TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

Noonan: There is no way of verifying who AIB bondholders are

Finance Minister Michael Noonan has said that an attempt to verify exactly who the bondholders who received €1 billion this week are would be an “irretrievable” step towards default.

Michael Noonan speaking in the Dáil this evening
Image: Screengrab

FINANCE MINISTER MICHAEL Noonan has said that an attempt to determine a full list identifying bondholders in Allied Irish Banks (AIB) to who €1 billion of a bond was paid this week would be a step towards a default.

Noonan said that a list of bondholders circulating on the internet since 2010 may have a “very large degree of accuracy” but he said that there was no way of verifying the list other than calling a creditors meeting which would be an “irretrievable step of going towards default”.

He was responding to questions in the Dáil from the independent TD Stephen Donnelly who has been heavily critical of bondholder payments and suggested that a creditors meeting would establish their identity.

Donnelly pointed to websites referenced by Noonan when he was in opposition in late 2010 during parliamentary exchanges with the late former finance minister Brian Lenihan.

Donnelly said that Greece, the US and Iceland had all identified bondholders and said it would be the “right thing to do for the people of Ireland” to identify them.

On the list of bondholders he referred to in 2010, Noonan said that while he did reference them, they were not a complete list.

He told the Dáil this evening: “Maybe there was a very large degree of accuracy on that website as to the identity of the bondholders and I have no doubt that some of the names that were mentioned in the newspapers recently about the AIB bondholders, some of them were probably correct.

But there is no way of verifying a complete list of bondholders other than the method you say of calling a creditors meeting but as soon as you’ve done that you’ve taken the irretrievable step of going towards default, if you are bringing the creditors together.

He said that because bonds are in some cases sold on there was no way of identifying their owners, he said that it was a “ridiculous proposition” to call a creditors meeting, indicating it would be a step towards AIB defaulting on loans.

Donnelly rejected this, shouting across the chamber as his mic was cut off and prompting Noonan to criticise the Wicklow TD’s issuing of ‘€1 billion euro banknotes’ earlier this week.

He said: “The bogus bonds that you issued were not guaranteed. A publicity stunt is what you were involved in, a populist publicity stunt on the pretence that your knowledgeable on these matters.”

Read: Troika forced Ireland into repaying €1bn AIB bond – Quinn

Read: AIB repays €1 billion to unsecured bondholders today

Read next:

Comments (105 Comments)

• So we don’t know who we’re paying the money to, but we are still able to send the money. Tell you what, just send the cheque to me.

• WHo do they write cheque to ?

• Sam 04/10/12 #

It’s like as if the government simply couldn’t give a toss! Unbelievable.

• They do give a toss – so much so, they DON’T WANT you to know!

• Yes there is Mr. Noonan!!!!
      Stop paying them and watch them come squealing out of the woodwork like the lice that they are.
      It’s simplicity itself you buffoon!

• Like he has no way of knowing who did the audit of Anglo????….the guy’s lying through his teeth or he’s wholly and utterly incompetant.

• Yep! Couldn’t give a flying fcuk! Leading us to believe that no one else will lend to us if we break the terms of our bailout agreement! Then saying that calling meeting to list these bond holders is a start to default! How much are we going to take from this lot?

• I know one of the Bond Holders, his name is Michael Noonan

• I can guarantee the Vatican is one of the biggest bond holders

• Given Noonan’s response to a perfectly reasonable question I’s suspect the answer would include a number of Irish government ministers, some from other Eurozone governments, Irish banks who have bought their own bonds back at a discount and the usual pillars of Irish society business men and even the odd developer or two. As for Noonan’s claim that it would be like calling a creditors meeting leading to a default that’s will go down in history as one of the most foolish claims ever made in Leinster house (and in fairness we have had lots of foolish claims made in that house) why would those who never expected the Irish to be so stupid as to say no sorry we are not paying rock the boat when they are getting 100% return on their investment even when unsecured? So the question is who is Noonan protecting because it is certainly not the Irish tax payer.

