TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Garda Ombudsman to investigate two-car collision

The collision occurred on Churchtown Road, Dublin, on Thursday morning.

Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

A CRASH INVOLVING a car that was being observed by a garda in the early hours of Thursday morning is to be investigated by the Garda Síochána Ombudsman Commission.

Gardaí said the road traffic collision occurred on Churchtown Road at the junction of Dundrum Road at around 1am on Thursday morning.

A Garda Síochána Ombudsman Commission spokesman said the Ombudsman is investigating the collision. He said that a garda on duty became aware of another car that he thought was acting suspiciously, and in the process of trying to stop the car, the vehicle crashed.

All three occupants of the car that crashed were taken to hospital. Their injuries were not life threatening. The matter was referred to the Ombudsman under section 102 of the Garda Siochána Act 2005.

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (24 Comments)

• It seems the gardai ombudsman will investigate a bad fart.. The look into everything it seems..

• ……and queue trolls with anti garda comments

• Hold on guys. Self regulation often doesn’t work. Oversight works best if the overseers are independent (and diligent).
    I’m all for the Gardaí and intelligent policing. Cease the bashing please and contribute something positive to ensuring we have a safe society and good law enforcement. By the way, what are the traffic police doing about the one-eyed monster cars travelling the roads after dark – if you’ve ever met one they scare the dayLIGHTS out of you! And I remember being escorted home on foot with a verbal warning when a Garda stopped me in Grafton St. for having no lights on my bike – 50 years ago and in a lit up area. We do appear to have lost some of the enforcement element.

• gardai investigated themselves for long enough and a lot of bad practice was swept under the carpet. donegal wasnt an isolated incident.

• I think you just like typing. Crime isn’t an isolated incident in this country. Wise up and turn on the criminals who make it unsafe for people like you and I to walk the streets.

• only for the ombudsman the gardai would be a law onto themselves.

• That’s a genius comment right there. Lamp.

• Yeah, before GSOC marauding gangs of Gardai roamed the streets randomly beating citizens and raped, pillaged and stole. We owe a debt of gratitude to people like you David for wrestling the power back into the hands of the ordinary person. Now child rapists and criminals don’t need to fear the law because its all cute and cuddly. Maybe you could post your number and I can call you next time I’m in trouble or being attacked or robbed? Or should I just shine a silhouette of your likeness in the sky and you’ll arrive?

• So you think GSOC is the reason there has been an increase in crime over the past 4 years? What a pathetic comment.

• The power has been taken from the law enforcers. I was never beaten by a Guard nor was anyone I know and why, because we behaved ourselves. The Guards have always been courteous to all belonging to me because we are decent people. People talking about arming themselves to protect their home and doing what it takes to defend themselves, you wouldn’t need to if it weren’t for you wet liberals. I want an old school police force that cracks skulls so I can feel safe in my home and that criminals fear. Not the hamstrung, muzzled dog. Go into the courts any day and see how your system is working. Crime is up because there is no deterrent, no consequence. You’re pathetic with your Garda bashing you clown. You don’t have to fear being robbed, assaulted, raped, shot or murdered by the guards and never did. They are our protectors but how dare anyone tell Daddy’s little Joseph to behave! You make me sick. You just have a problem with authority.

• Classic Jack :D

• Jack Cass, are you sure your name isn’t Jack Bauer – “I had no choice!”.

Your arguing that gardai should be allowed “bash peoples skulls”, etc. If you want gardai to beat people up, bash their skulls, deprive them of sleep to get confessions, you need to change the law. You can’t blame an independent regulator for enforcing an existing law. Advocating a situation whereby the law applies, but is ignored by the gardai leads to corruption, stich-ups, innocent people being harassed as happened in Donegal.

• I refer you to article which instigated this debate. That’s what your GSOC is used for, a traffic accident. Enough said. And I reiterate, innocent people having nothing to fear from the Gardai and never did. I never said ‘bash people’s skulls’, you did. I also never mentioned sleep deprivation or beatings or torture, again that was you. I’m done arguing with you and your problem with authority. Go ahead and support your local criminal but remember my words if and when you are the victim of crime. There are people living among us in society that don’t care about decency and fair play and would subject you and all belonging to you to the most gruesome violation were it not for the presence of our Gardai. We should thank and support them for putting themselves at risk so that you and I can sleep safely. Men and Women who’s own families are left vulnerable while they keep ours safe. But people like you want to drag these brave me and women through frivolous investigations because you don’t like the tone of their voice. You’re a disgrace.

• Jack Cass you’re a disgrace. I hope you’re not involved in policing with those emotional outbursts you seem to suffer from.

You said it all in one line of your laborious rant – “innocent people have nothing to fear” – and that applies to the gardai too.

• Why would you assume I’m a guard? Because only right thinking people can be guards? I’m afraid I’m not enough of a human being to risk my life and health for ingrates like you Joe.

• What a scoop aoife. Pretty impressive. A career story !!!!

Add New Comment