TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Cannabis plants and cash seized in garda searches

Properties in west Dublin and Navan were searched today as part of an ongoing investigation into the activities of an eastern European criminal gang.

File photo.
File photo.
Image: Cathal McNaughton/PA Wire

Updated at 10pm

GARDAÍ IN DUBLIN have seized cannabis plants and herbal cannabis with an estimated street value of €1.5 million from properties in Blanchardstown, Clonsilla and Mulhuddart.

Around €20,000 in cash was also seized by the gardaí during the searches and four men aged in their 30s were arrested in connection with the Dublin seizures.

The men are being held under Section 2 of the Criminal Justice (Drug Trafficking) Act at Blanchardstown and Ballymun Garda Stations.

The searches were carried out as part of an ongoing investigation into drug trafficking by an eastern European criminal gang.

In a follow-up search at a house in Navan, Co Meath this evening, gardaí seized cannabis plants with an estimated street value of €100,000. A man in his 40s was arrested at the scene and is being detained under Section 2 of the Criminal Justice (Drug Trafficking) Act 1995 at Navan Garda Station.

Read next:

Comments (37 Comments)

• i thought we are supposed to be encouraging our entrepreneurs

• Aldo 31/05/12 #

Drug dealing is the epitome of the entrepreneurial spirit!

• It’s hightime we smoked out the likes of these people

• What a lovely looking plant.
      It appears to be very popular these days.
      It has been in the headlines frequently.
      I must go to phoenix park to see if they are on display there.
      Or maybe my local garden center can help me out.
      Lol and lol again.
      Cannabis will never be stamped out.

• If you people against cannabis are so outraged then why can we still purchase cigarettes and alcohol. LEGALLY !?

• @Padraic Quinn
      Cannabis is a drug which makes people lazy and stupid over longterm use. It is not, however, a monster that destroys people,unlike drugs such as heroin.I used to smoke cannabis myself. I found i used it a hell of a lot less when i was in places where it was freely available. How’s that work? Well, in jurisdcitions like the Bananan Catholic Republic of Ireland,former smokers like me would often say to themsselves “I’d better get more because there could be a derought next time.”When i lived in Holland, it was always there, available, in a coffee shop. One could get it any time, hence the peredceived “urgency” to stock up, so to speak, was way less.

• The facts speak for themselves; Dutch youth have been consistently found to be the lowest users of Cannabis in Europe; France, on the other hand, despite having no tolerence laws, has one of ghe highesrt numbers of users in Europe.

Watch how i’ll pre-empt any of those who try to point out that the Dutch government has recently curtailed the use of cannabis; this latest legislation is driven by anti-foreigner sentiment more than anything else; for years, Dutch towns have been flooded with irresponsible day trippers. This in turn has led to the current gfoverment restricting foreigners from buying. This governemnt is a coalition,made up of some far right xenophobic parties, including Islamaphobe Geert Wilders. These measures do not have the support of Amsterdams mayor, nor the Dutch Police Federation.

Personally, while I believe most folk who advocate retroactive, toltalitarian ddug policies are mostly misinformed, I do believe a signjificant number are perverts who enjoy jailing people. There are folk out there who believe that cannabis poses a health risk; therefore, locking peoplew up in a filthy cell for 23 hours a daily over a long period can somehow alleviate bad health. WTF is wrong with this people?

Gerry Butterell, FG TD and Head of an Oireachtas committee on Drugs recently responded to an e-mail I sent him outlining my concerns at his authoritarian stance. He told me, and I quote “it’s not about nanny statism; it’s about helath concerns”.I promptly replied that I didn’t think incarcerating young people in dingy conditions with rapists, murderers et al was too healthy. Nor was affecting their chances at future employment by landing them with a conviction.

Deputy Butterell didn’t respond to my second e-mail, but I do want to believe he is in the category of being misinformed rather than gleefully seeking the denial of young people’s liberties. He certainly doesn’ty fit the profile of weird uber Catholic, having recently come out as gay.I wish him well and hope he can reconsider his stance.I hope Padraic Quinn can also reconsideer his views. All the best everyone.

• Drugs are the 2nd biggest trade in the world after food

• Big Gardai chill out in Blanchardstown, Clonsilla and Mulhuddart tonight.

• What an absolute waste of time!

• B7584 31/05/12 #

Waste of time & resources.

• B7584 31/05/12 #

The Garda union/association magazine had an article recently saying there should be moves made to legalise all drugs. (i havent seen the article myself but thats what ive seen said about it in a few places)

• Waste of time it’s not additive nor a gateway or has it ever killed anyone and people who go nuts just they smoked some is bullshit in fact split personalty disorders are being treated wit cannabis in some countries. Put a tax on it edwena kenny. A Canadian man healed every type of sickness including cancer tumours but u don’t hear that in the news

• a Canadian man healed every kind of sickness including cancer tumours, eh? come on now, I’m all for legalisation or at least decriminalization, and I’m well aware of the therapeutic potential of cannabis derived medical drugs, but I call bullshit on your comment.