• How come there is no problem knowing what bank accounts these payments need to go to then?!

• And who to call for a meeting.
      And how does he know there’s a “very large degree of accuracy”.

It’s like they can’t be arsed making up good lies anymore!
      We have Riley, “wasn’t me!”
      Noonan, “don’t know!”

• of course there is you lying bald ape.
    Im sure every bond has an account holders name te be made payable to.
    lies lies lies lies lies lies lies lies lies

• What??? I usually like to know who I am paying…

And what’s populist is that 5 point plan and let’s not forget the empty promises before election. Kettle pot black I think.

• Too many people in Government are bondholders. Simple. Noonan is one.

• Yes there is a simple way to find out who the bond holders are,dont pay out and if they bring you to court then you will know who there are.

• And now you know why noonan was at a bilderberg meeting.

• Martin 04/10/12 #

According to his press office , he was looking for investment opportunities for jobs and the like. But surprise surprise he has never said another word about it. No job annoucements related to his audience with the Bilderburgers . no billionaires moving a cent to ireland to open new branches of their empires, Nothing. What was he doing as our finance minister scurrying over cap in hand reporting to that bunch of neo cons. The Irish people should demand to know what treacherous acts he was involved in.

• If the bond holders are un secured then they can’t bring the bank to court

• This article appeared in the Irish Times today…scary stuff if its true!

Sir, – Recent soundings suggest that the Government may not get its hoped-for deal on reducing Ireland’s socialised bank debt. But even if such a deal is announced, it will need to be treated with considerable scepticism. Based on the most recent evidence, the “deal” could well prove a sleight of hand that will end up costing us more in the long run.

Why? Because on March 31st Minister for Finance Michael Noonan pulled a stroke. He claimed to have done a deal to ensure that the €3.06 billion promissory note arising from the debts of the dead Anglo Irish Bank, and due for repayment that day, had been deferred. That note was not deferred, it was paid in full. The Government borrowed the money from Nama to do so. Nama later passed this debt onto Bank of Ireland and the Government’s IOU (or sovereign bond) is now held by the bank. Not only was this a scam, it was also a stitch-up because, whereas the promissory note payment could have been cancelled easily, a sovereign bond is “hard” debt that is more difficult to write down.

We learned the full cost of this deal courtesy of last week’s report from the Comptroller and Auditor General: “The level of Government bonds in issue increased in March 2012 when bonds were issued to meet a promissory note payment of €3.06 billion . . . the State issued bonds with a nominal value of €3.46 billion in order to meet the payment. The yield on the bonds and, therefore, the effective interest rate on the repayment of €3.06 billion, is just over 6.8 per cent.” So if Bank of Ireland, which is 85 per cent privately owned, holds onto this bond until it matures (in 2025) then it will make a profit of almost 7 per cent. Once again, public money is being channelled into the hands of private financiers. Some deal.

Much attention in recent days has focused on the alleged “stroke politics” practised by Minister for Health James Reilly regarding the location of primary care centres. But a much bigger stroke is being pulled with the promissory notes and it is one that will wreak infinitely greater and longer-term damage on Irish society. The Anglo: Not Our Debt campaign is demanding an end to these pseudo-deals and cancellation of this odious and illegitimate debt. – Yours, etc,

• Right on Damo.

This debt was created by people in senior positions in financial organisations. These “people” never had our permission to gamble that money (we own) on properties around the world.

Question…..

Why does our “default” government continue to protect these people while at the exact same time forcefully demand additional funds from the people of Ireland to pay back this debt they created??

….are we too lazy or just not bothered to stand up together and say go fu*k yourself and give them nothing??

• Can someone tell Mr.Noonan to read the Journal and the comments above. I cant add anything to above because ye are all know Mr. Noonan is talking rubbish.

