TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 19 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

One more arrested in today’s ‘Operation Ambience’ Garda raids

More than 200 gardaí carried out a major search operation this morning, which has led to 17 people being arrested.

The funeral of Alan Ryan at the Church of the Holy Trinity in Balgriffen last Saturday
Image: Julien Behal/PA Wire

Updated 18.22

GARDAÍ HAVE ARRESTED a total of 16 men and one woman during raids across Dublin, Meath and Kildare today during Operation Ambience.

This evening, gardaí said they had arrested one man in his late teens this afternoon. This is in addition to 15 men and one woman arrested earlier today, who are all between 20 and 60 years of age.

This male is being detained under section 30 of the Offences against the State Act 1939, in a Dublin garda station.

Further searches were carried out this afternoon involving a house and an industrial unit, gardaí said.

Guns seized

Gardaí seized imitation guns, mobile phones, and computers in a major search operation carried out as part of the investigation into dissident republican activity at the funeral of Alan Ryan.

More than 200 gardaí searched 30 homes across Dublin, Kildare and Meath this morning as part of Operation Ambience, which is investigating the possession and discharge of guns at Real IRA member Alan Ryan’s funeral in Donaghmede.

The 16 people arrested are being held at various garda stations across Dublin and Meath under the Offences Against the State Act.

Gardaí set up an incident room at Clontarf garda station following reports of dissident activity at the funeral in north Dublin.

Ryan was shot dead in Clongriffin in Dublin 13 on Monday 3 September in a gangland-style attack.  A number of shots were fired into the air as his coffin, which was draped in a tricolour, was removed from his house to a nearby church at his funeral on Saturday.

Some mourners attending the funeral wore scarves to cover their faces and paramilitary-style clothing.

The republican-style burial was condemned by Justice Minister Alan Shatter who described the scenes as “reprehensible and absolutely unacceptable”.

Gardaí say the investigation into events at the funeral is ongoing. In a statement this afternoon, Gardaí said they are “fully committed to maintaining law” and “resolute in their determination to fully investigate any breaches of the criminal law that occurred” at the funeral.

- Additional reporting Aoife Barry

Ryan family to make formal complaints about gardaí and newspapers >

Alan Ryan funeral scenes: “Wholly unacceptable and belongs in the past” – Mayor >

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (169 Comments)

• A balaclava just doesn’t offer the anonymity it once did.

• Where are all those people who were saying it was disgraceful that the Gardai didn’t do anything?

• True. They seem to be quiet. But why did the Guards give them the opportunity to act like this. These skangers and toe-rags should not have been allowed to perform such a horrible spectacle on the streets of Dublin. They stop buskers who don’t know enough songs, but let thugs play army and fire guns at a criminal’s funeral. Crazy!

• “why did the Guards give them the opportunity to act like this.”

Because armed men moving in on other armed men in a crowd is a wee bit dangerous.

“They stop buskers who don’t know enough songs”

Erm … that’s a rule being put in by Dublin City Council, it’s not a Garda enforceable law.

• Armed men (guards) moving in on (illegally) armed men IS dangerous. but it also sounds like upholding the law to me. Should the guards shy away from thugs now? The precident this created is more dangerous!

• There could conceivably have been innocent people in the crowd who would be put at risk. It would more than likely have ended up in a blood bath.

If that had happened the same people now calling for the guards to have doen something would now be asking why they didn’t hold off.

• I fully agree with you. It would have been a disaster. But in the end these thugs got their way. I don’t like that! It should have been stopped before it even started.

• “It should have been stopped before it even started.”

If the Guards had arrested a load of people travelling to a funeral, who at that point had done nothing wrong, that too would have caused criticism.

• I’m assuming Darren, You’re basing your comments on the vast experience & tactical knowledge you’ve amassed through your years of armed law enforcement spent somewhere!?! Better to see these RIRA clowns hauled up one by one & convicted in Court through a professional & diligent Garda investigation than a running ‘wild-west’ gun battle in the street where innocent bystanders are injured / killed and the Gardai only apprehend a few!!

• ‘The precident this created is more dangerous!’

No precedent has been created. It has been a feature of Republican funerals for centuries.

• Done nothing wrong Damocles? Possession of an unlicenced firearm is a pretty serious offence with a few years jail time attached to it. And the 1990 Firearms and Offensive Weapons Act gave the Gardai all the powers they needed to arrest these guys before the funeral.

