TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Bar sales down 6 per cent as consumption of alcohol falls

A new report from the Drinks Industry Group of Ireland shows that the overall drinks market and alcohol consumption were “essentially static” due to the recession and changing consumption patterns.

Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

BAR SALES ARE down, adult consumption of alcohol has also fallen, and the prospects for the hospitality sector “remain weak”, according to a new drinks industry report.

Drinks Market Performance 2011, a report released by the Drinks Industry Group of Ireland (DIGI), was put together by Anthony Foley of DCU Business School. It shows that the overall drinks market and alcohol consumption levels in Ireland were “essentially static” last year due to the recession and changing consumption patterns.

In 2011, the total value of bar sales declined by 7.2 per cent, with a 5.5 per cent fall in sales volumes, the report showed.

Ireland’s pubs, bars, hotels and restaurants are therefore continuing to suffer major declines with a knock-on effect on local businesses and revenues.
In particular, the declines in bar sales are having a significant impact on jobs in this employment-intensive sector, where over 5,000 pub jobs have been lost in the last two years.

The declines in the on-trade were offset by a 5 per cent increase in off-sales, the majority of which were generated through large retail multiples. Off sales now account for almost 60 per cent of all alcohol consumed in Ireland. DIGI said that this continues the shift towards consumers purchasing alcohol to drink at home – and showed that independent retailers were experiencing a diminishing share of sales.

The overall alcohol market increased marginally by 0.17 per cent in 2011, but with the increase in adult population average consumption levels decreased to 11.7 litres of alcohol. DIGIT said this is a level last seen in the mid-1990s.

DIGI said that the prospects for the drinks market in general and the hospitality sector in particular 2012 remain weak, as a result of low levels of economic growth and with consumer expenditure declining.

Chairman of DIGI, Kieran Tobin, said:

From 2008-2011 alcohol sales in Ireland fell dramatically through the onset of the recession and downturn, and as a result of cross-border trade. The on-trade in Ireland is currently operating at only 70 per cent of its 2007 level. The situation remains fragile with pubs, bars, nightclubs, hotels, restaurants and independent off-licences continuing to close as a result of consumers not spending. This has obvious consequences for the 62,000 jobs across the manufacture, distribution and sale of alcohol, as well as for businesses and communities throughout Ireland.

The Government reduction in alcohol excise by 20 per cent in December 2009 “helped to stabilise the market”, said the report, adding that the  reduction in VAT on tourism-related activities also had a tangible positive impact on the hospitality sector and on reducing prices.

The report concluded that while Irish drinks exports continue to perform strongly on international markets, “this success is founded on a solid domestic base”.

DIGI said it looks forward to working with the Government

to find ways to assist our industry at home by incentivising consumers to go out, socialise, and spend money in the wider hospitality sector, while simultaneously identifying new markets for our products abroad.

Read: Students focus on side of drink culture ‘neglected by reality TV’>

Read: Shatter willing to consider pre-labelled bottles to curb under-age drinking>

Read: Jameson sales revenues soar by 25 per cent in six months>

Read next:

Comments (79 Comments)

• €5 and up for a beer in Dublin, you must be mad, your prices are still the so called celtic tiger rate. I cannot remember the last time i was in a pub. I just wont pay those prices. Our number 1 complaint from tourists to the city is the expense in eating and drinking out.

• So us drinking less, is up setting the drinks industry. As for the increase in people having a drink at home, it’s because the price of a night out in the pub , where a pint/glass of wine costs between 4.50 – 5.50 , might have something to do with it, factor in a taxi and babysitter, its really not worth it to go out.

• Niamh, I couldn’t agree more. I was home three weeks ago for Easter and went out with my sisters in Limerick city. I nearly lost my life when I saw the price of drink in one pub we went to (won’t name the establishment but it is very well known). It was just an ordinary pub, nothing special as far as I was concerned. And here was I thinking that pubs have copped on with prices of drink…I was busy totting up how much those drinks would cost me in pounds and wasn’t very happy!

• On the opposite when I go home and get me my dad and the two brothers a pint at the local and get change out of £10 I feel a little bad!!

