TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
: °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

VIDEOS: Gardaí release dramatic footage of near-misses on Dublin’s roads

Gardaí are releasing the footage in a bid to reduce the number of casualties on Dublin’s roads.

GARDAI HAVE RELEASED footage to TheJournal.ie as part of their operation to reduce the number of accidents on Dublin’s roads.

The operation was launched yesterday in the hope of  reducing the number of cyclists, pedestrians and motorcyclists that become casualties.

Research has shown that the months of October and November can prove particularly dangerous to road users.

Read: Gardaí: ‘Vulnerable’ users are involved in most serious road accidents in Dublin >

Read next:

Comments (126 Comments)

• that fool on the bike was lucky not to be flattened by that bus

• If they want to get a good shot of cyclists braking the law all they have to do is set up a camera at a busy pedestrian crossing. I got flattened at college Green few months back, I waited for the green man and when i was in the middle of crossing, some clown came tearing up the road up the road on his bike, broke the red light and plowed into me. He had the cheek to call me an eejit and tell me I should watch where I’m going!

• Next time you’re on a busy motorway and approaching an on ramp, count the number of vehicles that make a bee line for the outside lane and can’t wait to be in it. No patience.

• Your not gonna like this but people don’t usually cope well with criticisms. I live in the UK and clock up a huge number of miles so I have taken and passed an advanced driving course to keep myself safe. Sadly it does not reduce your insurance! Occasionally on the roads in the UK I see some stupid things. When I’m driving back in Ireland I see shocking things. The overall national driving skill level is fairly poor. Learner drivers on Motorways, and what’s this crap of driving in the hard shoulder on dual carriageways?, every other person failing to signal on roundabouts, undertaking and a staggering high level of mobile phone use, not to mention a worryingly high ratio of speeding boy racers and tailgating.
    Both countries are about level with the whole retarded having your fog lights on coz you think you look awesome move.
    Just look at the International road death statistics.
    UK road deaths per 100,000 population 5.34 that’s 12% less than 1995
    Ireland deaths per 100,000 population per capita 9.8 that’s only 9% better than 1995
    You’re killing nearly twice as many per Capita as the UK and they are fairly bad over here!
    However both the UK and Ireland have done woefully in reducing road deaths. Now these are deaths so not to mention the countless injured maimed and ruined lives from ill educated and feckless drivers.
    Have we shored up the utterly ridiculous legislation that allowed provisional drivers to drive around on their own? I hope so.
    If you think this does not apply to you then great – go online take the UK DVLA or Irish theory test and see if you pass. Be honest have you read the highway code cover to cover?

By the way just two cases of death caused by Guards drivers found with a simple Google search:
    “Mary Seavers, 74, was waiting for a bus on the Clonskeagh Road in Dublin when she was struck by a car, driven by Garda Niamh Seberry, on May 22, 2005”.

“Two killed in Limerick crash involving garda. Friday, 14 January 2011”

So sadly it does and can happen in all countries. But The Guards have a thankless task they must be sick of calling on homes bringing news of death to ruin a family forever. Can you imagine doing that? I cant. So lay off the cops.

Accidents are for the most parts unavoidable by definition but a huge huge amount of this stuff is driver error born from abject ignorance and stupidity or ill education or all three.
    You need two things Education and a Garda force equipped with enough resources to get these morons off your roads for good.

• Helen 02/10/12 #

There are too many fools on the roads. Was on M50 recently this person drove across 4 lanes of traffic without indicating or anything. This was on a Friday evening with plenty of traffic. Pure madness.

• @Helen,

Sometimes I’m tempted to follow them, wait until they stop at the next traffic lights, get out, open their door. Turn off their engine and take their keys!

• I’d say you’re one of those ‘Speed Guardians’ as well Sheila, the ones that sit in the overtaking lane of a dual-carriageway to dictate the speed of other vehicles as you see fit! Lol! You do realise that what you’re ‘tempted’ by with regards to taking the keys off another driver is tantamount to hijacking!!

• @Nuffsaid thatsall

No actually, I know how to drive and follow the rules of the roads! I have held an Advanced Driving Certificate for the past 12 years! I am an excellent driver. Pity there isn’t a budget for extra gardai to be driving up and down all roads and have the authority to cease all vehicles breaking the rules/law.