As to where those who thought it was disgraceful that the Gardai did nothing during the funeral are, we’re all sitting here wondering if we’d have seen 200 Gardai in this operation if the entire country hadn’t gotten angry with the Gardai for not stopping it or if it would just have been swept under the carpet; and also, where the guns are (did they get them in the raid this morning?); not to mention, as stated in the first comment above, whether or not these guys will get a reasonable custodial sentence or a farcical slap on the wrist.

• Any evidence they were carrying when they were travelling to the funeral? For all either of us know the weapons were transported separately.

As the events so far have unfolded it is clear that this was the intent of the Gardai all along, to watch and take notes and then swoop in later. It was reported that this was what they intended to do pretty early on in this affair.

The prosecution and sentencing are also, obviously, not a Garda matter, that’s what the judiciary are for. In any sane country the Policing body and the Judicial body are separated.

IMO, the Gardai have done exactly what they should do to protect public safety both at the funeral and ongoing.

• johnny 13/09/12 #

Mark Dennehy, the whole country was not angry in fact a very small percentage of those who commented on this site thought the Gardai should have acted in a way that would have put lives at risk.

If this method of policing is used to police this type of funeral by the vastly experienced PSNI then why would the Gardai do it any different.

You have no experience of what you are talking about so maybe you should leave it to the people who have

• johnny 13/09/12 #

Darren the number one goal of any police force is protection of life and if a policeman or woman acts if any way as to put innocent lives at risk then he or she will be held responsible. Do you think that these men just drove on up to the funeral with guns thrown on the back seat? Did they arrive in the house a day after the murder? Two days after the murder? We’re they walk out of the house in open view of everyone after the shots fired or broken down and brought away in different pieces by a number of different people? We’re they left in the house as the coffin was taken to the graveyard and taken away when everyone was gone? Just a couple of reasons as to why it’s not as easy as you make it sound

• censored 14/09/12 #

The Gardai still haven’t done anything. Waiting on the prosecutions.

• @ Censored
      It’s a major investigation into Dissident Republicanism not a drunken Public Order fracas outside the local Chipper on a Friday night!! It’s not like you just throw a few charge sheets at these guys so you can have your quick ‘prosecution’ !! There’s complex investigation files to compile & the DPP has to direct on it!

• Great to see. But do guards have enough to charge them or will they be released pending file to dpp and that’s last we hear of it.

Hope to see these people in court

• The Guards know exactly who is involved and its a much better strategy to pick them up in stages after the event when they have a case built up against them that will hold in court. As long as we get these thugs off the streets

• Denise I did not execute or partake in the execution of anyone, nor am I a member of any spurious organisation. You seem to be, and just another disillusioned young person, thinking you are fighting some cause via facebook or wherever else you hang or portray your old Ra style slogans and banners. Organisations like yours, and drug dealing parasites have no place in a modern society. You feed off the misery of others.You thrive on bullshit fed to you by these outlawed organisations.

As for any comments I made in regards to individuals or organisations, similar comments are printed by media outlets from here to America on a daily basis. If they are slanderous, I don’t here of any claims being lodged in courts here, the UK or America to have such comments retracted and compensation negotiated.

The 32csm thought they had the right to take over the community I live in and and love, last weekend for their bit of drama, and it backfired. You might do us all a favour down here and organise the removal of the black flags and Tricolours you say you hold in high regard – all there doing now is catching falling birdshit.

• I don’t know that u never executed anyone be you did become judge and jury with your comment. I can assure you i am no disillusioned youth, im 40 years old, and i dont think im fighting anyone, and i dont hav and old re style slogans or banners to hang, I also do not have an organisation. And i can positively assure you i never fed of the misery of anyone in my years.

Next i did not say anything about media comment and what there slanderous comments, i commented on you and your slanderous comments. And i would do no such favor to you to organise anything. I think a bit of that bird shit might of got in your eye there When you read my comment. How dare you make personal comments about me and accuse me of being part of anything. I just pulled you up on a few of your comment that where out of order.

And by the way you contradicted yourself again your just fighting your reasons and cause through facebook yourself by commenting here. So wipe the bird shit from your eyes.

