TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Saturday 18 May, 2013

Second Shatter statement rejects ‘inaccurate’ Sunday Independent story

The Justice Minister responds to an earlier Sunday Independent statement regarding a frontpage story about correspondence between himself and the Taoiseach and says the paper needs to apologise.

Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall

Update 9.55pm

JUSTICE MINISTER ALAN Shatter has said that the Sunday Independent needs to issue an “apology and correction without delay” for a story published on the front of the paper today.

In his second statement of the day about the matter Shatter has strongly criticised the paper in response to a statement that the publication had issued earlier this evening in which it said it stands over its story.

The paper, edited by Anne Harris, had earlier rejected “the content and tone” of an earlier statement issued today by Shatter, in response to a report the ‘Sindo’ published regarding correspondence between himself and Taoiseach Enda Kenny.

The article – headlined, ‘Kenny asks Shatter to meddle in family case’ – discussed correspondence between Kenny and Shatter earlier this year, when Kenny’s office sent a letter concerning a legal case before the courts regarding one of the Taoiseach’s constituents.

It reports that Shatter ultimately responded by telling the Taoiseach it would be “inappropriate” and “entirely improper” for a member of the government to intervene in such a court case.

The Minister responded to the article this afternoon, saying that it was a “gross misrepresentation of the correspondence that took place” and said that Kenny had never asked him “to meddle” or “intervene” in the case as alleged by the paper.

sunday-independent-kenny-shatter

Today’s Sunday Independent ran the article as its front page lead story.

Letters

In response the paper said it stood over its story and claimed that Shatter had incorrectly said in his statement that the matter related to ‘Land Registry records’.

Now the Minister claims that it is possible the paper was “furnished with an uncorrected draft response which mistakenly contained a reference to ‘Court Registry Records’” when it submitted a Freedom of Information request.

In full: The two versions of the letter Alan Shatter sent to the Taoiseach

Shatter said in his statement tonight – his second of the day: “The Sunday Independent today published an article stating as fact that the Taoiseach asked me to “meddle” and to “intervene” in a court case related to the marriage breakdown of one of his constituents. That was, and remains a wholly inaccurate claim, not supported by fact or by any correspondencebetween the Taoiseach and myself.”

He went on to say:

I note that the Sunday Independent statement of this evening does not reassert that false claim and I deem this to be significant. It does, however, allege that the Taoiseach “made representations” to me in this matter. This is also inaccurate. As stated on his behalf on Friday last in respect of correspondence received by him, his office forwards queries in such correspondence for the attention of the Department responsible. As detailed in my statement earlier today, in this instance he merely requested that I “examine the points raised” in a constituents letter and furnish him with advice thereon.

In the interests of accuracy and fairness the Sunday Independent should issue an apology and correction without delay.

Finally, in their statement this evening, the Sunday Independent queries whether the substantive response furnished by me to the Taoiseach makes reference to “Court Registry Records” or “Land Registry Records”. I have already addressed this in my earlier statement but, in the interests of transparency, I am publishing with this statement the actual letter sent by me to the Taoiseach on 7th June last.

Any reference in it which could identify the constituent concerned has been redacted. It is possible that in response to its FOI request the Sunday Independent was furnished with an uncorrected draft response which mistakenly contained a reference to “Court Registry Records”.

If this occurred, neither it nor any other part of the correspondence provided any basis of any nature whatsoever for the false statement that the Taoiseach requested that I “meddle” and “intervene” in a court case related to the marriage breakdown of one of his constituents.

Newspaper’s response

In an earlier statement issued by Harris, she rejected the Minister’s first statement and emphasised that “both the Taoiseach and the Minister were offered a full opportunity to comment last Friday”.

Harris said that only the Taoiseach responded and that the newspaper carried his response in full.

The statement continued:

We stand by our story that the Taoiseach made representations on behalf of a constituent, regarding ‘an issue on Family Law’ and seeking details of ”…the present position in this case”.
We are concerned that the Minister’s statement contains information that does not seem to be correct. The Minister refers to his correspondence with the Taoiseach as having stated: “it would be entirely improper for a member of Government to intervene in any way with Land Registry records”. In fact, the correspondence released to the Sunday Independent refers to the fact that it would be entirely improper for a member of Government to intervene in any way with “Court (our emphasis) Registry” records.
The Sunday Independent relied on copies of correspondence in relation to this matter between the Taoiseach and the Minister for Justice released by the Dept of Justice under the Freedom of Information Act.

