TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 7 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

BAI backs Miriam O’Callaghan in presidential debate row

Martin McGuinness had accused the presenter of treating him unfairly during the Prime Time candidates’ debate.

McGuinness at RTÉ studios for the Prime Time debate
Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

A WATCHDOG HAS rejected suggestions that Miriam O’Callaghan treated then-presidential candidate Martin McGuinness unjustly in a Prime Time debate.

The Broadcasting Authority of Ireland received a number of complaints about the handling of the RTÉ debate, which was shown in the closing weeks of last year’s presidential campaign.

During the debate last October, McGuinness accused O’Callaghan of making “a disgraceful comment” when she referred to his links with past IRA crimes.

The Sinn Féin politician said afterwards that he felt the show was “unfair”, saying he was “disappointed in the way the Prime Time debate was handled”.

However, the BAI today rejected complaints about O’Callaghan’s conduct.

A spokesman told TheJournal.ie that the Authority had received ten complaints on the matter, but none had been upheld. However, the full decision will not be published until next month.

RTÉ and all those who complained have been notified about the ruling.

- Additional reporting by Sinead O’Carroll

Read: Gallagher complains to BAI over ‘game-changing’ tweet>

More: Full coverage of the presidential election aftermath on TheJournal.ie>

Read next:

Comments (84 Comments)

• ”’A spokesman told TheJournal.ie that the Authority had received ten complaints on the matter, but none had been upheld. However, the full decision will not be published until next month.”’

This is the part that gets me: The BAI issues this conclusion and then withholds an explanation. Has the word processor packed in? Has the typing pool gone on their hols, or maybe they were soooo delighted to have reached a decision on such a difficult and fraught matter that they couldn’t wait to tell us – even before they had worked out the reason why.
    This is the usual old crap that we get from agencies like the BAI. Here’s our decision (aren’t we great lads), now we’ll wait a while for yiz to be distracted by something else and then we’ll sneak out a scant explanation as to what factors we took into account, who we spoke to, what comparisons we made, what precedent we explored and such like.
    Do they really take us for total for total and utter fools?

• Every candidate was supposed to receive equal air time.
    The others need not have turned up that night.

• Of course they do. This is Ireland.

• We have also a history of allowing politicans to lie through their teeth and go unchallenged

• Norris, McGuinness, Dana, etc. it didn’t matter. The elite in media which represent and protect the interests of official Ireland had already identified the ‘right person’ for the post,

• Is it the preacher of the Socialist message to whom you refer? President for all the People….of the Left.

• Was Gallagher a socialist as well as everything else?

• Who brought up Gallagher? Not me. Did MDH tell us he was going to use the Presidential pulpit to preach a partisan message? And if he had, would he have been elected? This should not be about Left versus Right or anyone versus anyone. He applied for the job. He got it (with a little help from his friends). Now he should either do the job as it’s meant to be done or quit.

• Has MDH overstepped the mark? I think he got elected because people knew what to expect from him, as well as being probably the most articulate, honest and principled of the candidates, not because of a little help from his friends, whatever that means.
      I’m no constitutional expert but I’m sure there is some mechanism the Government can use to shut him up if they want, but until that day I hope he continues to contribute to the welfare of this country and all its people, as he has done all his life..

• Rommel Burke, If I may indulge in a little speculation I’m guessing you agree with MDH that Socialism is superior to Capitalism. Many, many people, myself included, think otherwise. Now suppose the Fake Tweet hadn’t been put to Gallagher or had been corrected as soon as it was known to be bogus (that’s part of the “little help” thing). And suppose Gallagher had been elected, and had then gone on to lecture repeatedly about the wonders of Capitalism and the intellectual bankruptcy of Socialism, would you think Gallagher had crossed a line? In fact, while I was no great admirer of Gallagher (though I preferred him to MDH) I don’t think he would have dreamt of using the Office in that way, and if he had, the bit of him that would have survived being torn to shreds for having the temerity to win the election would have been stamped on mercilessly by the Left, and rightly so in the latter case. I actually thought Higgins was going to keep within the lines once elected. But he hasn’t.

• Mark
      Capitalism is an economic system not a political ideology. To suggest that MDH is favouring socialism over capitalism is not to say that he is favouring the left over the right.
      Most political commentators of both the centre left or the centre right would agree that unfettered and unregulated free market capitalism caused this economic mess. If we had had a government of the mainstream left in this country over the last ten years I’ve no doubt the economic outcome would have been exactly the same, and probably worse! Berties famous ‘I’m a socialist’ remark rings even hollower in hindsight!
      I do not accept that MDH’s criticism of unregulated free market capitalism is in any way indicative of a political impartiality and if the word social has any relevance to the remarks he has made I would consider it’s in the context of social responsibility rather than social(ism).