• Denise, your banners and 32csm tripe is all over your facebook page. My comments you call slanderous are in keeping with the media’s comments and any right thinking local for that matter. Stay up North, blinded by your own failings and stop commenting on a part of Dublin you know nothing about. I have lived in Donaghmede all my life, and my parents before me, and we will not tolerate Northern miss-fits dragging our community into it’s myre. Neither you nor Alan Ryan have or had anything to offer the normal clean living people of Ireland.

• That is why my profile is on public im not ashamed of my believes, but i do not deserved to personally attacked by you, because i have to keep correcting your comments, which is obviously getting the better of you. And by the way im told its libel what your saying not slanderous. And if you silly enough in keeping with the media as in (The Sun saying the hillsborough survivers lied, then admitting they told the truth) thats your illusion.

I have never failed in anything i wished to achieve in my life, not that u know me to comment on that either. And if you live in Donaghmede all your life, why didnt you get out your door and protest this funeral, and if you live their why don’t you take down the flags. I’l tell you why your a small man with a smaller mind, who hides behind sites like this to pedal your libel comments. Your a key board warrior, who using facebook for your hate and fight.

• Firstly, I hide behind nothing, unlike those who wear fancy dress fatigues and travel in the backs of vans. I am involved in the community I live in, as a drugs key worker, who has seen first hand the misery caused by the dealers and the so called freedom fighters. I have my complete profile blocked, except for my friends who know me well as we run drama classes based on comedy classics, hence Albert Steptoe.
      I contribute to my community as do thousands of others in the hope we are making it a better place. What did Alan do? He lived well, drove an expensive range rover yet had no visible means of income.Was he a doctor, a councillor, a nurse maybe or a shopkeeper? No alas he was not. I’ll tell you what he did. He leaned on the dealers with his vigilante outfit for a cut of their takings and when they would not part with it, he had them beaten or shot. The CSM are good at that. 10 of them brave men stood in a barn in Monaghan last year and beat a young lad of 23 to death with crowbars. These are the brave men of Ireland that people like you look up to.

I don’t read the sun or know of your ramblings on Hillsborough. Your a typical csm head. You cherry pick the bits of peoples posts that you think offend you and your ilk and ignore the rest. The normal folk down here don’t take to the streets and throw rocks at the gardai either, we let them do their job. Look at the amount of negative feedback to your own comments. You see the quiet, normal respectful people see you for the sham you and your ilk are. The CSM and those who support it (you) are a washed out outfit and will not be let function in Southern Ireland.

• I also forgot to add to that, you will tolerate whatever is thrown your way, as you obviously tolerated drug dealers all your life and also your hide behind a picture that is not of you on a so called fb page you only made today. I am a clean living person and i didnt come anywhere to offer anyone anything. You seem to have taking a liking to me for some reason, no one would blame you for that.

• Oh and Denise, there is no display of hate or fight on my facebook page, unlike yours which promotes the CSM. My comments are my opinion, which I am entitled to have on those who promote CSM policy.

• Please stop deflecting from your comments, why did you not protest at the funeral in your community? with your big opinions or take down the flags in your community? Your a funny man making up things about me personally as your going along, Your the one who said you in line with the media, well were blinded by the bird shit again the last two days when you have got a clue about hillsbourgh.

Thats the first time i was called a head and i assure you i am a quiet, clean living person, You can’t criminalize someone because of there beliefs and opinion. But i will not lower myself no more to your level in attacking peeples opinions and believes. I only corrected your comments and you personnally attacked me all day.
      So why don’t you in time not now as a family is grieving, go up knock on there door and tell them your opinions seems as your in the area.

• Denise, I neither like or hate you, I don’t know you. I do however hate the CSM and all it stands for, and will interact with those promoting it, like you do on Facebook. You engaged me in this exchange of posts, not the other way round, and you have ignored all items that did not sit with your thinking.
      If you revert back to my very first post, you will see clearly that I pointed out the account was new, so if your expecting brownie points at this stage in the day in noticing that, good luck to you. If the CSM wish to be taken seriously, they need to engage with both governments and the people of Ireland who refuse to let them destroy lives. If they have valid intelligence on dealers, give it to the PSNI and Gardai and let them deal with it.

That won’y happen though will it? because the CSM reject both governments, and do not acknowledge either police force. Not much chance of building a real future for our kids then, north and south with organised vigilantism rife on both sides of the border.