- with reporting from Hugh O’Connell

Earlier: Shatter says newspaper article is “dishonest and inaccurate”

Read next:

Comments (142 Comments)

• Why does anybody contact a TD about ANY court matter? Contact the courts or talk to your solicitor.
    Why does Kenny even pass it on?
    He should run them out the door and say that’s not what I’m here for.
    But this is dodgy little Ireland and this is how we do things.

• Why would Enda even bother forward on a request that was inappropriate, which would indicate its content had his support?

He should have replied to the constituent with the same reply Shatter gave..

It stinks..

• jesus 28/10/12 #

“which would indicate it’s content had his support”.

Now fowarding a letter to the relevant department is supporting it? The content did not have his support, and she was told as much. No interference took place.

The only thing that stinks is the Sindo’s desperate attempts to smear Kenny, and leftie loons desperate to get something on Kenny who’s party has risen in popularity since the general election.

• #Jesus- well said.

• ISBA 28/10/12 #

Words “parish” and “pump” come to mind. Kenny is such a disappointment. He has been really exposed since coming to power. Absolutely no competence, no leadership, no clue.

• #ISBA parish pump politics refers to looking after your own constituency ahead of the national interest. There is no question of the constituent in question getting any sort of favour. Any Irish citizen is entitled to approach their local TD for help, though. It’s up to the TD to handle it in a responsible manner. Exactly as our Taoiseach did in this instance. Representing their local community is exactly what our TD’s are meant to do.

• Hulk Hogan comes to mind, If it hadn’t been a Traveller family? He would have had to resign, then you have JR in the health sector being in Contempt of Court and looking after his friend. Now Enda, so much for change?

• Alan Shatter is an expert on family law. Forwarding a letter to gain his advice is not meddling.

• Shayne O’D
      I agree with you . Thing is every one knows that no one can interfere with the courts . Kenny should have told his interfering constituent that no one can interfere with the courts ,sorry , be on your way . Then that would be an end to it . Shatter would not have felt the need to put Kenny right and we would not be having this discussion.

• if there was no interference intended by Kenny then why did he ask after “forwarding” the letter to be kept informed??….it has been said by those in the legal profession that he has broken the law, simple……..and now Shatter is trying to muddy the water by saying the letter the Indo got was a mistaken earlier draft ……….stinks to high heavens, and so it will be forever in this state!!!

• If I passed a query to my TD and he forwarded it on to a colleague on my behalf, I’d expect him to ask to be kept informed- so that he could revert to me. A very reasonable request. Unless of course you have an agenda.

• Alan. I am a Big player on the European (German award) and world (cover of Time Magazine) stage. Would you take a look at this Land Registry thing for one of my Mayo voters? I am working on my speech for the nobel prize for economics (How to run an economy that drops a yearly €25 billion budget deficit). Auf Wiedersen. Enda

• Nothing’s really changed since that time Bertie interfered on behalf of Joe Burkes pal!

• It is stated in the constitution about the seperation of powers between the three arms of state, The legislature, The executive (Government) and the judicurey. So why did Kenny not binned this letter when he recieve it instead of passing it on to Shatter. Either he did not know the constitution or else he was bented on breaking the basic fundalmentals of the constitution. Either way, it would mean that he is not fit to hold the office of taoiseach if he did not know this basic principle.

• Hmmm more to run on this I think the minister doth protest too much !!

• Lets wait and see, The FG Brigade will be out in force with personal attacks on people to protect Their Furer!

• I agree with John g McGrath and Stephen Murphy .

• jesus 28/10/12 #

You would Eileen – that is agree with a story which is based on a lie. Any attempt to try to get one over on the government, even if the premise of the story is a complete fabrication.

You must be getting nervous now that the first county council has yesterday started handing out summons for non-payment of the household charge. I noticed you changed your avatar.

• #Stephen: 34%.

• Jesus
      Why would I be feeling nervous ? I am not easily bullied or intimidated ,you know that or you and your buddies would not be so eager to harrass me here. I will not be paying it any way. So no I am not at all nervous.

