TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

‘Complacency and arrogance’ ensured Lisbon Treaty referendum defeat: Creighton

Creighton says that early polls on the Fiscal Treaty referendum should not encourage complacency among ‘yes’ voters.

Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire

THE MINISTER FOR European Affairs says that concerns over the household charge payment or septic tank charges should have no bearing on the outcome of the referendum on the Fiscal Compact Treaty because they are unrelated issues.

In an opinion piece for the Sunday Business Post, the junior minister says that a greater concern for the government in getting a ‘yes’ vote on is complacency among those who support the treaty.

Recent polls have suggested that the majority of voters support a yes vote, however Creighton said that such polls should not be interpreted by those voters as a reason not to bother turning out to cast their ballot.

Referring to the first Lisbon Treaty referendum, Creighton writes that “complacency, lack of engagement, and dare I say, a certain degree of arrogance ensured a decisive defeat”.

She adds that the government has a duty to ensure that citizens are provided with “full and impartial information” to help them form an opinion ahead of the referendum and says that younger voters can be better facilitated by ensuring that polling is done during the weekend, “preferably over two days”.

Independent TD Joe Higgins has said that Ireland is being bullied into ratifying the treaty. In response to concerns over the treaty, Enda Kenny claimed that the “Europe train is leaving the station” and Ireland needs to ensure it is on board by ratifying the treaty.

Sinn Féin party leader Gerry Adams is calling for the referendum to be rejected by voters, warning that it would lead to an extension of current austerity measures. He also criticised the government for allowing EU institutions to impose fines on Ireland in situations where they believe economic policies have not been sufficiently adhered to.

Howlin says a ‘better deal on debt’ would improve voting atmosphere >

Read next:

Comments (82 Comments)

• Well, if an intellectual juggernaut like Lucinda says so………..

• Minister we do not know what planet you are living on but various charges to matter to us. We see such charges as EU imposed and carried out by you guys in your secured jobs with guaranteed salaries and excellent pensions. We see the likes of big business using the EU to impose charges on radios and tv’s in hotels , boasting they are happy to say we are now the biggest importer of Chinese goods , restrictions on our Internet media downloads , we buy smaller cars now to be told sorry there are too much of you guys and we have to increase the motor tax , it’s not fair play across the EU and we are pissed to say the least !

• Except they weren’t defeated in the Lisbon Treaty referendum. Democracy was.

• I am not complacent, I am not ignorant , I am not arrogant. I will be voting NO, Níl , Nein , Non…..and any other language Ms Creighton wants to ask the same question.
    How dare she and her colleagues talk down to us.

• Ciaro 18/03/12 #

Vote no to stop the third attempt by Germany to invade Europe.

• No Lucinda, Ireland is gradually turning into a euro skeptic nation and that’s what caused the defeat.

• She’s a Federalist.

• My dearest darling Lucinda
    Your rants are apt to bewilder
    Any more of your threats
    – on septic tank debts
    Will lead to a rash like Candida

• scare mongering by another substandard minister with no clue…..vote no and let’s show this shower of liars and coward’s what we really think of them

• Eggers 18/03/12 #

Don’t think that we have forgiven the traitors and criminals in your FF because we are peed off the current govt. There is nothing that those gangsters can ever do to make up for the destruction they brought on on Ireland.

• We haven’t forgiven them, but lets remember that this is not a spiteful no, it’s a no because this fiscal compact is a joke. A weak attempt to save face by a bunch of headless chickens that are in a state of panic because Europe is about to implode on their watch. It’s corrupt, posturing to the public with nothing to address the issues in it at all. All it does is open the door for more austerity down the road – consolidating their power and ensuring the general population are kept under the thumb.

• I and many people I know will be voting a big NO.

• jimbo 18/03/12 #

The answer will be no and same applies to the household charge.NO…

• On March 31, when another E3Billion will be flushed down the toilet, there will be a big swing to the NO side

• The answers NO Lucinda. When will politicians finally wake up to the fact that most people do not want a Federal EU which is gradually creeping in.

• They don’t come anymore arrogant than Creighton.