• Again Denise I draw your attention to the fact you have not corrected anything posted by me. You have given an opinion, you have all the way up there in Derry. You know nothing about Dublin and what happened in the locality. See that red thumb down sign on the right of each of your posts? Those are people who disagree with you. I am the one engaging with you, as you lead that engagement from my first post. I am again reiterating that I am not attacking you, I am drawing you out on your beliefs. If you stand by CSM then you stand by the murders they carry out in cowardly fashion. That is why Alan Ryan met a similar fate – he dealt in the same type of punishment himself. If the CSM are proud Irishmen, let them take off their berets, scarf’s and Chinese sunglasses – They should be proud to be seen as representing their countrymen. We should all know who these fighting Irishmen are!

• Ah Denise give it up, Albert clearly wins.

• Rubbish!! If the IRA wanted rid of drug dealers it would happen… No the truth is they want a slice of the pie! Pay us you deal, no pay we shut u down..
    These so called provo’s having a clue about the history of this country or what the people of this country want.. Activists? No definitely not. Criminals? Yes!! Anyway there’s no war to be fought in Dublin, last time I checked the republic was that, a republic!!!!!!

• Steady on the exclamation marks there! So called Provos? He was a member of the Real IRA who would despise the Provisional Movement and all it stands for. I think you are the one without the clue like many others commenting.

• think ur in a different ere if i am rite the PROVOS sold out,,so it should be you to go and read your histroy

• Here is the first angry little sheep, without a clue or a cause for it.

• No person, political or religious organisation, or illegal paramilitary pack of savages, has the right to act as judge, jury and executioner in Ireland. The man who shot Alan Ryan did, and so did his victim. The shooter dealt Alan Ryan what he regularly dealt out himself. As the family say, he had a befitting funeral. The sad thing here is that a young 32 year old man is lying in a graveyard, along with hundreds of other young Irish people because of the scurge of drugs on this isle, and those who wish to make money from their distribution. The other sad thing is that killers like Colin Duffy can come down from the North and give a graveside oration in the hope that he stands in the sunset of those from 1916, to impress the young BEBO heads around him, with their online IRA profiles. It is a sad day that Ireland has come to this.

I believe that the Gardai did the right thing on the day, they stood, gathered intelligence and are now carrying out raids based on that intelligence today. Let’s see if the young ones who wore stupid thick Chinese made jumpers and sunglasses ( what is the big leather belt for – a sunglasses clip perhaps) at the funeral are so cool when separated across Dublin in different garda stations. They are not cut from the same material that the men and women of 1916 were, they will schit themselves, fold and rat each other out while in custody.

I hope justice is found all round. I hope Alan’s killer is found, and I hope those who he killed and are still missing, are found and returned to their respective families. As for 32CSM, feck off up to the battlefields of Armagh and Belfast where you thrive on misery. Take these young hoods of yours from Dublin and Wexford with you, and let’s see how long they last when they are surrounded by the real battle and it’s accompanying misery. Lastly keep your mudering son, Colin Duffy out of the Republic, he has no business down here, and next time might not get back over the border so easy.

Finally, I apologise if the above rambles a bit. I joined facebook so as I could contribute here, hence the new profile. I am 50 years old, not totally up with this social media stuff, but felt I needed to contribute. We have an opportunity of saving our kids and theirs from the clutches of the misery that only 32CSM and dealers offer – As a nation of parents and families, let’s steer the young ones away from these now, and let the gardai and the judges do their duty.

• johnny 13/09/12 #

Well Alan his second paragraph may be open to correction but the first one is spot on that’d be the paragraph you overlooked

• Sunglasses I can accept. No self- respecting paramilitary should be without them. But what I’d like to know is what was the SP factor of those balaclavas? We can’t allow our paramilitaries to become sunburned!!

• Imitation guns for imitation ‘republicans’ – nothing but thugs & gangsters

• This is not the north of Ireland, where the actual troubles took place. This type of display has no place on the streets of Dublin. Wannabe soldiers who are nothing more than common criminals, I hope there is some sort of punishment, otherwise, this could become an all too common occurence.

• Dublin has always been a Republican city. Irish History doesn’t start in 1969. Republicanism as an ideology was founded by Wolfe Tone who was born in Dublin. The 1916 rising was led by a Dublin man, Padraig Pearse. The first chief of staff of the IRA was Cathal Brugha who was born in Dublin. He was also the first president of Dail Eireann in 1919.

• So, are you saying that this sort of display should become a regular occurence? I have never seen or heard of shots fired at a funeral in the south before this one? Pointing out things that happened in the days of the Rising and the early formation of the state are hardly relevant in modern day Dublin.

