TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

BAI, Cabinet to discuss Gallagher demands for Frontline inquiry

The cabinet, and a meeting of the Broadcasting Authority, will examine claims that RTÉ suggested audience questions.

Image: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

BOTH THE CABINET and the board of the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland will meet today to discuss demands from Seán Gallagher for a full independent inquiry into the production of RTÉ’s Frontline presidential debate.

The calls come after Gallagher, and the Fianna Fáil party, both demanded an inquiry into the claims of one audience member that programme makers gave him a question, critical of Gallagher, to put to the candidate during the debate.

Pat McGuirk had told the Sunday Independent that he had originally suggested a question relating to the salary of the President, but was later encouraged by staff from the programme to ask a question on Seán Gallagher’s record on job creation.

Gallagher yesterday wrote to communications minister Pat Rabbitte sharing his belief that McGuirk’s claim was “deeply disturbing” and brought RTÉ’s reputation and standing “into serious question”.

RTÉ has disputed the claims that the question ultimately put by McGuirk – dealing with Gallagher’s business record – was suggested by the broadcaster itself, and says McGuirk emailed the researcher after the show expressing satisfaction with how the show had gone.

The national broadcaster has announced an editorial review to identify practices and risks in programme-making, with significant attention to live audience-based programmes and to the selection of audience members and questions.

Rob Morrison, the former head of news and content at UTV, is to lead the review, which will also review the audience-related issues raised by the aftermath of The Frontline debate.

Rabbitte himself yesterday told Today FM that McGuirk’s claims warranted “being reflected on” and that he would refer the matter to the Broadcasting Authority “if there was any evidence that would warrant the matter being referred”.

He said, however, that by yesterday evening “no such evidence has been presented to me”.

The claims are nonetheless set to be discussed by the cabinet at its weekly meeting this morning, while the BAI will also discuss the revelations when it convenes for a prescheduled meeting.

RTÉ News reported this morning that today’s meeting had originally been convened to finalise the authority’s report into RTÉ’s handling of the Fr Kevin Reynolds affair – but that the Frontline debate could well now be discussed at that meeting.

Broadcasting legislation does not specifically empower the Minister for Communications, or the cabinet, to call for a full independent inquiry into alleged breaches of a broadcaster’s duty.

Independent inquiries can only be prompted by action from the BAI itself, though in the Fr Kevin Reynolds case the BAI acted upon request from the cabinet.

Read: Gallagher writes to Rabbitte over ‘deeply disturbing’ Frontline claims >

More: RTÉ invites former UTV chief to assist in editorial review >

In full: Our coverage of the RTÉ Frontline debate controversy >

Read next:

Comments (26 Comments)

• DISCLAIMER: I was a Sean Gallagher supporter.

I’m all for an enquiry and one that has real meat to it, with repercussions for RTE. But doesn’t it reek of irony that Fianna Fail are calling for it?

• So we are looking for an inquiry into a bad question. Journalists ask lots of bad questions, they only make news when they get bad answers.

• mike 13/03/12 #

All he is after is a pull of money.

• Ciaro 13/03/12 #

You lost gallagher, get over yourself.
    You are trying to deflect the focus from your shady past and Fianna fail links, no-one cares any more. The world doesn’t revolve around you.

• He lost yes.. But he didn’t lose fairly. That debate had a huge impact on his campaign. The National Broadcaster has the responsibility to be impartial.

Sean has conceded the election and given his support to Michael D. This is about ensuring the reporting process in RTE is fair and just going forward. Only a moron wouldn’t want that

• hold it a minute, he lost because someone asked a question and he didnt give a convincing answer back. Instead of sayin straight out that he had nothing to do with Morgan he got muddled and confused and looked like an eejit. McGuinness had all sorts of allegations thrown at him, (true or false) he managed to answer convincingly. Sour grapes is all this is, hell probably try and sue rte for lost presidential earnings next!

• I’m pretty sure it was an accusation not a question?

