TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Budget 2013: what measures kick in today

Child benefit cuts, respite carer grant cuts and motor tax increases.

Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

BUDGET 2013 WAS announced on 5 December but some of the measures revealed by ministers Michael Noonan  and Brendan Howlin only came into effect today.

Most of the consumer-related changes, such as the tax hike on cigarettes and alcohol, were implemented immediately but these measures kick in from today:

• PRSI changes (except PRSI changes to ‘unearned income’ which will not come in until 2014);
  • The reduced rate of Universal Social Charge for those over 70 with an income in excess of €60,000 will be discontinued;
  • Child benefit payments will be cut by €10 per child for the first and second child, and by €18 for the third child;
  • The rates of both VRT and Motor Tax across all categories will increase;
  • Capital acquisitions tax increase and threshold reduction;
  • Capital gains tax changes for farm land;
  • The increase in the Prescription levy from 50c to €1.50;
  • Excise duty on the purchase of vehicles;
  • The 19 per cent reduction in respite carer grants;
  • Reduced payment periods for jobseeker benefit claimants.

BUDGET 2013: Here is what happened>

Read: Budget 2013: the main points from the December announcements>

Read next:

Comments (67 Comments)

• happy new year!

• Did our politicians get any cut, poor things must be feeling left out? They are paid more than other politicians around the world, France, Germany, America and other Countries not in a Bailout programme!

• they got not cuts to their income, but in a meaningless gesture they lowered the provision for the oireachtas by 2.5%, as if they wouldnt just use extra money if they deemed it necessary

• The Americans are taxing the rich, because they’ve had it good for too long and we protect the rich/politicians/top civil servants! What a Democracy we live in, great isn’t it!

• The parasites are too big to care, remember. The carers are small enough to prey on.

Thats the system. We have, therefore we take.
      Its a global pyramid of dynastic conglomerates in shareholding oligopoly cross-ownerships cascading to dog-eat-dog competition between the actual producer 99% being sweatshop bled for their economic growth, which they sell to us as a spurious ‘our’ economy. We are just their raw material human resources. Chips in the ‘players’ game.

And if they happen to bust their own casino, we bail them out. Every time.
      The name is Bond, Sub-Prime Bond. Literally licenced to kill.

• but if you tax the rich all the multi nationals will immediately close and every rich person will leave in the flight of the earls part 2, where will we be then?

• Stephen
      When did France Germany and America enter Bailout Programmes?

• @ Stephen the US is increasing taxes for those earning 450,000 plus. Non of politicians or civil servants would fall into that bracket…

• Revolting peasant,

You are correct in this viewpoint.
      When infrastructure of Eastern Europe countries improves to the liking of the multinationals in Ireland they will leave to relocate.no plan by the Irish gombeen political class to have an alternative jobs strategy in place.

• Michael
      read it again
      he didn’t say they were in a bailout programme he said:
      France, Germany, America and other Countries not in a Bailout programme!
      maybe thats the problem with you and your views
      if you bothered to open your big eyes maybe the world would be diifferent to you

• Did they fk…don’t you know that this government don’t believe in EVERYONE sharing the burden..they’re a closeted, cocooned collection of the worst that there is about Ireland today and operate to the simple code..pull up the ladder, I’m alright jack. I’d be interested to hear what Michael Collins opinion of politician pay is although I have a faint idea as to what that might be.

• @Revolting P

Thats the barrel they have the planet over. And these multinationals play all ends against each other to squeeze the last drop of producer surplus profit into their insatiable maws, because they are addicted to growth like the cancerous parasites they are.
      But before they would exit and leave the convenience of Eirebase 1 they would initiate a social breakdown using the methods long honed in Latin America, and indeed in the colonial laboratory of Ireland.
      Where will we be then?Where are we now?
      On the road to Greece. And Afghanistan.All we can do is watch it unfold and roll towards its usual logical conclusion of totalitarian war. We need to understand it, in the hopes that if anything remains afterwards what emerges will be built on more sustainable foundations of inclusive values rather than exclusive elitism. Without that understanding and a healthier culture, the cycles will continue to repeat. Global problems are driving an awareness these parasites insist on denying and supressing. So far every collective attempt to make the transition has been repulsed and thwarted. The tools of this new medium, if they can be kept open, may provide a means. They contained the last global wave of revulsion, the civil rights and anti Viet Nam wave through assassinations, repression, incorporation of the medium of music into pap muzak for indoctrination and resegmentation into revived nationalisms. They also unleased their heroin and cocaine assaults on the chemical experimentation generation. They have multiple means of dividing us, and we play into their hands constantly by failing to realise that to conform to their moulds requires we dehumanise ourselves.
      I don’t do optimism. I do observation. Often flawed. I tend to see it in evolutionary and collective mental health terms. The Archimedean lever of science has realised the prediction to enable us move the earth to our own ends.
      It remains to be seen if it is our own terminal end in a destructive rat race of yet more resource wars, or if we can apply it to lever ourselves back into a human race to create a human egalitarian recognition of our common interdependence. The parasitic elites find that anathema to their powers. They will not humanise, and like dear old Uncle Adolf will be happier taking their delusions and their pistol into the terminal bunker than letting go a single shekel from their cold dead NRA fingers.
      I prefer it to football. The hominids are fascinating, if repulsive. And they are everywhere. They will be red-thumbing again in a few moments once I inflict this on them. But so are them humans.
      The race continues, for the foreseeable.