• Its relevant in the context of Republicanism existing in the city before the Troubles. The funeral on Saturday was nothing different than other funerals before it. Off the top of my head their was paramilitary displays at Martin Doherty’s funeral in 1994, Ronan McLaughlin in 1998, Dermot McGuirk in 1998 and Patrick Campbell’s in 1999. All of which were in Dublin and each one was a member of a different group. There was also the same response from the media and goverment at that time.

• Sorry I forgot to answer your question. I dont think it would be a regular occurence as it doesnt happen at every funeral. Of the funerals above one was killed by criminals, one by the police, one by loyalist paramilitaries and the other was a very senior member of the group. I don’t support any armed group but if they want to bury their dead in that manner I have no problem with it.

• Well thankfully, the majority of people in society and the Gardai DO have a problem with it. And listing other questionable characters who had “gun salutes” at their funerals doesn’t strenghten your position, it actually strenghtens mine and the rest of decent society.

• Ryan'O 13/09/12 #

Exactly the same point I made Andrea…. This could turn into something nasty, add into the fact that the guards are under staffed….

• Alan: “I don’t support any armed group”

Yeah, sure.

• I dont though Petr. Its counter-productive.

• Plastic guns for plastic ‘patriots’. They shoulda joined the FCA when young lads, might have gotten all that wannabe GI Gerry juice outta the system.

• Terrorists/drug dealers belong in jail, I hope this is followed through.

• Maybe I missed it, but what have SF said about this display of toe-gaggery over the weekend?

• They should lock them all up & throw away the key.

• I know this won’t be popular but how about internment. These people have rejected normal society so why should it’s normal procedures and laws be applied to them.

• They may have rejected normal society, we haven’t.

You could apply that rule to any crime, there’s no knowing where it would stop. How about people who don’t pay their taxes? Have they “rejected normal society”?

• No, never in history should internment be repeated. If someone is found guilty by a legitimate court of law then they should be imprisoned. If not, then they shouldn’t be imprisoned.

Internment never works.

• This kind of news nearly reinstates ones faith in our law enforcement agencies! I just hope it’s not a publicity stunt though. People need to be charged and actually convicted before I’ll be completely convinced!

• mcbab 13/09/12 #

I think Pierce you could find your idea very popular. Great news. Was delighted to hear this on morning Ireland. Let’s hope more to come.

• That would simply make martyrs out of overweight uneducated thugs. We have enough laws to convict these people for their moronic Dads Army bravado.

• Points taken boys, like I said it wouldn’t be popular. These people aren’t the same as non tax payers because people who don’t pay their TV licence generally don’t go around shooting and intimidating witnesses etc.

• We don’t live in North Korea just yet Pierce. You obviously have no understanding of Irish history if you think internment is a solution. In fact internment normally has the opposite effect of what was intended. For example most of those interned in the six counties in 1971 were not actual members of the IRA. A lot of them were though when they were released.

• @pearse cant believe you even suggested that & the fact you got so many thumbs up shows your not alone.wonder how you would feel about internment if you were lifted?

• Pierce – there is a vast difference between what this Mob stands for & what even the British would have done to halting the struggle for ordinary Civil Rights in The North in the sixties & seventies , in their illegal Internment.

These guys are running extortion & protection rackets , preventing the Garda from putting away the big time and the small time Drug dealing Gangs around Ireland , who are in turn murdering our Children & our Friends. by giving them a free run on the supply of various drugs on the Market.

This is done in their twisted ‘justification’ to get funds to make bombs to cause Murder & Mayhem in part of our Island of Ireland .

Their use of the word Republican or Real – is but a flag of convenience.

They would be so delighted if they were Interned – this , again , in their twisted Logic , they would perceive themselves as some kind of martyrs , instead of the Gangsters , which they truly are in reality!

• andrew 13/09/12 #

Is that a guard I hear knocking on your door Billy?

• Now that the gardai have rounded up the Real IRA, what about the Really and Truly IRA? Shouldn’t he be arrested as well?

• Why don’t the police get off their backsides and do something, grrrr hiss, it’s a disgrace, they all just play golf, grrr hiss…. Oh, wait…

• Why do people on journal.ie always have to get personal with their comments? Stay objective peeps. : )

• No room in prison for these guys and girls. Was Gerry Adems and Mary Loo in the army arrested? They would probably still be paid for being held in custody. These people are all their best friends.

