TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Anti-Islam film protests spread to Australia

Police in Sydney clashed with demonstrators outside at Hyde Park.

Scenes at Hyde Park, Sydney earlier today.
Image: @postboxadam via Twitter

WAVES OF PROTESTS have been seen in the Middle East and London and now demonstrations over an anti-Islamic film made in the US have spread as far as Australia.

Six police officers were injured and eight people arrested during Saturday’s violence in Sydney.

ABC News reports that police clashed with protesters in Hyde Park and the city’s business district, while fights were also seen on the streets.

The broadcaster said it understands the rally was started after a mass text message was sent, which read: “We must defend the honour of our prophet, we must act now.”

Hundreds of Muslims then took to the streets to protest against the controversial film made in the US. At about 1pm, a group of people marked from Sydney Town Hall to Martin Place, where a confrontation involving both protesters and police occurred outside the US Consulate.

Police said that a number of people left the group peacefully but some others moved to Hyde Park where police negotiated with them in an attempt to disperse the crowd. However, further violence erupted until about 5pm.

About 150 officers were called to the protest and six were injured during the events. Eye witnesses said that glass bottles and other missiles were thrown in the direction of police. Two have been taken to hospital for treatment. Eight people were arrested for various offences including affray, assault and throwing a missile, said NSW Police Superintendent Mark Walton.

“I think we have actually acted very professionally and responded very well to what was a completely unannounced and unorganised protest. There was no advice given to police by this group that they intended to protest and, as a result, in a very short amount of time we had a significant amount of police,” he added.

Protesters say that pepper spray was used on them. Police admitted to the use of OC spray “in an attempt to subdue and disperse the crowd” during an incident at Martin Place. A total of 17 people were treated on site for the effects. Two others received medical treatment for dog bites.

“In NSW there is a right to peaceful protest,” continued Walton, “a right to express our view – but there are rules to follow. This group did not advise police of their plans, there was little or no organisation or control of what they were doing, and their actions were disgraceful.”

Whatever their grievance, there is no excuse for this type of unlawful and anti-social behaviour, and it will not be tolerated under any circumstances.

Prime Minister Julia Gillard said the protest was unacceptable.

“Violent protest is never acceptable – not today, not ever,” she said in a statement.

US diplomatic posts around the world have been targeted in recent days by protests against the film Innocence of Muslims, which ridicules the Prophet Muhammad.

Yesterday: More deaths as protests against anti-Islam film spread>

Egyptian leaders call off nationwide protest against anti-Islamic film>

Read next:

Comments (170 Comments)

• behead all those who insult the prophet…scary:(

• The Aussies don’t tolerate any type of radical intimidation. The unapologetic terminology used by the police and Prime minister should be a benchmark for other countries to follow.Europeans should take note!

• Yup. It’s a disgrace seeing the Americans apologizing instead of defending this guys right to freedom of speech. But that’s America all over, full of hypocrisy. And let’s not forget my right to hear what people have to say, regardless of whether people (me included) find it offensive!

• Radical Islam has no place in western democracy and should be purged at any cost lest khedive social disruption in future years

• Wow a religion where its ok to behead people, isn’t religion great.

• lunatics

• Must have a quick look in my Quran to see what the good prophet said about films and video again

• Islam , The Religion of Peace, yeah right….

• I think they would be much happier if we were all still living in the dark ages, seriously these guys would love to be burning witches, its frightening to think that anyone could still think and behave like this in the 21st century.

• no peace to this religion mark….many of them still living in the time of the crusades….used to see their brain washed brethren trying to recruit to the cause outside tube stations…now doing the same evil work outside one of our monuments here in Dublin….the GPO

• Mr powers,the people who promote Islam outside our GPO are EVIL,have you seen the evil,if so
      tell us what it was,i have spoken to these people,i found them to be o.k. Do i agree with their views
      NO.But we live in a democracy,the violent protesters in the middle east are usually uneducated
      fools who believe the local mullah who spouts hatred,We have the same type in the west look at Fox
      News last nite one guest after another spouting propaganda.Not one news network showed the
      protest in tripoli Libya, hundreds of libyans holding up signs of support and sorrow about the deaths
      of 4 US. In this country a few years ago citizens destroyed the city centre,because a march was about to take
      place by protestants from the north. They did not represent the whole of Irish society,but were manipulated
      by a small faction for their own gain,

