TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Citizenship is top issue on Immigrant Council helpline

The council is calling for a reform of the application system for people who wish to become Irish citizens.

Image: Telephone image via Shutterstock

THE IMMIGRANT COUNCIL of Ireland has called for reform of the application process for Irish citizenship as it released its helpline’s preliminary figures for 2012.

Queries relating to becoming an Irish citizen topped the list of issues covered by the helpline which received over 5,000 phone queries last year.

People from 145 countries contacted the helpline in 2012 and over 64,000 visits were recorded to the Immigrant Council’s website, with new visitors accounting for two thirds of hits.

In addition to questions on citizenship, other top issues included work permits, residency rights and queries on becoming an international student in Ireland.

Commenting today, Chief Executive of the Immigrant Council of Ireland Denise Charlton said the figures underline the “urgent need the introduction of a modern, efficient and transparent system” for people who wish to become Irish citizens.

“The over reliance on discretionary decisions with a lack of clear guidelines and an independent appeals process is causing great concern for people who are already contributing to Ireland,” she said. “We should seek to harness such diverse talents and allow all citizens play a meaningful role in our economic recovery.”

In February of this year the ICI will host a major conference on family reunification with participation by the European Commission and the government.

“2013 is the European Year of Citizens and the Immigrant Council welcomes the commitments of the government to continue with immigration reform,” Charlton said.

“If we are genuine in marking this special year we must work towards providing safety, security and stability to all those who are committed to Ireland.”

Read: Price hike for immigration fee criticised>

Read next:

Comments (57 Comments)

• TopDog1 06/01/13 #

Resolving immigration status is top issue for people who call Immigration help line.

Quiet a shocker!

• Interesting to see the news that over 4000 people who claimed asylum in Ireland had been refused asylum in the UK. These scammers had multiple ID’s in the UK when Irish immigration services checked up. The various hard luck stories differed to the UK and Irish authorities in hoping to slip through as new claimants. Individuals were caught out due to the UK having facial recognition tied to every applicant. This fact was mentioned by Justice Minister Alan Shatter in the newspapers this week.Ireland allows in 88,000 yellow pack scammers while 70,000 Irish have to leave the country shows their is vested interest in keeping wages low and conditions to favor employers profits. This approach was pointed out by representative of Industry in the UK who encouraged companies to employ foreign workers could be hired at lower rates and has less understanding of labour laws and workers rights. This practice was shown to be rife in the UK and I’m sure the same scenario is happening here in Ireland.

• Welfare cheats and asylum seekers are really treated well here. The concern I have is the time it takes to deport them
    If they do not enter Ireland legally. The us and other countries have a quicker way of dealing with these people which is fairer to all concerned.

• zaheer 22/01/13 #

@frank2521
      is there any visa for asylum seeker to enter in Ireland?
      each and every person take asylum in any country , enter in the state for any other purpose because there is not any visa type for asylum seeker,
      to stop people entering illegally you need to open a new visa type VISA FOR ASYLUM then no body will enter illegally,

• Heres some reform – close all asylum and only allow in skilled workers sponsored by legitimate companies or with strong immediate family ties, then impose a 10 year social welfare ban and a 1 strike crime rule.

• Well said. Why we can’t have skill based visa system like the US, Canada or Australia is crazy. Prove your worth, complete a citizenship test which you have to pass like on the US and after you have paid taxes for a minimum of 5 years, you can apply for citizenship. Also during this period you cannot apply for Social assistance in any shape or form therefore not being a burden on the State.

• You two should get together and start a gombeen farm…in the national interest.

• Jesus lads your vastly overestimating the appeal of Ireland to professionals.Turn away asylum seekers???We are becoming a bunch of xenophibic fascists.

• Sorry but ireland has an immigration problem , ive no issue with anyone from any country , we might need doctors, nurses, teachers etc.. We certainly dont need any more taxi drivers, pizza delivery drivers, door to door charity / sales or dole scroungers, ireland is the most abused gateway to the eu and we all suffer for it

• Stephen..lose the nationalist blinkers..we are in a global economy, with free passage for capital and coporations, while the borders are used like pens in a mart to control labour unit supplies.

Productivity is ratcheted up quaterly by squeezing the producing workers penned in sweatshop competition for gombeen extraction at the top.

