TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Boyd-Barrett ‘should be ashamed of himself’ over Household Charge boycott, insists Kenny

The Taoiseach can only barely hold back after Richard Boyd-Barrett uses Dáil time to promote an anti-household charge protest.

Richard Boyd-Barrett used time in Leaders' Questions to promote a protest against the Household Charge next month.

THE TAOISEACH Enda Kenny has told the People Before Profit TD Richard Boyd-Barrett that he should be ashamed of himself for using Dáil time to promote a protest over the Household Charge.

The criticism came during Leaders’ Questions in the Dáil this afternoon when Boyd-Barrett advised of a protest being planned for July 18 – the day the Dáil is currently due to rise for its summer break – in opposition to what he called an “unjust” tax.

“Why don’t you save thousands of ordinary people the trouble of buying rail and bus tickets to Dublin on that date, by telling them now that you are abandoning the Household Charge or any property charge that is aimed at low and middle-income families,” Boyd-Barrett suggested.

Kenny was unimpressed with the use of Boyd-Barrett’s Dáil speaking time, however, to promote civil disobedience:

You should be ashamed of yourself as a legislator, to come into this House which passes the law of the land, where people are entitled to have their say for or against, and you deliberately encourage people to break the law of the land.

In fact, were those minority of people who have paid the Household Charge [to do so], it would make the job much easier for the Minister for Social Protection and for everybody else to deal with very sensitive cases indeed.

The Taoiseach also told Boyd-Barrett to “be careful” about organising a protest to coincide with the summer recess when that date could be moved, and said environment minister Phil Hogan had received the report of an expert group into a property tax which he had “a responsibility and a duty” to reflect upon.

Boyd-Barrett, speaking on behalf of the Dáil technical group, told Kenny that when laws were unjust “like Gandhi and Martin Luther King understood very well, it is absolutely justified and legitimate to resist those unjust laws”.

Kenny later suggested that for Boyd-Barrett “to put yourself on the same footing” as Gandhi or King was “a bridge too far”, and advised that the household charge was strongly supported by a majority of the people.

The government’s approach to the financial crisis had been endorsed in the Fiscal Compact referendum, which Kenny pointed out had received the second-highest Yes vote in Boyd-Barrett’s constituency of Dún Laoghaire.

This, in Kenny’s mind, illustrated that the local TD’s “ranting and hysterical incantations” about economic policy had fallen on “very deaf ears indeed”.

Read: Bill to repeal household charge to be debated in the Dáil tonight

Read next:

Comments (116 Comments)

• The rules don’t apply to TDs. Haven’t we learnt anything from the Mick Wallace affair?

• Does Kenny really think that…”the household charge was strongly supported by a majority of the people.”

Paying a new tax isn’t really the same as supporting it, is it?

• To claim that the majority of people supported the referendum and therefore also support the charge is wholly untrue.

• Enda has it so easy – a compliant media and zero opposition. He should count his blessings he has only Boyd-Barrett and a few others to take him to task.

• And why can’t we? Take him on I mean, he walks the streets, eats in restaurants etc. why can’t we make his life bloody hell? People need to realise that what RBB said is true – “One has a moral responsibility to disobey unjust laws” – Martin Luther King Jr.

• @Ceiteach Mac…..
      Thats all he needs when trying to rescue the country is clowns following him round while he’s trying to eat!!

What did you expect would happen? You would continue living in your armchair socialist world and nothing would change ????

Do you *really* think that Enda Kenny *actually needs* all this hallse in his life ??

Rich Boy Barrett is a champagne socialist from a wealthy middle class family. His ‘policies’ are developed to a university debating level.

Would you ever cop on and get out of the way and let the real workers get on with rebuilding the country and stop your whinging

• At least Barrett as you have acknowledged can debate unlike Kenny who ran from every offer of a debate during the recent referendum offering different excuses each time. It remains to be seen if Kenny will ‘rescue’ the country. History will tell us that in the end. But to borrow one of Kenny’s phases if I was writing Kenny’s ‘report card’ it currently would be NG. Waffle and little else I’m afraid.

• @Kerry,
      Of course was never going to engage in debates with a raggle taggle buch of one trick, gone at the next election, populist TDs.
      He’s the *Taoiseach* !!

This isn’t dramsoc night in DCU, its governing a bankrupt country.

He will never win a popularity contest thank God, because if that was his approach, we would be back where FF had us 3 years ago.