If not extra gardai, a special force, that have full licences and/or advance driving certs that could have the authority to take these idiots off the roads.

• I agree with your point on extra Gardai being needed, but jus outta curiosity, what’s an ‘Advanced Driving Certificate’??

• @Nuffsaid thatsall.

Hi,

It’s a test that gardai and sales reps do. It takes over an hour. At some stage during the test, the driver has to give a running commentry on what’s around them to the tester. One has to see/notice everything, surface of the road, signs just past, etc. There is a lot involved in it. One’s insurance can be reduced a lot if they have the cert.

• johnny 02/10/12 #

ah now Sheila youre telling porkies. the gardai no more do a one hour advanced driving certificate than the man on the moon. And from an actual advanced driver to another can you tell me 1. the system of car control as taught in an advanced driving course and 2. what litrature did you study during the course?

• Gerard 02/10/12 #

@Sheila

I think you may be mistaken about the gardai taking an “advanced driver course”. And not to belittle your driving abilities in any way but an hour long course doesnt seem like much of an advanced test. Who gives out these Certs?

• Think the Guards spend a couple of weeks getting trained to a more advance level!! Think your hourlong sales rep test might not hold up to scrutiny Sheila!

• Red4fred 03/10/12 #

I think Sheila means the ‘test’ is about an hour. You can get an advanced drivers cert for motor biking too, in the UK. And you have to give a running commentary to the instructor on what you can see, what you anticipate, what are the danger signs, even the time of day can tell you a lot about other road users, answer questions like “what were the last 2 road signs?” Very rewarding and makes you drive in a different way. It’s difficult enough to make you remember it forever..

• I’d say Mark Dennehy is great fun to go out for a pint with . Chill baby chill .

• Mark you seem obsessed with the notion of Garda obeying speed limit , something no police force in Europe has to do…and of course it’s whining , missing the point completely that for all the problems we have on the roads and we have many the Garda are the least of them.

• Dave, you are wrong. gardai must obey normal rules of the road while on general patrol duty. only when in an emergency or involved in a car chase can gardai, break the rules of the road.
      also I fail to see how you could possibly know the rules governing the police forces of the entire European continent. unless you are some European law maker with special interest in police driving practices.

• @brian Doran , of course no European country has a system where their police force could not exceed the speed limits ,what kind of bullshit are some people here talking , I am just using common sense and logic , how idiotic would it be if criminals broke speed limits but police forces had to abide by them!!! …I hardly need to work for European police to be able to use a brain.

• @Dave, if you had my comment you would have seen that I stated that gardai are allowed to break limits while “on a call” so to speak. however what irritates me is that gardai in general tend to speed regardless whether or not they are on a call. I was on the motorway last week, for about an hour and a half, on at least 4 separate occasions gardai sped past me as if I was stopped, on one of those occasions, the guard driving was on the phone. and how I can say for sure that they were all speeding is that I had my cruise control set at exactly 120kph. if these guards were on a call they would have had flashing blue lights which they are required to use to warn other road users of their presence so that other road users can make a decision as to how best to not obstruct an emergency vehicle “on a call”. when this happens I don’t gave an issue with trained and qualified garda drivers, driving as they see fit.

• if you had my comment you would have seen that I stated that gardai are allowed to break limits while “on a call” so to speak. however what irritates me is that gardai in general tend to speed regardless whether or not they are on a call. I was on the motorway last week, for about an hour and a half, on at least 4 separate occasions gardai sped past me as if I was stopped, on one of those occasions, the guard driving was on the phone. and how I can say for sure that they were all speeding is that I had my cruise control set at exactly 120kph. if these guards were on a call they would have had flashing blue lights which they are required to use to warn other road users of their presence so that other road users can make a decision as to how best to not obstruct an emergency vehicle “on a call”. when this happens I don’t gave an issue with trained and qualified garda drivers, driving as they see fit.

• Yeah I got that Brian , you have a problem with the Garda driving and I don’t , the forum is showing some of the idiotic drivers on the roads , I don’t see the Garda as part of our problem but part of the solution…..

