TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Booming black economy killing small business

Dramatic increase in black economy is costing the State €5 billion, says the Irish Small & Medium Enterprises Association.

Illegal cigarettes seized at Dublin Port in May
Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

THE IRISH SMALL & Medium Enterprises Association (ISME) has warned that rogue traders, cash only merchants and racketeers are ‘killing’ tax compliant small businesses and costing the state billions in unpaid taxes.

According to ISME Chief Executive Mark Fielding, the amount of taxes being lost is conservatively estimated at €5 billion, with the cost on the economy at least 14 per cent of GDP.

“The ‘nixer’ culture, in particular, is very much alive and well and there has been a definite shift towards a ‘cash only’ shadow economy” said Fielding. “This is particularly evident in the construction and maintenance sectors, where there are increased incidences of ‘jobs for cash’, completely undercutting legitimate companies, who in many instances report that potential clients are demanding that they pay ‘off the books’ to save VAT.”

Fielding also claimed that because the social welfare system is not designed to make it easy to receive payments and take irregular temporary work, people ended up signing on and also working when they can, leading to millions in illegitimate dole claims.

“With rising costs and taxes, there’s also an incentive not to work, or to work but avoid tax. The system itself therefore offers a significant incentive to operate within the shadow economy, encouraging undisclosed employment without taxes or regulations, while claiming assistance from the state.”

Italians are now paying one of the highest ‘real tax rates’ in Europe because of their black market, according to a study alst week by the Italian consumer association, Confcommercio. Italy’s black economy amounts to 17.5 percent gross domestic product, driving up the ‘real’ taxation rate to 55 percent, far higher than the 45.2 percent rate cited by official figures. After Italy, Denmark had the second highest real tax burden at 48.6 percent, followed by France (48.2 percent) and Sweden (48 percent), the report said.

Retailers pessimistic about 2012, says IBEC>

Read next:

Comments (68 Comments)

• we all know about construction workers etc. doing nixers but open a local paper anywhere in the country during the school year and you will see lots of adds for teachers openly offering grinds for up to 100 euro an hour at their home addresses. wonder why it doesn’t get the kind of coverage tradesmen do for doing the same thing.

• The black economy isn’t killing small businesses – taxes and regulations are killing small businesses.

• The black marketeers should not be destroying Irish businesses as this is what the government gets paid for.
      As a veteran of the 80′s recession, I find it mind boggling that wheel has to be reinvented with every crisis.
      Initially, the “solution” to the crisis is for government to increase the burden of taxation on the economy. This invariably results in swelling the black economy, reduced exchequer revenues and more unemployment.
      It is not until this is brought to their attention (same as last crisis), does government get out of the way and allow the economy to grow.
      Last year Irelands fledging bio-fuel industry died on it’s feet due to excessive regulation and taxation. Now diesel laundering plants are being discovered on a weekly basis. This isn’t rocket science.

• Sean O’Keefe and honest people like him are the backbone of the economy. There is little point in explaining this to tax cheats because they are incapable of understanding even the basics of what is required to run a country with a humanitarian outlook.

• 600 fish farm licence applications remain unprocessed at the Department of Agriculture. Potentially thousands of new jobs.
      When individuals are prevented developing opportunities in the “legitimate” economy, they will seize opportunities in the black economy.
      http://www.seafoodsource.com/newsarticledetail.aspx?id=16407

• @Patrick Lyons – Under your Facebook ‘Activities & Interests’ you have “Dear Minister Gormley, I won’t be paying water charges”. Can you tell me what makes you immune from your own criticism?

• On an almost daily basis we read new reports of cigarette, alcohol & fuel smuggling/laundering operations. It’s no coincidence that these are three highly taxed & regulated products in the economy. Now, we could say that the massive increase in “black markets” for these products are harming similar compliant businesses, but the increase in black market activity is largely a result of bad fiscal policy. Black-market competition may be a proximate cause of compliant business losses, but government policy is the ultimate cause. It’s time for the government to re-think their taxation policies.

