TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Ahern secretary footage from Mahon Tribunal ‘will never be released’

The tribunal has video recordings of hundreds of witnesses giving evidence, but these will be kept under wraps.

Ahern after giving evidence at the Mahon Tribunal in 2008
Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

VIDEO FOOTAGE OF the notorious moment when Bertie Ahern’s former secretary broke down in tears on the Mahon Tribunal witness stand will never be released, the inquiry has said.

Since 2002, the tribunal has amassed video recordings of every witness who gave evidence, including former Taoiseach Ahern and a number of other senior politicians and developers.

A key moment came in 2008 when his former secretary Gráinne Carruth acknowledged on the balance of probability that she had made sterling lodgements for the then-Finance Minister in 1994. She broke down in tears as she did so.

Controversy over the evidence given by Ahern, which included a number of disclosures about his personal finances in the early 1990s, eventually led to his resignation in 2008.

However, the tribunal has said the video recordings were made for “internal use only” and had been used for checking the accuracy of official transcripts. A statement on the Mahon Tribunal website said:

These electronic recordings have never been shown or released to any third party, and will not be in the future.

It suggested that all witnesses had been aware of the recordings, saying that the camera “was clearly visible at all times”.

Other dramatic moments contained in the footage include:

• Ahern telling the Tribunal in 2008 that some of the sterling lodgements which were the subject of controversy were winnings from bets on horse racing.
  • Lobbyist and former civil servant Frank Dunlop claiming that he had made substantial payments to a number of politicians in order to win their support on planning issues. Dunlop was convicted of corruption in 2009.
  • Former Fine Gael politician Liam T Cosgrave telling the tribunal that he could not recall whether he took donations from Monarch Properties around the time that the company was applying for a rezoning of land in south Dublin.

The Mahon Tribunal was set up in 1997 to investigate alleged planning irregularities in the Dublin area, and its remit was later broadened to include all allegations of corrupt payments to politicians.

Transcripts of almost 600 days of the proceedings between 2002 and 2008 are available on the Mahon Tribunal website.

It was reported last month that the cost of the tribunal could be as much as €247million in total.

More: Mahon Tribunal may end up costing €50m more than expected>

Read next:

Comments (40 Comments)

• What a scumbag Bertie ,,, should be in mountjoy !!!!!!!!

• Surely as the tax payer is paying for all this crap, we are entitled to see and hear it. Is the evidence so bad that the courts cannot under no circumstances allow the people of Ireland see and hear it? Are there individuals giving evidence and/or answering questions to the barristers that we didn’t even no were part of the lie and thieving that was going on?

Are they so afraid that we might lynch them? Well, maybe they’re right. Because, tarring and feathering Aherne would not be enough in my books. I am really surprised that he is still walking the streets. I’m not really surprised to see that discusting lying grin on his face. I’ll say this much, he has balls. Unfortunately, we allowed him to grow them! Maybe we should all go to court and demand to see them, Irish courts or the European courts, I don’t mind. I personally, still need him and Ms. Harney to answer questions on Leas Cross and to be made accountable for the deaths there. John Aherne and Ms. Conway need to be brought to court also! As I said to Rachael English and George Hook, the Leas Cross Report, which cost millions will end up, collecting dust on a shelf. The copy of the Report I received is on my shelf, but there is no dust on it, because I go through it, reading the awful accounts that people went through in that hole, including my own father, who died 3 weeks after arriving into it for ‘respite’. Shame on you Aherne, as you are not paying for it in this life, I hope you do in the next one!

• we paid millions for the tribunals show us the tapes!!!

• 247 million and they will not show the people of this country the tapes while they paid for them .t.his stinks with corruption is there no end to it in this country ,they keep taking the people for fools

• What are they afraid of? These tapes were paid for by the tax payer, the Mahon tribunal has cost the tax payer an absolute fortune and would not have been necessary it the first place had it not been for crooked and corrupt practices of the likes of Ahern and his cohorts. The Irish public should DEMAND that these tapes are put into the public domain as they are relevant to how all this money has been wasted on this tribunal. The outcome of which will probably be totally useless as NONE of the people investigated will face any sanction for their actions or corruption. The same old story of unaccountability and whilst the likes of Ahern continue to leech every penny they can get off the tax payer the same tax payer is prevented from seeing what it is these shady crooks got up to and if nothing else they are blocked from seeing the ridiculous excuse Ahern came up with as he squirmed at the tribunal. The man should be locked up for his destruction of the country along with all the other incompetents who did so much damage.

