TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Shatter condemns ‘thuggery’ during Gilmore car protest

The Justice Minister said protesters who forced the car carrying Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore and Minister for Children Frances Fitzgerald to leave an event in Ballyfermot this morning showed a “callous disregard” for children.

Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

JUSTICE MINISTER ALAN Shatter has described the behaviour of some members of Éirígí and the People Before Profit Alliance at a protest in Dublin his morning as “disgraceful”.

A car carrying Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore and Minister for Children Frances Fitzgerald outside The Base youth club on Blackditch Road in Ballyfermot was forced to turn back this morning as a result of the heated demonstration.

Both Cabinet members had been invited to join about 80 children at an event organised by UNICEF at the centre.

“Despite the fact that this was an event organised for children, Éirígí and the People Before Profit Alliance protesters engaged in violence, thuggery and shouted expletives,” said Shatter.

The vehicle was surrounded by people and pelted with eggs as it tried to enter the car park. The Minister said there were also people “beating the roof and side of the car”, as well as “hitting the windscreen…posing a serious risk that they would break the glass.”

“It was fortunate that it was the Tánaiste’s garda driver who drove the Ministers to this event and was in a position to ensure their safety,” added Shatter.

We all recognise the right to peaceful protest. But it must represent a new low, even for the protesters involved, that they would engage in such disgraceful behaviour designed to disrupt an event organised for children and to do so with complete disregard for the affect of their actions on the children.

“These individuals clearly have no respect for democratic values, for individual rights of freedom of expression and are clearly incapable of recognising the importance of the Children’s Rights Referendum and of ensuring that both adults and children have available to them the fullest information relating to it.

Their attempt to justify their conduct as representing any real concern about the issue of child benefit is rank hypocrisy.

One man, aged 28, was arrested at the scene and was charged in court this afternoon. Shatter said the Gardaí have assured him that they will fully pursue any illegal behaviour that occurred this morning.

The Minister also called on TD Richard Boyd Barrett to condemn the actions of protesters and to give assurances that his movement will not engage in similar conduct in the coming days or weeks at events relating to the Children’s Referendum.

Boyd Barrett was not available for comment but TD Joan Collins said she would question whether there was any People Before Profit members involved in throwing eggs or other violent behaviour.

“We’ll have to check out who of our group was involved but we would never encourage people to take those actions,” she told TheJournal.ie. “As far as we were concerned, people linked with People Before Profit were engaged in a peaceful protest.”

VIDEO, PHOTOS: Eamon Gilmore’s car egged by protesters in Dublin

Read next:

Comments (177 Comments)

• What’s the story with Mahon & Moriarty Mr Shatter???

• No doubt there will be plenty more to come in jan after another 3.5 billion is axed from the economy. Do politicians actually believe that citizens are not going to react. They are angry and pissed off of carrying the can while those in power and position continue to exploit the system. There are hundreds of thousands out there who have seen their way of lives destroyed by poor governance and corruption. I can only see protest like this one escalate over the coming months and to be honest it’s time citizens of Eire stood up for themselves.

• “A new low”…give be a break, this government have taken us lower than I ever imagined possible.

• I love the fact that one of the protesters arrested was in court in the afternoon. Would this happen in a case of a crime against a citizen? Thought not.

• Alan shatter should crawl back under the rock he came out from. The people he was elected to serve are angry and sick to the teeth of being punished for the greed of a few elite and as a minister for justice he’s doing a fine bad job of bringing those few to justice. He’s lucky people aren’t revolting!!

• It’s not the job of a Minister to bring individuals to Justice, that’s the job of the Gardai and the Courts. Sadly since this government came in after the crisis, they can only make laws that’ll apply to future crimes. Even then most of what’s required to fix this is done by finance and other departments, not justice.

Also any lack of progress doesn’t change the fact that what happened today was a disgrace.

• Yes david, its not your party’s lies and u-turns and attacks on the most vulnerable while handing over billions of our money to unguaranteed bondholders thats a disgrace, its a car getting egged by protestors.

• Sorry Dave, that’s BS.

• Sadly this government came in at all! I relish in the thought of a complete wipeout of FG……..tick tock times a running out…..elections as soon as pension time is ready.

• @ Ryan: Look at the last few polls and try living in the real world. FG in the 30-35% bracket.