Look at the bigger picture here *please*

• I am and Kenny isn’t in the picture. As a life long FG voter that party has with their actions removed me from supporting them. I’m sorry a leader incapable of debating an issue which he said was the most important decision since joining the ECC (as it was then) should not be in power. Sadly we see that more and more every day where ever he appears.

• Enda Kenny should be ashamed of himself expecting the burden for bailing out zombie banks to fall on the ordinary citizen in Ireland. We all know the Household Tax is a troika tax.

The cynicism of Enda Kenny asking house owners to fund this is unbelievable. Fair play to Boyd Barrett and the left for standing by the citizens of this country in resisting this tax. Support the Sinn Féin motion to repeal this immoral tax and refund those that already paid in no small part because they were terrified into doing so by this bullying government led by Big Phil Hogan.

The household tax is an immoral tax. We will resist this tax. Its introduction as a register tax gave us an opportunity to take control and seize a bit of people power. If you have already paid it and regret your decision cancel your standing orders with your bank or if that’s not possible refuse to pay next year.

• In 2011 183 thousand landlords registered 339 thousand properties for Non Principal Private Residence.

In the earlier figures it was concluded that 227 thousand NPPRs had already been registered by 106 thousand landlords assuming they registered their own house along with the NPPRs (227+106=333).

That leaves 112 (339-227)thousand second properties owned by 77 (183-106) thousand landlords still to be registered.

Therefore there are 865 thousand property owners who must still register (901-112+77).

So 723 thousand property owners have registered 950 thousand properties and 865 have not registered 901 thousand properties i.e. 54% non registration when counted on the basis of the number of owners.

- Figures are collated by the Campaign Against the Household & Water Taxes.

• Those figures stand corrected

• The Department of Environment persists in stating that 1.6m households are liable for the household charge. This is patently not the case. It is houses that are liable for the tax not households. If a person owns two houses – one they live in, one a holiday home, they pay twice. They wouldn’t do that if it was a tax purely on households. The household charge is a tax on property. There are 1.994m habitable housing units in the state – they are all liable for the tax with some exemptions. Here is some useful data compiled by the Campaign Against Household & Water Taxes from official statistics and Dail questions. It gives a much more thorough picture of the liabilities relating to the household charge than the governments line, and that is the case whether you are for or against the charge.

1 Housing units in state 1,994,845 CSO

2 Unoccupied/vacant housing units unsold 18,636 Housing Development Survey, DECLG, 2011

3 Renting social housing 129,033 Census 2011, Table 39.

4 Renting voluntary housing 14,942 Census 2011, Table 39

5 Being bought from Local Authorities under shared ownership scheme 23,547 Census 2006. Doesn’t appear to be in Census 2011.

6 Mortgage interest relief 19,000 Keane Report

7 Housing units in unfinished estates 34,000 Money Guide Ireland

8 Number of landlords who registered Non Principal Private Residence (NPPR) in 2011 183,551 NAMAwinelake

9 Number of NPPR registered in 2011 for the NPPR Tax 339,431

10 Number of housing units for which the HHT was paid on 1st June 2012 915,408 Dail Question Ref No: 27986/12. Clare Daly.

11 Numbers waivered for HHT on 1st June 2012 17,167 Dail Question Ref No: 27986/12. Clare Daly.

12 Number of housing units registered to multiple accounts on 1st June 2012 332,900 Dail Question Ref No: 27986/12. Clare Daly.

13 Number of accounts to which more than one unit was registered on 1st June 2012 106,332 Dail Question Ref No: 27986/12. Clare Daly.

Figures calculated from above

14 Number of housing units liable to register for Household Tax (HHT) 1,808,687 (1-2-3-4-5)

15 Number of housing units liable to pay the Household Tax 1,755,687 (14-6-7)

16 Total number of property owners liable to register 1,469,256 (14-9)

17 Number of housing units actually registered on 1st June 2012 932,575 (10 + 11)

18 Number of housing units not registered on 1st June 2012 876,112 ( 14-17)

19 Number of NPPRs registered assuming the family home was also registered on the same account. 226,568 (12-13).

20 Number of property owners registered on 1st June 2012 (Accounts with LGMA) assuming each account also has the Principal Private Residence registered. 706,007 (10 + 11 – 19)

21 Number of property owners who have not registered. 763,249 (16-20)

22 % of property owners not registered 52

These figures seem to be correct, although there are some exception that need to be taken out of the total number of liable housing units (exemptions 2, 5, 6, 7 – all small, but not in the public domain; might account for up to c.20K units)

With thanks to Mick Murphy (National Treasurer of the Campaign Against Household & Water Taxes) for sending us the information.

