, stretching the already diminishing resources of An Garda. Shatter must reverse his cutbacks now.

• No love for Alan Shatter but he didn’t plan the robbery, he didn’t supply guns to the toe-rags and he didn’t force them to shoot him.

Incidents like this would happen irrespective of how much budget the Gardai get or who is in charge.

Deepest sympathy to the man’s family

• Bullshit Colin, this is a new breed now, them lads were firing shots at the gardai, you read stories about car chases where the gardai are rammed and injured regularily enough. They (gardai) get ran out of estates in Moy Ross and parts of Dublin by nothing more than little scrotes in hoodies who’s parents are fckin usesless and can’t keep tabs on them. There is a breakdown in the system here. I am not saying it is not a worthy cause but can we please shift the focus from road safety to a more assertive and direct action by the gardai? i don’t see how having gardai sitting on the side of the road or looking for cars with no tax is being productive while you have lads running riot all over the place. Less checkpoints, tax checking can be done by traffic wardens, traffic wardens work for the council, the council is where you pay your road tax, not a garda station.

• Its not merely the gouging of the police force that is to blame here, the legal & penal system are flawed and are no sort of a deterrent. We’re all familiar with the revolving door tag that our prison system has earned. The Justice System is not adequate and while Shatter has inherited a lame duck in taking on the portfolio, at the end of the day its still his responsibility presently. The book stops with the Minister for Justice.

• parts of cork as well like togher, knocknaheeney, mayfield, etc

• marcoop 26/01/13 #

@Tony, I’d like it if more people highlighted areas like you have too because I’ve only picked the old reliables. This needs to be shown to people that dangerous driving isn’t the only everyday occurance here. Just because Dublin was named safest EU city to drive in doesn’t mean the gardai are running a tight ship crime wise..and that’s not their fault either.

• @Marcoop , very well said. Refocus the resources to deal with stuff that harms society, as opposed to hurting revenues income stream (motor tax etc) . That being said, the reduction in deaths on the road is commendable, and drink driving/ speed etc should not be neglected.

• @marc…..guartds can’t even get into knocknaheeney, not to mind be run out of the place…..

• Our thoughts and prayers are with mrs donoghue and her children at this time,
    Your husband will be missed a true gentleman R.I.P

• Life without parole!! F**k the cost! RIP.

• Sincere condolences to his family and colleagues.

• Liam 26/01/13 #

At a time when this country is cutting garda numbers and shutting stations it just goes to show how badly they are needed and for gods sake arm them !

You wouldnt expect a fireman to go to the scene of a fire without water so why a guard without a gun

Rip

• The argument to arm gardaí is irrelevant in this instance because both Gardaí were armed, being plain-clothes detectives. Being armed didn’t save Det. Garda Donohue, God rest him.

Although it’s hard for this to be understood, arming uniformed Gardaí will likely put them at greater risk. It increases the incidence of armed burglary because the criminal won’t want to take the chance without one. Also, if a Garda is going to carry a gun, s/he must be willing to use it.

The first Garda Commissioner, Michael Staines, said that the “Garda Síochána will succeed not by force of arms or numbers, but on their moral authority as servants of the people.” The same that applied 90 years ago applies today.

It was two unarmed, uniformed Gardaí who stood down and arrested the gougers who shot the leg of Charlie Chawke at The Goat a few years ago. Arming the uniformed Garda will not protect them, but increasing manpower, resources, detective units, dedicated police vehicles (not family saloons), will.

• Liam 26/01/13 #

Fair point !

• I wouldn’t be too sure about them being armed. Remember that in order to cut costs, Shatter and his lap dog Callinan decided to take guns away from detectives as the cost of bullets for them to train at the firing range was too high! Oh and when training for use in pepper spray they have to use empty cans and mimic their use! Top class policing!

• Well said.

• Brian back in Michael Staines era people respected the men (at the time) of An Garda Síochána. Don’t think that’s the case now. Murder was a rarity, definitely not the case as for the guard who arrest the sc#m who shot Charlie Chawke. He had the intelligence and bravery to put on a plain jacket and shout armed gardaí at the cowardly sc#mbag! Not sure about arming all gardaí but this country needs to have a think about where it wants to go.

• I have family in the force in that division – and I can tell you my heart FROZE when I heard the news.

We often argue about the rights & wrongs of Garda protocols versus individual freedoms (& that debate will continue) – our shared view is that the principle of the “reasonable person” should prevail.

If an armed Garda is faced with a guy with a gun who appears to point it at him, the Garda must shoot first to protect his own life.

Any subsequent inquest composed of “reasonable people” is likely to conclude that anyone threatening a lawful agent with a deadly weapon has deliberately placed themselves in a situation where their own life may be forfeit.

• If the death penalty still stands for the murder of a Garda then the judiciary should use it otherwise these guys will be sentenced to 15 years and treated like royalty in prison. It’s time to start using the full rigour of the law

• Gail 26/01/13 #

RIP

• What’s with all the thumbs down for messages saying RIP and condolences to his family ?

• Who is leaving all the Red thumbs on the respectful RIP comments? God bless his wife and kids, rip.

• Why are there so many red thumbs? A father of 3 was murdered in cold blood. Show some decency and compassion people.