• Mr Cahill s….I’m not Mr powers

Grow up…one thing leads to another and from my own experience of 18 years teaching in multicultural londonistan the most evil ones….yes I said EVIL.are the converts…

• Great to see the Australian police actually confronting these headcases with attack dogs and tear gas. The only language these Neanderthals understand…

• How in the name of God are you supposed to reason with people who want to behead half the globe because of one film made by a few individuals. Even the Irish Muslim community who were interviewed on RTE news yesterday were saying free speech should not apply when their religion is in question. I understand that those causing violence are a small minority but there is a mindset deep within the Muslim religion that believes themselves to be massively superior yet they are very insecure at the same time. It’s a strange one. I for one do not think the producers did one thing wrong. There’s a film about Mohammed, get over it!

• If people actually looked at their religion objectively rather than subjectively they would realise it’s a load of codology. They have a hatred of anything that could cause them to question – hence their insecurity.

• If they can arrest and convict anyone for this violence then deport them. Won’t see so many protesting then in case they have to leave the country that the moved to ‘for a better life’.

• You have to wonder if many of them even know what they are shouting about?????? I was watching the protests on TV last night and it reeks of just plain thuggery.

• random 16/09/12 #

I read an article about the Egyptian protests where a number of the protesters were interviewed. Apparently they are under the impression that the film is a big hollywood production, that it has been released and is very popular, that it was funded by the US government, and other such lies. Attempts to explain the truth to them fell on deaf ears, of course.

So yeah, they really don’t know what they’re shouting about…

• Saps. Why can’t they bog off and worship their deity however they wish, and leave the rest of us infidels in peace.

• Were definitely at the point now where these lads needs to be told to cop on or they’re getting jailed or deported, they’re let run amok every time someone gets the crayola’s out to draw a picture or makes a film about the nomad

• Whatever you say about other religions, Muslims and their muslim ‘leaders’ and ‘academics’ are the only people who have ever protested on the streets for less free rights. America should not pander to these people anymore and not even justify their protests with a response. The west should show this film in every cimema in the free works and if the muslim countries want to make an issue of it, let them do it. And if the muslim community in Ireland doesn’t respect our freedoms they should go home to the utopian paradise that is their home countries. We welcome them to the west and they should respect our freedoms. If not tey should just go home.

• I’d love to see you try repatriate the 20,000 or so with Irish citizenship… What time’s the book burning at your place tonight anyway?

Another moronic comment, trying to find hassle where there’s none, ie the Irish Muslim community

• So Imran, instead of inviting people to “bite you” would you condem this violence, or are you going to try to justify it?
      I live in a society, as you do, where we are free to speak our minds, say what we want, draw any cartoon we want or watch any movie we want. If I’m offended with you that’s fine, I’m not going to kill you. You have that freedom, you can tell me to “bite you”.

• Mr Balls, I don’t condemn this violence for the same reason I don’t condemn violence in the north, or the certain actions by elements of the traveller community or any other group…. Because it has very little to do with me and to condemn these actions would come across as though I feel I have something to apologise for…which I certainly do not. I will, however condemn some of the borderline racist, bigoted comments I see on this site by the less than enlightened and uneducated growing number of morons here who think there’s some kind of impending Islamic takeover of this small backwater of a country. I condemn these comments, because although I’m an ardent athiest of Irish birth, I still will have to put up with the casual bigotry I encounter on an infrequent but growing basis.

Now, usually I don’t give such in-depth responses to commentators who aren’t sure enough in their convictions and have the sufficient scrotal mass, rusty or otherwise, to reveal their true identity… and similarly, if you’re only capable of a thumbing down without comment, fair enough….but the ‘bite me’ stands.

How’s that?

• Imran, I am an athiest just like you, i dont take any offense to any of these comments so just wondering why do you ?