• @ Patrick, “The people he was elected to serve”??
      Funny the way the Tánaiste and Minister for Children who were elected and therefore have a democratic mandate were unable to speak at the event they were supposed to today but instead were drowned out by a group who didn’t engage in a democratic debate but instead decided to throw eggs.
      Democracy? What?

• so ignoreireland would you say that to protesters in Greece and Spain as well.

• @censored if I am talking bs then tell us what Shatter can do to bring those responsible or the crisis to justice?

• @Ryan Allen
      The only poll that really counts is on polling day. Government samples of 1000 are not a true representation of the nation. But I understand why you live in cookooland it’s easier to hide your head in the sand.

• @Ryan Allen
      The only poll that really counts is on polling day. Government samples of 1000 are not a true representation of the nation. But I understand why you live in a PR spin cloud (changed for swear bots ) it’s easier to hide your head in the sand.

• This is going to be an example of what is going in the future. When will our beloved ministers realise that we are starting to get serious, vocal and physical demonstrations are going to increase. We have had enough. Open your eyes and your ears, it’s going to get worse before it gets better. Stop paying the bloody bond holders. And start the austerity measures at the top! And that’s from a dog, for chrissakes. Grrrr.

• Ryan you do know that opinion polls are done by many different private organisations with very accurate statistical modelling?

• Reg 05/10/12 #

The greed of a few Patrick? Did you hear whine line today or see prime time last night?

• David I am well aware how market research/gov spin/PR/opinion polls/statistics work. I don’t need to tell you as you are also aware that its a numbers game, all about changing them to suit the desired need. If there was an election tomorrow I bet your lover Edna would be wetting his nappy. But as I’v said before the only one that matters is on polling day, then we will see! In by default and lies out by the electorates choice. You seriously think we all voted for continuity FF nah you missed your chance at a real shot, too bad.

• @ryan, if you didn’t realise you were voting for ‘continuity FF’ that’s your mistake. Hopefully the Eirigi group will put people forward for local elections and then we’ll see what kind of support they have.

• Yet the government shot down a proposal to protect frontline emergency workers fro assaults….

• E D 05/10/12 #

@Dave Higgins, have you any idea what sort of a blind following fool you sound like, make up your own mind pal.

• @weerejammin, just for the record we are still getting loans from the IMF and EU that far exceed any payments to BOnd holders,how can you not see that.if baffles me how so many people on this site vilify government ministers both,but never even suggest an alternative other than “it FG and labours fault”

The last two years have been painful,but Eirigi or their friends in the ULA,are not going to attract new money or investment into this country which ultimately lead to jobs. It is.

Also consider for one moment the possible result of any government not paying back the countrys debts!
      I don’t fancy living in a country that would have to balance it’s books by removing 15 billion from our public services over night.In my opinion that would completely kill our economy,and every citizen of ireland would become economic refugees.in my opinion.

• Bringing in investment from overseas which may create a few thousand jobs (more than offset by companies leaving) isn’t going to turn the economy around when the domestic economy is gone through the floor, in a large part thanks to this government scaring people out of spending money. Saying that the gap in income v expenditure is bigger than the money to bondholders is irrelevant. It’s money going abroad that should be here. And Iceland’s great success since burning the bondholders of it’s banks gives the lie to your claim we would become economic refugees. The wimps in government might have to take an earbashing from Germany and the ECB but we as a people would be far better off.

• @richard keogh, hi Richard,a okay the domestic economy is on the floor and personally I would like to see a multi year budget so people can have some confidence in spending.but not paying our debts as agreeded in our IMF EU bailout would result in no money coming into the country.that would be an end to the domestic economy.

With regards to iceland,Richard would should do some reading about Icelands looming mortgage bubble,it actually dwarfes what are are currently going through.take a look at the interest rates that Icelanders have to pay,mortgage holders would only love to be in the euro.Iceland is a time boom,any serious economist will tell you that,take a look at the cost of living and consumer goods in Iceland versus wages,and young people of Ireland aren’t exactly climbing on planes to go get work in Iceland.

Also Iceland didn’t let their banks fail they just crashed and there was nothing the Icelandic central bank cold do about it.ya bond hiders got burnt,but they won’t be back again. Iceland is in an IMF programme just like us,but the Russians are the other partners in that particular bailout,and it wont be free lunch,Russia his it’s eyes on iceland artic resources when Iceland fails to pay its loan to Russia.they bond holders won’t be queuing up to save Iceland.