• Patrick leave politics out of it. They are entitled to pay homage to the man who they have worked with many times within their roles as local representatives. It’s a tragedy of a man protecting his community from Gutter rats See it for what it is.

Ar dheis de raibh a anam.

• Sorry I can’t do that because these murderers hide behind what they consider to be politics. If you commit murder because of ‘politics’ you cannot then pretend that they are two separate issues when it is convenient.

• @Padraic if you have information regarding this heinous crime I suggest you go to the proper authorities and report it?

It seems you know who is responsible or else you are entering libellous territory.

• @Padraic: The people who may have carried this out REJECT politics. Please have some respect and leave your argument for another day.

• The unfortunate part is all these gangsters/psychos use the label “Republican” as their cover for robbing banks, torturing people, killing police, and basically anyone they don’t like or who gets in their way gets their brains blown out. Even Gerry Adams (who I do not like at all) said these are criminals masquerading as “Republicans” in reference to all the these gangsters. When Gerry Adams calls these people “criminals” that says a lot.

• padraig…,you are indeed a fool of the highest order…..

this was dublin crims

• @kevin……it was most likely dublin crims not anyone calling themselves republicans

• A good man has been murdered. We do not need crocodile tears from a bunch of Shinners. RIP.

• Why can’t people leave politics aside for at least a day or two?

For God’s sake have some thought and compassion. For all you know people linked to this family may read this article and comments. They don’t need to read people making cheap political points out of the tragic situation and the death of their loved one.

Why can’t people think for even five seconds before pontificating on their “righteous anger”? There’s a time and place for it and this is not it.

• Shocking. RIP.

• Why would anyone give red thumbs to posts expressing sympathy for this man and his family?

• As a minimum the bastard(s) should never get out again! R.I.P.

• The only deterrent against anything like this happening again is the Death Penalty for anyone convicted of the murder of a member of the Gardai, they deserve that protection

• Ah grow up. Nobody ever condemns their own be they FF, FG, SF, gardaí, doctors or whatever. Don’t try and act like it’s a uniquely SF trait.

• Are you actually talking politics on this article? Muppet

• Fools 26/01/13 #

Bring back the death penalty.

• In the last two years Texas has executed 45 people, in the same time 15 peace officers have been killed in the line of duty and over a thousand murders have been committed , execution is not a deterrent.
      Should Ireland brake with the rest of our European neighbours and join a list of nations that includes the People’s Republic of China, the Islamic Republic of Iran and the Saudi Arabia? I don’t think so.
      Even resent victims of terrorism such as the UK and Norway did not reintroduce capital punishment.

• Just heartbreaking . May he rest in peace . My thoughts are with his family .

• seems to me lads -the crocodile tears are closer to home than you would have us believe.

the fact that some of you are more intent on making unfounded links to sinn Fein and trying to use this tragedy to score politics points is appalling.

The two local SF councillors were right to condemn this brutal attack and offer their sympathies with the Garda’s family, and the best you people can offer the situation is to then go political and condemn the councillors because they have a different party allegiance to you.

Shame on you people, you are a disgrace and are clearly no friends of that poor Garda or his family.

• No Joe – you have drawn the parallel because you have your own political agenda, and its clearly not one which is thinking of that Garda or his family at this time!

• Statement from Sinn Féin Louth County Councillors Jim Loughran and Edel Corrigan on the murder of a Garda in Dundalk,

January 26, 2013

Councillor Jim Loughran has expressed his “heartfelt sympathy with the family friends and neighbours” of the murdered Garda and has condemned the criminals “who have attacked a community and must be apprehended.”

Councillors Jim Loughran and Edel Corrigan who both live within three miles of where the shooting took place said:

“Our whole community is in shock. This is a close knot community where everybody knows each other. This Garda was admired, trusted and respected by all in the locality. He and his young family are part if the daily life of the area. We want to express our heartfelt sympathy to the Garda’s family, friends, colleagues and neighbours at this sad time.

“There is no excuse for the murder that took place in our community tonight. Those responsible are dangerous criminals who have no decency. They went out to commit a crime and fully prepared to murder anyone who stood in their way. Serious crime is leaving communities across the country in fear every day.

“We are asking that everybody help the Gardaí in their enquiries and be respectful of the victims family’s grief.”

• Leave the party politics out of this.

• Mick 26/01/13 #

Is this not extremely similar to the murder of Detective Garda Gerry McCabe. Sinn Fein can issue an immediate condemnation this morning for nothing short if political astethics but ofcourse Gerry McCabe was different. Fair play lads your real decent !

• This is not the place or time for it folks.
      Park the political posturing and allow the Garda’s Family,colleauges and friends come to terms with the sad loss.

• People will draw obvious parallels between this latest tragedy and what has happened in very recent history. Sinn Fein try to say Jerry McCabe’s murder was legitimate fund raising, when he was riddled bullets while he sat in his car (his weapon was on the back seat). Or that young Garda Gary Sheehan murdered in Leitrim was killed by the Irish Army. It’s disgusting to see them now issue hypocritical political statements on the murder of this latest garda, given the history of the IRA murdering gardai and Sinn Fein later justifying it.

• so many queen licking red thumbs here

• Seems to be confusion as to whether the assailants have been caught or not???

• Why would he approach four suspicious men late at night at a credit union involving a lot of cash without drawing his weapon?

Add New Comment