• Releasing the tapes would be bad faith as the people being taped would have been given an undertaking that these recordings would never be released.

This would also have a negative impact on any similar future investigations.

• Don’t talk rubbish man! “Bad faith” surely engaging in corruption and bad practice by those being investigated is far worse than upsetting these crooks by letting the public (who are paying for the circus in the first place) see what has been going on and what they are getting for the millions of wasted euros. The Mahon tribunal is a tax payer funded tribunal and the people of Ireland have every right to demand that whatever comes of it is open and transparent and if that upsets the likes of Bertie Ahern then all the better. As for negative impact on future tribunals? any future tribunal should be open to public scrutiny and those called to attend should be under oath to tell the truth on pain of imprisonment, it’s about time these crooks were made accountable for their misdeeds and the sooner the better these secretive and closed fiasco tribunals are done away with then the sooner the Irish people will get to see what a rotten shower those who profess to serve the public really are.

• Donal
      you are opimistic …. ”future investigations ”…. Do you know something the rest of us don’t know ?

• Firstly, just because a tribunal is tax payer funded doesn’t necessarily mean that the tax payer gets access to everything.

That logic means that everything in Laffoy child abuse tribunal should also be made available.

Secondly, it is bad faith to say you will not do X and then go ahead and do it. You can’t interview people, tell them that the camera is just for “internal use only” and then release the tapes, no matter who they are of.

This would mean that if the State were to conduct any future investigations like this, people could refuse to take part as the State had acted in bad faith in previous investigations.

If you don’t get this you really need your head examined.

• OH I get it alright . Its a case of the state looking after its own even if they are the opposition .

Comparing Child sex abuse cases is just a typical tactic at emotional manouvering. Of course sex abuse cases should always be held in camera. what a ridiculous comparisson.

Ahearne and co, deserve to be outed properly .

• It’s got nothing to do with the State looking after ‘its own’ – whatever that means.

I hope Ahern gets his deserved place in history as a lying crook but I also hope that this State will always act in good faith. Nothing of substance is being concealed here, the transcripts are being made available (unless there was an in camera session).

Even 10 year old children know that two wrongs do not make a right.

• It means Donal dirty politicians looking after dirty politicians . Two wrongs do not make a right .so why are the tapes being kept secret ? You say ” I also hope that this State will always act in good faith” .Donal you are sadly too late to hope this…. or badly deluded . This State represented by the present government ,have done nothing but u turns and carried on the shennannigans of the last government.

• He will have us all fighting again shortly . We will be robbing petrol out of each others cars and nicking each others food vouchers soon . Peace me bollix

• He’s doing a good trade in ‘conflict resolution’ talks and lectures in the middle east and Africa. No doubt getting a nice little wad to wager on the nags and boost his meagre pensions from the Irish tax payer. Or maybe he’s just storing it all in the cupboard he so likes to hang out in! “bringing peace to the island should not be forgotten” neither should bringing about total destruction of the economy whilst paying himself a ridiculously high salary and obscene pension payments, letting the catholic church off the hook for compensation payments and last but not least for landing Ireland with that moron Cowen and his sidekick Lenihen who turned the banks private debts into the country’s public debts and what we have now as a result. All of the current problems Ireland now has started with Ahern ‘the peacemaker’! F****n hell, I cannot believe there are people who still admire that gombeen smugfaced cute hoor!

• Hard to know what to think. In someway’s it would be good if the public who will end up paying for the tribunal have access to the video.

Against that the though of seeing more images of Aherne makes me want to puke. Just like last weekend when I had the misfortune to catch a few minutes of the FF knees up and the bollix appeared on my TV.

• Compare this with the transparency of the Leveson enquiry in the UK. The difference in attitude is astounding.

• Dear Wikileaks….

• They’re afraid to air these tapes because there’d be riots in the streets if they did.