• Well said tara why dont they go home if they dont like our liberial country because they like our liberial welfare more.

• What I expected. But you see I do condem the violence in the North, and that by certain elements of the traveller community. I also condem flying planes into buildings, killing innocent people because you hate the country they’re from and passing a death sentence on those who draw cartoons or make movies. I condem a culture or religon that encourages the use of viloence as a tool. I invited you to condem the violence, not apologise for it.
      I’m confident of my “convictions” and my “sufficient rusty scrotal mass” but I don’t wish to use my identity on an open forum, don’t want a mob after me now do I? I’m also an atheist and as such I’m curious which comments you found racist or bigoted, if they were without foundation. You have no problem insulting yet seem to be easily offended.

• My mother’s side is Catholic, I would be equally offended if someone said all Catholics were paedophiles… although it’s more irritating than offensive to me.

• Mr Balls, I see absolutely no value in passing a comment of the “Oh isn’t that awful” type and swiftly moving on to the next story. Does that automatically make a bad person in your book? You can invite to do this or that all you want, but I feel no obligation to you to comply. If you want my opinion on the riots, or any other matter… I will have no bother answering any specific queries you may have.

I must ask about this mob you’re afraid of…. who might they be now?

• I agree, not all Catholics are paedophiles. But as we now know it has certainly been a significant issue within the Catholic church. It would be the same as saying that not all Muslims are murderers… but yet there is that significant minority who are willing to kill for their religon.
      Incidentally, you referred to Ireland as “a small backwater of a country” yet you seem to have benefitted from what this small backwater has to offer, we must be a terrible disappointment to you, one who is used to so much more.

• Imran the use of hyperbole is not going to get you out that easy.

The thing is you can say that, in fact you can say whatever you want about catholics, christians, hindus, buddhists, atheists, mormons, even those people that still think the world is flat (http://theflatearthsociety.org/cms/).

Thats free speech, the problem is that when it comes to your old faith the same rules dont seem to apply, which is what this article is all about.

• Ah sure wasn’t I born and raised here…. According to Tara that means I can take all I want and give nothing back

And I don’t appreciate the ‘we’ as if to say I’m somehow less Irish than ‘ye’

Everybody has the right to criticise or moan about the country of their birth without having their patriotism questioned.

• I know what the article is about, and I think anyone riots or kills in the name of religion a disgrace to mankind… but I also suspect what we’re seeing in the ME is more a release of seething underlying ant-western anger than it is specifically about the film. The film was just the straw that broke the back.

I’ve never felt muslim and was raised Catholic. What a joke that was. But I’m not a fool and I know that any anti-Muslim feeling in this country will be also directed my way at least until set people straight…. I’m not saying there’s a problem in Ireland, nor moaning or playing some kind of victim. I’m just saying there’s a few off comments on this and similar stories

• @Imran I’d love to sit down face to face and dicuss this with you someday, but this is becoming about you and not the topic it was supposed to be about. I may not agree with you, well not on everything anyway, some things maybe, but I’d rather it didn’t get any more personal. Good night.

• Imran this maybe of use to you.

http://xkcd.com/386/

• Rusty, sometimes some background is necessary to avoid misconceptions…. Also, I am directly responding to other commentators and clarifying where they make erroneous, yet understandable assumptions… such as where James referring to Islam as my ‘old faith’. I doubt anyone would allow such statements to go uncorrected.

Also, you remember you invited me to make a condemnation of the violence, which I refused to do for you directly, but politely explained why I wouldn’t. To now say I’m just harping on about myself is being disingenuous.

• @Imran I think you misunderstood, I don’t feel you’re “harping on about yourself”. I think you’re being attacked. The topic is supposed to be about the anti-Islam movie but instead has become about you, Marc Anthony Power just made references to you being a Muslim – without bothering to read that you were raised a Catholic and are in fact an atheist.

• I’m sorry, I did misunderstand….. and much appreciated.

