You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

AS IT HAPPENED

Commuting liveblog: Truck on fire on the M3 and horses on the loose in Tipperary

All the traffic, travel and weather info you need to start your day…

It’s Friday – you’ve nearly made it.

Just one more commuting day until the bank holiday begins.

We’ll be here with you up until 9am with all the traffic, travel and weather news you need to start your day.

Happy Friday! (hopefully)

Cormac Fitzgerald here with you now until 9am for the final commute of the week.

The bank holiday awaits and all you have to do is get to work, work, then leave work. Simple, right?

Hopefully I’ll be able to make it that little bit simpler by bringing you all the traffic and travel info to let you know what’s going on.

You can, in turn, make my life far simpler by sending me any pics or tips you have to @cormfitz (Twitter), cormac@thejournal.ie (email), or just say hello below (comment).

Don’t do any of these while moving behind the wheel (driving).

Okay, were you wondering whether the weather was wet today?

Well, it’s not (yet).

Met Éireann says today will be cold, but it will be bright with a mix of sunny spells and some showers of rain or hail.

The showers will be light in the morning but will become heavier as the day goes on.

Highest temperatures will be between 8 to 10 degrees with some moderate northwest breezes.

Well, we’re kicking things off with a bang today.

Yep, all you weary Luas green line customers will have to find different transport for another day – the service is down due to a technical fault.

We’ve got reports that the trams are stuck in the Sandyford depot. It may be little comfort, but Dublin Bus are accepting tram tickets so there’s that.

Our commenter Goldberg seems to think he nose what’s going on:

gold

A thank you to Nikki who sent me a nice correction by email (and it’s not even 7.30) – stay vigilant Nikki!

“Today will BE cold,” Nikki took the trouble to write in an email.

Does this mean block capitals for BE, or just a regular be that I left out of the weather post?

I don’t know Nikki – tell me!

Okay, now to traffic.

It’s not crazy busy as of yet coming in from the south of the city – along the commuter roads that would service Luas green line customers.

Here’s how things are looking around Milltown and Donnybrook:

green down Google Maps Google Maps

It’s looking okay so far along the Grand Canal also. Here’s the view from Harold’s Cross Bridge.

site16Camera31 (5)

On the north side of Dublin, and traffic is building already in the “unholy trinity” of roads heading into the city centre.

It’s busy already at North Strand, heading back towards Fairview.

nrthsterand

Further west, and it’s busy on the Drumcondra Road back towards the Swords Road and Collins Avenue.

site16Camera27 (13) Google Maps Google Maps

Further west again and it’s looking like early traffic on the Phibsborough Road as far back as Botanic Road.

phizzzz Google Maps Google Maps

In Cork AA Roadwatch are reporting a crash on Melbourn Road. There are knock on delays on Model farm Road as a result.

No major incidents to report on the roads this morning (which is great).

Traffic seems to be moving well on the M50 in both directions currently (which is also great).

Picking up now in the city centre – it’s busy along the North Quays.

Also busy along the Grand Canal heading east – from Harold’s Cross through to Leeson Street Bridge.

leeeeson Google Maps Google Maps

Were you meant to get the Luas today?

Stuck in traffic somewhere? Looking forward to the weekend?

Let me know sure – tweet @cormfitz, email cormac@thejournal.ie or a comment below. (Not.While.Driving)

Staying with Cork, and the AA is reporting that traffic is just starting to build approaching the Dunkettle Interchange.

Things are moving well in Cork city centre at the moment – but there are wet conditions on the roads, so drive safe!

cark

Unconfirmed reports coming in that Drumcondra Road has record breaking traffic this morning.

All 25 lanes seem bumper to bumper – according to this unverified picture just sent in by one of our readers. Give five to seven hours of travel time if you’re leaving from there this morning.

Screenshot_2016-04-29-07-51-02 Poj Poj

In more realistic traffic news, it seems that due to a mechanical fault there are delays of up to 30 minutes on services into Heuston.

Anyone driving through Laois this morning, be advised:

AA Roadwatch reports that there will be a large funeral taking place in Abbeyleix at 11am.

Important to be aware of if you’ll be driving through or around there this morning.

AA Roadwatch reporting a truck on fire on the M3 Cavan/Dublin Road southbound between J6 Dunshaughlin and J5 Dunboyne – take care if nearby.

More from AA Roadwatch:

We’ve got a breakdown blocking the right lane of the Stillorgan Road inbound.

Things have definitely picked up in Dublin.

We’re seeing heavy traffic now coming in from Goatstown and Dundrum towards Milltown (along the Luas green line).

