TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Nine police officers injured and 18 arrests in Belfast protests

Officers dealing with the disorder were pelted with petrol bombs, fireworks, bricks and ball bearings.

Image: Paul Faith/PA Archive

AS VIOLENT PROTESTS erupted again last night, nine PSNI officers were injured in Belfast as demonstrators angered by the recent Union flag dispute pelted them with petrol bombs, bricks and fireworks.

The PSNI said today that 18 arrests were made overnight in relation to the disorder. Over 30 petrol bombs were thrown at police officers while they dealt with the incident and a range of other missiles such as ball bearings, fireworks and masonry were also thrown.

This resulted in eight police officers being injured. None of the injuries are life threatening however one female police officer required medical treatment at the scene by ambulance.

Three attempted vehicle hijackings were reported in the Beersbridge Road area and 14 arrests were made in the area during the disorder. A water canon was also deployed to the scene but was not used.

Another three arrests were made in the Robbs Road area of Dundonald, close to the Ulster Hospital, at approximately 6pm last night.

A protest also occurred in the O’Neill Road area of Newtownabbey which lasted for several hours. Missiles such as bottles and bricks were thrown at police for a time, resulting in one police officer being injured.

Police received a report that an attempt was made to hijack a bus in the area and a commercial premises on the O’Neill Road was broken into by several masked men who damaged the property and stole a sum of money. One person was arrested during this disorder.

On Thursday night ten police officers were also injured during loyalist street protests in Belfast.

The PSNI said it will be seeking further arrests in the coming days in relation to the disorder.

Anyone with any information about any of these incidents is being asked to contact their local police station on 0845 600 8000. Or if someone would prefer to provide information without giving their details, they can contact the independent charity Crimestoppers and speak to them anonymously on 0800 555 111.

Related:Ten police officers injured in Belfast flag protest>

Read next:

Comments (86 Comments)

• DB 05/01/13 #

Thug s

• Words escape me to discribe the complete idiosy I’m looking at. Ill stop there before I rant.

• Lol, just look at the picture, absolute sc*m. Mostly kids it appears too. I see their caring parents passed on their values and hatred. Great job!

• What’s gonna happen when these Clowns come to dublin marching? I predict a riot!

• There better be plenty of Guards around to arrest any of them that step out of line, they won’t have the numbers or local knowledge to get away as easily in Dublin. Any I hope anyone caught defacing our flag down here gets punished severely, you can’t get away with that shit here(hopefully).

• How many nights have these tossers been attempting murder? How many rubber bullets have they caught?

• C’mon, use the water cannon.

• How about the water cannon with some added dye and sticky material that doesnt wash off so the scobies can be later identified? Also if they love their “fleg” so much why not show your faces?

• Why don’t they feck off to London to protest to there queen about her flag instead of coming to Dublin,oh I forgot she dont want nothing to do with them either

• Conal 05/01/13 #

You have to laugh at the state of unionism and loyalism these days, it’s brilliant to see how paranoid they are. Look what the PUP just tweeted “@OfficialPUP: It is of the utmost importance that you register to vote immediately in order to be eligible to vote in any upcoming border poll. #Register”
    The times are a changing.

• If wee willie frazer and his bunch of a hundred half-wits want to protest in Dublin next week, let them off. As someone else noted, the Tricolour won’t even be flying anyway, so they’re gonna look even more stupid than usual. I say the best thing to do is completely ignore them, don’t even bother with a silent protest. That will annoy them nicely.
      I can only imagine the smug faces on them the last time they headed back up the road, after that “love ulster” fiasco.

• Not to worry folks.Willie Frazer is a bit unsure what the Irish Tricolour actually looks like anyway.So they will be coming down here via Italy.They are not taking any chances :-)

http://www.u.tv/News/School-%E2%80%98IRA-youth-HQ-in-flags-mix-up/a415e119-9230-4265-b9d5-a16348618fac

• I see this lot will be protesting down here next Saturday, demanding that the tricolour is removed from Leinster house.

I wouldn’t be surprised if they are allowed to swagger and march through a heavily barricaded garda procted Dublin city centre route, waving huge union flags.

We have to be good paddies and show our resident guests how understanding and tolerant we are.