• I’m a Moran imran because I have an opinion?…I dislike religion and I dispise radical Islam….no place in the west…if that makes me a Moran it’s your opinion….I may not agree with you but I accept it….something most muslims can’t do

• I thought you were a Power

If ya even bothered your arse to read the previous comments, then you shouldn’t be replying with what’s going to end up being a completely off the wall comment. That’s not free speech, that’s called being stupid. Suggesting 50,000 people pack up and leave based on your misunderstood reading of 1 person’s comments is called something else.

• imagine if any other group protested like this in these muslum countries..they would bloody behead ya!but yet we tolerate it nd accept it..think half the world lives in the 21st centuary nd the other half on abother planet!let them colanise mars :-)

• Many people in the west (see Sharia law in the West) are trying to make it illegal to criticise Islam or Islamism. Briefly, criticising people’s genes is wrong. You can’t change your genes. You can’t help being born white, black, Arab, or whatever. But criticising people’s memes is ok – indeed it is what free speech is all about. You can change your memes. Being born an Arab Muslim doesn’t mean you can’t adopt western values, be tolerant of gays, Jews and atheists, even abandon Islam altogether. There is an extraordinary modern idea that we should “respect” other people’s beliefs. Often it is suggested that we should “respect” Islam, Hinduism, Buddhism or other religions, simply because they are old, or have lots of followers. This shows a basic lack of understanding of what a free society is. A free society is one in which you have the right to believe nonsense, and I have the right to call it nonsense. You don’t have to “respect” my stupid beliefs. And I don’t have to “respect” yours. But we both must agree to leave the other alone to believe what they want in peace. So many so-called “liberals” fail to understand this basic building block of a western liberal society. How the accusation of “Islamophobia” is used to silence atheists, unbelievers.
    Source: http://markhumphrys.com/islamophobia.html

• If no limit on free speech is the required standard then those who are harmed by lies and ”lies in joke” have a right to Equality of abuse in their peer group but where will we end up as a society. ?

• Ah the Irony, Kevin.

I criticise the state of Israel and you immediately call me anti-Semitic and racist. You’re pretty good at trying to shut down debate yourself lad.

• Tom, every human being has lies told about them. Every religion is ridiculed, mocked, and exposed for what it is. Every relgion doesn’t react by bombing/attacking embassies, hijacking planes, beheading people, stoning people, and murdering them in 2012. @Petr, you have a problem with a Jewish State? But yet no problem with Islamic States; thats a double standard. I highly disagree with what you say; but I would defend your right to say what you want. Even if it is against me. As the Washington Post Slogan is – “If you don’t get it, then you don’t get it.” I wont be responding after this, as this argument is absurd being put by both you. When you restrict people’s speech/opinions/biases it is no longer “freedom of speech”.

• That’s a common issue Petr. As the world’s only Jewish state, there is a misconception that to criticise the activities of the Israeli government is to be anti-Semitic. Israel is not the saintliest of countries and I don’t always agree with what they get up to in the Middle East yet I have nothing but respect for the Jewish people.

• If I could like this comment more than once, I would. Couldn’t have put it better.

• Great commentn

• Thanks, Niall and Lisa! It just comes down to freedom of speech and basic human rights; so many for some reason just don’t get it or want to.

• Howard Wolowicz is our most important Jew!

• What I find ironic is that if I criticise Israel or Zionism I’m shouted down as an anti-Semite yet the people doing the shouting then rant against Muslims. What they don’t realise is that Arabs and Jews are both Semitic so their barely veiled racism against Arabs is actually anti-Semitic. I don’t hate Jews. I don’t hate anyone. I hate religion and how much it holds back humanity from achieving incredible things. I’m sure that there’s probably plenty of Muslims with incredible intelligence who could provide so much for humanity but are held back by tribalism and religious brainwashing. THINK! Before the western enlightenment the most scientifically advance culture was the Islamic Golden Age of Science!