• jesus 28/10/12 #

Harassed? Dont be such a victim all the time.

It’s interesting that you changed your avatar in the last 24 hours from “DONT PAY THE HOUSEHOLD CHARGE” – one which you had for many months.Don’t be intimidated – it’s just a day in court .

• #Eileen- the good news is that I’m pretty sure they have copies of the Sunday papers in prison so you’ll be able to read them in there. Plus: 3 squares a day. You see- you’ll be able to avail of more services you haven’t contributed to.

• Look closer at my profile avatar ,you muppett ! It is a CAHWT Protest pic .
      One that is around since last March . So NO I am not intimidated at all.
      Of course the image may be beyond your understanding obviously .

• jesus 28/10/12 #

Eileen , it’s a picture of a fish eating another fish.

You need to have a proper recognised campaign if you want subtle logos to work. The other avatar was loud, obnoxious and looked crap. It suited you better.

• Prison ?
      Vincent @
      What would I want to know about prison for . There will be no prison . That is what shatter said . Any way boys
      you two are completely off topic . Or maybe you do not like Shatter telling Kenny to get a grip . ?

• Jesus is right, #Eileen. If they’re organising a Guilford 4 type campaign to get you out of Mountjoy for Christmas make sure they get someone else to do the logo for it. Maybe a good graphic of a cake with a hacksaw in it or something?

• Sticks and stones boys sticks and stones . and so juvenile. Ha ha . Tell me How much do you boys get paid to be Enda’s Heavies ?

• Ah, Eileen. It’s law enforcement you need to worry about. No other heavies.

• Hey Eileen…who did you vote for again in the last election?

• I have great respect for law enforcement .In fact I believe they do a great job given the fact that their numbers are so severely cut and lack of support that they are getting from the government . So the Gardai would have no interest in me or mine as I respect them. It is the Law I have a problem with.

• Shatter coming out swinging for the second time today, I see. Despite him providing incontrovertible evidence that the Taoiseach merely passed on a constituents correspondence and sought advice from an expert, the lefties on here will continue to pump out baseless innuendo. Pretty typical. It remains very sad that an Irish institution has sunk to such lies. I really hope this is a watershed moment and editorial objectivity is restored.

• #Eileen: I imagine rank & file Gardai would rather you paid your taxes than extend platitudes. I’m sure they’ll be very nice to you when they’re bringing you through the courthouse. And on visiting days.

• Believe you me , The Gardai rank and file or other wise do not give a rats if I pay my HHC or not . They are very grateful to us as they are as broke as the rest of us ,and have always treated us with respect when we protest as we respect them . Muppet !

• jesus 28/10/12 #

Eileen you can use the Sindo as toilet paper in prison – it’s true purpose.

• #Eileen: you cut me deep! I’m not the tax evader, though.

• Jesus
      Please do not be crude .

Vincent

I doubt you could bleed ,so don’t worry about it .

• If you cut him does he not bleed?

• I still don’t know what a household charge is.. Is it a charge for being Irish?

• John
      I would not be cutting any body so his arguement is moot. :)

• Martin 28/10/12 #

@Jesus, @Vincent, Not one person will go to prison for not paying the household charge. What’s our idiot government going to do imprison over a half a million Irish people ,me think’s not. They are thick but there not going to destroy their politcal futures. The most they will try is a handful of court case’s to try and extract fine’s and hope that scares the rest of the people into paying. People are to angry to fall for that, so it will fall flat and fade away. End of. You boys need to try harder to earn your few bob from merrion square the FG pr debt will be cutting your pint vouchers.

• #Martin….it doesn’t really matter. Don’t pay- get a judgement against you and your credit rating is gone. Good luck getting a loan. And ultimately it’s all a colossal waste of time fighting it as when the real thing comes in, they’ll just reach in and take it out if your bank account. So protest all ye want- ye will all end up paying your fair share. Just like the rest if us. That should be good for a Guinness.

• Martin 29/10/12 #

@Vincent you do talk a lot of rubbish. Firstly people afraid their credit history would be affected !! Hah! where are you living 2003 ? You think people who can barely put bread on the table care about that, they are already ruined thanks to your bunch and FF. What banks do you know that are giving morgages, have ye read the newspapers nope didnt think so. And as for the government reaching into your bank account for money that would require a court case in every single case or a constituional change. They could stop unemployment payments or welfare payments but thats it. And if people cant feed themselves the government would be breaking EU law unless they gave them the means to feed themselves. I personally dont have to pay the household charge but glad to hear you did. You wont be getting that back when this all collapse’s you know. Poor you.