• Absolute lies and nonsense from the same book as “You Wouldn’t Understand”; “Because I’m A Grown Up, That’s Why…”; and “Just, Well…BECAUSE” – seriously, we’re bring held to ransom by clowns working on behalf of crooked accountants. WAKE UP!

• Herein lies the issue Morgan, even if we find out who the bond holders are we as a nation will do nothing! James Reilly has blatantly lied to us in the last 24 hours and we have done nothing! Michael noonan has told us lies here and we will do nothing! There is not one revelation, no matter how sordid or corrupt that will compel the Irish people to do anything!

Bond holder identity is therefore irrelevant because we will do nothing!

• probably because nooners is rumoured to be among them

• I point blank refuse to believe the bond holders and investors are not known to noonan. The holders are recieving moneys taken from the taxes paid to the exchequer . For all we know this could be funding a Columbian drug cartel looking to launder money.
    If we lodge a large amount to our bank account we have to be able to prove where it came from.
    All joking aside,what kind of idiots to they think they are dealing with.

• They are afraid to ask in case some of their own and/or their friends might be exposed?
    Hasn’t one of our politicians already been outed as being a bondholder!

• eoghan 04/10/12 #

Well done Fine Gael a few years since elected and still paying the bondholders “not another red cent enda said”

• your correct owen, but when they got elected not another red cent turned into not another red cent more than the last lot promised. fine gael had two choices when they came to power, tow the line or take the chance and default like Iceland did. they chose to tow the line because when your a politician and getting 50 grand in unvouched expenses plus a big fat salary and pension austerity is not going to hurt you. if they had chose the other path and defaulted the landscape for politicans and top civil servants would have changed dramatically. their big fat salaries and pensions would of had to be consigned to the bin and everyone would have had to take the hit equally. they dont do equality!

• and another thing, if we had decided to default and enda was man enough to go to europe and tell them we were defaulting, they would have shit themselves, at that time they feared that if one country went under the euro was goin down the tubes. Europe haven’t got a clue how to deal with this problem, all they are doing is stumbling from one crises to another and there solution up to now is to fire money at it. This austerity crap is going to grind societies to a halt. its the law of diminishing returns eventually the pot gets smaller and smaller and theres nothing left. All bank debt in europe needs to be at least parked and the bad banks need to be let go to the wall. a realignment is needed. there is, at a vague guess maybe 10,000 people on this planet who own most of the wealth. they need to be burned. the needs of the many far outweight the needs of the few

• Over the decades the people of this Republic have been conditioned to accept crap like this from government ministers. They still feel safe in purveying this unadulterated tripe because their arrogant approach to the electorate has not changed.

• So a small group of bankers and businessmen take a gamble by investing money (that wasnt their own in the 1st place) during the boom for no other reason than greed. Then when the whole thing goes belly-up, our beloved “default” government borrow at extortionate rates and expect the people of Ireland to pay it back??

Am I missing anything here??

Why do the people of Ireland follow the likes of Fianna Fail/Gael like a cult when decisions made by these people of behalf of the people of Ireland only reflect the interest of their own parties???

I can’t keep blaming this government all the time cause we know those promises made where horse-sh*t in the first place. The people who voted in these gangsters in suits should take a long hard think the next time elections come around.

• another very interesting piece from the wall street journal on the 27th of September:

It’s been two years since Ireland forked over €45 billion to the private creditors of its largest banks. The bank bailout drove Ireland’s deficit to 32% of GDP and played no small role in forcing Dublin to take a bailout of its own from the European Union and International Monetary Fund.

But many of the beneficiaries of that bank bailout were themselves privately owned financial institutions in Germany, France and elsewhere in the EU. The late Brian Lenihan, then Ireland’s Finance Minister, later made it clear that Ireland first guaranteed the banks’ debts, in September 2008, and later paid out on those guarantees in full, under heavy pressure from the European Central Bank. The ECB feared that defaults by the Irish banks could lead to huge losses in larger EU economies and a more generalized banking crisis.