And the gombeens keep laughing all the way to their offshore tax-havens while we tear each other to shreds for the right to join the slave chains.

• If we could deport our own scroungers it would save billions. World wide welfare rates are what’s needed but then the warm climate countries would be flooded with welfare tourists not the countries with the highest rates. Honest truthful debate on this issue unlikely soon.

• As per usual Damien, you are missing the point. You are blinkered by the usual far left paranoia and entitlement for everyone. If I wished to become a US, Canadian or Australian citizen. I first have to prove my desire to reside in the country by contributing to their economy by working, paying taxes, not commiting any crimes and generally being a decent person in your adoptive society. I don’t think that’s a lot to ask of someone if they wish to go become a citizen of our country. I have already gone through this process with one of the above countries I mentioned. I don’t believe in automatic entitlements for anything. Prove your worth and get rewarded. That’s my belief.

• Our own scroungers?

You mean like the unproductive children of the disemployed who don’t have the wherewithal to emigrate?Why waste good protein by deporting them, when we could process them into quite pallatable wurst for the German overlordship’s export market. No doubt Darina Allen would supply recipes. In fact, our own Dean Swift did so 3 centuries back. But if you had an educated Irish cnamh i do chorp you’d already be familiar with the culture of the island you parasite on.

As for torkeel’s australian, US and Canadian decent persons in their hosts countries..tell it to the people who fed the Pilgrim Fathers and taught them to plant and harvest, before they were exterminated.

Your belief, toorkeel, is totally ahistorical, pre-human and amoral. Savage ignorance dressed in neoliberal finery does not constitute civilisation, it is refined barbarity.
      Keep polishing, you’ll see yourself in it yet.

• Nonsense Damien, you as usual are ever the victim. It’s always someone else’s fault with you. You are completely deflecting the argument. Most rational people believe that you should earn the chance to become a citizen in your adoptive country if you so wish.
      Out of curiosity, How do you believe the citizenship process should work here? Who should be entitled to Citizenship and who should not?

• I just deleted my first reply to that twisted logic.

I am no victim. Address the point or troll off with your tendentious smears.

I just deleted a further elaboration. No doubt you’d approve of CJH’s dispensing of passports to his fellow sheiks.

It wasn’t you sold them to the Israelis by any chance?That never troubled you.

• Good man Damien, as per usual you are unable to answer a question put to you constructively or with logic. This is a topic about immigration…but in true Damien Flinter style you go 180 degrees off topic and start babbling like a village idiot. What do CJH and Israel have to do with the current citizenship process in this country…..I’m curious.

• It’s interesting that the dramatic drop in asylum applications coincides with the recession in Ireland, are we to really believe this is just a coincidence?
      Also interesting is the fact there are no direct flights from Nigeria to Ireland, yet we are to believe all Nigerian asylum seekers are genuine, despite the other inconvenient fact that they would need a passport to leave their country but somehow their passport becomes non existent when they cross the border into the Republic.
      It’s time to put an end to this exploitation of our system, Ireland needs a zero tolerance attitude toward welfare tourism and it should be made a criminal offence. Wake up Irish mugu!

• Well, well…

True to form, the ascendancy runs the country up its tree, appeases its white-collar criminal buddies, and turns, as per program on the weak and vulnerable for scapegoats.

Fascisms are ever thus.

In gotta hand it to ye lads, ye’re good at it.

• ….Watch out Damien….They’re behind you! There was me thinking the cuckoo only comes in April…

• No, toorkee, you’re right in front of me on screen. In one of your poses.

And you’ve been about since at least November. Shitting all over the site.

• I take back my original comment.

The gombeen farm is obviously vastly overstocked.

What we need is a cull on the herd.

• @Damien, it would appear by your chronic attraction of red thumbs that public opinion is against you, how does it feel out there on your own, does it get lonely?