• #Martin. Yeah, yeah, yeah I’ve heard it all before and it’s always from mouthpieces who a). Don’t have a memory that extends back more than 18 months to recall the mess FG inherited and b). Aren’t paying their taxes. So I couldn’t give a flying fig what you think. Come back to me when you’re contributing like most of the hard working people if Ireland to our recovery. Until then you’re just another sponger with an opinion.

• Martin 29/10/12 #

@Vincent , not paying my taxes what are you talking about , I’m an employer of 14 people 5 of which are Irish and only two days ago sent off a painfully fat cheque for my tax contribution for this year. Your a little child you should be in your bed this forum is above your little head, off to the leaba with ye now and let the grown ups converse.

• #Martin. Thanks for your CV. But I’m pretty sure I made it clear the importance I attached to your opinion, no?

• Martin 29/10/12 #

@Vincent I thought you were told to go to bed ! Up them stairs and dream your self some brains. Please dont be annoying grown ups on here with your uninformed view of our country.

• An inspirational retort Martin. I’m in awe of your intellectual prowess.

• Vincent Dolan
      Do you scare monger much because you are sh1te at it , and so cloce to Halloween too, you couldn’t scare a kitten.
      No one can go to a bank a/c and take money from it . Maybe after several court cases they might get an attachment or some sort of other tool to take money BUT there would have to be money there to take …..Good luck with that ! Now go away and let the adults talk and for goodness sake stop telling porkies or halloween will be just a washout for you . Bye bye .

• #Ah Eileen, has Martin got a little groupie? That’s so sweet! Romance found on the Journal!

• Martin 29/10/12 #

@Vincent Thanks I’d like to say the same for you but alas…you temporary right wingers never pose much opposition from that angle.

• #Martin, no problem at all. See what we do instead of talking is, we assume power and run the country- trying to rebuild our Republic. But I know you’re happy to sit on the sidelines and snipe away with populist, unrealistic tripe. But the sidelines are the best place for ye so it works out for everyone, don’t you think?

• Martin 29/10/12 #

@Vincent Hah so funny…”we assumed power” that’s correct that’s what FG did alright . You lied to the population to get power so I’d say assume power is the perfect way to describe that method. And you want to “rebuild our Republic” even funnier one; you know that Republic means a country thats run for the benifit of the people THE PEOPLE not the banks and your right wing pals the Bondholders. Mick Collins must be spinning at what your crowd done to his country in the last 18 months. But then Enda getting his collaberators medal from the Germans for making us pay their banks bills should distract you all from your shame for awhile though.

• #Martin….it’s German debt….nothing to do with the Irish people…..we in no way lost the run of ourselves during the Celtic Tiger years…..big Germans with guns frogmarched us down to our banks and made us take out loans we couldn’t afford to pay back…now we can just refuse to pay it back and all will be fine & dandy for Ireland…..there’ll be no repercussions……blah, blah, blah, blah. Heard it all before . A hundred times. God help you. I mean it really.

• Martin 29/10/12 #

@Vincent So you are admitting that you lost the run of yourself and went mad spending during the boom. Well I’ve news for you it’s not your fault. The German regulator failed to regulate just as ours did and allowed over 200 Billion be invested by German banks into our unregulated banks along with billions from French English and American institutions. All attempting to make money off our property bubble, trouble is they KNEW the chances of them losing there investment once the papers were signed were zero as there were too many high profile European institutions involved and the ECB would not allow a default by ireland which could destroy the euro. So we are paying their losses for them. You got that now. Good man. You should really know what your talking about before you start tapping away with your rubbish.

• #Martin. It’s people like you who have ruined this country. Always the victim, it’s never your fault. It’s not that we borrowed to much, it’s that we were allowed to????? Maybe you’re a child who can’t work out your own capacity to repay a loan- but I can. I don’t expect anyone else to do it for me. It’s that abdication if personal responsibility that has destroyed us. And you just sound like a complete and utter innocent when you spout it out.