• As bad a group they are, most decent people don’t like what they stand for. But all it takes, is a spark and it’ll ignite a ball of fury. the irish people are in such a place right now, they don’t care who starts the ball rolling!

• What you reap you sew. !!! Disgraceful can also be used to describe this governments attitude to the economic suffering of the ordinary people of this country while at the same time giving billions to unsecured bond holders ! Never again will I give a vote for labour! They have betrayed the very people who elected them .

• Brian 05/10/12 #

I don’t care whether Gilmore’s car has eggs thrown at it or not but Eirigi are a dangerous shower who are all about self-promotion. People Before Profit would want to distance themselves from Eirigi if they hope to have any credibility.

• When people feel they are not listened to these things happen, whose fault is that?

• A complete disregard for the children he says. I’ll tell you you what a total disregard for kids looks like, each and every single one of them in debt to the tune of 16k because of our bailed out banks.

• hitting the windscreen… posing a serious risk that they would break the glass.”. What wind of flimsy windscreen couldn’t take a few slaps? Or is It just more exageration?

• “Shatter The Egg!”

• whats the crack is the standard unifrom for Eirigi track suits and hoodies , very professional looking for a protest ;) In all fairness to them there lethal at throwing eggs and paint …

• Paddy ,
      You do not know me and I thank God I do not know you . For a start Paddy (Mark) Rodgers reply under the correct post . anything else I have nothing to say to you . I am so glad I do not have to justify myself to you or anyone else in this life . I am very comfortable being the woman I am . Pity you can not ”man up” and defend your society against the injustices foisted on us by the current government .
      I do not condone violence or partake in it either … \ / !

• No point in leaving my comment here Journal , but thank you for removing Paddy Rodgers post :)

• The children of Ireland will have little respect for the future that the likes of Kenny, Gilmore, Shatter, Reilly etc. have condemned them to, get used to it lads.

• I think you mean Ahern, Cowen, McReevey and Harney.

How quickly we forget.

• We don’t forget David, which makes you rather hypocritical in your defence of the current administration, given that they have broken pretty much every pre election promise and have continued to do as the previous administration have done.

• David, do you really think FG parachuted in from a cloud or something? Maybe you are too young to remember that FG wanted to *increase* government spending during the boom. Since their advent to power their decisions have shown they are the exact same as FF, just a little bit less competent.

• David your lovers enda n co are equally as bad. Not another red cent my eye!! Few more months till pension time…

• @ David Higgins
      We have Not forgotten. FF, FG , Lab., Greens , their day is O V E R . !

• +10000 thumbs up

• @eileen, whats he alternative going to be,can you tell me that? A bunch or opportunists in disguise as so called left wing revolutionaries telling you that it’s all the bond holders fault and not that we lived in a country dependent on cheap credit,and unfortunately that problem has to be fixed first before any reforms can be brought in.

The current opposition or non established parties have not given an alternative to fixing the economy.and as Bill Clinton said ” it’s he economy stupid”

Eileen but what they will continue to canvass marginalised people and give them a false hope,that when they are in power life will be fair and better.

Well for the record SF have been in power in NI for a long time now and they have done little to improve the lives of the poor.Plus they have little inclination about running an economy because they are quite happy to draw the queens shilling.

• i hate how if theres any protest theyre talked about by politicians and the media as if it were a buch of unruly children. its past time people started to display theyre anger and fustration of a sold out political system that only becoming more and more neoliberal at the expense of the majority of the people which a democracy is supposed to serve.

• He got eggactly what he deserved.

• Typical PR shit from this minister. People have had enough

• not thuggery but anger

• Politicians better get used to it. What are they going to do when they announce the budget and then the whole country will be out protesting.

• Mick, Wish I could afford a pint and a club tonight, and I also put myself through education as well and worked hard, some of us have to work the weekends as well just to help pay the bills. So while I work my ass off, it is getting very annoying looking at the smug heads of the politicians who keep taking more and more away from me.
    And for the record, there is no such career in Ireland sustainable these days, unless of course you are a politician or a bondholder!

• Mick 05/10/12 #

Yes there is…it’s called IT my friend…if you keep ur skill set updated…work hard and have any bit of drive its very sustainable.