• Rick Simpson is the Canadian gentleman in question – a video of his discovery was made in 2008 and is well worth a watch, if Journal permit me to post a link; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0psJhQHk_GI

Since making ‘Run from the Cure’ Rick has been continuing his work, his oil recipe has now been effective in curing many thousands of patients – it is utterly immoral that this information has been withheld from the general public……

• yes, and what about the guy who runs his car on water? pesky government is trying to suppress that too! grow up, and learn to distinguish fact from fiction! sheesh…

• Perhaps the baccy could be handed to the good folk who are working on cannabis based pain relief for ms sufferers, but this ain’t holland so that won’t happen.

• Scarr 31/05/12 #

Are we all out of heroin and coke that we’re down to regular weed raids? Next up, hooch.

• Gards doing there job and not one positive comment, I don’t know why they bother, the boys in blue are ridiculed if they do there job, and ridiculed (obviously ) if they don’t, get a grip people. Not wonder they countries f**ked

• That’s because it is a PLANT that has NEVER killed ANYONE, You spanner. If they caught a murderer or a rapist we’d all be saying ‘well done’. If all high ranking gauds got together and told tghe govt that they refuse to enforce this unworkable hypocritical and immoral law, then the law would have to change and all those resources could be focused on real crime, not to mention removing a huge amount of income from criminal gangs and raising millions in tax. THAT is why we dont applaud them for this, you fool.

• There’s not one negative comment about the gardai so far (apart from Damocles little joke). I’m fairly sure the negative comments are aimed at government and senior gardai policies rather than individual coppers.

• Yeah,the cops are doing their job but they’ve been given a ridiculous one on “the war against weed” because their is actual real and dangerous criminals out there who they should be focusing all this attention on. It’s a complete waste of time and effort and believe it or not,there’s a lot of cops that would agree with me! At least focus on heroin or something if you have to bust someone

• Joe I’m no fool and spanner, iv seen kids in a queue at 9am on a Monday morning waiting for the head shops to open, and they off there heads around the town. Iv no problem with lads smoking a joint , but iv seen first hand how lads go schizophrenic after too much of the bud, it’s also the gateway to abusing other drugs, and that’s a quote from a friend who has since passed away due to drugs. As for the lads growing in, are they not criminals, clown.

• I accidentally gave green thumb instead of red

• its a gateway drug because you can buy the other stuff off the same people. if it were legal that wouldnt be the case now would it? Being out on the piss is also a good gateway to the other stuff but thats alrite for some reason. Do you know what those kids are doin now the head shop stuff is banned? Buying stuff off dealers thats what. Banning things dosnt make it go away ya know but outta sight outta mind. as for the schizophrenia, you said it yourself ‘too much” of the bud. Too much drink does bad things to people as well..so does too much mac donalds. Thats the individuals fault. Why should the sensible ones be persecuted?

• King Charlie,
      Legalise it, so it’s not a commodity of the parasitic criminal classes.

• Aidan 01/06/12 #

King Charlie you are a troll or a tool. “Gateway drug” – laughable. There is no such thing. The fact you use that phrase shows you’re lack of knowledge on the subject.

• pacahill 01/06/12 #

Drink is the gateway drug simple as …….if you were after smokin a joint there is no way you would be up for a line of coke, drink on the other hand ……….

• I would be very interested to read that and I think the media would too.

• Eastern european gangs..

Is this what they call multiculturalism ??

• I was only stating wat a late friend said to me ye pack a stoners, get outa bed and collect yer dole and ounce a weed that I’m paying for

• King Charlie,

I suppose you also think “The Blacks Are Ruining This Country” and “Single Mothers Get Free T.V’s”. Your comment shows a blatant ignorance of the subject. People who consume Cannabis come from all walks of life and all societal backgrounds.

What you need to realise is that it would be far safer for Cannabis to be legal, regulated and tested to our current food standards (Which are some of the best in the world) rather than driving it underground. Every time you pound your little drum, remember that all you are doing is allowing criminals to corner the market, set the price and standards and in the most extreme circumstances become judge, jury and executioner.

Sooner or later people will realise that making things illegal were there is no moral consequence of consumption will not work. As human beings we tend to have an innate moral compass which will ultimately decide what we do and what we don’t. Since it is not morally wrong to consume Cannabis in a responsible manner you will find that people will just disobey the law.

Legislation needs to be designed so that we can exert standards. For instance it is much harder to get a pack of smokes than it is to get an amount of Cannabis. We would see less children able to access it and more people able to talk about difficulties they have while consuming it if the stigma was removed.

You need to realise that there are other people in this country besides you and that their opinion is every bit as valid as yours.

Cop On.

• ………and there you have it. ”wah wah…dole ect” Thats what you people always resort to when you loose the argument. Well done spanner

• The pack of stoners your referring to come from many professions such as chefs,it directors,various business owners,health care workers etc…..also,I guarantee that not everyone on the dole smokes weed,though I’m sure the majority do as the majority of the bloody country do. I’m sorry your late friend was foolish with drug use,I have had friends who were foolish too though none have died from those heavy drugs,but taking his word for it is rather silly. Educate yourself on cannabis and stop preaching about something you know little about

Add New Comment