• Don’t worry, Martin. I’m sure you can pick up a pop up book somewhere with small words that will simplify the whole “if you borrow money, the onus is on you to make sure you can pay it back” economic principle. Or ask your Daddy.

• Martin 29/10/12 #

@Vincent its like talking to a toddler, why am I wasting my time conversing with someone whose either a kid or unemployed person who has so much free time he can spend all day zipping from one topic to another on this site. Stop wasting your time and get on a job site and start paying some tax like the rest of us.

• #Martin. Wow. I knew you were innocent about the economy but surely you’ve heard of Bank Holidays, no? Ask somebody to explain to you why lots of people have time on their hands today. It’s ok. I know I spoke about some things in my last post that probably confused you. Your head is probably a little fuzzy. Go for a little nap and rest assured that when you wake up Fine Gael will still be running the country and you and your ill conceived, populist tripe will remain absolutely inconsequential in the overall scheme of things. We’ve got your back. It’s our job to protect the innocent, the vulnerable and the easily lead.

• Vincent
      Seriously ! What has any of this got to do with Shatter telling Kenny off ?
      Shatter put Kenny full square in his place . I do not think Shatter is a good Minister for Justice , but he knows the law .

• ” Go for a little nap and rest assured that when you wake up Fine Gael will still be running the country and you and your ill conceived, populist tripe will remain absolutely inconsequential in the overall scheme of things.” This comment, particularly ”you [ ] will remain absolutely inconsequential in the overall scheme of things” Direct Quote from Vincent Dolan ! This comment is just one prime example of the arrogance and contempt Vincent Dolan AKA Fine Gael hack holds decent people . Just because they have an alternative view point . Disgraceful comment and shows the level he and his type will sink .
      People , be careful out there !

• #Eileen: Lol “People be careful out there!”……think you watched too much Hill Street Blues when you were younger.

• Martin 31/10/12 #

@Vincent Monday was only a bank holiday for people who deal soley in Ireland not the case for some of us I’m afraid. It’s a pity you didn’t spend your bank holiday studying basic economics and perhaps you might have had posted something worth reading instead of the usual right wing simplistic drivle. Any chance you might defend the lies you told about the government being able to take money out of peoples bank accounts, I love to hear that little gem.

• #Martin…Tell you what, Mr. Man Of The People, why don’t you explain your comment: ” Why am I wasting my time conversing with someone whose….unemployed”. Typical hypocrisy from a mouthpiece such as yourself. And you call me right wing? For the record, I think the unemployed are amongst the most entitled stakeholders to speak up right now, though I am fortunate enough not to be in their ranks. How quickly your veil of compassion for the common man slips! In fairness it’s in line with your general smugness- which would be fine if you could provide something of substance in any of your arguments to support your own sense of superiority. Alas, all we get is regurgitated waffle from someone clearly of limited understanding and diminished ability. You really shouldn’t confuse the capacity to listen to talk radio and repeat what is said as intellect or having an opinion. A parrot can do that. All very embarrassing for you. Still. You enjoy the sound of your own voice. That’s the main thing, eh?

• Martin 31/10/12 #

@Vincent. Standing up for the unemployed now are ye, contradict yourself often do you? I have sympathy for the common man of which I’m one you clearly dont think you are, I just don’t have any for simple minded right wing lackey’s like yourself. People that come on to forums like this and have to make up LIES to support their childish arguments. Telling people that the government can reach into their bank accounts and take the household charge money. The same unemployed that you pretend to care about, you’ve already said you want them to pay the household charge even if they can’t feed themselves or their children or not. Your so bad at this its funny your a lightweight and don’t know it. I’ve read your comments on other topics and seen you been destroyed by every person you attacked. That was a nice little coffee break, any CHANCE YOU WILL APOLOGISE FOR COMING ON THE JOURNAL AND LYING, little boy.

• #Ah, Martin. Don’t cry now. Dry your eyes. The record shows that you’re the one casting aspersions on those without work, not me. Everything else you have to say after that, which is beneath contempt, as so often is the case with you is just white noise. You’re just boring me now.