Whether that assessment was accurate at the time, we’ll never know. What we do know is that Ireland, in effect, bailed out foreign banks owed money by Irish ones, and that Irish taxpayers were left with the tab. In fact, they’re still paying—senior unsecured creditors of Allied Irish Banks will receive a further payment of €1 billion this coming Monday, October 1. The bank, now more than 90% state owned, lost €1.4 billion in the first six months of this year, but its bondholders are still being made whole.

For months, Europe’s leadership has talked endlessly about breaking the link between sovereigns and their troubled banks, and are currently in the process of setting up a system that will allow direct bank recapitalizations at the European level.

Ireland, meanwhile, has been left out in the cold. Ireland’s national debt stood at 25% in 2007, but has since ballooned to more than 108%, largely due to the cost of bank recapitalizations and bond repayments. In June, the European Council agreed in principle to find a way to ease this burden on Irish taxpayers. But earlier this week, the Finance Ministers of Germany, Holland and Finland issued a joint statement that said the EU’s bank bailout funds should not be used for pre-existing “problems”—such as Ireland’s.

Ireland made its share of mistakes before and during the financial crisis. But no small part of the current pressure it is under comes directly from the generous treatment of the creditors of its commercial banks. This was done at the behest of the ECB, and largely for the benefit of its neighbors. Irish taxpayers should not have to bear that load alone.

• The Fianna Gaelabour Party won’t want to read that Damian….. Nor any of the blatantly dumb supporters of this idiotic course of action…. Greece hasnt followed it and we keep being told we dont want to be like greece. Yet the news is that Greece’s banking system is working better than ours a lending far more than ours. But then the dumb supporters only want to hear the EU central banks version of the news. They dont want us to hear any news about Iceland. The country is in the middle of a boom….. Very difficult nigh on impossible to spin that news badly so the best thing to do is dont report it at all.

• That’s correct Mr. Noonan, just make the cheque out to “Nun on Yokes”. Thanks.

• The Bondholders are German, Dutch, French and we must not be told or they won’t give out anymore loans. The Banks run the Country, do you think AIB could do what its doing without fear and we supposedly own it?

• The bondholders are the Rothschilds, the same crowd who are lending this money to us at interest in order to send the money straight back to them.

Whoever controls the debt of a nation, controls that nation and all of its resourses.

Noonan, once again has proven who he is really working for and us gimps are payibg his salary.

• “Give me control of a Nation’s money and I care not who makes the laws.” – Mayer Amschel Bauer (Rothschild)

• I love giving money to people I don’t know.

• Im going to hang my Irish flag at half mast for the rest of the year.

Speaking of flags, who here owns one?

• Dear Michael Noonan,

The senior bond holders are the Rothschild banking group and their network of proxy entities Goldman Sachs, The Federal Reserve etc.

That is all.

• How the hell do we pay them if we don’t know who they are? Do we leave a bag of money in a car park?…. Why dont we just wait to see who picks it up….. This Fianna Gaelabour Party man is yet another disaster in a whole line of disasters….. A taoiseach who cannot debate with anyone, A health minister who is incapable of telling the truth, A whole labour wing of the party that can’t think for themselves, A finance minster who couldnt find his arse if he went looking for it with both hands, A transport minister who is incapable of any thought let alone a creative or unique one, A miniter for reform who hasnt the bottle to face up to any decision, A minister for social welfare who only crawls out when she has an ounce of good news and a government who are so impressed to find themselves in power they still havent realised that the crap they spewed before the election was actually a promise and now they have to actually do something….. This country is in dire shape alright and it has nothing to do with the economy. Thats a seperate problem.

• We want to know who is receiving our money and we want to know exactly why they get our money.

• With the sole exception of Stephen Donnelly we need a complete clear out of the has beens and wannabes from the Dáil.