• What is Louise Minihen on about , if she’s on Dublin City Council there’s no shortage of problems that she could spend her time on , She seems pretty clueless about Irish law and order and what people expect from our police and indeed our councillors.

• Louise Minihan: “the Twenty Six County state”.
    Shouldn’t she have used its official Eirigi title – the so-called illegal twenty-six county traitor statlet.

• Are you insane Alan go after the major drug dealers. Its more of an issue all right than people wearing green scarves. The bleeding hearts of the world on this journal and the very angry people who seem to be angry at every headline, then you have the comments from some who think they are above everyone with their comments and refuse to be ever wrong, they should start getting their priorities right and drop the ego. The guards know most of the drug dealers running and ruining this city. And they will continue to run and ruin this city and not much will be done about it. This is my opinion, so for all the egotistical people on this who know how to run the world, i do not care for you replies in advance.

• One man arrested for the murder of Alan Ryan and 14 arrested for wearing green scarves. I look forward to the 200 Gardai raiding the homes of the major drug dealers in the city!

• They can put 200 Garda into this operation to nab a few people that fired a salute at a funeral (I dont support these incase people think it) yet they cant do anything about the junkies openly selling drugs the length of O’Connell Street?

• I’ve seen plain clothes Garda arresting drug dealers on O’Connell Street.

• So have I but there is always people there or on the boardwalk selling drugs. How hard can it be to stop them destroying the boardwalk? Had two French friends over last year and they went to town by themselves for the day and the told me about how freaked they were on it. The state that boardwalk is in cant be justified!

• They might be taking the same approach the Dutch police do. They know who’s doing it and they know where to find them and how to control them and they know that if they arrest them there’ll be another one along in 10 minutes and they can’t put half the inner city in prison.

Whaich actually isn’t all that unreasonable. It isn’t great but all the same.

Better to focus on wider issues like the people who supply the lower level dealers.

• The Dutch police let them do it in the red light were all the low life are. What about the decent human beings that pay for the sh!tebags to live having the right to walk around a nice area in piece? Why aren’t they let do it around some run down area instead of the area thats meant to promote the city?

• Felix, I can only really speculate on their policy, you’d really have to ask them.

• Sometimes I just get really pissed off at how they can freely make other peoples lives hell. You cant even walk around the northside now with a cigarette without being hassled.

• Obviously we’re getting way off topic here but what I’ve always liked about the “Do you have a cigarette for me?” crowd is the way they abuse you after you refuse. It’s like “Well I wasn’t going to give you one, but now you’ve sworn at me well I’m reconsidering …”

• I’ts an everyday occurance.

• johnny 13/09/12 #

Firstly Felix I agree about the Drug Dealing/Junkie/alcohol related problems in the City Centre but you have to remember that the Gardai are only half the system and I could guarantee you that all them dealers have been lifted and charge regularly only to be released again. It’s as demoralising for the guards as it is for u

• So we should just accept it? No way. That’s why I hate them with a passion!

• So, now that the Guards have arrested 16 RIRA thugs, and rightly so, will they go after the other gangsters that took Ryan out? People say the Guards know who the RIRA heads are, and they do, but they also know who the rest of the drug pushing, racketeering and murderous types are too. I wonder, why are these people not being lifted and held under the gang legislation introduced last year whereby anyone considered to be in a crime gang can be held without warrant on the consent of a superintendent. Would it have anything to do with the fact that drugs is the biggest industry on this island? Ireland is a deeply corrupt little nation and we all know it, to think that our police is untouched by the money and power of crime is a joke. We even had three very well known politicians, who rose to very high levels of government, pulled in after Veronica Guerin’s murder. Why? Food for thought.

• It should also be said that the raids are obviously a PR exercise so the police can be seen to be active. They announced that they would be raiding those they thought were involved on Saturday before they even carried them out. More Bugs Bunny than Lugs Branigan that!

• You could be right Alan, but if some of those who were raided, are actually charged, it won’t feel or look like a PR exercise. A few years in jail for membership of an illegal paramilitary organisation is not for the faint hearted and certainly not one for soft disillusioned twentysomethings. I am hopeful of charges being pressed and a clear message goes out that this crap will not be tolerated anywhere in the South of Ireland. 32CSM needs to realise their day has come and gone – all that’s left is bitter twisted old farts who recruit from the bowels of society – they have nothing to offer only a one way ticket to jail or the graveyard.