• John (or should I say Murphy), I agree with a lot of what you say but MDH has quite clearly used his Office to advocate for a Leftist agenda, for instance invoking writers, economists and thinkers beloved of the Left,It seems to me that on the whole, societies that have strogly favoured Capitalism are far more successful than their counterparts on the Socialist side are or were. Take the two Koreas for instance. I appreciate you are drawing a distinction between Capitalism/Right and Socialism/Left. I don’t think our President i doing so.

• Mark
      That’s an interesting point.
      I certainly accept that the thinkers, writers, poets etc. that inform and influence MDH’s intellectualism and thought are of a liberal/leftist philosophy; I think to deny that would be a disservice and it is one of the things that attracts me to him.
      I do, however, think that to extract from this that he might be in anyway impartial in the more tangible matters of politics and the role of his office is rather unfair. The essence of MDH’s makeup is well known from his years in public life and the manner of his ways, and I for one would be very disappointed if he was forced by the diktats of his office to become an empty shell on a throne.
      Of course I agree that the he must operate within strict guidelines regarding political impartiality but that should not stop him speaking out on matters of social concern where his comments might be seen to favour or disfavour one side or other of the political and social spectrum as long as those opinions do not imply a bias regarding the more bread and butter issues of parliamentary politics.
      The office of the president does go beyond a purely ceremonial role and a browse through the constitution will show that he has many functions regarding the welfare and self belief of the people as a nation.

• Just browsed John, didn’t see those functions. Anyway, my point is that he is bound by the diktats of his office.That’s the nature of the job. My subsidiary point is that I think he has a very rosy view of Socialism/Leftism which has been at the heart of some horrific regimes (of course the other side has many blemishes also, but not to the same extent in the last 150 years or so, in my humble rightish opinion).

• John. His name is Charles. You’re confusing him with Mark Rogers. You’re always doing that. Hi Charles. Charles is younger than Mark and slightly less Conservative. Slightly…

• Reada
      Those two have me all confused! ‘Conservative!’ I’d forgotten that one. Hey you two!

• Hi John, Réada, It has become one of my challenges (totally voluntary) to try to keep the Lefties around here on their toes. Many, I suspect, would prefer an echo-chamber. Present company definitely excepted.

• A Dr. Who like telephone box, rather than a echo chamber, would do me right now for all this leftie type zipping around. In either case on my toes is where you ‘av me!

• Rėada’s last comment made me wonder, did anyone ever on Journal.ie opine on whom on the Left was more or less liberal than whomever else? If they did, it passed me by. I’ll set a precedent and suggest that Réada is more than a little more “liberal” than John. As for the age thing, I’m staying well away from that grenade.

• We’ll all line up and present ourselves someday. There’s a treat!
      As for the age thing? I’ll head for the bunker when you pull that pin.

• Charles. Don’t tell Mark, but you’re my favourite Conservative. I’ll make a liberal socialist out of you yet… If it’s the last thing I do.

John. It was Mark had the bunker…

You can tell Charles, I’m younger than John. No senior moments for me yet. I remember everything.

• mart_n 24/02/12 #

I remember how she played the victim afterwards. Stating that McGuinness had accosted her with his band of merry men after the show, and how she felt uncomfortable and frightened. All of it pure bollox of course.. it transpired that McGuinness had requested to have a word with Miriam, and she agreed on her own accord, it was even her that decided to speak with him alone.

I lost a lot of respect for her that night, and I’m not a McGuinness/SF supporter. There’s plenty of room in the media to attack and tear apart the histories of any political candidate. It shouldn’t be done in a live debate by the supposedly unbiased moderator.

• MOC is from a FF family.
    These people know that whatever gains FG and labour get will swing back because theres no difference between them and FF, others including SF will only get stronger and gains will not easily be lost.

• She accused him of being a murderer was there a court case that proved MmG killed anyone, she also said something like of course you are sure your a republican

• miriam o callaghan … grr! her insinuation that all republicans know each other and therefore must know something about murder that took place was absolutely outrageous. I found martin mcguinness turned out to be a great candidate anyway.

• We have a long history in Ireland of former gunmen abandoning armed struggle and joining in parliamentary democracy. MOC seemed to be wholly ignorant of that important feature of Irish history.

• Sinn fein have been demonized by the media and wider establishment, since the days of political censorship in Ireland (section 31) it was so easy for media hacks like “MOC” to say anything they liked about any member of Sinn Fein well knowing they would not be allowed to answer back. MOC probably never noticed times have changed, and free speech is now allowed in Ireland .

• God knows how crazy eyes got that job , by the looks of it pat kenny done a better job .