• Like I’ve robbed the pub or something when the reality is I’m just used to being fleeced in Dublin!

• It’s strange,you’d think it should be more expensive for a pint in the country where there’s little competition and more traveling for the trucks and it would be cheaper in the city where there’s a lot more competition….. Waste of time anyway. Enjoy the odd drink at home,it’s comfortable and I don’t have to worry about getting home or anything….but then I’m getting old and don’t like being crushed by drunks in pubs ;) when your younger and single there’s a point to spending all that money….

• And to point out the obvious,having a family means your money isn’t really yours to piss away like that anymore. Gotta be responsible n all and with the bills increasing constantly I can’t see how most people can afford the pubs anymore :(

• Were not drinking enough, were drinking too much. All reports carried out by bodies with vested interests in the results.

• Reduce your prices on food and beer by the average wage reduction and you may get some consumers going out
    £ 20 Stirling gets you a two course meal for two plus a bottle of house wine in Birmingham, this costs €65 in Ireland ! People have wised up here .

• And because the bar sales are down they want to rip us off with the off sales.

• Bought a bootle of decent enough red wine in Aldi for €5.65.

Same quantity and quality in a bar = €20-€22.

No brainer.

• €3 for any drink in exchange bar in Waterford including large bulmers bottle, it has been this price for the last 2 years and it’s still doing well.
    I was charged €7 for large bulmers in temple bar, robbing bastards.

• Wetherspoons in the UK wanted to open a pub in Dublin then a chain of pubs around ireland back in 2005, they were blocked from coming to the country by the Vinters federation of ireland. You can get a steak meal with a beer for £6/€7 in wetherspoons in the UK.

• @Mark, Yeah but it’s shite and the beer is usually just bordering it’s shelf life.
      They get a deal with breweries and buy up cheap stock.

• Thats a myth Sean when you say bordering it’s shelf life, Beer in most pubs in the UK is not as good as ireland, but ive had some dodgy pints in ireland to and paid €5.30 for it. £2 to £2.20 for a pint in wetherspoons. I know a couple of people that manage a Lloyds bar in London. You can buy a double spirit, any with mixer for £4. Dublin the same would be €12 to €14.

• Mark the measures for spirits is smaller in the UK than it is here.

• Anvilmas 26/04/12 #

Wetherspoons are terrible pubs no atmosphere

• Ann its 10mls less in Lloyds bar to ireland, but in Ireland a double costs 3 times more. Would you rather spend €5 for a double with mixer or €14? mmm i know what i would want to pay……………………………

• @Anvilmas it depends on which wetherspoons you go to, they cater for everyone, some are for families some for a quiet pint and many especially in the cities have Djs like a club. In London they are very good. If you live in London like i do every other month you know were to go. If you want music in a wetherspoons google it.

• Because Irish bars are a bloody rip off!!!….people have had enough of it & sick of getting ripped off by Irish bars.

• Agreed …. but only in the cities. Asking € 5 and up for a pint is just pure greed. But, in rural pubs a pint still costs € 3.60 (Guinness in my local). That’s about as low as it can go if the bar owner is to make any kind of profit. The bar owners can’t buy beer for the same low price as the off licences.

• Agree Martin
      First time in a while I went into town few weeks ago went to Fitzsimons in templebar charged €6.10 a point of larger compared to €4.20 in my local so €2 in the difference.We had one point there and rushed out quickly.
      Can publicans open their eyes and see people can’t pay these prices no more hence the lack of business! But yea can’t beat a nice point of Guinness at the local :).

• hahahaha….I see we have loads of dodgy greedy barmen on journal.ie!! lower your prices and get with the times!

• Publicans make a 200% profit on every pint they sell.

• Get real Gary will you….i really can believe what you just said. People are not going to bars & drinking at home with friends because its safer and saves €100′s of euros. Bars in Dublin are one of the biggest rip off in Europe. FACT!