• Martin 02/11/12 #

@Vincent Sorry little fella but LIARS have no credibility with me, anything you say on the journal has no worth, I notice you don’t deny your Lies. If you not already you should join FG you’d fit right in with them. ;-)

• Ah, Martin. It’s so funny that you retain the notion that having credibility with the likes of you is something that would even remotely interest me. The record shows my comments pertained to future legislation that could accompany the permanent household charge. Its called the future tense. Your inability to read properly can be a problem for you, I know so I’ll not judge you too harshly. I’ll tell you what is interesting, though. Self proclaimed hero of the masses that you are you seem most insistent on telling me all about your job???!?!? Your self employed, you employ 12-13 people, 4-5 are Irish, your business is international. You, on the other hand don’t even know if I even have a job. This proves 2 things: 1). You’re desperately insecure. It’s very obvious you need to emphasise your perceived credentials. This is right and proper as if we were to judge you on your posts alone we could be forgiven for thinking an 8 year old girl had commandeered her Dads Journal password. 2). As proven by your earlier comment about not conversing with the unemployed, you clearly think your supposed status in life gives you the authority to look down on those less fortunate & pontificate. That speaks of your rearing as much as anything. A lack of class. To be fair, I have to admit I have let myself down on here too. Usually I’m very good at spotting people like you & circumventing them. Inexplicably, though I derived a perverse sense of satisfaction in putting you in your place. That was wrong of me as its not nice to mock the afflicted. That was beneath me. This, then is the last time I’m indulging you. It’s not a fair fight. I hope you find in life some cop on & more importantly some humility. Later. Or not as the case will be. Be a good boy now.

• Ha ha …. Hilarious ! ”Dillon Costigan” ”Vincent Dolan” or who ever you are , You have just outed yourself as being a nobody ,using false identities and multiple names. Thicko.

• #Eileen / Martin…unfortunately Eileen, when your friends start receiving pretty unpleasant Facebook messages because some unsavouries have accessed your Facebook friends list, its time to institute some security!! To be fair, I don’t think either you or Martin to be of that ilk- so I was quite comfortable with the two of ye knowing.

• Yeah right , I believe you thousands don’t . Go away who ever you are muppett.

• David 28/10/12 #

I think poor auld Gerry Adams will be dragged up again by Enda because of this!

• I have no faith,confidence or trust in any way in the government.
    They have decieved,u-turned and shown nothing but contempt for the electorate .
    Nothing surprises me and I honestly can’t blame people hating them.

• Well as I thought, the FG SS storm troopers are out attacking the people. All bow down and hail Enda, our supreme leader and Ayotollah. What would it have been like, if FG had a majority and Governed on their own? One shudders to think, I feel pity for the FG brigade and hope they’ll wake up some day! Good luck on that?

• Fine Gael represent 34% of the people. More than you do Stephen. Or any other political party by some distance. So by any metric, it’s FG that represents the people. Not you. You know. With us being a Democracy & all.

• @ Vincent 34 % maybe the figure in hand but it’s not a true reflection of FG supporters, don’t forget at least 14% of that vote was made up of the “anyone but FF vote”

• #Dave- so you say. I didn’t see that statistic in the Sunday Business Post. The reasons why people support any given party varies. But the anti-FF voter could go to Labour, SF or independents. Many did. At the end of the day, the SBP poll shows that 34% of people want FG running the country. It’s recognition if the steady progress they’ve made.

• Jaysus the government has a new-found interest in the family…

• great for lighting the fire the indo

• Where’s Labour on this i wonder, in Franfurt?

• Darren 28/10/12 #

This is corruption at its worst. Whatever is on this letter it should never have been written in the first place. It was obviously somebody that was a donator to FG or somebody Kenny knew personally. FG/Lab government are just as corrupt and arrogant as the previous crowd. If we ever have a decent government this “favours for friends” crack would be outlawed and these corrupt politicians would be locked up. Im not a big fan of the indo but they are doing everybody in this country a favour by highlighting this.

• When I read some of the comments here I have to have a chuckle to myself, there are still people in this country who have not worked it out, this government (just like the last one) does not represent Ireland’s best interests or what is best for the people, in short they are traitors-lock-stock and barrel. Lets stop making excuses for their crimes, The EU will fail, the Euro is gone, yet they continue to delude themselves and the uninformed populace that ‘its all going to be OK’ as long as we suffer ongoing austerity (so that the super rich bondholders can by yet another yacht, island, rent boy or what ever). Honestly people, turn Fair City/Corrie off and research what is really going on in the world, it isn’t what they tell you on RTÉ, and that is for sure!

