TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Conan O’Brien gets in on The Gathering buzz

He was wearing his green jumper…

WHEN CONAN O’BRIEN visited the old sod last month he kept this one quiet.

The US talk show host filmed a video for The Gathering “encouraging everyone with Irish ancestry to come home to Ireland”. He even wore a green jumper.

YouTube/Gathering2013

Adorable dogs who want to be invited to The Gathering>

Gabriel Byrne slams The Gathering, calls it ‘a scam’>

Conan O’Brien is back in Ireland, but how tall is he?

VIDEO: Conan O’Brien accepts TCD patronage, calling himself “dangerously inbred”>

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (44 Comments)

• I’m beginning to get this guy now. Very impressed with his speech to trinity students recently, he’s a clever individual.

• He was a writer for The Simpsons during the golden years.

• So ‘The Gathering’ of 2013 is all about bringing back our ancestors and families who emigrated for a better life in the first place.
      But, times are hard so our tourist boards want us to bring them home in order to up our ante with regards of finances and such.
      If I (and maybe one day I will) emigrated from this island, I wouldn’t be rushing back too soon. To see what…? To see faces you couldn’t stand to begin with. A smug government who defeated a corrupt one. Bitterness. Desolation. Rain. Jealous. Two faced agendas. ‘You must’ referendas. High taxes. Low income. Envy. Grey skies. Expensive supermarkets. Road tax. Humongous cost of living. Overrated ‘celebrities’.
      Just to mention but few – The only Gathering anytime soon on this island is the one at Leinster house. ‘The Accidental Gathering’

• Wow such a happy chappy, you know your not being forced against your will to stay here, the country could do without your negativity. I for one, love my country and while she has some major flaws, she will always be home. Great people, great craic and great history.

• Wow Russell I can’t wait to see the report of where you move too, you must be greet craic to be around…

• @bilbo – Yeah I’m a miserable chap. An honest one though!

• I believe that his “people” are from Dungarvan Co Waterford. Hope he makes it down to the beautiful Deise sometime soon. Failte Abhaile.

• Jerry 23/11/12 #

Brother and his wife and child thinking of coming home for gathering airfares 3300€ for July know government can do nothing about prices from airlines . He was saying that even for that money they could get 3 weeks in Mexico all inclusive 5 star hotel .

• Bought tickets last week (was coming anyway for a wedding) – not sure how effective advertising is but it’s a long time since I’ve seen Board Failte advertise here (Oregon) – California, Montana, Dubai and Australia tourism ads regularly.

• I for one will be back again next year probably twice. Every time i go i buy local and drink local. The more people keep this campaign positive and the less Politics has to do with it the better.

• I remember going to St Patrick’s day parades with my grandad who said top o the morning to everyone he met and shook their hands and a few its a grand soft days, also many many welcome to our country. When we asked why he always said sure that’s what they came for and aren’t they going home happy, doesn’t seem like such a big ask if any of us if it gives the economy a kick in the arse. He always stopped and spoke to any tourists he saw gave them directions etc… is it too much out of anyone’s day to do the same.

• They would want to get to grips with the chronic junkie problem if they are inviting people over for the craic. Toothless zombies asking “are you lookin” or “gis a moke” all over our tourist hotspots. I recommend using one of the NAMA hotels with 10 foot fencing, razor wire, few gallons of petrol and a match

• Gerard 23/11/12 #

His a funny dude and loves his irish roots

• come back to ireland make sure you bring your wallets and spend loads and loads of money

• isn’t that the point of tourism in general?

• yeah but this come visit for the craic is crap its come visit and pump some money into ireland which isnt a wrong thing to do we do need the cash but suger coating come for the craic and giving it the diddle eye diddle do top of the morning to yeah spin is funny .

• Lighten up. It’s great if they come and spend some money but I think we need something like this not only for that but for Irish people in general. I will show any foreigner a bit of craic here at any time and more so if they are relations. I am sick to death of the cynical shite from people like yourself. Our country has to move on from that and I will galdly show people the terrific things we still have to offer as a country and a people. It will not be the diddley eye potatee bullcrap that the cynics seem to want to label this small attempt at throwing away our shovel!

• To be honest I think everyone hopes they have a bit of craic too!