• i am in I.T Mick

• Mick 05/10/12 #

I Never asked you if you were or not…but if you are on the subject.. why are you struggling if you are in IT? Are you any good?

• Mick, very good, self employed, and very good work ethics. It is not the work itself Mick, it is the system for self employed people which makes it very hard to stay afloat. I,m so sick of listening everyday on the news about the public/private sectors and they is hardly ever a mention about the self employed or how it could be made a “little” easier for us. Used to be an employee, but this famous recession changed that and there was no way I was going to sign on so started my own business instead and am now working twice as hard, studying all the time between I.T. stuff and book keeping. Can,t work any harder than that. U have to agree with some of that Mick.

• Mick 05/10/12 #

Why don’t u work for a company rather than be a contractor? Plenty of both employment types out there…just a suggestion and you would not need the book keeping bit…

• Ahh yes Mick, but now I have the book keeping bit to my cv now, wouldn,t have done it if I was still working somewhere

• Mick 05/10/12 #

Really, u are going putting book keeping on your CV???? OK, now I see why u are struggling!

• U are missing my point Mick or maybe I am not explaining it well. I,m not struggling in the work sense, Never been so busy this last 2 years (touch wood). The point I,m trying to make is, that the money end of it sometimes feels like it,s an uphill battle with dealing with things like (for eg), tax, as it is totally different for people who are self assessed, to be frank about it, it’s a pain in the arse.

• @ ignorland they were elected on a mandate that they haven’t implemented,their just lying to us all,a bunch of second rate failures that haven’t seen the full rage of the people YET!

• which thugs are ye talking about the one in the car or outside of it

• Do Eirigi protest outside or even exist outside of Ballyfermot , just asking like

• Big words

• It’s pretty low to protest like that at a unicef event for children though. Protest like that if you want but do it at a proper anti government event where it doesn’t have a negative impact on something positive.

• Plenty of other events these thugs could have protested at. The fact they chose a UNICEF event shows they were just looking for a place to make trouble.

• Ryan please do not come on here and use blatant class discrimination. You are calling people thugs for protesting. What definition are you using. Protesters are not thugs so remember that. Would love to see the likes of you in Greece or Spain telling the people they are thugs. You wouldn’t last long.

• “…please do not come on here and use blatant class discrimination”
      “…would love to see the likes of you…”
      Both used in the same post without a hint of irony.

• johnny 05/10/12 #

@christopher gardiner – EIRIGI are thugs full stop.

• Donal you are wasting your time. Journal.ie commentators are now so one sided that unless you hate every thing the government does you are harassed for making any sensible comments. Just look at other stories that are not even related to the government or the economy. The commentators still bring the comments back to the state of the country. Imagine thinking it is ok to start violence outside a children’s event? Shows the level this site has dropped to.

• Donal you are wasting your time. Commentators are now so one sided on this site that unless you hate every thing the government does you are harassed for making any sensible comments. Just look at other stories that are not even related to the government or the economy. The commentators still bring the comments back to the state of the country. Imagine thinking it is ok to start violence outside a children’s event? Shows the level this site has dropped to.

• So important you had to say it twice Pearse?

This reminds me of the rich in the US who are whining that “everybody is out to get them”. If you actually take the time to read the comments on this article you will see there is a pretty good balance. Of course there are always some, like you, who cannot cope with anyone pointing out the facts about their beloved government. Glad you’re alright Jack.

• That’s exactly the problem with the way this site has gone Censored. You talk about a balanced argument. Violence and over the top bad language outside an event organised for 80 children. Most of those agreeing with what happened seem to think that is acceptable.

• Christopher, throwing eggs and hitting a car is thuggery,If your so fond of Greece and Spain maybe you hold move there.

• People like Eirigí make me sick. They are pure thugs and while there’s a heeellll of a lot to be angry about imagine what kind of country we’d have if these lunatics were running things.

• People before Profit joined in with these mindless and gormless thugs and encouraged each other in their assault on two Government Ministers.
      Both Parties should be proscribed for the use of violence in pursuit of their aims.

• There is no chance of that Gerard. You will always find people that are dumb and you will also find people that are thugs but the numbers of those that are both dumb and thugs will always be outnumbered by normal society.