• It’s a rag of a paper anyway -

• what does Vincent Dolan and Alan shatter have in common? is it?

A: they are both blueshirts?
    B: they are both bullies?
    C: both of the above?
    D: none of the above?

answers on a postcard to:
    Angela Merkel
    Chairman
    Fine Gael
    GDR

• Most likely nothing illegal has actually been done, All the same its the sort of thing which undermines public confidence when a justice minister need to come out protesting twice in a day over a matter which should never arise if handled properly in the first place. Now it has got as far as the press latching on it needs to be demonstrated in so far as possible that nothing untoward has happened. My personal take on it is that the justice minister is, I fear, less convincing than the Taoiseach himself would be. Then again, I’m never convinced by Mr Shatter at the best of times.

• jesus 28/10/12 #

” a justice minister need to come out protesting twice in a day over a matter ”

He has released two statements – one to correct the original lie which was the headline story in the Sindo and the second to respond the Sindo’s statement earlier on this evening.

I notice you have nothing to say on the original story which has turned out to be a complete fabrication. Gutter journalism as it’s worst.

• well, if it was complete fabrication the learned Mr. Shatter will take some sort of libel case surely………………don’t hold your breath!!!!

• I Feel Sick everytime I hear Alan Shatters name, Its a really bad Porn name

• Never believe the sindo or indo

• Well he had to come up with sum thing to protect enda,s backside.

A pack of joker,s inside the Goverrnment I what we have, they are a disgrace to the people of Ireland and to our beautiful country.

http://www.change.org/petitions/supporting-the-irish-nation-step-down-from-government

• I wonder did all these politicians get elected simply to get a huge pension and pay off their debts over a longer period on loans taken out at the height of the boom. It explains away Wallace and O Reilly plus a few others. These guys have assets like the Quinns in their family names in Irish and using maiden names. When will this be investigated?? If they joined for self promotion then it is a sorry state of affairs. They don’t want to help the public or the less well off so if anybody can tell me why shatter would go for a position at this late stage of his career I would love to know.

• Non story so far, wish that they had researched the whole story first, and then if there was a story… they could tell it.

However, if information from the case was passed to An Taoiseach (which would be a crime), and then An Taoiseach passed it on (supreme stupidity)

Either way, nothing can be done as it’s a private court and we have separation of powers.

So at worst if information was passed on, really all it was was stupidity.

I wouldn’t be calling it a crime, or corruption, or Parish pump politics (I mean if constituents don’t know what to do, I think it’s a good thing that they are comfortable to contact their local TD).

It is nothing but a bit of stupidity on the behalf of someone who should have known better. That is all….. from what I can tell anyway.

• How unsurprising it is that the Sunday Independent would decline to honour it’s fine journalistic heritage by recognising it made a mistake by running a non-story and attempting to spin it to make the Government look bad. Their anti-Government stance is beyond question and all the present editorial staff are succeeding in doing is ruining an Irish institution. Objectivity is the cornerstone of journalism. How sad it is that it is in such short supply in INM.

• Vincent you claim FG represent 34% of the people.
    I thought the government are ment to represent all the people.
    Once again a FGer admitting they only look after their own.

• Ignore him, If he believes FG has 34% of the vote? He is in cuckoo land, Polls are not accurate and should not be used for politics. If there was an election tomorrow, FG would get a huge kicking and everyone except FG know this!

• shatter is not to be trusted he always has an agenda

• Most people on here would want to get a life

• Don’t mind them Enda pack of journalists when the country is going good they just find a story to thrash it again.

• @Ryan Shut up ya mup

• did you know mr. vincent that most crimes of the white collar variety are commited in our dirty secret in camera family law court where they pretend to be interested in the welfare of children and in fact abuse them by the deliberate practice of alienating them from their fathers so they can then pillage family property and assets and no one can publicly speak about how they do this for fear of contempt of court, and now they want to extend their powers giving them greater powers over the family (more money ,as they salivate) all in the interest of children , mar deadh. Convince them that your actions are to benefit their children and they will believe anything……..Adolf Hitler

Add New Comment