• “Earlier this year, Ireland’s Office of Revenue Commissioners made a shock discovery, albeit one which sounds slightly dull when put in the language of economics. They found that the price elasticity of cigarettes in Ireland is -3.6, which is to say that a 10% increase in price reduces sales by 36%. This came as a surprise because cigarettes—being notoriously addictive—are usually thought to have a consumption elasticity of less than -1.0, whereas a price elasticity of -3.6 implies that smokers are more price sensitive than people who buy jewellery, DVDs and toothpicks. This struck them as rather counterintuitive, to say the least.
      Something was clearly up, and what had been going up was smuggling. Since 2002, the price of cigarettes has risen by 40% in real terms to 8.55 euros a pack and the black market has swollen accordingly. The -3.6 price elasticity figure only took into account legal sales, which have indeed declined significantly. The number of people smoking, however, has not. Smuggled snouts and privately imported baccy have made up the difference.”
      Adam Smith Institute

• These numbers seem odd, but maybe I’m missing out on something here:

In Ireland “…taxes being lost is conservatively estimated at €5 billion.”
    In the UK “…the Government loses about £2 billion each year to the black economy”
    ( http://blogs.independent.co.uk/2012/07/25/the-debate-are-cash-in-hand-payments-morally-wrong/ )

Is ISME bullsh***ng us a little or do these numbers make sense in the scheme of things?

• So lets say a plumber comes out and charges €100 for a call out

that leaves him with €82 after he pays VAT

he then pays €4 for S rate PRSI, €3.50 for the USC and 16.50 for PAYE that leave him with €58 for himself after his call out.

If he is a busy plumber earning over €33k a year PAYE would be €33 so that would leave him with €41.50

Why wouldnt you do a cash in hand job when you look at those figures?

• The dogs on the street know this has been going on for years now and what are the government doing about it, sweet f**k all.

• Rob and On The Dole I’ve just forwarded your IP addresses to Revenue.ie
      Best of luck with that .

• Actually, they are doing something about it…. they’re encouraging it – by raising the costs of things like cigarettes under the guise of health reasons.

In truth, if taxes were set correctly they would have the right return on the taxed items.

I know people will jump on this as supporting the reduction of taxes on cigarettes but look at the truth of it. €1.2bn is the income from tobacco products. This report is not limited to tobacco but it’s pretty obvious that it’s going to be a major area.

Far better to address the reasons for smoking and the damage it causes than to just make it so that those with money can smoke and those without money can smoke black market tobacco.

P.S. I know it’s about more than tobacco…. I’m focusing on a significant area that also supports organised crime in a big way.

• if taxes were lower and the ‘bubblewrap our kids’ bridgade would stop pushing up the price of cigarettes and alcohol, and stop restricting the opening hours of pubs and off licences then the wash of cheap cigarettes and alcohol coming from europe and the north would stop.

Id wager the government has spent more on increased enforcment than they have gained on increasing the price of cigarettes , and the same will happen if this minimum alcohol price comes in.

As for people doing ‘nixers’ and not declaring them. A lot of that is down to our large tax burden to bail out our banks and layabouts with our bloated quick cash social welfare system. Cutting out regulation, allowing more personal freedom, cutting welfare spending and lowering taxes are the only way to get the economy back on track

• Though issue. The tax system needs overhauling. The urge to save money is great in hard times. Look at IOM where there is a flat rate of tax at 20%. I’m not talking of Babysitters etc ! It’s an emotive issue as well as a fiscal one. No sympathy for people who are being paid cash and at same time drawing dole.

• Irish small businesses pay way too much in rent. They were loaded up to their oxters in debt and only about 30% of them are making a profit (check out the number of companies that pay corporation tax). These are the big reasons.
    There is a prestige and pride that goes with owning your own business. So much so many owners were prepared to jack up the levels of rent they paid during the Celtic Tiger, increase their overall debt having a damaging effect on future profitability and not being to worried about making a profit. No one exemplified the term ‘living beyond their means’ more than small business.