• Drinking by yourself at home is by no means safer in fact il argue that a responsible barman/maid looking after you and telling you when enough is enough is safer. The problem has to be tackled two fold and is a delicate balance. People’s attitudes to drinking has to change particularly with young people, this idea of walking into a nightclub and having 10 shots straight away just for the sake of getting drunk isn’t healthy and cheap prices will also hamper this. Drinking 15 cans of lager at home for €20 isn’t healthy either! The other problem is taxis and pubs have to lower prices to accommodate respectable adults going out for a drink to enjoy themselves. Take Dundalk for instance Ridleys nightclub and bar offer

• Drinks for €3 during the week and every night bar Saturday! Many other pubs in town have followed suit and also offer drinks for €3/€2 on student nights! Also one last point surely a barman asking for id and keeping an eye on people who are drinking will help combat the underage drinking problem? Surely healthier than drinking cans in a field?

• @ Shane

If that comment is addressed at me – I dont need a calculator. I suggest you go back and read what I said. I am quite well aware how many pints there are in a keg and I was talking about what it cost in 1998 and the prices were punts not euros! And I am talking about Gross Profit Precentage. Tell me how much are you paying wholesale for a bottle of Smirnoff or Bacardi or Gin? To the best of my recollection there are 28 measures per bottle – now tell me your not making a huge profit on spirits. Same with Tea and I wont shock and piss people off and tell them what the wholesale price of a teabag is!!

• Hardly surprising that as disposable incomes decreases people spend less on drink. Off all the worries we have in Ireland right now, people buying less booze is not high up on that list.

• @Chris…great point about college bars in Ireland. When I went to Glasgow Uni, I couldn’t believe that the uni bars were able to sell drink so ridiculously cheap in comparison to college bars I was used to going out in at home. Thought it was a Glasgow thing…until I went out in Newcastle, Sunderland and Manchester Uni bars and copped on fairly lively that the owners are making a tidy profit off the backs of people at home! Even Kings College in London had seriously dirt cheap drink. College bars were some of the worst for prices if my memory serves me right!

• Does anyone here know what it takes to run a business. When you have over heads that are amongst the highest in europe is it any wonder the price of stuff.

• alan 26/04/12 #

if this is true and if it is accompanied by a change in drinking patterns town might be a more bearable place

• For the record a keg of Heineken cost to pub is €188 including Vat and there is 88 pints in Keg if that works out at €.79 a pint maybe someone needs a calculator ! I own a pub and charge €4.20 for a pint of Heineken which costs me € 2.13 which is a margin of 50.7% which I need in order to cover my costs this is normal in any business so let’s not tar all publicans with the one brush , you can choose to socialise wherever you like so shop around , Try Clonakilty perhaps !

• Many problems exist for the Pub trade…

- Diagio have the market cornered
    - Price of Sky TV to pubs
    - Price of taxis to ferry people to-and-from the pub
    - drugs are cheaper than alcohol
    - less mix of age generations in pubs now-a-days… pubs seem to concentrate on a particular age group

• People have always complained about the price of beer. Go to any Scandinavian country and then complain to me. About 7 euro for a 500ml, not a pint first off and this is a regular pub. Go somewhere trendy or niteclubish and expect to pay around 9. And before anyone says it, their cost of living is higher than ours. And the rent over there! phenomenal!

• If a pint was IR£ 3.75 in 1998 then it seems at €4.20 in 2012 we have nothing to worry about ,my average margin across all products is 55/56% so I resent the implication that All publicans are ripping their customers off as I suggested if people want value for money shop around of you don’t want to pay €5 for a pint there are plenty of options out there . By the way three pubs in my area tried selling €3 pints and all have gone out of business now ,maybe some would prefer if there were no pubs at all , thankfully that’s not the case in Clonakilty with good value for money and lots of great Pubs !

• jimbo 26/04/12 #

Is it a wonder the price of drink in a pub these days

• Comment for Michael J Hartnett; what do u know about weed??? …. There is no link between weed & mental health ..,. But there is a link between Alcohol & mental Heath ….. So shut up u fool

• It would be a safer peaceful Ireland if alcohol was banned and cannabis made legal …. The hospitals would not be over crowed and the children of the nation would be better looked after by their parents… Alcohol is the root to peoples down fall it is one of the biggest cause’s of death… Anti Drinker

• The price of a pint of Guinness hasn’t gone up much in the past 15 years except for the pricey Dublin pubs. But young lads are only too happy to get heavily pissed with cheap supermarket booze. They’d be better off with odd pint down the pub. And more tax on off license booze would be less income tax for everyone, assuming of course the government don’t waste it.