• I don’t understand why they want to protest in Dublin. To me, it’s a contradiction of their beliefs to come down South. Does it not imply that they feel we are one nation and should therefore be treated the same by having the flag removed? It’s just my understanding of that this whole thing is about.. I can’t grasp it. Just wanting to cause more trouble I guess.

• The irony being the Irish flag is only flown when the Dail is sitting. Which it doesn’t on Saturdays.

Man, are they going to look ridiculous.

• Enda, Hope you don’t mind but I just took your comment. That is priceless :) lol

• If they do that there is going to be riots in Dublin, their only coming here to set off people on our side of the border

• @Ciara. You’re asking questions of a bunch of gormless fools who get angry when they have to think. Don’t think about it too much, they haven’t.
      The Orange Order is no different than a bunch of football hooligans, except they’re older, more cantankerous and belligerent, and they wear bowler hats. They don’t have thoughts, they have brain farts.

• Yes, I don’t think they really know why they are doing it. I live in Belfast and I have friends who don’t think they flag should not have been removed but they are not out protesting and causing trouble and unrest. They have voiced their opinions and respect the democratic decision made by those in the council. Right now there is a big gathering of protesters at the City Hall but a very heavy police presence.. Hopefully it will remain peaceful!

• There protest down here is just a ploy to give bad press to Dublin by antagonising a riot. Media are focused on giving them bad press now and they want to say it’s not just loyalists who riot and get angry ovee there flag. Silent protest against them with back turned in them with tricolour held up is the only way if they come down here.no violence!!!!

• They are hideous, nasty, bigoted sh1ts. The best thing to do is to let them at it and not risev to their bait. They WANT to be attacked because in their tiny little minds it would prove a point. Sadly, the equally dumb thugs in the RIRA and ?irig? want to oblige them.

• A peaceful protest my arse. They will come down on Saturday full of rage and hate. Our government cant do anything about this whole union flag thing anyway. They must be thick.

• Are these they same protestors that have been burning the irish flag at every protest up north,Id say they will get a great welcome when they come down.At least they are starting to except that Dublin is their true capital,It would have made more sense for them to go to London.

• The only reason they are coming down on Saturday is to cause trouble and try to deflect from their brethren’s behavior up North. The crowd who are organizing this are the same bunch that organized the “Love Ulster” march and the organizer, Willie Frazer of FAIR said this in the Irish Independent…..

“When we ask for the Tricolor to be taken down, it’s a tongue-in-cheek gesture, it’s to give Irish people a sense of how we feel,” Mr Frazer said. “I would be very offended if I was living in Ireland and someone came and asked me to take the flag down.”

Frazer lives in Armagh which according to him isn’t in Ireland and he might as well go to France and ask them to take down their flag for as much good as it will do him.

• I know it may be shocking but i have met northern lads (of the orange persuasion) to are oblivious to the fact they are from Ireland.
      The loyalist education system really confuses geography with politics,look at the Ulster is british banners..try march in Donegal then!

• Funny the clowns dont realise the orange on the tricolour is supposed to represent their society.

• Funny, many clowns dont realise the Union Flag represents their society by incorparating the cross of St. Patrick in its design? If thats is so then why does the Union Flag have to be removed from the city hall?

When Willie Frazer and the other 150 protesters come to Dublin they are doing so to make a point about cross border relations and the very biased way they are viewed in the Republic of Ireland. If they are met with a wall of hoddies in Celtic jerseys waiting to kick off then they will have made their point.

RTE and most media outlets in the Republic of Ireland make a very deffinate differentiation in their reporting between “bad” violence committed by dissident republican groups (IE Omagh Bombing) and “legitimate” violence carried out by Nationalists in the past (IE Arms Trial). This differentiation is made because those Nationalist groups that continue to commit violent acts are not on ceasefire or have not disbanded.

However NO such distinction is made in dealing with “Loyalist” violence. I have never heard the term “Dissedent Loyalist”. Last time I checked the UVF have decommissioned their weapons in front of independent witnesses to at least the same level the IRA did. This continued biased view prevelant in the Republic will only continue to hamper efforts made in BOTH communities to end sectarian violence of all kinds.