• no no no all the way…..ye havent a clue up there in your ivory towers…..GET OUT ON 31ST MARCH AT THE FINE GAEL ARD FHEIS AND PROTEST ABOUT IT INSTEAD OF MOANING ONLINE……………..

• Lies, dishonesty and deceitfulness ensured it was passed the second time. No mean no.

• Wether the minister wants it or not,the referendum will be about the household charge,septic tanks and yes even having a go at a government that has broken nearly every pre-election promise they made.

• The French Socialist candidate for the Presidency has said that he will not accept the fiscal Treaty in it’s current form so what are you going to say to that Lucinda?

• Hollande hasn’t been elected yet, Sarkozy is neck-and-neck with him on first round support and also he’s a politician, they frequently say and do things to be elected and then renege on those promises post election. I can imagine him saying something like “As more than half of the countries signing the fiscal compact have now ratified it, I can’t renegotiate.”

Also Merkel (and indeed Sarkozy) has been growing closer to Italy’s Monti in recent months – who advocates more EU focus on growth this year. So Meronti could be a new EU force after the French election.

• Just on a point of accuracy, Joe Higgins is a TD for the Socialist Party not an independent as the article states.

• “…….unrelated issues….” hahahahahahahaahahahahah…….. stop please!

• Ah don’t let on you’ll be voting No they might get complacent.. arrogance is a given.

• Lucy Cretin is a big BULLY. her arrogance is offensive as is he behaviour. She barges her way through people( I witnessed it twice at meetings) non political meetings. She is a lightweight intellectually and her attitude towards people is so condescending and so bad mannered I think Enda thought he was sending her to Coventry. Frank Rossi at least had the brains to keep a low profile to cover up for his lack of intelligence. She is just an embarrassment to our country. I actually voted for this government. .

• Even the most out of touch citizen knows the HHC & STC “taxes” are unrelated to the Treaty. However, people will use the Treaty referendum, or any electoral poll to send the government a message – you are not listening, what happened to the reform agenda and why are you screwing families? Ive read the Fiscal Treaty details, and on the whole, its nothing to worry about and in fact good household management for our national economy. However, I’ll be voting “no” just to show the government my unhappiness at issues such as HSE cutbacks in Cavan, lack of action of culling quangos and few other issues. The ESM shouldnt be needed, especially if what Enda Kenny, Baldy Noonan and other cabinet Ministers are saying about being back in the bond markets 2013. In the event we need some “backup” financial muscle, the IMF (who are more experienced than ECB in bailouts) offer us more competitive rates, along with our bi-lateral loans from UK, Sweden and Denmark. A “No” vote will not be the end of the world as we know it. But it will certainly raise questions as to the legitimacy of the road govt is going down in relation to lack of progress on the Prog for Govt. The “goodwill” handed to FG/Lab is fast evaporating and people now want to see results, and fast!

• I’ve often seen gombeenism and localism criticised on this site and your comment is a perfect example of both. You agree with the Treaty contents but are voting “no” over local issues. Surely you can vote at either the next general election or the local elections in 2014 to show your unhappiness over local issues? Why not put the country first?

• In 2014 the local services in question will most likely be gone and beyond saving. How is voting for this treaty putting the country first?? YOU clearly have not read it. It is a funding mechanism to allow funding for EU states. But according to Kenny & Noonan et al, we will be back in bond markets in 2013, so we wont need it! So we vote for something we dont need?? Of course the other side of the Treaty is the 3% deficit targets, which if we dont abide by, we get financially penalised. So I am doing the country a favour, Im backing the NO campaign because Kenny et al says we dont need access to that funding, and second Im ensuring no fines for Ireland in event we need to breach the 3% deficit targets. Oh and on top of that, its my democratic right to vote how I please and use any or no criteria in doing so ;-)

• The current government really have their heads in the sand on this one. The current game plan seems to be all about telling us what the referrendum is NOT about and an interesting lack of information on what it actually IS about. My guess is that the delay on announcing a date on the referrendum is down to the government awaiting to review the success or lack of success of the household charge. I am beginning to think if the household charge does become an issue for government due to the lack of non-payment, it is very possible that a mysterious loophole may be found to avoid the referrendum.