• OMG when are all u people going to get real ? can you not see that the point of the video is to POINT out to us the dangers on the road every day . but instead you bunch of morons you decide to blame the Garda . What do you think the Garda are doing ? hanging out through the frigging window with a camera while driving? oh mother of god what will ye say next

• That cyclist in the second one on the bus lane was a lot like many of the cyclists I encounter every day.

• exactly Sheila i was talking about the video that came from the bus behind the number 4. that’s were the near miss occurred the driver of that bus had to jam on coz the cyclist came out from the junction in front of them.

• So the Garda release a couple examples of some of the many idiots that are widespread on our roads and people are seriously suggesting the problem on our roads is our Garda driving , that they ” almost bully drivers out of the way” , that they should follow the speed limits , seriously…..I’m not a Garda but I drive a lot , the idiotic driving is so widespread , I don’t hear or see the problem being with the Garda cars at all…the Garda bashing and whining misses the point completely …

• Cyclists will keep getting flattened until they learn how to use the road like other users. Some of them are bleedin nuts! Or just plain stupid. That flute just cycled into the bus lane without signalling or warning…he didnt even look over his shoulder. Headbanger!

• I know this will be wasted on you but here goes. Interesting video. I know that road and here’s what probably happened – the two buses overtook the cyclist and stopped. The guy on the bike has a choice of stopping, trying to pull out into fast moving traffic to pass the bus or going on the pavement. He probably took the safest option.

All this agonising about cyclists is just childish. Dublin is a small city that was never designed for cars, but has had cars imposed on it willy nilly, leaving no good alternatives for other road users. That’s the root of the issue.

• “he probably took the safest option” dude to are thick!! He ploghed down the path as someone got off the bus!! A feckin granny by the looks of it. Man i cant be arsed replying to you anymore. You lack serious common sense. I just hope im never within a mile of you and your bike..

• There’s no point defending the indefensible. That cyclist should *absolutely not* have been on that footpath. Assuming that your sequence of events is correct and the 2 buses overtook him and pulled in immediately. Not likely, given their size, speed and the general quality of Dublin Bus drivers, but let’s say that’s what happened. The safest option was not to hop up on the footpath. The safest option was to stop behind the bus or to pass it if it was safe to do so. I pass buses like this, probably 5 to 10 times a day and it’s perfectly safe when carried out with proper observation and care. This guy was pure careless.

• censored 03/10/12 #

“Plogh” on Joe. Isn’t it ironic that you try to call me thick while demonstrating your inability to communicate coherently?

• But Some of them are high speed chases. That’s not reflective of actual driving behaviour.

• Not Garda bashing, just a very bad selection of videos show by the Gardai. I drive over 1500Km a week and these videos come nowhere near some of the idiotic drivers I see everyday

• annie 02/10/12 #

That first video confuses me, those Luas tracks are lethal to cycle on, many of the cycle paths lead onto them. I came off my bike in the same way as that guy while sober, alert and concentrating hard on not coming off the bike, hardly the same league as yer man at the port tunnel.

• Are they the best videos they have? A bit to go before a TV series beckons.

• Our Farda are so under resourced I think they are fed up. When you see the British police and their rescourses it puts us to shame. Why would they bother to arrest anybody when there are no jails ? The judges must be also fed up as they know if they send a criminal to jail another criminal has to be released early to give him or her a cell. Why do the government not build jails? Why would a Garda bother doing his job or a judge. ?

• Omg Hillary ,, high speed chases in normal average cars ,, the traffic core are trained for this purpose ,,,some of the cars they use a fit for the scrap yard

• If you look at the law you will see that Garda are exempt from road traffic laws while on duty

• What law is that now, is that one of those makey up laws people pull from the top of their hears when they don’t have a clue what their on about. The rules of the road are the rules of the road, no exemptions.