• No there wouldnt. There isnt a patriot among us. Prove me wrong – considering what has happened already and the lack of balls the people have. We cant even be bothered to support a half arsed attempt to get noticed outside the Rothschild’s Irish Central bank.

• Unfortunately you’re more than likely correct. We seem to have an unlimited capacity for absorbing lies, humiliation, abuse, theft, and all manner of other degradations.
      If the tapes aired, the few people left in the pubs of an evening nowadays would grumble a bit more, and a bit more loudly. Joe Duffy’d get a week out of it, and things’d go on as “normal”.

• Once upon a time in Ireland there was a minister of finance who didnt even have a bank account. A girl in his office used to run down to the local Bank and cash his cheques for wages and expenses and then put it in a small brown envelope(pay packet) and grave it to him. He then went straight to the bookies and put all his money on horses, tips he got from friends who owned horses. Sadly this is the truth verified by a majority of people in government at the time.

• What ye keep forgetting is that Tribunals are there to protect these bastards. Once they give evidence, it cannot be used against them later if they were ever to be tried.
    And just like RTE who suppress info from us, we pay through the nose for it.

• Are the transcripts available? If so, then what’s the problem? And there I was, thinking the tribunals were all about transparency…

• Kenny and Gilmore are following in his footsteps ….. i hope its off a cliff

• Bertie will be protected.As he could bring too many down with him Lawlor was about to bring a few down but never made it home to Ireland.

• I’m sure Bertie will be giggling into his pint tonight along with his cronies.

• I was asked the other day, by a lovely old lady, what I thought of poor Eamon O’Cuiv resigning?!!!! I couldn’t say I wanted, because she is a lady, but obviously a staunch follower of F. Fail. All I could say was, ‘well, at least he has a good old pension to keep him going’!

There are people like her all over Ireland that still believe that there is no political party like F. Fail. Just like the people that voted Sin Fein in the elections. I don’t care what some people think of Adams or McGuinness, they have an awful past, they were part of discusting times in the North. Yes, the others were doing the same. I don’t call that ‘war’. As one can see, war doesn’t get anyone anywhere. Just a lot of killing, sadness and hate. For what?

• Just out of curiosity, what do you think of Nelson Mandela? He has an awful past too.

People can change and everyone deserves a second chance. Some day you might need one yourself.

I’m no Shinner and quite frankly I don’t support any party.

• Whatever Bertie’s failings as leader of government .. And he did fail us … The fact he made a major effort in bringing peace to the island should not be forgotten

• Derek,

People need to be reminded that he did not bring peace, nor did Adams. They were around the table that you or I or for that matter, every other Irish citizen could have done the same. It was the fact that that penguin was in Government at the time of the talks that he was there. He/they are just names. They didn’t do it personally themselves. I hate when the media reports on things like this. They didn’t bring peace personnally! I wouldn’t have minded if two ordinary tax payers, you, I whoever, from the south and one northern Ireland citizen were around that table. Maybe we should have been.

Anyway, don’t be under the illusion that Aherne did it all and he deserves a medal. He doesn’t and neither does Adams. They just happened to be there at the time. We brought peace, the people, the gangs, IRA, INLA, UVF, and all the others. Hopefully, please God it will last.

• Bertie the peacemaker? Give me a fu€king break! If bertie thought he could make a few bob out of conflict he’d look the other way. 247 million wasted to establish half of what the dogs on the street knew.

• Thats right Derek.. just like George Bush deserves a break for ridding the world of Saddam Hussein.. oh wait.. 40,000 Iraqi civillians died in the process. Not to mention 3000 americans. Bertie did good work in the North to be sure but the ball was already rolling and it far from makes up for the destruction of our economy due to his idiotic stewardship..

• I wasn’t trying to get anyone’s wick up and I did say that he failed us as a leader.. But he was part of a group of individuals that helped bring peace to the island and I think he does deserve credit for his part in it.. Like all involved in it.. I’m not saying he had a greater part in it than others but he played his part

• Derek although I see your point it is not strictly true. Ahern along with Haughey robbed this country blind for years. When Haughey was in power Ahern gave him blank cheques and when Ahern took charge he wrote his own. This man has no morals at all and is laughing at us all. How could a man like that be interested in a peace process for the good of others when he does not have a decent bone in his body?

Add New Comment