We need a new common sense political party to dismantle quangos like the new psr.ie board , Improve efficiency and make expenses vouched and verifiable. We won’t make it out of our current situation where everyone at the top is an aged institutionalised former teacher

We need 165 new TDs in the next election

• Completely agree with the exception of the number. 50 reps could run this country if they were the right sort of people. This government has a majority of over 40 when the opposition is totalled. Just what are those not in cabinet or committees doing? Feck all, and I wouldn’t be trusting those that are in cabinet or committee to be doing much either. We don’t need 166 Arseholes getting full pay and expenses off our backs that don’t even represent us. If they truly had the interests of the country in mind they would pick better people to run the various departments.

• Just hang on for one minute and imagine a future where they make us so exasperated with their obstructions ,incompetence and downright lies that we just give up.He can’t be this stupid or he wouldn’t be able to dress himself, so this must be deliberate.

• eoghan 04/10/12 #

Fiannia fail should of been left in government they caused the Celtic tiger it’s the regulators that didn’t regulate then everyone decided vote Fine Gael nothing changed they should of wiped their hands of Anglo it was a private bank they should of pumped the money into boi and Aib it would of been a lot cheaper then bailing out Anglo

• obviously money is paid to investment companies.such as Davy’s who buy bonds on behalf of there customers. that’s one confidential layer itself. they recoup the money and dish it out to their various customer accounts. The only reason I would have any interest in who the holders were would be to see if any of them contributed to the crash and owe money to us.

• So the Cheques are made out to Mr. Bondholder 1,2 and so on? They must be ghosts, Charlie maybe or the Adams Family? Really, That is how stupid they think we are!

• Slightly off point,however,Is Mister Noonan telling us that such is the current system of bond purchase and sales,that it is impossible to identify who buys and who sells bonds.Are the brokers anonymous ? Do they keep records? Are the commission on sales and purchases not subject to taxation? Is there no paper trail at all….I don’t fking think so. He keeps the general public in mushroom mode yet again.

• Mr. Bilderberg

• This beggars belief, cannot take any thing said by this Government as true, Mr Noonan was the one that said when challenged about reneging on his election promises ” I am trying to save the country for gods sake” . Bringing to mind that old quote ” patriotism,the last refuge of a scoundrel”.

• I guarantee the majority of people reading your last post Brian voted this government into power at the last election

• Maybe Stephen, and as I have said elsewhere, I voted for 2 of the 4 governmental TDs in my constituency because if the promises they personally made me. And now that I questioned them they have rowed in behind the scandalous actions and about turns of their parties. They didn’t need to lie when asking for our vote. They were guaranteed victory merely because of the protest vote against FF, they didn’t need the bravado and moralizing. It’s not just the fact that they are doing what they are doing that people like me are so angry at, it’s also the fact that they dismissed the mandate they were elected under once they took power, sticking two fingers up at the people who they lied to and duped into voting for them. You cannot totally blame the voters for that, but you can castigate the complainers for not doing something about it now. By not protesting or making the TDs answerable for their actions that’s what you can give out about

• Can only happen in Ireland!

• Arb, regardless of what you see the rest of the population understanding, understand this – I don’t claim to know much about politics, but when the bread and butter of my family’s table is being consistently raped by our government to pay unknown bond holders, I understand far too much about this situation that we are in……and honestly I don’t want to. Just stop over-taxing what’s is left of the people working to pay up and elite few that are probably wiping their ass with the several billion we have paid to them in recent months

• Noonan went over to Spain in June to get his orders for our next budget . These guys (our so called politicians) puppets for this so called democracy get there orders from the elite banksters who control the world we live in

• So we paid €1 billion to bond holders who we cannot identify ? Try getting your social welfare entitlements (€188 per week) and they ask you to produce your life history , despite the fact you paid tax and prsi in this country for over 25 years !!!

• xyz 04/10/12 #

Noonan should be one of the character in angry birds game:) pull, release, BANG!