• Par for the course during a recession. And as it gets worse, and it will, so will the black market grow.

People get the service they want at the right price, lads doing the work get paid enough to make it profitable. No paperwork, no accountants to pay. It makes life easier on everyone, and as this Govt keep adding charges & taxes to the electorate so this whole area will grow.

E.G. Legit = €60 callout for appliance repairman + parts with receipts Total €90 + Vat
    B/Market = €60 for the whole service including parts, no receipts.

I know this because thats what I was quoted by the 2 different repair guys…..Sign of the times…!!!

• @Peeedoff……….and no warranty should it go wrong. Your saving of €30 could cost you a lot more in the long run given lack of receipt etc. I run my own small business, insure my work, pay my taxes and my own accident/illness insurance should I ever come a cropper on your property. I’m under increasing pressure to compete with cowboyism but I refuse to do so. If I can’t cover the cost of running a legitimate, professional business then I will close it down.

• Let’s be honest – the repair guy who won’t charge vat and provide no paper trail is usually the guy you know through someone and won’t always leave you hanging. I’m not saying this to encourage that behaviour – but it’s a reality.

This warranty argument is weighed up in the customer’s mind – is it worth €30? Often the answer is going to be no.

• It’s a matter of economics, if a person only has €60 to repair the washing machine and can’t afford the €90+Vat then it’s a simple choice. I am not saying it’s the right choice, but there are a lot of people living in this country at the moment with very little left over for repairs or various other services.

@Anthony, the real blame here is not the person who pays for or does the job, but the current situation where the person will go with what they can afford. Sure it really isn’t fair on your business, but economic reality to the person paying, or the person trying do the work to pay his food/esb or other bills.

The Govt are piling on more & more taxes, charges & cuts etc, the cost of doing business legitimately is prohibitive as well. So the real solution here is for the Govt to actually step up to the plate, make it cheaper for legit businesses, create a positive economy and so on, but their current policies will lead to the opposite of more Austerity with more business failing because of it….all down to the EU/Euro heading into the toilet, along with us being crippled with Bailout repayments for the banks….!!!

It’s a perfect storm, and the black market is the only winner….!!!

• 5 billion my ass, it’s just scare tactics to enrage working people into thinking the government will actually do something about it, a deflection of the real problems created by the idiots in power. It’s the classic divide and conquer approach, make up some hugely inflated figure , piss off anyone who pays tax and take away from the real issues. Look folks we are broke and any bit of tax that we can collect the better but the real truth of it is there is shag all work out there anyway, a person whom I consider to be my best friend in the world has seen it from both sides of the fence so to speak. He ran a plumbing business during and before the boom employing 12 lads at one time, he freely admits that he spent way too much got a mortgage that was waaaay too big and a car loan and so on. Then one day the well ran dry he couldn’t get credit and on top if that his biggest client went bust owing him almost 100k , he was fooked he had to go under he lost his house his cars were repossessed his nice jeep became a tatty old hiace, did I feel sorry for him? Well yes but only cos he was and is my best friend whom I know over 40 yrs. About 2 yrs ago he finally had to go on the dole as he literally had nothing. In that time he has been searching high and low for work both in the real and the black economy , apart from a few very random and seldom odd jobs he has got sweet feck all of real significance . Recently he decided to really undercut the business with loads of advertising at stupidly low prices just to get a bit of extra work in , he said if it worked he would do some scheme where he could keep a certain proportion of his dole for a yr or two. He literally got no work in spite of his low prices do he is still on the dole afraid to take a chance again. For my own part in this I freely admit that I am a public servant but I don’t feel rich and even if my wages are a bit higher than those in Europe so what? The standard of living is a lot higher here too! Sorry for the long post but the way I see it is that there are no answers coming from this government , and when you hear figures like 5 billion when it’s only 2 billion in the uk it just smells of grade A bullshit .

• And they want to increase cigarettes to €15!!! Way to go, that should sort things out.