• Vincent its no secret loyalists have the worse PR on earth,you dont need to demonise or villify them,they do it themselves
      Democracy ended the Troubles,democracy brought about decomissioning of weapons but when democracy takes the flag down democracy is no good to them.
      Reports of shots fired on the RUC/PSNI,burning tricolors when they may as well burn the Mexican flag for all the sense it makes.
      They are their own worst enemy

• fair points vincent but you know the reason they are coming to dublin is about maximum exposure and they are hoping the celtic wearing jersey idiots will kick off. id say they will send the most respected and well known and hope to get a reaction. I think the reason you don’t hear the words dissident loyalists is down to misinformation on our side but also to the fact that the loyalist community as a whole dont distance themselves enough from this kind of demonstration

• I hope you can tell the difference between mindless tugs and Celtic fans.
      Theses people don’t represent our club

• eoghan 05/01/13 #

A full on police charge with Batons out would sort most of these riots out and wait till next week and they want to have a protest next week outside leinister house ha the gardas will show them how to break up a riot

• sean 05/01/13 #

Can anyone else count the number of adults in the photo? I’m at 1. Think that says something as well!

• The times they are a changin’…….and the loyalists don’t like it one bit. What are they afraid of? An equal society? Lack of leadership if the best they can come up with is Willie Frazer. #Numpty

• The best thing would be to ignore the ignorant twits – dont give them what they want. Even when they deserve a good slap on their bums and sending home to their mammies

• Creating mindsets is possible but dangerous. eg. The sectarian entity known as The Six Counties was always a bad idea as it trapped otherwise good people in a synthetic identity. Cults function through this instrument, Dismantling cult-think is not easy but possible. These people are victims of nationalistic(British) political manipulation.

• Its cursed since Day One,main industry was shipbuilding which dried up long ago and now the main employer is the Civil Service supplanted by a substantial yearly British cash injection.
      The definition of a failed state if ever there was.

• I shuddrr to think what will happen ,when a “legal” Nationalist majoity occurs

• So the inbreed,”special ” cousins are coming to visit next week,how nice!!!

• If you think about it they are protesting AGAINST democracy!
    Hopefully the Garda beat the crap of them when they cause trouble in Dublin,the RUC are just standin around
    Also Ciara makes a very good point!!!

• @ RobertOMaingain – To your first point “no secret loyalists have the worse PR on earth” see later for my views on PR and how Frazer will use it. My point had nothing to do with PR but rather the biased way that these things are covered by the national broadcaster in the Republic of Ireland and how this biased coverage will do nothing to solve these problems. As a national broadcaster they have a responsibility to be fair and balanced and they are not. By not reporting these events in a even handed manner they give people like Willie Frazer an excuse to stage a protest in Dublin in the hope of eliciting a response from hoddie trouble makers. The national broadcaster has a lot to answer for in how they glorify some forms of nationalist violence and villify others, this form of biased reporting encourages those same troublemakers to go out on the streets in response to Frazer and his band of 150 protesters.

To your second point – Democracy brought about the partition of the island into two seperate states. some people didnt like that so they used violence to change the democratic mandate. If some Dissident Loyalists do the same who is to blame?

I do agree that in many cases they are their own worse enemy in the same way as the RIRA, 32 County Sovereignty Movement and others.

@ Frank Cluskey – I fully agree, If I was Willie Frazer I would make sure that the 150 people coming was made up of the families of those injured or killed during the troubles, I would also invite as many veterans of WW2 / Falklands / Irag / Afghanistan etc to come. Its not like the same people out in Belfast throwing petrol bombs will arrive in Dublin.

THATS PR – not how the events have been covered in the national media

• @ Vincent Carpenter:
      you say -
      ” Democracy brought about the partition of the island into two seperate states”

what utter rubbish.
      the people of Ireland (all 32 counties of it) gave a clear mandate for independence from British rule in 1918 election.
      the borders of the Six County State were carefully drawn up so that there would be a 60 /40 Protestant / Catholic ratio within its borders.
      the state was described by one of its leaders as ‘A Protestant State for a Protestant People’, & it operated largely as such, until the minority community trapped within its borders, began to win concessions as the struggle of the last decades of the 20th century progressed.
      the 26 County State was & still is, just the remaining part of Ireland.

