TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Police pelted with bricks and bottles in Belfast by masked gang

One officer was injured when the gang blocked a road and threw projectiles at police officers during a disturbance in Belfast.

File photo of PSNI officers in riot gear in Belfast
Image: Paul Faith/PA Wire

ONE PSNI OFFICER has been injured after a masked group pelted police with bricks and bottles in Belfast last night.

The gang of young people set bins on fire and carried out a ‘sustained attack’ on police after they blocked a road at around 8 o’clock last night, the PSNI said.

Officers carried out what they described as a “robust policing operation” to restore calm to the Donegall Road area of South Belfast by 10pm.

One 18-year-old man was arrested in connection with the public disorder and has since been released. The injured police officer sustained minor injuries.

Police investigating the flags protests and resulting riots warned that anyone who engages in illegal activity will face prosecution.

“Detectives from the Operation Dulcet team [which is investigating flags protests] have been clear from the outset that there will be consequences for individuals who engage in illegal activity,” the PSNI said in a statement this morning.

“The PSNI have and will continue to make people amenable to the courts and will be carrying out further enquiries to identify those involved in the disorder”.

Read: Police seek witnesses over arson attacks and attempted hijacking >

Read next:

Comments (37 Comments)

• Some cretins in here seem to be under the impression it was St Patricks Day revellers involved in this. It was loyalists attempting to attack Laverys bar for having the temerity to play folk music. Why not at least attempt to get a story that fits your prejudices? That way you don’t look like a complete moron, Mr Ferguson

• This was at the bottom of my road, they were pelting anyone in green, with a Tricolour, or in GAA tops

• The “masked” part of the headline says it all about these cowardly vermin.

• Liam 18/03/13 #

Brainless idiots, whatever their grievances may be, there is always a better way than attacking the police and causing a disturbance, because when they do resort to violence it makes people think that anything that they may have to say is not worth talking about.

• If only theses gangs of clowns would go and educate themselves, when go do something useful for society.

• It might help some people on here with obvious prejudices (yes you, Mr Ferguson) to do a bit of research before you start spouting off. The rioters were loyalists from Sandy Row who attacked Laverys Bar for having the temerity to play trad music and host people in festive (ie ‘Irish’) attire on St Patricks Day. Now knock the continual fenian bashing on the head and try and think for once

• This will only stop when people are put in jail for breaking the law . some people think they have the right to do what they like in the name of British rule .

• A. Lavs isn’t in any kind of a ‘loyalist’ area and b. I live a couple of hundred yards away and am well aware of the dangers of walking round there at night. A poor lad from the south was left in a vegetative state outside Benedicts there a couple of years ago for being a ‘taig’

• Mr. Ferguson deserves a bit of time with the PSNI. Don’t speak on things you don’t understand. Ignorance is not helping the cause in NI.

• Wheres my fleg!

• What a bunch of extremely dumb morons

• “They haven’t gone away ye’know”….

• and cmon martin why wear your donegal top in loyalist area,yes in a real world this should be proper order but in belfast this isnt the case,just if i wore my rangers top up the falls road think i wouldnt get battered,straight to A and A.

• No harm but in fairness you need a little cop on when your out about in Belfast. I’m from Derry but went to college in Belfast had no real trouble apart from the Derry/Londonderry debate. I would never dream of wearing a GAA top out you are only asking for trouble especially around Bradbury place where sandyrow and donegal road are just round the corner. I know we would all like to think Belfast/NI is this wonderful mix of cultures but the fact of the matter its people live in an accepted apartheid and thats how it is. Which is sad but true!

• Paul read steven shaws comment and buy a map or sat nav cos ur sense of direction is crap.
    from laverys front door to the right 70 paces is bottom of donegall road,to the left 90 paces is top of sandy row small park there iscalled prince william park,and 80 paces out laverys back door is donegall pass.
    this is a strong loyalist triangle,as you must have seen the flag protesters here often,so enjoy your laverys bar but be careful of wearing your GAA top,and keep your views low key .

• sure they were only celebrating paddys day,and psni had to annoy them
    tut tut tut.

• Paul im from Sandy row,laverys always mixed bar even though in centre of loyalist area,if they locals were so anti catholic they could cause trouble every night not just paddys day,hate southerners or armchair critics slobbering cos they werent there,so paul take a trip up and see for yourself before you try telling me off .

• jamie how do you know they were FLAG protesters were you there
    dont believe all you read paper or computers cant dictate to what people type or write on them.

• paul laverys is top of sandy row beside donegal pass beside village your talking shxte,nearside taig area as you call yourself is the markets or lower ormeau ,so hows that not a prod area,yes remember poor guy got battered,im sure plenty prods got same treatment but you wouldnt know as your only a poor taig as you call it living in hot prod triangle so move away if your so worried,holyland good spot for your type good luck and goodbye.
    ps keep your head down ha ha

• Robert you sound like somebody with a siege-mentality.. and don’t be telling lads to be keep their heads down, that’s not on mate.

• Bradbury Place, Shaftesbury Square is one of the prime socialising areas of the city. They are commercial, not residential streets but nice try, staking out a land grab (even though you said Lavs was mixed earlier. A mixed bar in a ‘loyalist’ area? Don’t think so, pal). There are a couple of primarily loyalist areas nearby. Please show me an example of a loyalist getting left in a vegetative state for life in that area on account of his origins? Also if it’s so loyalist, why are there hundreds and thousands of students in GAA tops wandering round there every day? Get a grip, man, and stop trying to excuse the inexcusable. As for the Holy Lands, plenty of students of all backgrounds and people from all over the world living there. The riot last night was an attempt by bigots to ruin young people’s celebration of their national holiday.
      Ps- Have you ever thought of marketing your ‘hot prod triangle’ to the gay tourist market for weekend city breaks? The pink pound would go a long way in a socially deprived area like Sandy Row/the Village. Maybe you should have a word with Bórd Failte….

• Paul know it all Devlin,bradbury place is one minute from sandy row,socialising area or not thats the triangle its in,ive lived in sandy row all my life and ive never sawhundreds of GAA jerseys being worn,in holylands yes,but why show off GAA colours in areas were most loyalists dont even know or care,so when the bitter students throw stones etc at the orange parades that go by then thats ok with you,remember at the heels of the hunt,the area is british and will always be,laverys is a mixed bar,all my friends drink there and were all bluenoses not pink noses like you make out,funny the gay thing came out in your text,you probably drinkin the kremlin.
    So if not a prod triangle why dont you walk down sandy row in your GAA top,not a chance of that as thebigots might get you.
    And one man over 5 years ago got beat up ,but again i make a point it happened at 3am in the morning and he was staying in M adisons hotel yet was roaming the prime socialising areas of belfast my bollox he was roaming a loyalist hub,yet he didnt deserve to get any type of beating cos of his religion,think he was a sligo man who didnt know where he was and its people like you who probably told him that bradbury place was safe.
    Relax Paul prods dont beat up faggots you will be safe

Add New Comment