• it is a fallacy Damien that they will all leave, why would they leave? they come here for the low corporate tax and the highly educated, english-speaking worforce, some well off individuals may leave but the benefits would outweigh the losses by a long shot, i mean for example, if you were making 500k p.a. here and then you had to pay more tax, would you leg it out of the country or keep your well paid position? its the most populist bullcr*p out there

• Maybe its because I lived outside Ireland for most of my time up to 20 years back that I seldom think of Ireland as the prime issue.
      I left in ’67 and sloped around the planet with visits back. I tend to think global. Money I can take or leave, as long as I have food and shelter and health. Thats when its gets crucial. After that its secondary, unless you succumb to its poisonous addictive grip. The 500k salary men are at the whim of the global bugeting of their host dinosaur transnational’s budget. They calculate on global scales over 10, 20 50, and 100 year scenarios. The corporation is immortal and has legal personality remember, so it is a sentient entity with the boardroom as its collective intelligence. Dinosaur is an apt metaphor. They are the velocoraptors and tyrannosoraus of the 6th great extinction, now running. They are hominid powered and despise humanity as disposable mortal weakness. They are the gods of the greek pantheon in their scorn for us. It has been observed that the mindset best suited to success in its world is the psychopathic(check Scientific American for last Oct and Kevin Dutton’s eulogising in The Wisdom of Psychopaths).

• im familiar with the diagnosis, also worth pointing out they have the same rights under the american constitution as a person

• More, the constitution being a legal instrument susceptible to financial leverage through corporate lawyers. Monsanto and their bakrupting of US farmers who refused to swallow the GMO medicinal formula being a fine example.
      Equality before the law is another of those large Hitlerian lies imbibed with our mothers milk. As with the lie that we live in a democracy. Democracy requires Egalite, to temper its Liberty. Otherwise the Fraternal future of humanity is aborted. That is the abortion referendum we cannot have, as we cannot have best of three on Nice or Lisbon once they have their correct answer registered through fearmongering, even as they accuse legitimate questioning of being that same fearmongering they drive through their monoply of media definitions. Dumb they aint.

• Mr Peasant
      Are you aware of the ease with which one can become a tax exile. A short flight to the Isle of Man or boat trip and the rental of a nice house overlooking the sea and preferably beside the golf course and inform Revenue. Then bingo the tax rate is a straight twenty per cent. The difference between there and here on a salary or pension over eighty grand will pay your rent and more besides. Any income over that and you’re in more clover.
      Now you can travel home lots and lots while having the equivalent of a holiday home at the Revenues expense.
      Why do you think the Taoiseach is terrified of what you endearingly call… The flight of the Earls?
      If there was such a flight how much more would you be paying?

• populist nonsense michael, the well off fall into a few catagories, 1. those in high paid jobs and careers, 2. those with large pensions, 3. those with ‘unearned’ wealth (independently wealthy) 4. those who own successful businesses in ireland 5. those who own successful businesses abroad, when we talk about a ‘wealth tax’ we refer to high pay in particular, these people are not likely to leave because they receive their high pay from this country, except of course the number 5′s, its all a fairy tale and you believe it, the multi-nationals will not pull out of here because the md’s tax goes up, it doesnt effect them

• Frank
      Primary grade English tells me I’m right and you’re wrong. Just look at the structure of the sentence.
      Country a,b,c……………..and those countries not in a Programme.
      Now try hard to see that the direct meaning of the words as written implies that Country a,b and c are thus in a Programme!
      Easy isn’t it.
      Now for your homework tonight we will move to the definite article……..You!

• ‘France, Germany, America and other Countries not in a Bailout’, it couldnt be more clear that none of them are in a bailout but as usual michael, you cant understand a simple sentence

• michael michael
      look at the sentence again, your eyes are closed you missed the bit when he said
      They are paid more than other politicians around the world, France, Germany, America and other Countries not in a Bailout programme!
      he was saying and please dont let me have to say it again, that the politicians from the countries france america and germany and other countries not in a bailout programme etc etc. therefore he was saying that the 3 countries mentioned were not at present in bailout
      I have a 12 year old at home that can explain it to you again if needs be

• My new years wish was for the irish government to represent its people and do what is right for the country. However wishes dont come true so more than likely they will continue to lie and betray and sacrifice its people.