• @ Alan, out of interest, what could the Guards do that you wouldn’t criticise as inaction or just a PR exercise?

• @Nikolas If you want to see how the police almost destroyed the RIRA a decade ago check out ‘Black Operations – The secret war against the RIRA’ by John Mooney. Have a look at his timeline on twitter to see what he thought of today’s operation. An inept PR driven exercise that the police involved themselves know is pointless is how he described it. Ultimately the only way to get rid of armed groups is by involving them in political discussions. Using the judicial system against them is only a stop gap measure.

• @ Alan – I don’t really understand why you’re saying. We don’t live under military rule, so the judicial system is our primary and only system of law enforcement. The Guards must act in accordance to the judicial system, which is a very good thing. I haven’t read the book you mentioned, thanks for the tip, but if the guards were acting outside the governance of the judicial system, surely they were acting outside their remit and were involved in an illegal action? The guards are not a military force, they are civilian. Irrespective of the morality of breaking the law to catch law-breakers, if they had ignored procedure, the courts would have no choice but to throw the case out and let the criminals go free.

• I didn’t mean the police should operate outside the judicial system. My point is that using the judicial system against groups like the RIRA is only a temporary fix. It was bringing the Provos in from the cold politically that ended their campaign not any action by the police. Obviously the police will be used as a short term solution but it wont make much difference. Each side will have its successes and setbacks but it just continues. I suppose that doesnt relate directly to today but it was just a general point.

As an aside I dont know the people involved personally or support their viewpoint. I just think its a disgrace that the police raided the home of Alan Ryan’s grieving mother this morning when they have not raided any homes over his actual murder.

• johnny 13/09/12 #

One thing Alan is right about Nickolas is “Black Operations” a great read. What Alan may not understand is the Black Operations” work is still going on today regardless of the merits of today’s operation

• Of course I understand.

• @ Alan – thanks for clarifying. And I agree. Judicial action alone only tackles the symptoms, not the cause. Dissident organizations cannot exist with support, and they gain support from people who feel that they have been marginalized and disenfranchised. These are the people who need to be brought back into the fold. Without their support the “hard cases” will mostly wither and due, or at least become irrelevant. Surely that was the thinking behind the process that lead to the Good Friday agreement. Now all I have to do is find a copy of that book.

• @ Alan – I wouldn’t be so hasty about your judgement if the police, though. You’re saying that you’re disgusted by the imbalance in their priorities, but we don’t actually know how hard the are working on finding the killer. For all we know they’re quietly following a path to find him/her, and murder is murder, irrespective of who the victim was. Let the police get on with their investigation, and withhold judgement until the investigation is complete and a result is given. Just my two cents.

• Alberto 14/09/12 #

Alan pls keep your “fight” up there in great britian. we in the republic don’t care, and those who do, drive up the m1 and move to great britian. simples

• éirígí Dublin City Councillor Louise Minihan has condemned the heavy-handed Garda raid on murder victim Alan Ryan’s family home earlier today [September 13].

Speaking from Ballyfermot, Councillor Minihan said, “Since Alan Ryan’s murder the behaviour of certain sections of the Gardaí, particularly members of the Special Branch and the Emergency Response Unit, has been an absolute disgrace. The Ryan family have been constantly harassed and prevented from grieving in peace.

“Today’s heavy-handed raid on the Ryan family home is totally unacceptable. It has exposed the true agenda of the Twenty Six County state which is clearly more interested in harassing a grieving family then tracking down those who killed their loved one.”

http://www.eirigi.org/latest/latest130912.html

• Gerard 13/09/12 #

Yeah, because it’s obvious Louise minihan knows what she’s talking about

• What’s obvious is that the Guards care more about protecting the state and the political class (which is what they are doing with these raids, whatever your opinion of the people they are raiding) than they do about protecting the people who they are supposed to be serving!

when is the last time they conducted such robust raids on the dealers who practically run Limerick city kid?

• censored 14/09/12 #

More what-aboutery. These people are criminals. I have no problem with these raids, and I think they’re directed at the right people. Hopefully they’ll step up their activity in Limerick as well.