• i wonder if we have slipped down the tables of the big drinkers. surely our consumption has dropped in total.

• April fool surely!!

• And I dont suppose that the 6% drop could have anything to do with the hundreds of thousands of people that have been forced to emigrate in order to find work. When is the government going to cop on and realise that by heaping more bills and charges on Joe Soap and therebey taking what little disposable income the majority of people have left in their pockets at the end of each week/month is hurting the domestic economy and job creation. Of course the bar trade does nothing to help itself – they hold the top spot in the rip off sector!

• despite the economic downturn still nice to see the publicans tring to put the boot in , rip off ireland is still alive and well and if you dont believe me just pop down to your local and see, no sympathy for publicans they robbed us and now they cry

• ” My Comment Got Deleted ??? “

• Pints are so much nicer than cans. I would much rather have 2 nice pints served to me for €8 or €9 than drink 8 or 10 cans for the same price. Nothing like a pint down the local

• Sad to see the pubs across Ireland being so empty lately. Once you get outside of the cities, even on a weekend night, you’d be lucky to find more than a handful of people in many pubs.

I hate to say this but … deep breath ….. I think it’s time there was some kind of legislation brought in to prevent the off licences from being able to sell beer for the silly prices they are now. When people can get their beer for €1 a can they won’t bother going to a pub where it could cost 3 times that and more.
    There are all sorts of repercussions because of this. The pubs close, jobs are lost and the culture of the Irish bar dies out. The only socialising done by many people now is with their TV’s.

In the cities it’s a lot easier for the bar owners to ride the wave of the downturn but in rural Ireland the bars are closing in their droves, the ones that are still open are clinging on by their fingernails.
    And yes, the drink driving laws and the smoking ban have a part to play in this aswell… but in my opinion the silly low alcohol prices in off licences is probably the biggest culprit these days.

• WTF!!!…Get real Gary will you….i really can believe what you just said. People are not going to bars & drinking at home with friends because its safer and saves €100′s of euros. Bars in Dublin are one of the biggest rip off in Europe. FACT!

• How about legislation brought in to stop Bars etc. from charging outrageous prices. I’ve worked in a Bar/Club all through college and I can tell you that a very nice margin was been made on everything. But hey that was the early 00′s people paid it, because we had the money.. But things have changed and the costs for drink in bars has largely stayed the same. I might mention that Drink was also cheap in the off license, local supevalu, etc. back then also.

• OOhh lots of red thumbs.

For the record, I was talking about RURAL pubs. As far as I know, the public buys their beer for approx 2.50 a pint (for guinness). So € 3.60 (again rural pub price) is a reasonable price for them to charge in order to turn a profit.

I fully agree that city pubs are extortionate with their prices.

• That should have been “…the publican buys their beer….”

• True Gary but city pubs can’t compete on the same level, high city rents and rates compared with generally inherited rural pubs and higher staff costs, still doesn’t explain the rip off fully!!

• Gary

up untill I went back to university in 1998 I was a restaurant manager and I was responsible for stock control, the weekly stock take and GPP. I can tell you for a fact that back then the wholesale price of a pint of Guinness was 79p which retailed at around £3.50, while a pint of Heineken wholesale was 91p and retailed at around £3.75. If you take into consideration that I worked in a restaurant and that was the wholesale price to us, the wholesale price was cheaper to Pubs as they buy a lot more kegs which gives them a bigger profit margin.

• I think you’ll find it’s the silly high prices that greedy publicans charge that is the biggest culprit these days.

• It’s not just alcohol pubs are fleecing us on! I bought 12 cans of 7up and 12 packets of cheese and onion walkers crisps for €5 in my local supermarket today! The same would cost me €42 in my local pub!

• Not where I am, this is bollox.

Add New Comment