• A 19% reduction in respite carer grants? A fifth!? Holy jaysis, that’s dreadful. Surely there’s some sort of tax they could have increased elsewhere? People like that need more money, not less!

• Eire 01/01/13 #

Where have you been @John Cash these last few weeks…. while every spineless Labour TD & Senator bemoaned Joan Burton they all voted for this cut instead of finding the 26 Million that’s all that was needed to save such a cut, the Labour Way or the frankfurt’s Way or Berlins Way or The Kaiser’s Way was to really pay the Unsecured Bond holders with Tax Payer’s Monies & thus unleashing on the Irish PEOPLE this hardest of Budgets & Cuts

• Michael collins- are we talking about the same Noonan who said emigration is a lifestyle choice and i quote”if they can afford sky sports they can pay property tax. Very very few politicians have a consience except poor mr. Mcentee. Criticism is part of their job within reason

• Chris
      No we are not talking about the same Mr Noonan as the Minister didn’t say all emigration is about lifestyle choice. He cited his own family situation where three of his five children lived and worked abroad out of choice and the real need in society today was to ensure that they got the best possible education before they went . He further said that the traditional patterns on a small island was for people to be leaving and coming home all the time.
      Bend that any way you want Chris and then tell me what’s wrong with it.
      I left in the late seventies and returned from Canada five years later. My future employers regarded the experience as invaluable.

• yes michael, wrong as usual, he cited his own children retrospectively, he did indeed deny that young people were leaving because of the unemployment crises, instead claiming they left because they wanted to be ‘out in the world’, it was only after the backlash from public anger that he mentioned his children, government spin and blinkered groupieism at its worst

• As Enda Kenny, “The Little Taoiseach That Couldn’t” , woud say: Heh, Heh, Heh…

• FG first duty to protect the wealthy illuminati bond holder friends like Rothschild and bankster ponzi party contributors and screw the needy,poor and infirm.no prison time served or corruption trials will take place to convict the main players of traitors who brought this country to its knees.
    FG and LAB loyalty with FF and Greens is to foreign agendas not Irish people.irish public need to see these so called Irish political and business class are saving themselves.

• bastards

• Please people: stop voting for this mob in FG. There is a better, fairer way.

• same old same old. I read an article some years ago about hope pliable the Irish are, we are just a nation of compliers and except what ever comes our way from above I didnt agree then but I do now. Christy Moore was correct we are a nation of shit takers and all of this will be taken with out a whimper from the majority of the people. the unions and other vested interests wont upset their apple carts and do any thing except a few meaning less tokens of the odd protest and sound bite for their members but non of the harsh elements of the budget will be opposed. A real show of how we are being manipulated is the childrens allowance before the budget the governmnet said it couldnt be means tested so the did the whole cut across the board thing and after the budget was passed along comes the I.M.F. and said it should be means tested and the governmnet announced it would be doing this as soon as it could, so the get a cut across the board and now it will be means tested just weeks after the budget ,its just optics to get more cuts on the most vulnerable.

• John Cash – They should have it everyone (welfare and workers with 50c hike per week, that would have prevented them cutting the carers grant.

• Just paid the extra charges in the chemist for pain medication and the bank took ten euro charges and its empty so I am minus 10 euro on my account. So today the January 1st the government have taken 14.50 from me in charges and its only day 1 of 2013. Are we going to take this lying down or get off our arses and demand to get this government out?

• And so it begins!

• Next year

• Many of these could be taxed as income

• What will it be next more misery I suppose

• David 01/01/13 #

If you’d all voted Sinn F?in in the last general election, the only ones to have anything to complain about would be the rich who wouldn’t be able to afford new luxury yachts this year.

• John 06/01/13 #

I’m a pensioner and collected my E209 weekly pittance of a pension on Friday at the post office. When I checked my monthly household benefit of E62, which I depend on I was completely shocked to see it had been decreased by E17 leaving me with E45. While I have been expecting a cut in benefit I think this one is outrageous. Surely with all the billions paid to bondholders and banks, not to mention ministers fat salaries and pensions that some of this money could have been allowed towards the cuts in our benefits. Joan Burton the grave robber minister that I think is responsible for this unfair decrease held a party a short while ago and took E5000 out of taxpayers money to fund the event. What is wrong with this government of ours? Roll on next GE and I hope they’ll all be chucked out. I think too that for their incompetence in government that they should not receive full pensions. If this were done I’m sure future governments would watch how they operate.

• Hello………………I’m Johnny Cash

• europe will turn on the elite soon enough..

Add New Comment