• more people have talked total shite on this thread than have viewed the subject videos. ah journal.ie…. utter shite-tastic

• Those videos are all terrible

• hopefully this will make people think but we will still be stuck with the muppets that dont care

• I see this carry on every flipping day. The truck getting cut up is normal, every time I’m on the m50 it happens at least once for every kilometre, and the Garda drive by oblivious! That car tried to take the exit before the tunnel. Tearing up the outside lane only to dive across traffic at the last second is more popular than drink!
    Tailgating is rife, fyi extend your arm in front of you (straight) thumbs up, if you can hide the vehicle in front behind your thumb ur ok, if your thumb is smaller than the car in front ur too close

• Peter are you suggesting to take one hand off the steering wheel then create an obstruction of your view by playing hide and seek between your thumb and the car in front. I’m pretty sure the rules of the road require 2 hands on the wheel.

• If you are suggesting you “drive” along obstructing your view with your thumb, then I suggest you require help. Alot of people don’t understand the 2 second rule or count too fast.

• It would be interesting to see if you would pass a driving test giving the thumbs up every time you approach a car in front. In the wet the required braking distance is double so how do you suggest we judge that using your thumbs up procedure.

• Your right Gary, double the distance in the wet, use two thumbs! Getting a rise from that?
      I passed my tests (truck/bike/car) a long time ago and I never used the thumb. It’s a simple trick to establish a safe distance (dry!) at an appropriate time.

• finbar m 02/10/12 #

In the port tunnel clip

• Maybe there should be an IQ test before you use the road/footpath. Or just before you use anything on wheels in public.

• Darren 03/10/12 #

That should be especially true for cyclists. Pay no tax, cycle all over the road and fly through traffic lights. Maybe cops should hide behind bus stops and tax collect cyclists. would double their revenue

• finbar m 02/10/12 #

Very true Frank but in the uk they have pole tax to cover the different police forces in each county , ppl won’t pay the house hold charge but still want a top Garda response , why do guards have to spend a day in court for no tax or other silly offences , or why is a guard behind a desk in station giving out paper work , jobs that can be done by normal staff and not all cases are on google .The point I was making why should a guard not use a hands free earphone it’s a simple cheap device no cost to the state the fecking free with all phones . Very simple point

• Good Call Finbar. There was outcry in the UK when this first came out (riots the lot) so they changed the name from poll tax to council tax. It covers bin collection, libraries, recycling centers, playgrounds, road cleaning parks, care in the community and Police – A shed load. It’s scaled on the size of your house so quite fair but it’s about £100 a month! Mind you it does a lot of good and I don’t mind paying it. You get nothing for nothing in society.

• Dario Fo 02/10/12 #

Finbar, you will find it is a health and safety issue. Garda cars should be fitted with hands free sets. The ear phone given by mobile companies, place a small object into the ear. (Not on the ear) in an accident the users ear drum, may be punctured. HSE/A ( whatever neck of the woods ur in) will run a mile in these cases. Using personal equip etc. In the work place. nnKit out their bangers properly and then there will be no issues.nnIn the UK police must be on a call (shout) to exceed the speed limit. Numerous police drivers have been prosecuted for speeding while driving on duty. This leads to the practice of … Some one else can go. nnMost Garda, Fire and Ambulance drivers are very well trained..nnLeave well alone …nnnnn

• I wonder what they did to the cyclist almost running over the person at the bus stop, then
    swerving out onto the traffic . Just because he’s wearing a vis vest doesnt mean he isn’t a dangerous fool.

• Some

• Received a speeding ticket for doing 87km on the m1 during road works, that road still has 2 working lanes as it always had when the road was first opened. i don’t think that people working on a part of the road that not even in use should affect the rest of the road. Noticeably I did slow down coming up to the road works but to be honest i think its dangerous to slow down from 120km to 60km on a very busy motor way with in a short space of time, which i have learned from my fine. That road is 120km right till Donabate (northbound)when it suddenly changes to 60km this its self can cause a serious accident when u have people trying to slow down so much with on coming traffic from Donabate or driving along side people who have no intentions of slowing down. And then to have a speed camera / van waiting to catch u in the process of either slowing down or just driving at a slower pace. I think this should be brought into question a motorway has a speed limit of 120km people on that road expect to drive at that pace. its understandable why they do reduce the speed limit at a time of road works but to 60km which i have to say is physically impossible……(After attempting it last night, I drove right up to Donabate and slowed down right to 60km. Which i really thought i was going to cause an accident after i got beeped and flashed by other drivers i had to pick up a bit of speed for my safety and others)