Busy eastbound along the Grand Canal also and it’s busy coming in along the Stillorgan Road from inbound Donnybrook onwards.

ss Google Maps Google Maps

We’ve got conflicting reports coming in from road users this morning.

This from Dave McGinn re traffic:

But this coming in from our very own Nicky Ryan:

What’s going on out there!?

Multiple reports of incidents coming in courtesy of AA Roadwatch.

We’ve got a crash in Dublin on Church Street outbound between the North Quays and the North King Street junction.

Reports also of horse on the loose in Tipperary:

In Belfast, and the AA report that there is a breakdown affecting the inbound traffic on the Westlink at Roden Street.

Traffic heavy on approach from the M1.

In Galway, AA Roadwatch reports:

There is standard traffic on the N17 Tuam Road from Loughgeorge to Claregalway.

There are also some delays inbound between Newcastle Road and Seamus Quirke Road.

However, in general the AA says that traffic is fairly light for this time of the morning.

Motorists advised to pass by carefully on the left of that two car collision on Church Street in Dublin city centre. It’s just near the bridge at the junction of the North Quays.

M50 still seems to be moving okay in Dublin still, which is great.

Can’t say the same for the main roads into the city from the south side, however.

Big delays still at Milltown and Donnybrook. Most likely a knock on effect of the Luas green line being down.

This is from Nicky (the third Nicky to get in touch today, incidentally):

AA Roadwatch report that that breakdown on the Westlink at Roden St has been cleared.

Okay, quick look at the main stories of the day.

TheJournal.ie broke the story last night that Irish charity GOAL is under US investigation for alleged mismanagement in Syria.

We’re at day 63 of government talks <sigh>. This morning, we ask which independent TDs are open to talking to Enda Kenny.

Gardaí are to begin excavating a south Dublin garden after a woman alleged two children she gave birth to were murdered and buried there.

Everything else you need to know is over at the 8 at 8.

AA Roadwatch reporting that the crash on Church Street outbound between the North Quays and the North King Street junction has been cleared to the side of the road.

Shout out to Accord Moan Eye for their constructive criticism so early in the morning.

accroding

Someone obviously hasn’t had their Frosties yet.

That crash has been cleared from the Melbourn Road in Cork, according to the AA.

Speaking of Cork:

The AA report that it’s very busy approaching the Dunkettle Interchange on the N8 Dublin Road and there are some delays on the N40 South Ring Road.

Busy outbound also on Washington Street.

This came in from Gus – but with no indication of where he is. Any ideas anyone?

IMG_3870 Gus Sheridan Gus Sheridan

Gus says:

My commute takes about 20 seconds every morning, lovely here, no traffic, peaceful what more could you want? Almost feel sorry for commuters….almost…did it for long enough myself….

You’ve earned your rest Gus (maybe)

It’s looking busy on the Malahide Road inbound this morning:

site16Camera91 (9)

Also busy still on the major routes into the city centre from the northside.

Here’s Drumcondra Road:

site16Camera27 (14)

And here’s North Strand:

site16Camera24 (9)

The crash on the Stillorgan Road and the one on Church Street have now both been cleared.

Fair play to Ashley. In bed on her day off but STILL tweeting out to the Commuting Liveblog – now that’s commitment!

In case anyone was wondering, Gus is in Portugal:

Hi Cormac, its Portugal. I used to commute 120 miles a day for years by motorbike. I loved the bike but hated the dreary journey…there is light at the end of the tunnel. I promise! So nice not having to drag yourself up on cold wet mornings anymore!

Some wise, Friday morning words from Gus.

Final traffic update from me:

AA Roadwatch reporting that traffic is busy on the Leopardstown Road inbound.

Busy on the Stillorgan Road inbound from Nutley Lane through to Donnybrook junction.

It’s busy on the Rock Road, but moving better than it was, say The AA.

Also very busy eastbound along the Grand Canal.

On the northside, still busy on the main routes inbound – it’s also busy aloing the North Quays in the city centre.

Light on the M50, though. That’s something, right?

Why is the traffic alway so heavy in Dublin? Cos it just keeps Dubalin and Dubalin (badum-tsch!)

dubalin and Google Maps Google Maps

Before I go, Luas reporting that trams are running with limited service on the green line.

Well, time to say goodbye.

That’s it from me on the liveblog. We’ll be back bright and early on Tuesday morning but you’ll be in the capable hands of one of my colleagues.

Until then, enjoy your bank holiday weekend.

We’ll keep this open in case of any major traffic developments in the next hour or so.

Remember, you May be stuck in traffic, the Luas lines May be down and it May be grey outside.

But it’s also the May bank holiday! And that means the start of the summer! (Maybe)

Hopefully that means things will get a little bit easier.

iTeddy101 / YouTube