And yes, he handled it appallingly badly, even on the radio the next day. But the process should have ensured that the false accusation was never put to him in the first place.

Any degree of impropriety levelled towards him was always going to stick because people had him linked with Fianna Fail and brown envelopes

• accusation or question- it doesnt matter. The fact of the matter is this, if u cant answer for yourself in politics, you might aswell choose a different career

• Eggers 13/03/12 #

What caused Gallagher to loose was the ammount of questions that were being poised about his business dealings, the state grants he got etc etc etc.

When he was shown, which is beyond doubt, that he was a debt collector for the FF gang, and a very senior member of them, all the financial questions took on added potency. We have all grown up over the last 40 years with countless evidence of FF members scamming the state from their lowest members to the leaders. Pretty much every leading figure in the party over the last few decades has had serious questions raised about their ethics and honesty.

It was this long story that destroyed Seán Gallagher, he might be more honest than Jesus but because he laid down with dogs for so long it was hard for people to believe it . Gallagher was damaged before the tweet, his admissions on the show just confirmed that. If the media had being doing its job this would have been published in papers prior to the debate. Everything said about Gallagher, implied about Gallagher was admitted and confirmed by Gallagher in that debate.

The country truly dodged a bullet her and this nasty little man should accept that he comprehensively lost. I’m sure that he’ll get a nice quango job as a consolation prize, either way the taxpayer is going to be paying Sean G. Some things never change.

• @Ciaran,

He’s not the only one that didn’t lose fairly. There were many untruths said about another candidate that was doing very well. RTE and the papers were very aggressive towards him and actually left him out of the 2 page spread on the last Sunday before the voting the following Thursday. It was very wrong, unprofessional and amateur. I hope Mr. Gallagher doesn’t throw this bill onto us, the taxpayer, for the inquiry, if there is an outside inquiry. Having the internal inquiry is going to cost us enough through our TV licences.

• Wow Shiela, we actually agree for once …. You are 100% right that Martin McGuinness was treated extremely badly by Miriam O’Callaghan that night. But fair play to Martin, he hasnt made a big song and dance about it, unlike his FFailure rival. Thank God, McGuinness pushed Gallagher to the extent he did, otherwise we would have a Financial Terrorist in the Aras today. All Gallagher wants is another envelope to keep quiet, but this time, he wont get it.

• Cal,
      You are so right . Mr Mc Guinness was treated very badly by Miriam O Callaghan,and her line of questioning was nothing short of disgraceful.
      FFailure Sean Gallagher will not be getting any more envelopes.

• I think i can save the state a lot of money by stating the outcome of the inquirey ….

Why did Sean Gallagher lose the election?
    Because he was found out to be a FF bagman, and on the face of it, not the enterpreneur he claimed to be.
    Why is being a FF bagman such a big deal ?
    Because, it was because of the FFailure Galway tent mentality that caused the Irish people to lose faith in their government to run the country. They have destroyed the hopes and dreams of at least 2 generations of our people.
    Did the “tweet” in itself cause people to switch votes away from Gallagher?
    Hell No ….. It was the way in which Gallagher responded to the question posed that caused people to realise what this FFailure was all about… He used the term “envelope”, not Pat Kenny or Martin McGuinness. It was also Gallaghers ‘mature recollection’ moment, when he remembered who the ‘mystery’ contributor was, after an ad-break. People at home remembered the Galway tents, where the big developerswere handing Bank borrowed” money in envelopes to their favorite FFailure politicians, in order to get land rezoned, regardless of the impact to the rest of the country.
    Gallagher also made a total mess of the audience questions…. He had obviously never heard the expresssion, ‘keep your mouth shut when you are winning’ ….

In overall summary, Gallagher, and his FF team have no-one to blame for losing this election, except themsleves. The Irish people are not ready to forgive FFailure for the damage and suffering they perpetrated on the Irish people.

• In my humble opinion this was a situation where the end justified the means.

• The cabinet should spend a day or too on this as every thing is perfect in the fair green isle!!!