• Does ISME Chief Executive Mark Fielding have a figure on how much tax his members are avoiding or evading.

• Sean that’s bill…the fledgling bio fuel industry has collapsed all over the world because food prices went up and mad that sector more profitable….you’re waffling again.

• Sean you’re waffling again. The so called fledgling bio fuel industry collapsed all over the world because food prices went up and it became more lucrative to be there than in the ethanol business. That has nothing to do with the Irish Government.

• “THE Irish biofuels industry died on Jan 1, 2011 when a government tax relief scheme designed to foster the sector was replaced with one which has completely failed to do so. As a result, almost all of the country’s bioethanol, biodiesel, and oil-crushing plants were switched off.

Tom Bruton, president of the Irish Bioenergy Association (IrBEA) says in all, eight facilities built between 2005 and 2008 — often with grant aid — were shut down just over 16 months ago. ”
      Irish Examiner, 15 May 2012

• censored 26/07/12 #

As you say Sean, the industry only worked because of a tax relief scheme. I call that a scam. Taking money from the taxpayer’s pocket to buy votes.

• I think the rationalising here is hilarious, or it would be if it wasn’t so serious. The idea that you can justify not paying tax because you disagree with govenment practice is shocking, are we supposed to have a system where anybody who didn’t vote FG/Labour gets off taxes because the election didn’t go their way? Disagree with property tax, and not paying as a result is one thing, but income tax and VAT are the core of exchequer funding, and fobbing that reality off by saying “I don’t care” or “am I supposed to be feel guilty” puts you only one step away from those who permanently live off dole handouts, you’re still reliant on everyone else to pay your way.

On the other hand, it is an interesting, and arguably inevitable phenomenon, that government dissatisfaction breeds tax avoidance, and that there is a wonderful irony in the coalitions plan to save the bondholders in order to ensure future funding, and ending up losing funding from its own citizens.

• JTHM 25/07/12 #

@ Rob – you’ve pretty much wiped out your credibility as a left-wing / socialist mouthpiece. You don’t pay tax because you see yourself as more deserving as the state. That’s about as free-market capitalist as it comes. Thanks for clarifing your credentials. No please do the decent thing and forgo ranting about how the rich should be taxed to the hilt to save the put-upon workers…

• There is no way rob speaks for socialists. Taxation is the only current way of redistributing wealth. Mind you it is not being used in this way with the lower paid paye workers subsidising the tax evading and avoiding well off. Those avoiding and evading tax should be targeted. As I said as a socialist I would happily shop rob the thieving git whilst raising the taxes of the super rich Like bono etc who find ways of avoiding paying their dues. The paye classes need to stand up and say no more Irish society needs to see both tax avoidance and evasion as not only mortally reprehensible but illegal we need to close loopholes and pursue those that don’t pay their fair share. Why should the lower and middle paye earners subsidise everyone else

• JTHM 25/07/12 #

@ Betty -Lou: I agree, Rob is in now way a socialist. But he’s been playing the left-wing socialist card for quite a while. I wasn’t slagging off socialists, I was slagging off people who pick and choose whatever fragments of political ideology that look pretty, without have any unified overview.
      I mightn’t fully agree with your politics, but I very much respect that you openly state that taxation is the way to redistribute wealth. You’re right of course. But there’s too much fake left-wing banter that claims they can lower tax, increase social services and somehow promote economic growth at the same time. It’s these people who deserve to have the holes in their arguments pointed out to them at every opportunity.

• Damocles 25/07/12 #

There is no way rob speaks for socialists

However, Rob claims to do so.

JTHM is on the money, these have been happy times. Last week Tim was extolling his new tax regime to tackle those filthy rich people earning over 80K (although that’s not what most of us would refer to as filthy rich), citing figures from the OECD which turned out, on examination of figures from the OECD to be actually based on a short press story from 2006 and from an OECD paper that made no reference to Ireland whatsoever. On closer examination and questioning, it was discovered that Tim would not say whether his magical new regime would affect him negatively in any way. Tim’s regime, it turns out, was to tax the moderately well off in order to protect the non-working.