• phil 05/10/12 #

Disgraceful behaviour, by all means protest even sit down infront of the car. When you start throwing eggs and battering the car you have crossed the line and should be punished..

• Nah, this is thuggery. Eirigi are an organisation, not individuals. This is orchestrated thuggery. If you have s point to make put it together in a coherent format and verbalised it. Physical intimidation isn’t something that has a place in the political sphere of a democracy no matter who on the political spectrum it’s aimed at. And any of the posters here condoning it should about what else they might be prepared to condone.

• People are dying on hospital trolleys and James Reilly is giving his property portfolio priority.

Is that not mindless violence? Where is the democracy there?

Eggs at a car or needless deaths in the shattered Health system

You’d do well to change your perspective there pal

• “Eggs at a car or needless deaths in the shattered Health system” — yeah let’s see what the eggs and boots do for the health system. What a cracker of a false opposition that is.

It’s possible to abhor the state this country is in and the way it is being runway this country and NOT descend to below the line of thuggery. James Reilly needed to be punted out months if not longer ago, doesn’t mean I’m going to rub shoulders with a bunch of yobs with a lust for violence to further my opinion. Although I see from your facebook friendlist though that you’d have no such qualms.

This island used to be awash with blood. Some people would have no problem seeing us slide back that direction. Not me. I’m happy enough with my perspective, young man.

• Thuggery? Aren’t the Gardai being used as the Govts thugs?

We have a shower of corrupt bastards being protected by a shower of corrupt bastards and you want people to stop and wave at Eamon as he passes?

• You’re a “law of the jungle” man, are you, Toby?

• I am what I am. I believe in honesty and integrity and I believe in punishing corruption.
      The meek might inherit the earth in the bible but in reality its the liars and bullies that seem to be sitting pretty.

• Your whole theory is well off there anyway Nivag.

From talking to a comrade who was at the protest today it was the ordinary people of Ballyfermot, mothers, daughters (i.e those who are being robbed of the Child benefit) who directed most physical anger toward Gilmore

so take your “organised thuggery” and “yobs” BS elsewhere, because it’s clearly classist crap from someone who isn’t feeling the brunt of the government’s axe

• I doubt it, Kerron. And even if your “comrade”, assuming he even existed in the corporeal realm, was truthful in saying it wasn’t eirigi members, to try and insinuate that they weren’t eirigi’s rent-a-mob is stretching credibility.

But you use terms like “comrade” and “classist” in the year 2012. So rounded conversation with you may also be stretching credibility.

• These terms are as relevant as they ever were you fool

• “stretching credibility” … what does that even mean?

a bloke called Nivag with a picture of Lance Armstrong as his profile is going to school me in “stretching credibility

• I see Paddy you are busy labelling as well. I learned about people like you in sociology class and how labelling a group seeks to demonise it to deflect the real message that these people are angry because their government as represented by those in the car are neglecting these people and pandering to the rich. You are using class discrimination pure and simple and its a kinda sick really.

• That man should be given a medal for doing something I wanted to do myself.
    I am just sorry it was eggs and not stones.

• I think Eirigi are v proactive on Journal tonight….understand how people are very angry with ex politicians who destroyed our country, lying low on fat pensions, greedy bankers still enjoying their freedom…..and lack of political leadership at European level….but please, please please do NOT give these nut jobs any credence.

• Thuggery is being polite for éirígí

• Mick 06/10/12 #

They Craic me up…I wonder when those eirigi people are going to man up a small bit and actually get jobs for themselves, and provide for them selves, rather than protesting about how much they can sponge off the state so they can drink beer and go to Celtic matches…

• Eirigi, they remind me of another bunch of bully boy national socialists in their infancy.

• Loonies have always existed on the fringes of normal society. There was a time when they would have been removed to an institution where they could be observed under lock and key. Today we call some of them Éirígí and they are permitted to wander aimlessly around the country armed with eggs. They must be reminded however, like children, that there are certain types of behaviour that will not go unpunished. All children throw tantrums but they must behave when cautioned by adults.

• People have respect for those who show leadership …they want to cut children’s allowance, home help where’s the leadership there? what the protesters did today is pure frustration..I say we’ll done put the s@@t up them no harm

• mike 05/10/12 #

That’s it lads. Ruin an event trying to help starving children. The downright cheek of some people for trying to stop children from dying of hunger.