• To be honest I think everyone hopes they have a bit of craic too

• If they do come back we need all you bastards happy/sad to do the auld orish thing and chat to them at the bar, tell stories of leprechauns, soft day thank god, and let them buy you a beer.

• You Know it comes out of the same marketing ploy as Arthur’s Day..

• The Scattering…

• I love this”the gathering 2013. Unfortunately the government for got to mentioned the forced ” scattering ” 2011/2012 of many young educated Irish people !!

• Don’t see him bitching like Byrne

• Wallet share (also known as “share of wallet”) is the percentage of a consumer’s budget for a particular product
    In this case the product is “The Gathering” and the Company i.e. the Government wants lots of wallets and lots
    of SOWs (Share of Wallet) preferably the whole wallet and it’s contents.

• Nydon 23/11/12 #

Conan, will ya give over and leave me alone. I told ya before the wife is still on about the last trip It’s getting to stalker level now in all fairness.

Shakiel

• A McT 24/11/12 #

@gathering your money

when you go on holidays, do you immerse yourself in the political and social goings on of wherever you are?

No you don’t. You enjoy the sun or tourist attractions or whatever you went there for.

The Gathering is organised to bring more money into this country so the things that you have outlined above do not have to be issues anymore.

So, if you want to address all the problems, embrace The Gathering and other things like it that will help us get out of the hole we’re in instead of taxing us or implementing more austerity…unless that’s what you want so you can have a good moan about that too?

• Enda and Co want people to come home to see how well they are running the country?
    They want them to come and see half the homeowners in the country not paying the property tax (that funds corrupt banker’s gambling debts)?
    They want them to come and see a hundred thousand families (and counting) in mortgage arrears/being evicted?
    They want them to come and see the government paying thousands of bankers, politicians and senior civil servants (who destroyed the country) huge salaries and pensions out of the taxpayer’s near empty pockets?
    They want them to come and see plane loads of young native Irish people emigrating every day?
    They want them to come and see our hospital’s corridors full of trollies?
    They want them to come and see a half a million people (and counting) on the dole?
    They want them to come and see FG&Labour reneging on their promises and guarantees?
    They want them to come see FG/Labour trying to lead by force?
    Disgusting

• Save your money guys.
      Nothing has really changed since the time you were betrayed by our “leaders” until the point where you had to bitterly leave your own home.

• A McT 24/11/12 #

you people giving out about the gathering really p155 me off.

we are trying to stimulate growth by getting more people into the country. who cares if we are asking people to come back and spend their money? if they want to do it, they will. Otherwise they won’t.

So keep your negativity to yourselves. Honestly, there is just no pleasing some people. I for one am not a fan of this government, but this has nothing to do with politics and everything to do with keeping hotels, b&bs, pubs, local shops, other local businesses and not so local businesses that create employment, in business.

Irish people have a tendency to complain too much and there is NOTHING that they can complain about with The Gathering.

• @ A McT
      Keep your negativity to yourself?
      I wasn’t being negative.
      I was just stating the reality for many Irish people.

• kenny and co have rode everyone in the country and now wants people to visit this shit hole so he can ride them aswell..watch the hotel /hosptality ind prices rocket up..all the more taxes collected for kenny to pass on to bond holders after his own skiming..a person would be really stupid to come here to be fleeced..

• A Gathering outside the Dail to burn the bloody place down would be more appropriate. How many more detached celebrity millionaires pushing this nonsense do we have to put up with.

• Great to see many positive, healthy, posts here…..When we go abroad on holidays, do we enjoy ourselves, yes we do, do we spend money, yes we do……People all over the world do the same thing year in, year out…….The moaners here, should take a hike, and moan and groan elsewhere, i’m sure they would get a real Irish SEND-OFF, providing they could prove they had a one-way ticket…..

If your Irish be proud of it, and embrace the GATHERING IN 2013, we have the reputation of being the best in the world for greeting tourists, making them feel at home, and having the ‘BANTER’ and the ‘CRAIC’ with them….So lighten up……This country is far from perfect, and is trying to get back on it’s feet……A little help from everyone would go a long way.

As for Conan O’ Brien, i think he is a bit wired to some planet, but he is very welcome here anytime, as is his family and friends…

• This that it? Pretty poor attempt

• Seen him on TV and in my opinion he’s a boring sod.

• Thanks Conan.

Add New Comment