You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

you told us

Top comments of the week

Did you make the cut?

EVERY SATURDAY MORNING we take a look at all the best comments left on the site by our readers over the past seven days.

This week there was a lot of talk about the refugee crisis, Alexander Pacteau and becoming a first-time parent.

The 5 most popular comments this week

download Alexander Pacteau

1. Guy Incognito had this to say about Alexander Pacteau, Karen Buckley’s killer, who was sentenced to at least to 23 years in prison for murdering the young Irish woman.

lock him up, and throw away the key.

Some 2,434 of you agreed.

2. VoiceOfVanguard got 2,198 green thumbs for this observation under a story about refugees:

When are the wealthy Muslim nations like Saudi Arabia going to step up and assist fellow Muslims?
Why does the West bear all the responsibility for taking in these refugees who ultimately won’t try to assimilate into Western culture?
There is something wrong here.

3. Anthony Lang summed up what a lot of people were thinking about Carlos Wolfe, a teenager who spent weeks sleeping rough in Phoenix Park and got seven honours in his Junior Cert.

Respect to that lad! Total respect.

He got 2,040 likes for that one.

4. Margaret Daly, and 1,931 others, weren’t too impressed with the Taoiseach saying Islamic State militants want to “blow up Newgrange”:

talk about giving ideas!!!

5. Captain Smirk got 1,908 green thumbs for this comment on the results of an opinion poll on Ireland taking in 4,000 refugees:

“More than half the population wants Ireland to take in 5,000 refugees”
Eh, no. Half of Claire Byrne’s listeners that decided to take part do.

The top 5 articles which received the most comments this week

refugee A baby cries as his family waits to pass the border police block in the southern Macedonian town of Gevgelija. PA PA

1. Confirmed: Ireland will take in 4,000 refugees (479 comments)

2. Poll: Do you support Ireland’s plan to take in 4,000 refugees? (456 comments)

3. Syrian family laid to rest as Taoiseach says we can take in more refugees (363 comments)

4. Diarmuid Connolly wins appeal and is free to play against Mayo this evening (356 comments)

5. Kerry set to get new mosque, but there won’t be a call to prayer (328 comments)

Standout comments of the week

download (1) Adrian and Robin
The42.ie’s editor Adrian Russell penned an article during the week about becoming a first-time dad. Kris Ertz related to a lot of what he had to say.

I’ve recently become a Dad (as my profile picture suggests!). Found a lot of this article relatable, but of course every baby is different. All I know is that my daughter makes me a better partner to my fiancé and an overall better person to everyone else. Yes my god it is incredibly hard some times but I’m only 5 months in and can’t imagine myself as anything other than a Dad.

On a different note, an interesting conversation started under an article on advice for students starting college.

Jimbo had this to say:

Prepping in advance helps and not leaving assignments to last minute. Never happens but sure would help…

While Conor Power admitted:

It was ever thus.

And Aiden Kelly noted:

From my five years in college here’s my advice
Pick extra curricular activities based on your chosen degree
Learn what type of lecturer you have and what is required
Even if your degree isn’t in your career path doing well makes changing later much easier

boys-tunnel-jaguar-2-390x285 Shutterstock Shutterstock

Russian students of a much younger age showed how industrious they were when they used spades to dig their way out of their kindergarten and set off on a mission to buy a Jaguar sports car – as you do.

A lot of you were impressed, but some a bit concerned.

Suzanne Smith wrote:

Don’t know whether to be impressed or worried!

Before Captain Smirk chimed in with his two cents:

Impressed. Very impressed.

Louis Jacob then added:

I’d be a lot more worried about the ones with their heads stuck in a game boy.

download Paul Hosford / TheJournal.ie Paul Hosford / TheJournal.ie / TheJournal.ie

During the week, we spoke to a father and son, Squadron Sergeant Liam McGahern and Sergeant Trevor McGahern, who are going to the Golan Heights with the Defence Forces later this month.

Their daughter and sister Stacey McGahern left a message for them under the article:

Safe trip to my Dad & brother x we will miss ye

Meanwhile, Paul Furey noted:

Good luck lads. And to all the others.

download (2) Gerald Fleming TheJournal.ie TheJournal.ie

A lot of you came up with some great suggestions for what Met Éireann should name storms. We particularity like those made by Blind Faith:

I’d like to see them named using some of the usual profanities that we actually refer with them anyway.
* storm “It’s lashing cats & fcuking dogs again”
* storm “Fcuk-sake, it’s pissing down”
* storm “That fcuking wind’ud cut right through ya bollox”

Finally, Tom Fennelly took inspiration from an Irish Rail delay earlier in the week.

There’s a song in that headline ,
Broken down train, causing knock on delay’s
On the Heuston Line,
Anyone?

We think something a little bit country would work.

See any good comments? Send them on to orla@thejournal.ie