Today, Rob, “Everyone else should pay more tax because I ain’t gonna!”

Both of them, shooting themselves and their arguments in the foot.

Now, Mr “On the dole”, I’m not so sure to tar him with quite the same brush. He says he’s not working and that the system is making it so hard for him to work that it’s barely worth his own effort. But he does want to do some work, he’s tempted to go cash in hand, but he hasn’t said that he has. If he has then he’s a Robbite and to tarred with the very same brush.

We all know, it seems, someone on welfare who stays there because it’s better for them financially than working. Everyone seems to know at least one couple or family or lone person like that. When they get mentioned people go, “Oh they aren’t all like that, many are genuinely struggling, that’s the exception.” But if everyone knows someone like that either it’s a pretty big exception or they all know the same 20 or so people which, even in Ireland, seems unlikely.

I’ve juggled some figures and going on the current unemployment rate and the rate during the tiger, I’m happy to put forward a figure of 100,000. Now let’s say I’m wrong. Let’s say it’s half that. 50,000 people long term and permanently unemployed and unwilling to work and barely having ever worked.

Now consider basic unemployment, and the extras that such people know to get from the system. Let’s put an annual figure of around 10K a head on that. I think that even that’s a reserved estimate.

That’s half a billion euros. Per year. Money in for nothing out.

Now you may say, compared to the deficit that’s a drop in the ocean, a tree in the forest. But the ocean is made of drops and the forest is made of trees.

So let’s get something out of this drop, let this tree bear fruit.

Let them work. Even if it’s just 2 or 3 days a week. Even if it’s just trimming hedges or fixing potholes or picking up litter or painting the houses of poor defenceless old women. As long as they are doing something. And make it easier for someone on welfare to take themselves off to contribute and pay in for a couple of days if they can. Better that than have them become Rob.

• censored 26/07/12 #

“redistributing wealth” is a euphemism for theft.

• Mick Collins the Internet policeman … I’ve just forwarded your IP addresses to revenue really !!!!! LMAO .. Oh who’s that knocking on the door I’m really scared .. Ha ha ha …….. Get a life you weirdo !!!!

• There are a lot of people that I would like to see behind bars and Rob is one of them.

• Rob 25/07/12 #

I work for cash into the hand because I do not approve of Revenue taking my hard earned money from me for any property tax or for Bank bailouts or a bloated public sector. It’s also easier to get paid cash because you eliminate any inconvenience with paperwork. Am I supposed to feel guilty about this?

• Barry 25/07/12 #

Rob, what about the roads, schools, health care they you use on a daily basis but you don’t actually put money towards?

Next time you bitch and moan about something being closed and not getting funding then think about people like you that ensure that the government has less money to do what it needs to do.

Lets hope one of these days revenue catches up with you, perhaps somebody will report you one of these days.

• Rob 25/07/12 #

Barry,

I don’t care what you think and I hold my cards close to my chest. Be a sheep to the government and a slave. That’s why they are screwing you. It has nothing to do with funding services. OUR DEFICIT SPIKED TO 32% OF GDP TO BAIL OUT BANKS. Further, our bloated public sector is paid 30% higher than the Eurozone average. Ministers gold plated pensions, golden handshakes, the list goes on.

The gov’t is there to serve people – not the other way round.

• Yes you are, you and the likes of you are the very crowd that are roaring and whining about the state of the road in front of your house, but you want everyone else’s except you to pay for it. Where would the money come for if everyone was like you.

• I’m with you rob.. the amount of shit you have to go through to sign off for two days work is unreal … And then employers don’t want you because your not as cheap as someone who’s doing doing the double !! Now my question is this !!! Who is worse the employer who’s struggling or the unemployed who’s struggling ??? It’s very easy to criticise ….

