You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

you told us

Top comments of the week

Did you make the cut?

EVERY SATURDAY MORNING we take a look at all the best comments left on the site by our readers over the past seven days.

This week there was a lot of talk about gangland crime, the general election and Paul O’Connell’s retirement.

The 5 most popular comments this week

1. Shane Denham got 2,604 likes for this comment under a story about the fatal shooting of Eddie Hutch Senior, believed to be in retaliation for the killing of David Byrne.

Annnnnddddd… they’re off..

2. In relation to clashes at a protest held by anti-Islamic group Pediga, Brandon McGrane got 1,842 green thumbs for this comment:

I’m not saying these peoples ideals are right in anyway. But doesn’t everyone have the right to a peaceful protest?

3. The third most popular comment this week was cathal‘s effort under a post about Liverpool fans staging a walkout over ticket price increases:

In fairness to Mingolet, he showed solidarity with supporters and downed tools on the 77th minute aswell.

That one got 1,193 likes.

4. During the week Paul O’Connell announced his retirement from rugby. Some 1,124 of you approved of Irishoversea‘s description of O’Connell:

True Irish sporting legend..

rugby-union-paul-oconnell-file-photo-6-390x285 PA Wire / Press Association Images PA Wire / Press Association Images / Press Association Images

5. After gardaí appealed for information in tracing a vehicle used in the shooting of Eddie Hutch Senior, Fred wrote:

Good luck to the Gardaí. Hopefully they are given the necessary resources to fight these criminals and bring them to justice.

That comment got 1,102 likes.

The top 5 articles which received the most comments this week

1. RTÉ cameraman injured in demonstrations on O’Connell Street (712 comments)

2. Retaliation: Eddie Hutch, brother of ‘The Monk’, shot dead in Dublin city (416 comments)

3. Sinn Féin wants to scrap the Special Criminal Court (306 comments)

4. ‘Get the f*** out of Wicklow’: Enda met his first protesters of the election today (261 comments)

5. As it happened: The first leader’s debate of the 2016 general election (257 comments)

Standout comments

TheNSWPolice / YouTube

During the week a seriously ill Australian boy was granted his wish to become a superhero like Iron Man, with police staging an elaborate event on the Sydney Opera House steps.

Jimmy Murphy wrote:

Wonderful superhero. Iron man is good too.

While, Spud added:

There is still hope for humanity lads. Great story indeed! :)

Richard Cynical was unimpressed by the Beyoncé/Coldplay/Bruno Mars half-time performance at the Super Bowl last weekend:

they have nothing on the garda band

Speaking of gardai, Leadóg Hackett has this to say after guards rescued swans confused by Storm Imogen:

The children of lir got out again.

Under another animal story – this time one about a rabbit the size of a dog, Rory Byrne wrote:

eeeeeeh….. whats up dog? (sorry).

No need to apologise, Rory.

download PA Images PA Images

After Donald Trump had a go at Pope Francis ahead of his visit to Mexico, Permo Dermo observed:

Trump seems to be pontificating more than Pope Francis these days

shutterstock_288955100-390x285 Shutterstock / Per Bengtsson Shutterstock / Per Bengtsson / Per Bengtsson

Meanwhile, Young Politician had this kind offer for the National Lottery as after it appealed for the winner of an unclaimed €500,000 prize to come forward.

I would be happy to take charge of the money until the rightful claimant comes forward.

A graphic clip from the latest Sasha Baron Cohen film got quite the reaction from an audience at Jimmy Kimmel Live.

kimmel-2

It prompted Mick Power to write:

Thought they were watching tonight’s debate

(He’s referencing this, by the way.)

Finally, in a meta moment, here is last week’s COTW winner, Dylan, talking about his new-found status:

Hopefully the fame won’t go to my head.

Previous winner stephen had this to add:

I’ve won it several times, didn’t change me one bit, but I do find it easier to get seats at my favourite restaurants.

We’re happy to help.

See any good comments? Email them to orla@thejournal.ie.