• Barry, you need to open your heart to Jesus

• That sounds like it could get messy Gaius, have a few clean towels on hand just in case

• Barry in no way was I personally inferring that just because someone is critical of Israeli policies that were because they are anti-Semitic, anti-Jewish, or anti-Israeli? If we are going to go way back and be very technical about the origins of different groups then yes Arabs and Jews are Semitic. But Arabs are not considered Semitic or referred to as that today. Most people can tell whether some is a Jew or Arab; most Jews are of an amalgamation of Hebrew (Semitic) and European origin. When someone is racist against Arabs they aren’t called “anti-Semitic”. Definition – Anti-Semitic – relating to or characterized by anti-Semitism; hating Jews. I know there are a portion of people that over-react when calling someone anti-Semitic or anti-Jewish because they get overly-emotional. My problem (not referring to you in anyway) is the people who constantly bring us Israel and Jews in subjects that have nothing to do with them in the first place. Comments like the following are what make me question a person’s real motives/integrity – “The Jews/Zionists control the media.” “The Jews/Zionists control the weather.” “The Jews/Zionists are the reason for all the problems of the ME; something has to be done.” “The Jews/Zionists were behind 9/11; to make everyone hate Muslims.” “Typical Jew/Zionist propaganda.” “Israel keeps threatening/bullying Iran.” “The Jews/Zionists control everything and all are banks.” I have confronted people on such comments and accused them of being anti-Semitic or anti-Jewish; they fiercely deny they are of course and mock the idea that they are. The KKK also mocks the idea that they are a hateful organization. But for some reason no one seems ever outraged by Iran’s comments. “Israel has no place in the ME.” “We will take Israel off the map.” “There is no scientific evidence to prove the Holocaust even happened.”……”Scientific”?!!! Instead they defend Iran and portray them as the “victim”. That is as hypocritical as it gets.

• Such a peaceful & tolerant religion! Sad saps….

• Anyone have a link to this film or is it banned?

Want to see what all the fuss is about!

• I don’t know what the big deal is, I just watched it to see what all the fuss is about, its a bit like a bad “Life of Brian”…..looking at the riots/protests on tv, it seems to be telling the truth..a bunch of barbaric neanderthals!

• Apparently the Obama administration have asked Google to remove this video, but they refused on the grounds of free speech, but I’m guessing it’s only a matter of time.
      We’re supposed to live in free and open Western democracies yet the maker of this video has been arrested for “probation violations” and sites like google’s Youtube have been asked by the American government to remove it. In other words we don’t have these freedoms when it comes to Islam we have Sharia law imposed on us under threat of violence, we can have the freedom to have a laugh at any religon – just not Islam, because thats against Sharia law and if anyone does they’ll become violent. Nope, can’t have that.
      It’s about time America and the West met this threat head on, that America stopped giving Aid to Middle Eastern countries like Egypt, whom the give $1.6 billion annually to, as they’re being laughed at. This week while the American embassy in Cairo was being attacked President Morsi’s Muslim Brotherhood tweeted in Arabic “Egyptians rise to defend the prophet.” but in english “We’re relieved none of @USEmbassyCairo staff were harmed & hope US-Eg relations will sustain turbulence of Tuesday’s events”.
      Time and time again we’ve heard and seen evidence from muslims refusing to distance themselves from their own violence or even condeming the violence of others. Time to kick them out cut them off and get ready.

• I could not stop laughing at it! What a load of crap! It’s like father Ted for Muslims lol

• @toorkeel
      Bit like Orangemen rioting and throwing stones at primary school children on their way to school….

• Rusty, have you a source that the US gov asked google to remove it? Because all I’ve read is that google made a statement that they will not remove it but only block it in majority muslim countries and that’s their own decision – nobody asked them to – but they feel they don’t want to inflame tensions any more than already is.

Toorkeel, I’m sorry but even when I agree with you it’s hard to take you seriously with that avatar.

• @John. You have lost me completely? I fail to see a connection between throwing stones at schoolchildren and islamists rioting?

@Barry. What’s wrong with my avatar, its a pic of a cannon!!! is it offending you, honestly????

• @toolkeel
      You’ve changed your nasty avatar nevertheless…

• In the words of the noble scholar that is Eric Cartman:
    “RACE WAR”

• There’s a small irony also in observing the huge critics of the Catholic Church and frequent God bashers come out condemning the video and almost excusing the rioters and their attitudes. Just saying as a true non believer in any of the stuff, that it smacks of hypocrisy!