• alan 24/02/12 #

this typified miriam o’callaghan’s whole style. if you listen to her radio show she does the same thing. tabloid approach, pushing and pushing people until the tears come. i thought mcguiness got the same treatment. melodramtic, personalised. what i thought was wrong that she should bring in her radio style interviews to a serious presidential deabte

• made 24/02/12 #

Miriam O’ Callaghan was an absolute disgrace that night, she should never be left near a debate like that again. Talk about being biased.

• If the BAI were asked to consider the wording of her question which ended “…you were involved in so many murders.” Legally, no court has ever made this finding whether people support McGuinness or not. At a technical level, the BAI cannot ignore that, unless it was selective in the complaints it accepted.

• What about all the complaints RTE got regarding Ms O Callaghan’s
    conduct ?

• Normally I’m not a fan of Miriam o’Callaghan and her obvious Fianna Fáil bias and connections. Nonetheless, what is the problem with asking McGuinness about his past – he seems to be the only one in denial about his IRA links.

I heard a joke once to the effect that if McGuinness needed to consult the IRA secret council, he would rush to
    the bathroom and start talking to the mirror!

• She asked each candidate what they thought of him.. But harsh

• Conor. She asked him had he got confession fgs. Come on. It was embarrassing. She should have been fired. Very unprofessional.

• And I should mention I thought that even though I voted for Michael D Higgins.

• McGuiness did claim to be a Catholic, his claim, not Miriam’s. Asking him how he squares Catholic teaching with his own endorsement of the IRA seems fair enough.

• And would she have asked Dev the same question? He was a president too and responsible for many a murder of Irishmen. Like it or not…

• If she had been around we could.have saved ourselves having that awful man as president.

It was a fair question.

• Réada, fair point about Dev but Martin McGuinness is pretty disingenuous about his IRA past. Painting himself as a whiter than white alter boy just goads the meadia on to ask him these kinds of questions.

• Vincent Browbeat (jeez, look at that for predictive text) pulled out 6 or 7 books to support his interogation of Mcguinness. Just happened to have ‘em handy. Sooo, why did Martina complain about Miriam?

• MMcG in fairness never denied being in the IRA. I voted for MDH but I did welcome the debate MMcG brought to the debate about a United Ireland. And as a pacifist I welcome the fact that MMcG put his head above the firing line and chose peace, at a risk to his life.

Asking him did had he got Confession was a step too far. None of your bloody business Miriam! Come on lads.

• Oh fgs. Ye forgive queen Elizabeth commander-in-chief of the British armed forces for bloody Sunday and ye can’t forgive MMcG for joining the IRA as a young fella in Derry prior to Bloody Sunday. Why do ye think there was the need for a Civil Rights march??? Do ye know your history at all?

Give me strength. It seems Ireland will bend over backwards to be seen as a good little child. Grow up!

• I’ll try and make this my last comment. Pretty obvious this is something I feel passionately about.

If we, in the 26 counties, continue to treat Sinn Féin like they are beyond forgiveness and acceptance, what message are we giving to dissident republicans? How many more Ronan Kerrs do ye want to die?

Rather than thumb me down, answer the question. Please?

• I accept that Miriam O’Callaghan behaved unprofessionally, but there’s no surprise there. She’s about the most biased and unprofessional journalist to grace RTÉ with their presence. Does anyone remember her post-2008 austerity budget with Lenihan and Richard Bruton? Might as well have been a party-political broadcast for FF.

Nevertheless, McGuiness still has serious questions to answer about his past. Réada, we are ready to forgive, though never forget, but it requires some greater acknowledgement on his part of his past. Also, if he could help the numerous families who don’t to this day know where their loved-ones lie after brutal and unnecessary murders, then it would be a significant step forward. Even if he didn’t have a hand in those murders, people he has links to and influence over do. It’s time he gave some clear answers.

• Fair play Conor. At least you answered. There is all this hushed talk about a Truth Commission. Isn’t it time that there was one? Perhaps the British state could take the lead. A state army and government should be expected to behave above the law and we all know they didn’t.

A Truth Commission would require some degree of forgiveness on both sides. Won’t be easy but something we should move towards. We have to keep pushing forward through all the sh!t. We have to cos we can’t go back.

• This actually occurred during the Good Friday negotiations between Sinn Féin and the Irish government. McGuiness said he would have to consult the Army Council before agreeing to a particular point. He was most put put out when one of the government delegation suggested that he should go to the jacks cos it had a mirror in there.

• Absolutely agree with you on the Truth Commission Réada. It won’t serve anyone’s interests to beat anyone with a stick, but everything needs to come out into the open so we can move on!

I’m not a SF supporter, but I would like to see a day where a SF candidate can engage in public debate without the need to deflect questions about The Troubles. However, this won’t happen until we see more openness.

