TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Bono backs ballot on billion-bucks bailout

The U2 frontman says the Irish should be given a vote on the EU-IMF package – and complains about being snubbed by Obama.

Bono and Barack Obama attend an event held by George Bush in 2006. Bono has spoken of how the President essentially ignored him at a dinner in the latest Hot Press.
Image: RON EDMONDS/AP

U2 FRONTMAN BONO has backed calls for the Irish public to be given a vote on whether to support the EU-IMF bailout – in an interview in which he also complains about being virtually snubbed by Barack Obama at a dinner.

In a wide-ranging interview with Hot Press, published today, the influential singer-cum-lobbyist says having to accept a bailout is an “affront” to Irish people and should be put to a plebiscite election.

Having to take on the debts of private enterprise is “an affront – that is an injustice to the Irish people,” he tells Olaf Tyaransen.

“It would be a very sophisticated thing indeed should the Irish people demand a chance to debate and argue, and finally decide themselves, on what will in the end be a decision that will affect their children and grandchildren.”

In an interview timed to coincide with the visit of President Barack Obama next week, Bono – who performed with U2 at the president’s inauguration in January 2009 – also discusses how he was essentially snubbed by the President after he invited him to a dinner.

I remember the first half of the dinner the two of them [Obama and former Secretary of State, Condoleezza Rice] kind of talking politely through me – and then the second half of the dinner, it was like I wasn’t there.

“They were just kind of sharing and swapping ideas.”

Bono – who has met successive presidents through his political lobbying, seeking the forgiveness of third world debt – also discusses Obama’s use of technology, and expresses his hope that Obama would be able to visit the Dublin headquarters of Google and Facebook.

“He’s the BlackBerry President and he gets technology… I hope that they’re going to spend some time introducing him to the representatives of the wealth of technological geniuses – genii* – that we have here.

“He’s on Facebook. He’s on Google. I worked personally quite hard to get Google to choose Ireland as their headquarters outside of America and I’m very proud of it being here – and Facebook now.”

‘Bono on Obama’ is in the latest Hot Press, out today >

* The use of the plural ‘genii’ to refer to a ‘genius’ is controversial.

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (26 Comments)

• Maybe we could have a referendum on changing the tax laws to ensure he pays his taxes here

• Bono – much as i think you’re awesome – your a musician, not a elected representitive. They dont owe you an audience!

• I love that he’s taking responsibility for bringing Google and Facebook to Ireland. I’m sure all the biggest companies in the world base their decisions on the opinion of jaded self important celebrity tw@ts.

• He worked very hard for Google and Facebook to come and pay taxes here but worked equally hard that he didn’t pay his taxes here.

• Bono backs ballot on billion-bucks bailout?

B@ll@cks.

• Ignored by obama, the poor wee lad

• Who does he think he is?!

• When Paul Hewson (Bono Voce? Good Voice? Good God!) sees the sense in his pointless crusade to write off the debts of fat African pseudo generals with their gold taps, harems, and Kalashnikov toting kids, in favour of measures that will actually help those on that continent to help themselves, then I’ll actually treat his opinions with some credence.

As regards not hanging on his every word at a dinner table, I can’t say I blame Obama, Hewson has had an overinflated sense of his own importance for decades.

• I love the way Bono likes mixing socialist speak vis a vie feeding the poor in Africa and then talks ironically about socialising private debts trying to be anti capitalist in some way, (not seeing that socialising private debts is completely the opposite of capitalism) whilst rubbing shoulders and being pals with the developers that were the catalysts for the whole mess and sitting on a fortune at the same time. This guy needs about 40 mouths so he can have more than one to speak out of both sides of.

• I think Obama’s commissioning of a Pakistan snuff movie might be slightly more worrying than Bono being snubbed.

• Sir Bono should tell his friends George W. Bush and Tony Blair
    all about this dreadful snub! …. Is there any chance
    this pontificating and sanctimonious mouthpiece could just disappear
    from our wretched lives..his music and Broadway outings
    are already passé…..

• Bono’s taking credit for bringing Google to Ireland now? As well as making shitty music?

Also, did it take long to translate Bono’s comments from the original Dutch?

And finally, I guess the only way Bono could get the word genius and his own name in an newspaper article is to use it in a quote.

I don’t like Bono.

• Can someone tell me if Bono and the rest of U2 pay any income tax yet in Ireland?
    If not, will then shut the hell up, until you do, then you might have some justification for your comments.
    As for Obama ignoring him, he is a singer NOT an elected representative, what does he expect.
    Having said this, I do admire the work that he continues to do for the poorer nations of the world, well he could just sit back and spend his ? tax free squillions and live a selfish, hedonisitic lifestyle, couldn’t he but he does try and make a diiference.

• Have to agree..what a fool this bloke is..what does he want,Obama to talk him instead of an ex secretary of state..this bloke has some nerve..the only “affront” to the Irish people are jumped up fools like this not paying taxes like every working man and women in this country..they’re the real heros..not big shot rock stars who because they sold a few albums in america think they have the back door key to the White house..Get off your high horse Bono,pay your taxes to help your country and then people might take you seriously,including Obama.

• Stuck next to Bono during a dinner, nightmare!

• Was he having a bad day, should write a song about it.

• Ferg 19/05/11 #

In fairness, he didn’t really complain about a snub; just mentioned that Obama and Rice didn’t engage with him.
    And I dislike people complaining about Bono taking his tax status to Holland; any sane person would manage their tax affairs in such a way as to pay as little tax as possible. Personally, I could give up my tax free allowances to help the country out. But I’m not going to.
    Still, it’s hard to listen to the guy wax lyrical sometimes.

• Judging by the responses so far no one wants that referendum then.

• Ferg, I agree. Reading the earlier comments one would believe that Bono is the first singer to comment on events of the day, or to have political views

• Give over lads, if bin laden came out and asked for an end to terrorism, or Bertie came out asking us why we bought overpriced property people would rightly question the source of the argument, people are not questioning the argument, they’re questioning the source, that being a guy who knows developers personally, who had plans for a huge hotel up until recently in Dublin city centre and sits on millions pretending to be some mad martyr to the Irish predicament, why doesn’t he go work for Vincent Paul if he’s so concerned!

• It may be a legit way to avoid tax, but how much money does one need and is it ethical?
      He could take a leaf out of Elton John’s book who didn’t bail out of the UK in the 1970s, when the wealth tax rate was off the radar there, unlike others such as when Ros Stewart.
      Elton John stayed, paid obscene tax rates but has his credibility intact as an English man.

• Barry R. 20/05/11 #

Frank I agree with you.
      Pop stars love giving their opinion.

However Bono is the only pop star thats deluded enough to think anyone gives a shite

• Did any money reach Africa from the efforts of this twat and Geldof?

• In the name of the Obama, the Bono, and the Holy Ghost…

Add New Comment