• Ha…poor old Damien, you would want to be careful, your extreme paranoia will make you ill. I’ve been around a lot longer than November…but who am I Damien….who am I…..really, who am I…paranoid yet? Tick tock…

• Good approach plus add the Swiss model as well with privatized health care for foreign nationals can’t avail of any state services. This would keep out the majority of scammers and hard luck stories as people don’t end up in a new country unless they had the money to pay to come in the first place.
      Pregnant women on flights or travelling on ferries to Ireland be refused entry to airplane or ferry about to give birth should be also stopped. The airline or ferry or coach company fined who bring people into Ireland.
      Rise in TB in maternity wards and other Medical diseases from parts of the world these scammers come from is rife. Increase the chance of serious diseases to spread is unfair on other patients and very sick children born premature.
      Colleagues were in some African countries and the people had all the various entitlement lists of various European countries that gave the best to non EU nationals. Ireland and the UK were top of the pile for the scammers wishing to come to Europe.

• @ Tom Thumbs @ his pet toorkee

Sorry to disappoint ye kids, but us adults have no problem with solitude. Ask Vanunu.

Those last two infantile comments reveal your mental age for the readers. If they are of the same kindergarten generation, sin e.
      Besides, fascist like the comfort of crowds, it reassures their insecure selves. Standing alone and thinking independently is strictly for adults.
      Ciao, bambinos.

• @AL S M

Just what was said of the Irish at Ellis Island.

• Trolling again Church I see!!

• It’s time for a change! People are abusing the Irish government here and abroad for their generosity. These asylums were like untouchables during the boom time.

• I don’t know how correct that info is about SW recipients not being eligible for citizenship. My lovely friend from Algeria is applying for citizenship. She and her husband work and contribute greatly to our community and this country. They ate Muslim and so ate their 2 kids. But they so Xmas and all that. On the other hand. She has friends over here who keep telling ET she’s mad for wkn when she can claim free money from the state. One of these families is here 12 yrs and have 5 kids another on the way ( the mother will be 45 by time baby is born) they have NEVER worked. They have a 3 story 5 bed house paid for by a charity for next 20 yrs. Med card. And whatever else they can get. And here’s the kicker, even my friend was mad at this, they have just paid the equivalent 190,000e for a house back ‘home’ where they plan to rent it out. And they achieved this by saving ALL of the child benefit. These sort of people we sure as hell don’t need

• The only new ‘citizens’ Ireland needs now are those highly qualified in the areas where we are deficient.

We do not need more immigrants and their families and extended families who are simply ‘seeking a better life’

In fact, the immigrant council of Ireland should re-look at its mandate in the light of where we are now ;

–begin assisting the Irish overseas.

– to assist in the removal of suspect and bogus welfare tourists and other miscellaneous chancers who have taken up residence here.

If you wish to label me racist, then so be it. After the name-calling perhaps you might address the issues

• We don’t need new immigrants who are simply ‘seeking a better life’. But you thinkg they should be helping the Irish people overseas?

Right…… So it’s okay for Irish people to go and seek a better life, but no one else is allowed to. You’re either bad at logic or good at hypocrisy.

• I agree what you said then. Manny of them are getting this benefits from the Irish gov’t money. And also they make here as a love nest imagine were already millions according to the statistics figures in this country.

• Okay, I don’t really get what you said there. But I think you’re on about SW payments. If someone is in Ireland just for the SW system, then tehy cannot become a citizen. Simple as that.

Citizenship is not granted to anyone who was in receipt of Social Welfare payments in the three years before their citizenship application. This is part of the requirement that new citizens have to prove that they have been able to support themselves and contributed to the State and will continue to do both in the future.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/moving_country/irish_citizenship/becoming_an_irish_citizen_through_naturalisation.html#l1f4da

• The levels of the last 10 years and even now were straight from Celtic Tiger excess era. They have to be curtailed to reflect reality and current economic conditions. Basically we have to do what any normal country does. If not, then go all out, cut the minimum wage and end union rights and go for the full devil take the hindmost free for all society that that kind of regulation can only succeed in.

• @Donncha
      Or perhaps you are just bad at interpretation….

‘Assisting the Irish abroad’ does not mean doing what the immigrant council of ireland does for immigrants to Ireland. I should have thought this was self-evident.

I know of no Irish citizens going abroad are refugees or migrants.

They are going to countries experiencing growth and not recession – like Ireland.

The profile of those going generally is highly qualified graduates, skiled manual workers who are in demand or educated and experienced and educated families

• @donncha
      Wrong Im afraid.
      If you are familiar with totality of the piece then you will know that……

Citizenship CAN be granted to refugees and stateless persons as an exception to the 3 year Social Welfare rule.