• If the speeding Garda car was in pursuit were are the blue flashing lights to warn other ppl on the road ,,, just that thought

• Bald tyres not a factor in a crash were they slicks give me a break

• Dave Garda bashing come on give us a break ,,, lead by example ,, seen a Garda car the other day 2 ppl in the car on the phone , if your going to endorse the law live by it

• Some serious bad behaviour in the clips alright and that is only the ones that were caught on video.
    Better not say anything against the Garda ;-)

• That third video by the port tunnel entrance… the nutter in the car diving across in front of a truck, granted, total nutter, nearly caused a major accident…

…but am I the only one wondering about the speed of the garda car filming him? 93kph in an 80kph zone? Are we so jaded to Gardai speeding that we don’t mind Road Safety videos being made from cars breaking the speed limit?

• Oh look, how unique- a Garda Basher. They protect you every day Mark and most of the time you won’t even know it.

• He’s hardly a Garda basher, he’s just asking how it is acceptable for a Garda car to be going so much over the limit…

• Garda don’t have to stay below the speed limit , how would that work ?

• Well unless it’s a high speed chase (which I didn’t think it was in the video) then they prob should keep to the speed limit…

• Or maybe they were following the offending vehicle for several minutes with a pattern of poor driving being displayed until he iced the proverbial cake with his last manoeuvre! By the looks of things he was up slip road for Coolock & gone where Gardai couldn’t safely follow!! We only saw a partial clip!

• I’m not Garda-bashing totwit, and I have a pretty good idea of what they do, thanks for the assumption.
      I’m pointing out that this was a selected and deliberately released video, chosen to illustrate road safety, and the car doing the filming is speeding in one of those areas where the speed limit is entirely appropriate.

• i suppose Ryan they’re not really going “over the limit” as the limit does’nt apply to them in that situation

• Then why not choose a different video? We all know that there’s no damn shortage of stupid driving incidents to choose from in Ireland, why not pick footage of one where the filming car isn’t breaking the speed limit?

• Aarum 02/10/12 #

But sure traffic gardai have far more driving qualifications than you or I and I agree they were probably following it for a whole before hand

• Then why not choose a different video Aarum?
      If this was a pursuit, it’s hardly going to be a good example to use when talking about ordinary drivers being stupid (which is what causes most of the accidents out there).

• Mark you have a valid point but to be fair to the gardai in this video I would think they were in pursuit of this car. Im guessing this car was trying to avoid going in the tunnel but it was being driven irratically before this & I think these garda had it spotted. It really does not show the whole event.

• If they’re in pursuit Mjhint, the speed has an obvious justification; my point isn’t that, it’s why did someone pick out a video showing pursuit driving as a cautionary tale regarding ordinary driving?

It’s like trying to teach someone to read using ballet…

• Mark Mark Mark they picked them 4 videos for whatever reason they decided. You watch a car chase through Dublin city and you focus on the fact that the police are going over the limit.

Ryan decides that if its not a “high speed chase then the police should obey the speed limit”.

Maybe ye dont understand what the police are attempting to do in a situation like this!!!!

• The car chase is the fourth video johnny, I’m talking about the third one.

• johnny 02/10/12 #

the third video is also a pursuit Mark. if you look at the video at about 11 sec you will see the marked garda mondeo that prevented the focus from giving the car with the camera the slip. and to be honest it was a good bit of driving to force the focus into the tunnel.

leaving the fact that this was a chase aside, its an everyday hazard, drivers cutting across other drivers at the last minute and i would think that thats why this video was used.

• …and we’re right back to my question johnny; if this happens all the time, why would you pick out *this* video of it?

Should we pick out a video of a heroin addict passed out in the middle of the street as an example to everyone about how not to follow the rules of the road? Or a photo from the Titanic dining room as an example of how not to dress for dinner?

This is meant to be a PR campaign for crying out loud, not a random dump of the month’s funniest fails on youtube.

• johnny 02/10/12 #

Mark the video was published to highlight the danger of last minute lane changes cutting up other drivers nothing more nothing less.

Would you think they should have released a video of a drug addict passed out in the street to highlight this type of driving or maybe a video containing footage of the type of driving.