I wouldn’t hold my breath to wait for the British to take the lead, but perhaps. This state could, our conduct can never be said to have been perfect.

• Fair play to you, Réada. You constantly talk sense on this website against the tide of anti-republican comments. You must have the patience of a saint. Fair balls to you.

PS- Unusual but beautiful name. Never heard of it before.

TAL

• Without a T&R it is unreasonable to expect transparency from SF. And I agree that the conduct of Irish governments is less than truthful. Nothing new there.

It’s also pathetic the way any time an elected member of SF ask any question in the Dáil that their counterparts’ 6 county past is brought up. FF, FG and Labour are perpetuating the hatred and its time they stopped. Do the decent thing for Ireland and demand a Truth Commission. We want to hold on to peace on our island.

• Thanks Kevin. I’m an Irish mammy of 4 so patience is a given. I love my country and would talk about this every day god love me. ;)

• Reada, you are female?

• Nobody asks FF, FG or the labor party about their IRA past…

• Come on Réada,
      The sooner SF candidates start being honest about exactly what went on the better, and until they refuse to be honest they will be open to such questions. Mind you, I did feel the way the question was asked was sly but perhaps Mrs O’Callaghan felt she had to wire her way in through Mr McGuinness’ stonewalling since – until he was confronted in the shopping centre – he fire walled every question about his past. With respect to Dev/Collins etc it is clear and accepted that they ordered killings/operations or that they killed… however, in the case of Mr McGuinness he accepts the publicity and stature that comes with his past but he refuses to be honest and to accept that he killed and ordered killings. So, either he says no I did not do these things but I did agree with them or yes I did do these things or whatever the case may be…but he should not be living on the propaganda if it is fake and he should admit it if it is true.

• Hopefully he will be able to soon Robert. Maybe Enda and eamonn and Bertie and noonan and Cowan will follow and start telling the truth too. Wouldn’t that be great. TDs we could trust. Think I’ll sleep on that lovely thought. Night.

• Kev P 25/02/12 #

It was open season. Questions armed and unanswerable by McG for possibly obvious reasons. Can’t be said for some of the other sidesteppers.

• mcbab 24/02/12 #

Poor didums Marty got upset. What an idiot. What did he expect to be asked about, how his garden is growing?

• John Murphy, the answer is ; Yes!

• Damn, should be further up page. ah well……..

• Didn’t hear Mr. McGuinness shouting very loud (or other shinners who are normally so good at shouting) about Questioning the Chinese VP about human rights abuses……hmmmmm, wonder why not. These same people who were experts at bombing, shooting, killing, torturing, robbing, kidnapping etc etc etc, all of a sudden now know how to best run a country, I wonder why I struggle to believe anything that comes out of their mouths.
    (no different than any other politican there except they claim to be so different).
    Some how we are asked to believe his lies about his history in the IRA.
    I hold up my hand and admit I was one of the idiots who dismissed Berties obvious lies because I was fooled in to believing he was doing a good job. I for one have no respect for someone who can go on camera and tell bare faced lies. I believe and welcome their genuineness in entering politics but no politican for any reason should be allowed have their lies go unchallenged.
    McGuinness regularly claims a big share of credit for the peace process,
    but he has a big share of responsibility for a lot of other unpleasant events also. (but your not allowed mention this)
    Before a list of people start queueing to defend his honour,
    he may well be just like our chinese VP (whos visit I welcome)
    not the one who pulled the trigger but one of the people the buck stops at.

• Martin mcguinness was part of the ira and therefor responsible if only by association for murder. That scumbag needs to stay the f**k up the north and away from southern politics. Miriam wasn’t harsh enough with him!

• Martin McGuinness was in charge of the tea and sandwiches during his IRA days.

Seriously lads?

• Great to see Miriam vindicated over her brave questioning of Provo for President

• Ah the shinners, everything is just a shouting competition for them! If anyone was hard done by on RTE it was Sean Gallagher but he didn’t cry about it!! (not a FF supporter before ye start attacking me!!)

• I’d hardly say that Seán Gallagher was hard done by. The man accepted dodgy payments and it was both morally correct and in the public interest that this be brought to light.

• Like to add to that that Sean did cry about his “unfair” treatment (lol) on the Frontline debate. But it was his answers that actually got him in trouble. Could you imagine if that tweet had been directed at MDH. I’d have lived to see his indignation. ;)

• Grow up McGuinness. Ever heard of the phrase ‘Sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never hurt me’. Would say your a dab hand at throwing the old sticks and stones.

• The man is a murderering scum bag who has created a career in lying

• I see the provos were out in force on this thread.

• mcbab 25/02/12 #

Reada is a woman ! Well goodness gracious me, didn’t cop that. Mother of 4. A lot in common with miriam so.

Add New Comment