• I wonder if pat suddenly got a conscience after all this time or maybe a stab of a brown envelope into his pocket.

• Eggers 13/03/12 #

Isn’t is just brilliant that the man who is accusing RTE of trying to set up Sean Gallagher is a convicted bank fraudster.

Maybe Pat McGurk, the bank fraudster will run as a co-candidate for FF with Sean “the collector” Gallagher in the Euro elections in 2014. Jesus just imagine those 2 coming to your door canvassing. I’d say most people would stay hiding behind the couch.

Sean’s friends and defenders are a right quare bunch.

• The key may be the Euro elections. Maybe Seanie is trying to clear his name/get some sympathy for a run at the European parliament. A word to the wise Seaneen, sympathy you’ll find in the dictionary, somewhere between shit and syphilis.

• @Cal,

Sadly, for you, I was not talking about Mr. McGuinness! But, yes, Miriam O’Callaghan did make a booboo of her question. The only thing I found wrong with that was that she was a bit careless the way she put her question!

I was speaking of another candidate. No. I have no intention of mentioning which one. Work it out yourself. I will agree with you that the RTE presenters/interviewers are and can be very careless in their questioning and can be a law upon themselves as we all saw with the Sean Gallagher incidence.

I love discussion and talking, but only if it’s constructive and nobody is forcing their beliefs on others, thinking that they are right in all that they say.

• Any inquiry should go wider than just the tweet incident. Editorial practices in RTE across its range of current affairs and ‘comment’ program’s should be investigated. It often seems to me that some of the radio programs choose their contributors from a very narrow pool – more of a wedding guest or dinner party list than a genuine slice across society. A true case of the elite calling onto the elite. Another reason why any inquiry needs to be handed off to someone well outside the narrow circles of Irish media and law. Will the big salmon in the smoked salmon socialists circle allow an outsider in?

• It was Glenna Lynch’s questions that convinced me that Sean Gallagher was in fact Bagman! da-na-na-na-na-na-na-na! da-na-na-na-na-na-na-na! Bagman! Bagman! Bagman!

• There is so much time spent on that issue with more pressing matters to sort out. They will set up a inquire to investigate it and that will be more expense on tax payer. Let it go nothing will really come out of it. They are making mountains out of nothing.It is a problem that can be sorted out by RTE. itself without have a big palava about it.Focus more on how we can get the country up and running again.

• 13/03/12 #

A lowly enfant terrible wonders whether BAI would care to look at what RTE studiously refuses to report. Further details by searching in Google for ‘ TSB RTE Hanna McDonnell’

Cheers

The Super-grass who failed in maths at school.

• mcbab 13/03/12 #

We need to know who set up the fake twitter account surprisingly enough on the very same day that the official mcguinness one was set up. All this bull talking about FF as if they are the devil incarnate is ridiculous. It is a political party made up of individuals, some good some bad. Just like every other party. Some pretty childish and stupid comments on this site over the past few months. Get the feeling its been hijacked?

• Here we go…………..bring on the conspiracy theories.
      Sean Gallagher is a charlatan who tried and almost succeeded in pulling the wool over the eyes of the electorate. He failed, not because he was set up by lefties in RTE, shady characters in SF, or green men from a far off planet but because he was unable under pressure to maintain the pretence that he was an “Independant” candidate, but was in fact up to his neck in dodgy dealings with a strong FF backround.
      The BAI found in his favour, lets wait and see how RTE deal with it first before call for expensive, long winded public enquiries.

• Eggers 13/03/12 #

Look McCab, you deluded individual.

It was not the tweet that did for Gallagher, it was his reaction to it, it confirmed the already substantial questions over what type of man and what way he operated and who he associated with.

What really nailed him was Gleanna Lynch, a business woman from Dublin. A transcript of the following is in the below link. This would have holed his shampaign below the waterline irregardless of his evasiveness or subsequent admissions during the debate.
      http://www.broadsheet.ie/2011/10/25/glenda-lynch-and-the-dragon/

Add New Comment