If you watch the video and are influenced by the speed of the police car then…..

• Oops we’ll not be able to tail this car anymore as we must keep under the limit. Mark your a funny bloke…

• johnny 02/10/12 #

Mark the video was published to highlight the danger of last minute lane changes cutting up other drivers nothing more nothing less.

the third video is also a pursuit Mark. if you look at the video at about 11 sec you will see the marked garda mondeo that prevented the focus from giving the car with the camera the slip. and to be honest it was a good bit of driving to force the focus into the tunnel.

leaving the fact that this was a chase aside, its an everyday hazard, drivers cutting across other drivers at the last minute and i would think that thats why this video was used.

• Excellent your right if the other driver is breaking the law why hasn’t the Garda stopped the Vehicle! End of.

• Fair play johnny, that was a good spot to see the other marked patrol car in the 3rd video

• Well mark it’s just as well you are an EXPERT in law and what the gardai should and shouldn’t do. I guess the drivers of the gardai cars aren’t advanced drivers and I suppose they aren’t supposed to drive at a speed deemed safe and appropriate according to their training and what they see acceptable as they are supposed to do. Oh and it’s good that you now the circumstances they were in before the video started(like already on the way to an emergency call before they caught this on camera). Thanks for let us all know what they can and can’t do.

• I think it’s quite obvious that video 3 is not a chase and the guy/gal driving the focus is either missing their exit or doesn’t want to pay the toll. the perceived “garda car” that comes into view has nothing whatsoever to do with what is going on in the video and it is purely coincidental that it has shown up at the end of this video, bearing in mind there is nothing to suggest that it is a garda car, if it was, and it was involved in a chase here then why are the blue lights not flashing? the other point which I feel pretty much proves that it is not a chase is the caption on the video, “changing lanes” where as the next video specifically states that it is a chase. either way gardai are like each and every other one of us. if they are not en-route to an emergency or in a chase which they are not here, they are required by law to stick too the rules of the road. maybe thejournal.ie may be able to get clarification on this which would put this debate to bed. also while it is at it, maybe thejournal.ie could find out are the gardai allowed to use mobile phones while driving or smoke in their cars which are their work place while on duty and public service vehicles. also, who polices the gardai on the roads? is it a case that we need to make a complaint to the ombudsman? I’m not a garda basher by any means, and admire the work they do for the most part, but i do feel that the law should be the same for all.

• emergency services vehicles are exempt from the speed limit when in the course of their duty, to ensure a satisfactory response time, amoungst other reasons… I’m sure u can appreciate this, as you and I would be well glad of the fast response time if we ever needed to call them.

• Glad to see that Dublin is looked after again and all other counties are forgotten about.
    Surprisingly there is life outside of Dublin !

• There have been a few one in dundrum one on the Nass rd and one in Leixip if you look at the records in the past 4 years second if you look at the uk police they all wear headphones ,,, there free with all new phones

• Are you for real read the papers ,, 71 year old woman at a bus stop in dundrum waiting on a bus killed on the spot lexlip 3 guards rand over a man a claimed it was a dog poor lad was left there for 10 mins till someone stopes same on Nass rd and there facts , why should a guard use a mobile and not a hands free it’s a simple headset that all police use all over Europe why different here

• In video 3 its the Garda car that is speeding in the outside lane and the driver of the car obviously sees the squad car and gets out of their way. How many times had this happened to drivers being almost bullied out of lanes by guards breaking speed limits while on patrol

• Any by the way Dave how many ppl have been killed by speeding Garda cars in the last few years ,, think you find there has been a few , so don’t be too quick to be tapping with your fingers , some Garda are like the arseholes in Kildare at they think there untouchable and above the law not many but a few

• In the second last video are we supposed to be watching the car overtaking dangerously or the guards almost crashing into the tunnel barrier.. Confused! Also they’re not exactly shocking clips don’t think dangerous road users will pay much attention. Down with this sort of thing! Easy now!

• How many people have been killed on the roads by Gardai?

• dev 03/10/12 #

I am surprised the Garda took the time from clocking speeds on the side 3 lane national roads and motorways looking for an easy fine.

• So funny, there are clowns on our roads.

Add New Comment