So the very people we don’t need are the ones for whom it is easier to gain citizenship

• I am a U.S. citizen and about 3/4 Irish, the other 4th Scottish( same thing ) and would love to become an Irish citizen because # 1 I’m Irish, #2 I love it there and #3 I feel very safe there., but when I tried a few years ago, too much red tape.. So I gave up .. I was thinking after reading this, maybe this is the year but maybe not with the bad economy there , even tho I could tele-commute with my insurance company job here in Chicago ..everything has gone so expensive there ..

• Basically, they are asking that immigration rules be based upon ethical principles and that fairness and equality are the standard. Any decision must be able to withstand scrutiny.

That would be the norm in any civilised country but Ireland’s public service does not work like that which is why so many immigration cases go to the High Court (at huge public expense) and the Department of (In)Justice regularly loses.

• @ Teresa. They are not actually abusing anything. They are well with in their entitlements. Like a poster said. The system is flawed. They are just taking all they can. And no one has said get a job so I guess they think why should they. It so unfair.

• MrKnow 06/01/13 #

Walked into mc Donalds the other day in Blanchardstown and had to walk out, its just sad to see how are identity is being wiped out, not one Irish person in a fast food restaurant of about 200 people. I never had a problem with people searching for a better life but its just beyond a joke in this country, they are also so rude.

• SeanS 06/01/13 #

200 people and not one of them Irish? Funnily enough I doubt that very much. And if you’re worried about losing our national identity, I’d be more concerned about the impact of british and american flims/tv shows and media in general. Wasn’t so long ago we Irish were the ones “wiping out national identities”.

• SeanS 06/01/13 #

If there’s a problem with welfare tourism then it’s the welfare system that needs to be reformed, not immigration policy. More of our own abuse the system than immigrants that do.

• SeanS 06/01/13 #

If there’s a problem with welfare tourism then it’s the welfare system that needs to be reformed, not immigration policy. More of our own abuse the system than immigrants than do.

• MrKnow: so next time, try to drop into Patrick Guilbaud, or maybe Chapter One? Most customer will be hopefully Irish and maybe you could have some better experience and some feeling of Irish identity salvation?
      BTW, how do you know they were rude, if you left straight out? Did you talk to them?
      Or were they rude cause they spoke in some languages you couldn’t understand?

• Present system is a joke as various scammers who had failed to gain asylum in other EU countries come here to sponge from the gullible Irish tax payer. Woman in Sligo from Africa claim daughter’s health would be damaged but turns out had scammed the Irish taxpayer for 10 years and lived in a large house with husband and servants back in Africa was the ultimate betrayal.
    Swiss model is a good system. You are new to Switzerland you can’t avail of Swiss health service. You have to purchase private health insurance. Newly nationalized Swiss citizen commit a crime your serve time and deported back to your native country and Swiss citizenship is revoked.Similar system here with tied in skills visa like Australia, Canada,NZ and USA we have less scammers claiming asylum and enforce the EU ruling that if you apply in another EU country you automatically refused to reapply here in Ireland. Current asylum approach needs to be changed. Enoch Powell political stance I never liked but his rivers of blood speech has come through in various countries in Europe. The current asylum policy and new Irish citizenship passport ceremonies could be viewed as new yellow pack citizenship to keep wages jobs and conditions low.

• You what wlse is bad that pesky Declaration of Human Rights,how dare people who are unskilled or victimised feel they have at least a right to a decent life.No mention of the irish scroungers crippling the state its all the foreigners fault!!!!But white educated ones are ok,black and no we dont want you.And from the Irish of all people who fled here in droves penniless.Hypocrisy and fascism in one disgusting package

• @robert omaingain

Of course everyone has a right to a decent life.
      What has that got to do with Ireland accepting refugees/ asylum seekers/ stateless people ?
      It is not for Ireland to take on the guilt of the world – open our borders and then pay welfare to these people !
      What fairyworld do you live in ?

I totally agree that some Irish abroad were scroungers and chancers, and should have been treated as such by the countries where they broke the law

• Yes Indeed,so much in dire Need Of Reform.It is So Archaic to date,out of tune to the rest of the world.Almost the worst compare to other European states.Pleas and plaease help us reform Alan Shatter.It’s so Bad to date.

• Boring red thumb seekers

Add New Comment