• Absolutely unbelievable, you pay no tax for work you do, you’re probably collecting unemployment benefit also. so you’re screwing the system twice and to top it off you have the gall to mouth off about the public sector workers.
      True they may have faults in some regards but each and every one of them pays PAYE, USC, Levys etc at least they are contributing to our economy.
      I am not a public service worker but I do contribute to society by paying tax.

• Yes you should feel guilty about this. You are benefitting from my tax payments without contributing something yourself. Shame on you.

• Our Govt are complicit in this with their Expenses & Perks (e.g. Computer Tablets) all paid for by the taxpayer. Not to mention their overpaid slaraies. Giving Advisors pay rises over their own caps. Semi state senior managers on slaries above the Govts pay caps.

As you say Rob, overinflated pay & pensions for our civil servants, Local Councillors & National Govt TD’s, Ministers, etc Pay. Overpaying the CS, huge pensions, and even giving them increments (Pay rises). Paying Unsecured gamblng bondholders which the Spanish are now looking at burning.

It’s a mess from the top down, but the self serving elite will not lead by example, they will ensure their nests are feathered first. Then make it all worse for business by increasing Austerity, thereby increasing the Black Economy further.

The Govt Meanderthals are stuck on a roundabout and cannot come up with any constructive ideas to alleviate the situation…!!!

• Scarr 25/07/12 #

@pee – so you are in favour of people withholding tax and or claiming dole while working?

• “Am I supposed to feel guilty about this?”

That’s between you, your conscience and your local revenue office.

• And Rob when you reach 66 or 68 or whatever the retirement age for you is and you try and get your pension (which you probably think you are “entitled” to) only to be told Oh we have no record of you ever working so I am sorry no contributory pension for you, Instead here is a load of forms to fill in so that we can assess your means so that we can decide if you should get a non contributory pension? Short term view my dear man!

• Rob, you’re a parasite.

• Nice one Rob. (great name by the way) – you are just the same as the bankers etc. that you blame. You are corrupt, fraudulent, selfish and hopefully someday, a criminal. Thanks a bunch

• @ on the dole. I’ve noticed your grammar,punctuation and spelling has improved dramatically in the last few weeks. Have you gone back to school or just stopped trolling?

• I agree it’s too complicated to be on benefits and do a day or two’s work every now and then. I know someone who is a full time mature student who tried to do this and told the welfare who proceeded to cut all her benefits and and tell her that she had told them she was back working. It was maybe 2 nights at concerts every month. It’s this kind of incompetence that encourages benefit fraud. One of the biggest advantages of working full time is not having to deal with these clowns. I wholeheartedly disagree with anyone screwing the state because they’re screwing me too but we need to get our house in order and sort out the idiots working in our welfare offices.

• You selfish b…t…d. You and your ilk are the cause of why people like me and everyother paye worker has to pay such high taxes. Who do you thing pays for your children to be educated or the roads you drive on or the health service etc. jail is too good for you. It’s your type that gives out about people on the dole as sponger you are the sponger.

• Lamb 25/07/12 #

Why am I paying increases taxes to cover tax shortfall from people like you Rob? Are you drawing the dole too? I don’t mind if they take some of my tax if they use it to lock you up.

• What about the fu#%*ng roads what’s the car tax for the household charge what’s that for the roads have been built by Europe this is more from the government wanting people to do there dirty work instead of burning the bond holders tax the rich earning over 150000 a year more they go after the small stuff don’t forget there only guessing about the figure

• Rob 26/07/12 #

live in a “selfish” house and I dont have stones in here. I have cash though. I am willing, out of pity, to throw some bucks to those poor PAYE people.

• Rob, you don’t hold your cards as close to your chest as you might think. You see every time you post a message on a social network site your post is tied directly to the IP address of the connection you post from and possibly also the MAC address of the device you use to post the message. You should be more careful when bragging about your criminal activities in future, it could, hopefully, land you in a lot of hot water.

• censored 26/07/12 #

How much are we paying back on the “bailout” this year again? Remind me. That’s the real “black economy”.

Add New Comment