• http://www.coolmine.ie/about/links/food-day-centres-and-practical-support
      Speaking of starving children , checkout the link ,and maybe take a walk to the food centres .
      See what this government has done . Ask the monks ,what they see.
      Go on , I DARE YOU .

• Yes Eileen, to think, perhaps the country could afford to improve services to those most in need if only some people would do their bit and pay their taxes.

• Jim Brady
      You are a gas man , ha ha , I haven’t laughed as much since the last person said the same thing to me . I do pay my taxes , and I do pay my bills for ESB, Phone , Gas,and for anything else i use and am responsible for.I am fortunate I can pay my mortgage and I am not in Neg Equity. BUT , I will not pay the House hold charge to fund dead banks or unsecured bond holders , Educate yourself please ,
      Why not attend a public meeting in your area ,I am sure you will have your eyes and mind opened . Go on , you will be made most welcome because the people who refuse to be bullied , like me , are normal down to earth men and women who have the good of the community at heart .

• Sounds fantastic. Didn’t know the household chage was ringfenced for unsecured bond holders.
      I don’t much like paying income tax, so I’m thinking of perhaps opting out, what with all the bad banks and all.

• mike 05/10/12 #

It’s not what they were protesting about. Plenty of us are opposed to cutting the children’s allowance. It’s HOW, WHEN and WHERE… that was an act of thuggery. These people have actually damaged any legitimate opposition to these cuts.

• mike 05/10/12 #

Marcus from my experience I have to agree with Mick. I lost my job last year so I set up my own business in IT management. I am making more now than I ever did before. its a bit harder work but the financial rewards are there in the IT sector.

• johnny 05/10/12 #

you can say that again. the big brave irish saviours are only targeting the big bad jack and jill foundation aswell – tramps

• The outrageous behaviour of these muppets does not represent the opinion of the vast majority of society, so not really surprised by the protests.

• Joe
    There are some occasions when democratic values must be protected and the thugs who were at work today value nothing but their free housing and dole payments,. They have plenty of time on their hands to use violence against others and should have been arrested en masse. Eirigi is the same organisation that assaulted a former Minister for Health and their political message is incoherent other than the foul mouthed comments that their intellectual deficits limit them to.

• mike 05/10/12 #

and the most ridiculous thing is this… Considering they were not at work themselves it’s a fair assumption that a lot of them are unemployed, which means they won’t be affected by the cut as they will receive the proposed additional top up. So in reality they were protesting so the rich wouldn’t have their children’s allowance cut. Priceless….

• Throwing eggs!! lock these out of control mad Yolks up shatter! :D

• D Higgins thinks what happened today was a disgrace. Maybe it was. Leadership in Ireland is, and has been for some time now, an absolute disgrace. We can peacefully march and have our numbers woefully downplayed in the media, or we can be violent and branded as thugs. Neither seems to matter anymore. Honestly don’t know what to do come the next election. A spoilt vote might be noble for one man, but useless for many more.

• A political group called the National Socialist Workers Party (better known as the Nazi party) exploited the political and financial turmoil in Germany during the 1930s. I do not need to repeat the chaos, killing and destruction that they eventually visited upon the continent. This group has a similar sinister agenda on a smaller scale and they are pursuing power by exploiting the turmoil in our country today. As bad and all as things are in this country do we really want to repeat the failed socialist experiment that these people propose. I have read a couple of their policy papers and as far as new ideas go they are empty. There is of course, their policy of, lets blame the dastardly Brits for everything, it’s all their fault. Hang on, that rings a bell, did the Nazi party not have a similar policy of blaming a particular group for the ills of Germany in the 20s and 30s.
      This group is a sinister front for a sinister organisation we all know who they are. Their political propagandists constantly watch the comments on the Journal as they procrastinate from working on their MA and PhD theses. If they ever got into government we will all have to toe the party line, change our names to the Irish version and speak only in Irish. We sorry souls will all be straightened out and thought the error of our ways, they will shove their warped nationalist political philosophy down our throats and if you do not dance to their tune well then you can always be sent to the camps for re-education.

• It is astounding that Eirigi cannot grasp that Ireland is under control of the Troika.
    In their anger they blame the citizens we elected, who are trying to hold the country together while handcuffed by the Troika in what they can do.
    It is wrong that they violently protest based on their own ignorance and misguided understanding of reality .