• Examples please!?

• Forgive me for being blunt Sean, but sher you haven’t a clue of anyone in my twitter feed? Why would I go listing off random people you don’t know, that would just be silly.

• So if it’s nobody worth mentioning, then it’s just your dumb mates being hypocrites. Hardly a relevant representation or example to be wheeling out.

• Sean, I am not too sure if you normally speak about people you don’t know in such a derogatory way, but if you do, don’t start with me. Twitter is not a collection of friends, more people you are interested in listening to. Just because I or you believe their opinion to be hypocritical or differing to our own does not entitle either of us to call it dumb so please spare me from your macho posts which are presumably are meant to make you look “cool” but in fact have the opposite effect! Thanks.

• You’re making no sense.

1) You brought up certain critics of this situation that “smacked of hypocrisy”.
      2) I asked for examples.
      3) You said it’s people I “don’t know”.
      4) I then asked why you brought them up if it’s just your mates and not people anyone would even know..
      5) You then did a U-Turn and said it’s not your friends, but “people you are interested in listening to” on Twitter – i.e. people known to the general public.

So are these people known or not? Make up your mind. And if they are, who are they? Back up your “hypocrites” claim with some examples or it’s a moot statement to make.

And finally;
      “Just because I or you believe their opinion to be hypocritical or differing to our own does not entitle either of us to call it dumb”
      Firstly, I don’t need permission to call someone dumb – ironic considering the topic at hand, that you imply I needed permission to speak freely. Secondly, most hypocrites ARE dumb.

• Do you know the 6 billion people in the world or something Sean. Just because I am not friends with someone that I follow in Twitter doesn’t automatically mean you’re going to know them plus to be honest I am not interested in explaining basic cop on to someone with as arrogant and ignorant a way of conversing as yourself! There’s also nothing ironic about calling people dumb in this thread. There’s a difference between free speech and plain ignorance. Learn it!

• You made 2 points there, both of which were strawman arguments.

“Do you know the 6 billion people in the world or something Sean.”
      No – and I never claimed to – what a stupid question… I just asked for examples of the hypocrites you were referring to – a very simple request, and one that you have avoided answering with stupid points like “you wouldn’t know them” whilst also stating that they’re not your friends either. So if they’re not your friends, but you follow them on Twitter – how do you know I don’t know of them? Pretty ignorant assumption.

“There’s also nothing ironic about calling people dumb in this thread.”
      I never said there was. I said it’s ironic, that in a thread about free speech, you said I don’t have the right to call someone dumb; thereby saying I don’t have the right to free speech.

• Fair enough Sean, you seem like a guy who has to win the argument. Well done, you’re the winner, can you go away now please, your posts are getting very irritating!

• “Religion does three things quite effectively: Divides people, Controls people, Deludes people.”

• phil 15/09/12 #

Why now ? South Park aired an episode “super best friends”. The profit is shown and little or no backlash. Its only inside the last few years where offence is taken.

• This film has really turned into a must see for me. I would like to thank all the protesters and rioters. for drawing my attention to it.

• “Rational arguments don’t usually work on religious people. Otherwise there would be no religious people.”

• A horrible minority of Muslim people with really narrow views. kinda the equivalent of the thicks who turned violent at the love Ulster rally but with less Celtic Jerseys…

• What if we made a movie like the life of Brian about Allaaaaaa, do you think they would see the funny side of it ??? :)

• “History teaches us that no other cause has brought more death than the word of god.”

• Appeasement of the lunatic fringe never works . They perceive that as fear and get all the more stronger from it. That spurs them on all the more.
    Talking or trying to understand their point of view is futile. They laugh at such action

• Don’t think i said repatriate…….:) but since you brought it up, maybe the west should think twice before offering citizenship to members of the muslim community going forward….If the muslim community actually protested about the conditions of the less fortunate in this country (and their own home countries), maybe people would have respect for the muslim communities opinions.

I will stand corrected if you can offer examples of any muslim ideologies, inventions, medical advances or anything worthwhile that the muslim community have offered the world in the last 100 years, I’d gladly like to hear them. In order to protest, the muslim community must first prove that they have something to offer the rest of the world other than trying to get rid of rights which most peoples ancestors fought and died for over many centuries.