• Shows your naivety, if you think the Garda will now launch some sort of state-wide crackdown on criminality

the raids are in response to the Garda being made left powerless by a crowd at the funeral, not out of any social duty to kerb criminality

• Kerron, I have been reading many of your posts on this site for a few weeks now and I must say you obviously like reading what you type. You get asked questions by other contributors, however rarely answer them, you do that much ducking and weaving. I think it’s time you took your head out of the WIKI pages on republican history, as an awful lot of what you quote here is just wiki extract.
      I am going to bring you up to date on a few things you might not find in wiki.
      1. Paramilitarism in all it’s forms under Irish law, is outlawed
      2.The Ryan family were no innocents – criminals who are now facing the full rigours of the law along with their so called patriotic family of supporters.
      3. Limerick is doing quiet well – 28 members of the 3 criminal gangs involved in it’s demise are behind bars, serving lengthy sentences.
      4. The gardai are now showing EIRIGI, 32CSM and whatever imitation army outfit you support, that they are the law in this land and will round them up like all good sheep need to be.

As for your comments and contributions across these pages, I would consider you nothing more than a well educated but delusional troll. You come on, spout your 1798 to 2011 Irish history with muddled references and hope that the rest of us will be impressed and out of step with you. The best thing you can do for Ireland, is cop yourself on, put away your Carroll’s Souvenir Paddie’s day whistle and embrace the new Ireland that millions of us want.
      “Tá do lá a dhéanamh”

• Wikipedia? don’t make me laugh

“the new Ireland”? you just made me laugh. What an impressive sight this new Ireland is! Two failed, crumbling, corrupt states and all the sheep in the world like you to spout empty platitudes (with no historical precedent) to attempt to lend legitimacy to them.

• Alberto 14/09/12 #

kerron pls as I’ve said here numerous of times keep your “fight” up there in great britian. us Irish people in the republic of Ireland don’t care, really don’t care. we have 26 lovely counties here in republic of ireland, lovely. move up to britian to continue your fight, oh and make sure you bring your passport, its a different country up there ya know

• this is a disgrace,why can the Garda go and try and find the killers who had killed Alan instead of harassing his family,,is this to keep the friendship with British government? DRUG DEALERS ARE FILTH

• just proves what political puppets the guards are.

• Albert you said “The shooter dealt Alan Ryan what he regularly dealt out himself” did you personally know this man , more than likely not, but i am not aware of this man being arrested, charged or prosecuted for shooting someone in cold blood, so i think you just slandered the man there.
    Secondly you said “Colin Duffy out of the Republic, he has no business down here, and next time might not get back over the border so easy. This seem to me as being threatening statement.
    Thirdly if they guards and judges done their job right and stopped giving drug dealers and easy time, we would not be here today commenting on this subject.
    And lastly “No person, political or religious organisation, or illegal paramilitary pack of savages, has the right to act as judge, jury and executioner in Ireland”.
    Kettle black, you are guilty of just doing this yourself. Very contradictory.

• Ah yeah, the same old blame the guards craic.
      Change the record. It’s getting a bit boring now.

• It’s actually libel not slander.

I pride myself on being a republican. The peaceful way of self determination is the only way. A united Ireland can only become a reality by democratic means only. These people need to go the peaceful way.

The ideology of rIRa is misguided. The guards are there to go after drug dealers what are Ryan and those lads getting involved for. They are not republicans if they dare confuse confuse fighting drug dealers with uniting Ireland. I’m sorry but that won’t wash. That is the job of the . If they arnt doing it satisfactorily then government should e. simple as. Get behinds earful self determination or disappear into anonymity.

• Grammar not the finest in my comment below.

• YOU ALWAYS BE REMEMBERED NORTH AND SOUTH OF THE BORDER
    RIP ALAN

• FAKE GUNS ….. Really …..WTF

• Sorry there damoecls that reply wasn’t meant for u!!!

• Personally I don’t see a major problem with having a gun salute , it’s tradition as far as the RIRA are concerned despite the fact they are no longer an army and just more like thugs and extortionists !

• A bit late after the fact n’est pas?

• Shame on the west brit Garda , Alan Ryan was a true irish man untill the second he was murdered, he done what he could to makeleinster house his community a safer place for those who lived in it , Alan Ryan never sold out like the Quislings in leinster house and remember his people in the occupied 6 were still fighting the bristish on the streets , Rip ALAN , Victory to the Republican Movement !!

• t

• Think uv been watchin a bit too much southpark there Damocles. U mite want to understand what ur talking about before u post stupid comments like that .

Add New Comment