• think there is a great advert opportunity here for cream eggs …..

• mike 05/10/12 #

Why don’t all of the people who complain about how this country is run, set up their own political party, get elected and then run it properly themselves. instead of just whining that someone else hadn’t created a job for them….

• Possibly because it is to late. Time to go onto the streets and say enough is enough and remove this government of spoofers. We borrowed 11 billion and paid 18 billion to unsecured bond holders this year. When will the people of Ireland stand up and say STOP.

• If it’s too late why bother removi.g the current lot?! Because it’s obviously too late to replace them…?

• I am astonished that politicians think they can go about their business in public considering their own behaviour. I would be afraid – very afraid of somebody shooting one of them. Wake up politicians, people are sick to death of this government and their lies and greed.

• Today alone, we had the muppet for education reported as being angry because he comements in the dail re primary care centres were misinterpreted. Of all the things we have put up with in the last 21 months that got Ruari Quinns goat up was his comments in the Dail were not reported in contexted. Muppet no. 1

Muppet No.2: The only thing in the past 21 months that annoy the muppet for justice is a few eggs being thrown at a car. Never mind the gangland crime muppet Shatter, in your little cocoon u will go down as one of the most memorable justice muppets in the state.

Muppet No. 3: Time Magazine, front cover. No explanation needed

• Save the Children, Vote NO. |

Vote NO for Democracy and Freedom and to save the children from the State.
    The Irish Government , with the support of all the Irish political parties including all the opposition , are running a national referendum in Ireland on Saturday next November 10th to give the State more control over the children of Ireland in opposition to existing parental rights, even though the Irish Constitution already protects children , where the State has always dismally failed to do so.
    Those of us concerned citizens opposing this are being overwhelmed by mass organisation, mass media and postering across Ireland right now by ALL the Irish political parties with all the politicians ganging up on the people, we feel that this is the final solution by the State and the politicians to all dissenting voices in Ireland.
    Thus we the people , with no organisation, no political party left, are fighting to the finish for Democracy and Freedom of Choice to be maintained in a Free Ireland, and that our children be saved from State despotism and Dictatorship.
    Save the Children, Vote NO.

• richiefett u must be one of these fatcats n govt……

• Now try it, you just try to run all that is proposed here without reference to the special case of the Traveller families, you can’t , not even with a solid YES vote on Saturday November 10th – and this is why this referendum is a complete and total Confidence Trick because no legislation that will work , without provision for the Traveller families can actually work, and such provision can’t work either as everybody must be equal under law.
    So if Frances Fitzgerald gets her Yes Vote she still cannot legislate as laid out for the purposes of this referendum with no mention of the Travellers anywhere, but even if she now produced legislation to make them exceptions to the rule it can’t be done anyway as we all have to be treated the same under law.
    Any or all legal eagles here must by now realise that it is all a Sham and a Confidence Trick of being asked to vote for something that can’t be done without that Traveller exception , that can’t be done either!
    Come on the Travellng People your existence has not now only shattered the Government but all Irish political parties in Dail Eireann as well and exposed them all as Fakers and Charlatans.
    Thanks for your help, Lads:-)

• This State was founded using violence, murder, assassination, and intimidation and the perpetrators went on to become Government Ministers, Taoisigh and Presidents and one even wrote the Constitution so f… off with your spin

• Ahh sure lads, give me a shout if ye want any work done.

• Unfortunately, along with their fat pay cheques, they can expect treatment like this for a while to come yet.

• eoghan 05/10/12 #

Shatter must have little to be doing in condemning egg throwing at a car a waste of space mc dowell was the only proper just minister

• Down wit that sorta thing :-) careful now :-)

• @ Christopher kinda wha?

• good enough for them wasters
    lining their own nests….free cars free road tax free fuel free everything & and they get paid….+ expense + pension. they the govt…are the only ones robbing us….sure europe running the country..do we even need them….let em live on min-wage & we will see how long they will last.

• Sean,minimum wage is not a sentence that is imposed on you in fact this government raised the minimum wage,it is however what it says the minimum wage an adult can be paid in this state.

If you got a job that required you to travel to as part of your job,do you think you should pay for the petrol,road tax etc out of your own wages?

• Joe, me too

Add New Comment