• Ill give you some names noonan

Rothchilds
    Rockerfellers
    Morgan’s
    Winsors
    DuPont
    Van Duyn

But to name but a few

• they probably did stephen but in fairness they were lied to. the promises fine gael and labour made bear no recognition to the way the have behaved since they came to power. thats what needs to change in irish politics. parties are allowed to say and promise what they like pre election. there is no accountability after the election. its absolutely crazy

• My Blood is Boiling…. Wait a minute we’ll get that money by slashing the child benefit in December, so no need to be annoyed about it.

• More nonsense! Can the so called government find out nothing?

• Not a thing will be done. Europe runs us. Europe doesnt care about us. We dont even care about ourselves. Look at the article about irish language. Half the country hates it. We are self hating.
    Noonan and the government are working for (wether through fear or reward) for the money men . The elites. Its just business. Waking up to the reality is scary and I dont blame people for choosing to be ignorant and lambast those who make comments that deviate from the given script of how the world works.
    There is amazing power within the irish people and we are creative and we value freedom and we value social ideals. We are kind, we are funny. We are a good people. We dont deserve this treatment despite idiots voting for Europe.
    What do we do? I really dont know. But some ideas on this forum would be great as there is a good balance of Liberals and conservatives here.
    First we have to stop moaning and believe that we can do something about it. Its a small island. But people need to realize how real economics work and how real money is actually circulate and by whom. Some lawyers on here need to give their two cents.
    We are Irish, we are strong and intelligent.

• Hello Rob. Not claiming to know much about the economics of the world and i should not have to. All I want to know is why the people of Ireland are paying unknown bond holders for a debt caused by another group of unknown businessmen/senior bank officials?????

What am I the and rest of the people of Ireland?? The fall-back on guys when our “default” government fall short when the piper needs paying??

Can we not kick this government out, and vote a party in that will actually stand up and say no??

• Hello Rob. Not claiming to know much about the economics of the world and i should not have to. All I want to know is why the people of Ireland are paying unknown bond holders for a debt caused by another group of unknown businessmen/senior bank officials?????

What am I the and rest of the people of Ireland?? The fall-back on guys when our “default” government fall short when the piper needs paying??

Can we not kick this government out, and vote a party in that will actually stand up and say no??

• The reality is that we simply cannot do that. We would get isolated internationally and nobody would give us money. We would have to be like Cuba and print our own money and issue it debt free. do you think we are up to that? There are forces at work here that you cannot comprehend. They are simply not snobs in suits , they are the most evil violent manipulative bastards the planet has ever seen.

• Great!
    If there is no way of verifying who they are then there must be no way of paying them!

• Noonan accuses Donnelly of being populist, hes saying the same things you would have said two years ago Michael. The fact that he goes out on to the street to express this shows that Mr Donnelly means what he says, not like you Michael who said those things just to get elected, Noonan you’d run around telling people you were slim with luxurious hair if you thought it would get you in power

• It’s a 3 prong approach

The Vatican – religious

The city of London – financial

Washington – military

• Release the Vincent!

• Even the dogs in the street know…

• Where’s Declan Cotter now when you need some support?

• Just another traitor lying through his teeth

• Are you seriously stating, for the record, that a government cannot acquire this information? How are they paying taxes? How are they getting paid? Are you a f-ing idiot? Do you think we are??

The Americans can trace a college student all the way from the other side of the world. I’m sure one of them will help you figure out your job. Idiot.

• AIB owe their creditors money. It is that simple.

• Anyone on this forum could have afforded to buy AIB bonds at any stage.
    They would now be making money.
    Is it resentment at missing out on an opportunity that annoys people?

• Well most of us work for a living, creating wealth and value with our labour.
      We don’t sit around looking for investment opportunities that will enable us to extract wealth and value from the people who create it!
      In short – we are workers, not capitalists!

Add New Comment