• @vincent
      thanks for your comment and I agree with nearly all you say,
      my one concern and i raised it in my first post is that nowhere in your two comments did you condem the violence that is happening in belfast.
      its about moving on vincent and getting over the hurdles

• best word to describe these people are animals

• Let them have their protest in Dublin. Just don’t give in to what they want which is a riot.

Lets show them that we are not like them and that we are more civilised on matters such as these!

• these huns next saturday will be looking for reaction from the irish people ,the best course of action is to ignore these bigots and there sad agenda including media ban

• They’re very well dressed for a riot I must say!

• The lads in the pub say that a water jet with a touch of dettol, that would sort out that rabble you wouldn’t see them back again unless they wanted another good wash.

• Its the orchestrator’s who should be rounded up and i’m sure the PSNI know who they are. Looking at that rabble in that picture i’d say they couldent organise a piss up in a brewrey so go after the ones who make these things happen.
    Bringing there demonstration’s to dublin is a cute move and they are hoping that they will cause a reaction and even be attacked so they can film it and show the world. If it was me i’d stop reporting immediately on this issue and give it no media coverage whatsoever.

• The Falklands needs more flag wavers, send them there and allow us to live in peace. Life is short, tough and more important things going on!

• I’m sure our own lads will greet them next week all clad in their Man U and Celtic jerseys just to let them know how much they are hated

• there may well be method in the madness of those behind the ruffians on the street.
    they may well think that their reaction to the recent minor measure, may prevent more meaningful symbolic ‘equality’ measures, such as flying the Tricolour alongside the Union Flag, in the near future.

• The Gardai recently stopped a protest by students without a valid reason.
    http://www.thejournal.ie/student-sleep-out-garda-permission-723119-Dec2012/
    Surely they can refuse these individuals giving the same “you just can’t do it” reason. If its good enough for the students of this country its good enough for these protesters. MUNSTER, LEINSTER, CONNACHT, AND PART OF ULSTER SAY “NO”

• There’s plenty of union jacks in London….

• Best response is to let their protest go unchallenged. We all know though that the muppets who know nothing about politics will be dressed in their Celtic jersey looking for a riot and an excuse to loot!

• Lets all show up and do the Poznan at the twits

• Nothing new with loyalists just cause the union jack flag was tuck down it has no right been up in the first place and know want to come down to Dublin and protest..the PSNI/RUC where harassing nationalists with couple flags while them animals run wild..wheres billy lads !

• Gerard 05/01/13 #

Let them come down to Dublin I predict riot :)

• And if they do and they get battered (again!) you can be sure the media will be out with the same British placating garbage as they did when the Love Ulster lads came down.
      ‘Yeah theh came to provoke but all violence towards them was by Eastern Europeans looking for trouble and by junkies’

• The irony if this is that the Union has never been safer! Most Catholics in NI support the Union. All polls verify this. Plus most people in the RoI take no interest in affairs of the North.

• But thats the issue,they see it as everything is against them and they are in a losing battle,its an inbuilt paranoia.
      Paisley had them convinced the Republic and the Pope were out to get them when neither could have cared less.
      Time and demographics bring down the mightiest of empires

• I presume you are putting yourself in that bracket Jason? That’s the problem with most “Irish” people they are ignorant of the situation of the north of Ireland and prefer to stay cocooned in their little shells down “south”

• Any stupid townie should stay away, this is a game of PR. Will it happen, afraid not. Everyone in Dublin with -180 IQ will be out and about. Smashing up shops and cars in their support for the so called Republic. F1ck off and think before you lob that brick.

• My comment defending people taking down.why

• Well I wonder where gutter rat wee willie and his 150 followers are doing today.I’d say drinking and singinng the sash.in unionist pubs (safe houses) Also.wearing their union waistcoats.and their stupid bowler hats.Prob. boasting how they frightened the South to death.Thick little t*****r

• why don’t they go to their own capital and demand that the union flag is taken down from their own parliament? Most of the time, Loyalists are ignorant to our existance, only when it suits them to cause trouble. More Northern Ireland crap. I hope a united Ireland never comes about, can you imagine having to put up with Loyalist moaning? No thanks.

• The republic is pants, Loyalists need not fear, a united ireland ain’t happening

Add New Comment