• “younger voters can be better facilitated by ensuring that polling is done during the weekend, “preferably over two days”.”

One development in Irish voting I’d be happy to see.

• Glad to hear that the government aren’t going to be to aggorant as others have been in the past this time around. I presume that means that we’re going to have a real robust debate in society on the contents of the treaty. I presume that Lucinda Creighton will soon be accepting Paul Murphy MEP’s invitation to a public debate on the issue.

Hopefully we can finally have an EU treaty referendum campaign free from scare mongering, vague over simplification and outright lies.

• Seriously time to leave Europe , we will find it tuff for 5 years but think of all the little business’s we can start up again… Selling your home grown produce from your farms without those bloody regulations, sell your milk, eggs etc etc etc… Open a little sandwich bar without having to chrome the site out of it, there’s a list of crucifying regulations that will leave this country with leaving Europe.

• Back to the DeValera days? Really? We have seen enormous benefits from our membership of the EU. Don’t get your knickers in a twist because Merkozy and the Irish leadership are clueless.

• Ah don’t let on you’ll be voting No they might get complacent…arrogance is a given.

• When Hollande comes to power in France in May, hes going to tear the thing up anyway

• So, understanding that then, don’t be so bloody stupid as to try to put it up again in another referendum!!

• Misogynism, arrogance and ignorance walk into a bar. Barman asks “is that you McDonnell?”

• Vote yes for millions of JOBS!!!!!!!

• With her, shorthall and moaning Joan not forgetting harney and hanifin do we really want more woman in government?

• they must think we are a bunch of idiots lets say YES and have 21% unemployment 22000 homeless in our capital just like Greece, have budgets returned because they are not austere enough putting more pain on those that can least afford it, Let see our politicians cut there pay, bring in receipts for expenses and stop paying multiple pensions and pay them out before pensionable age. 8.8 million in pensions to 109 exgovernment employees very year. think its a NO NO NO

• Reading the comments here, shows that there is a dire need for a massive, factual unbiased information campaign, about the fiscal agreement. Which of our European partners will fill our begging bowl next time if we do not use sensible economic policies.

• Eggers 18/03/12 #

There is a very large block against this deal, it makes no financial or economic sense and has been castigated as unworkable and counter-productive from diverse people such as Hillary Clinton, the nobel Prize economist Paul Krugman and the Prime Minister of Spain.

The latter interestingly enough has already signed up to it, and has already decided to ignore it. The treaty is dead before it is even ratified – economic reality once more throws an EU plan in to the garbage heap.

• fiscal agreement ??? Surely you mean the Austerity agreement /treaty……..
      NO more going cap in hand to the EU masters with a ”begging bowl.”
      I have NEVER Ever begged for anything in my life and do not intend to start now.
      I will go without first , and follow our own policies ,how ever difficult they will be.

• I would rather beg from the IMF who lend in order that a country may get back on its feet
      Borrowing from our European partners to cover their banks and pension funds losses is slowly killing our economy

• Our begging bowl would have a lot more in it if the EU weren’t taking 400 billion out of it. If the begging bowl is all you think we’ve got they we are truly fucked. Stop looking for a solution that maintains peoples financial status – there isn’t one. Filling the begging bowl, as you put it certainly isn’t the answer – besides, when was the last time you charged a begger you donated to interest???
      Change your attitude please, you’re economic policy isn’t sensible.

• I’m voting yes and I’m paying the household charge. I’d prefer if these things were not necessary but they are. To those who who are planning on voting no, who don’t want extra cuts or taxes – what exactly is your plan? Do you have one? Are you willing to make any sacrifice?

• For those determined to vote no, that Eire should not accept this fiscal package, would you vote no if the issue was ‘should the eu bail out nation states who find themselves in dire financial situations?’

Me thinks many of you would castigate the eu for letting nation states go bankrupt but you seem happy to let Eire find itself with even less options should our finances worsen…

• Lots of comments here that makes Varadkar’s assertion that referendums usually come down to totally unrelated issues, stand up. The treaty will change nothing here that isn’t all ready covered by previous treaties. Yet to say No, could cause a whole lot of problems. Give Angela her piece of paper to wave about. We need her money…

Add New Comment