• Tara: The film/exhibition “1001 inventions” might be a good place for you to start with: http://www.1001inventions.com/1001inventions

Then have a look at the wesbite of the Irish Islamic community for a brief intro to the faith and community
      http://islaminireland.com/

Then heres an interesting article from the Irish Examiner, looking at the very real challenges of integration
      http://www.irishexaminer.com/features/pride-and-prejudice-being-a-muslim-in-ireland-163331.html

It finishes with a final plea, which all those here who appear to think that Muslims are automatically open to deportation (and therefore not Irish citizens) might like to consider:

“Ireland, if it is not the home of all the Muslim people living in Ireland, I can tell you it is the home of Muslim children, who have been born and brought up here. There is only one layer of Irish citizenship and of creating a first-class citizen and a second- class citizen is a very serious thing to do. We are building for the future of your children and my children. What you are doing today will not affect you but affect your children, but my children as well. It is our duty to make the future of our children as beautiful as we can.”

• Seeing as being born here doesn’t give you the automatic right to remain, tell me what you personally have done for your country lately?

You should do a regional hospital tour of Ireland, most of the darkies in there are the doctors and most likely muslim.

• Irish don’t need to do anything as this is the country fought for by our ancestors. That’s why we have borders so the children of the people who fight for a country’s independence can live in a safe and properous environment. You mightn’t know this, but the west has always endevoured to pass on a better society to their children. We have had our set backs, but we are still in a far better position than we were 100 years ago. If muslims want to live here, they should understand this and try help us advance instead of trying to reverse progress.

• Yeah, I can see the Irish have done sweet FA for the country bar bleed and let it be bled dry… your ancestors would be real proud I’d say… and your children even more so

I’m going to stop talking to you now since you seem to have genuine difficulty comprehending the fact that there’s Irish born Muslims here who contribute to society and mind their own business, and have the same right you do to live peacefully without have to listen to the rubbish coming out of your mouth

• @Tara While I may not agree with Imran, that was out of order. Imran I know quite a few of those “darkies”, would never refer to them as that, I may have much the same discussions with some of them that I had with you, sometimes more heated, we may disagree but shake hands and agree to disagree. No violence.

• Tara

Mr imran et all will only read what they feel like agreeing with…..those of us with suggestions or opinions are Morans or something ….I think that people who immigrate into a country should bring something of value as a mass…I’m not talking about all the individuals who bring knowledge and skill to their new homes…but coming to a western democracy and expecting to import sharia and radical Islam is wrong and should not be tolerated….indeed I believe that Australia alone among the western democracies has got it right….than again what would I know?…..I’m only a Moran according to Mr imran

• Yes, you are. Once again, Imran was born here, raised a Catholic but is now an atheist. He did not immigrate into Ireland, is not a Muslim (radical or not) and does not ascribe to Sharia Law. Your opinions are wrong. What suggestions did you make?
      Rusty “et all” Balls

• Mr Power,Islam has been with us in the west for a long time hundeds of years,
      my experience is they generally keep to their own community. I dont know where
      this takeover or attempted takeover is except in mind.From one of your last comments
      “londonstan” you should stop reading trashy paperback propaganda and get some real true
      understanding and knowledge,you stated you*were* are a teacher,try be a pupil again.
      Although i think your probably set in your opinions about the world.I am not a supporter
      of Islam but what you are saying is blatently untrue.

• Leave him believe what he wants, Minister Shatter’s job is safe for the foreseeable I’d say

• …way the bye ms Tara wot is a Moran ….!?

• All religions should be banned – they only cause trouble and war.

• We should send a floatilla of aid to them. They must be famished after all the rioting!

• Tolerance and acceptance are key words that appear lost. Everyone is entitled to their own views and opinions, however if these insight violence and the loss of life surely restraint is needed. I respect the right of free speech but I also respect the rights and beliefs of my fellow man.

• The irony of this is that totalitarian or dictatorships have a better record in controlling radical extremists. The religious extremists also understand that the regime will have no problem in beheading them for wanting to behead th

• ….

• We have all been subject to the wiles of journalists editors news barons, is it not time the majority of you sat down and thought about how foolish the media consider us to be….time for some dots….someone mentioned others living in the “Dark Ages” perhaps it is worth considering that we all live thus….a government slaughtering its own people in order to invade others…..directing remote controlled drones to eliminate…or tother day heard someone considered quite respectable use the phrase….”Take Out” those considered suspect…”suspect” fer pities sake….of evil intent.

• This short podcast from yesterdays Tubridy radio show, might be of interest to those with an interest in the facts of the film – a totally manufactured-to-cause-protests-film supported by Pastor Terry Jones: http://2fm.rte.ie/radio/radioplayer/rteradioweb.html#!rii=1%3A20025105%3A4678%3A14%2D09%2D2012%3A Violent protestors should be treated as harshly as is appropriate under the law, but using their criminality as an excuse to dismiss all 1.6 billion Muslims is just lazy … oh, and sneering at ‘ignorant people’ who fall for this type of provocation while engaging in generic group bashing is beyond ironic.

• I agree with most of what you say, but sadly the 1.6billion number is thrown around far too much, if you look at ethnic crime across africa and the middle east you will see that consistently muslims are involved.

There is a lot of propaganda in the media, in particularly the U.S. media about muslim faith, but if you look at the amount of this sort of crap that is happening in comparison to people of the other faiths you will see that it is in the vast majority.

I am equally surprised that you would jump to their defense as a woman, you should try going to live in saudi arabia or syria where you wont be able to leave the house without a male companion and are not even able to drive a car.

• I’m pretty surprised at someone telling me what a womans opinion should be on any matter … but hey … ;-)
      What I shared above is information about a video, not a critique or defence of the Muslim faith. So I’m equally surprised that some people can’t tell the two apart, apparently.

• Sorry maybe i misread this bit wrong then

“using their criminality as an excuse to dismiss all 1.6 billion Muslims is just lazy … oh, and sneering at ‘ignorant people’ who fall for this type of provocation while engaging in generic group bashing is beyond ironic.”

Seems pretty much like a defense to me. Dont think i told you what your opinion should be either more like trying to educate you and then you can make up your own mind fancy pants.

• The irony of this is that totalitarian or dictatorships have a better record in controlling radical extremists. The religious extremists also understand that the regime will have no problem in beheading them for wanting to behead th

• Lots of athiests here, apparently. What’s an athiest athier than?

• There ought to be a double entendre clause that you can’t exercise your rights of freedom of speech to protest the same rights of another group or individual

• …..we’re it not for irresponsible journalism …..the uneducated would know nothing of this “film”…. Like the release of the Marine ” Koran burning escapade” …..Why is it done in the certain knowledge that mayhem and carnage is going to follow?…….why stir it all up?…….just take in the comment made on this site…..it is as sickening as the responses of those this “news” has infuriated….

• Why…must you break…everything in your comment…up like this?

Your comment is bad and you should feel bad.

• It wasn’t the media but a few Islamic clerics looking for a fight who brought the film to the attention of the religious mob.

• …”Why is it done in the certain knowledge that mayhem and carnage is going to follow?” …

Yes everyone everywhere should not say or do anything that could possibly cause anyone any offense.

You and I and everyone who watches that video knows that it was made to stir up trouble, and instead of laughing at it because it is probably one of the worst pieces of film making ever , they go and kill people and achieve exactly what they film maker was trying to prove. And I am sorry if my comments about these people living in the dark ages causes offense, but they are holding up banners calling for people to be beheaded, I would love to hear your justification..

• It..is the way I choose to write….who are you to tell another that they may not express themselves as they wish…..As a teacher my students are encouraged to express themselves without fear of criticism….The morning of 9/11….11 years ago… Two PRC students applauded the destruction of the twin towers….despite being a total anathema to their teacher they were not rebuked but asked to justify their opinion…. who is your man to tell others they are wrong having not been subjected to their particular persuasions…..!?

• ….Jees some bigots on this site….

Add New Comment