Rob Kitchin (source – irelandafternama.wordpress.com)

• Kenny said “The government’s approach to the financial crisis had been endorsed in the Fiscal Compact referendum” funny I don’t remember being asked did I agree with the house hold charge when voting in the referendum.

• word to the wise Enda:

“One has a morale reaponsibility to disobey an unjust law” – Martin Luther King.

A law passed by a government elected on a base of lies qualifies as unjust!! A flat charge, taking NO regard of whether one is able to pay or not, ALSO defines it as unjust!

• Excuse that we must pay HouseholdCharge cos it’s needed to fund local services,they’re CURRENTLY funded CENTRALLY! How’s that changed?!

If they want to introduce a household charge, or water charge, they should remove a tax from elsewhere that no longer funds these services!!

A government elected on FALSE promises can essentially LEGALLY pass any law they want,no matter HOW unfair!! Scaring people with “breaking the law” line does not morally legitimise it!

• This is absolutely ridiculous hyperbole. Martin Luther King was talking about racial segregation and the racist abuse of African-Americans. To compare a €100 annual charge to this is frankly a huge insult to Martin Luther King. If the so called “left” of Ireland would actually read any literature on civil disobedience, they would see that leading figures such as John Rawls say that civil disobedience should be a last resort against cruel and unjust laws only. They should never be used against tax codes. But that would require far too much effort and work. Much better to just google a nice sounding quote.

• EMD 19/06/12 #

Well said IgnoreIand!

• Actually ignoreland, MLK ALWAYS faught on the side of the poor and oppressed, regardless of their skin colour. He is best known for his civil rights work for the african american people, but to contend that the great man himself meant that only black people should disobey unjust laws when he said those words is arrogant and extremely offensive to his memory, and quite frankly ten times worse than what you accuse RBB of.

• EMD 19/06/12 #

Too Trueleft I think you have completely misunderstood Ignoreland’s post….

• @Ignoreland , I think “the so called left” are well aware of who and what Martin Luther King was and stood for. The principle of RBB’s comment is relative however, despite your own obvious mad search for quotes to try and prove the opposite. As an unfair law whether it be imposed to curtail human rights or impose a deceitful tax on peoples homes that clearly cant afford. The fact remains Its unfair, so your comment is void. The so called right in this country (decreasing in numbers by the day I might add as your jobs go) need to be honest with themselves, Are you Irish by name only, the people that founded this state risked their lives for this country you fellas wont even risk your lifestyles.

• You’re a bunch of unidentifiable commenters, this vastly diminishes your influence on the majority of decent readers here.

• Kenny is an overpaid pathetic euro ass kisser who will always put his own very decadent lifestyle over the lives of the down trodden Irish who trusted him when they voted him in. To the people who moaned and complained at the the anti household charge campaigners for not being patriotic, wait until you have to fork €3000 per year for your house and not a €100 household charge!

• Kenny is getting pretty thin skinned these days. Perhaps he is starting to see the writing on the wall for FG.

• Kenny’s sense of moral indignation in this piece is hilarious. This is a man who has allowed the German government to dictate fiscal policy to him and without the slightest whimper he has given in. This man is a proven liar and yet he’s upset that someone is going to go out on the streets on July 18th and shout slogans calling for his head. Laughable. Now, where’s David Higgins?

• @Johnny Thunder. Listen here you bloody muppet. Just because you’ve a job doesn’t give you any more say than the next guy and I wasn’t aware that having a brain meant that you had to be poor or less well off. Must have missed that!? Where does it say that to agree with a criticism of capitalist society you have to be from a deprived background? Your argument is bankrupt, calling RBB a champagne socialist just shows your lack of self regard in the matter of opinion. Because it’s very poorly informed! I’d say those words are borrowed from the mouth of another ignorant muck savage. RBB has stood in the rain, the cold, and during all your favorite tv programmes campaigning against different maladies in the society you believe can be healed by another plaster being applied (Don’t expect you to understand that). Read a book or go do something that isn’t out of self-interest or for a few quid. And you just keep on hoping that your work matters…because it really does! The world would stop functioning if you didn’t stay turning that cog in the machine and nobody else could do your job!? I’d use some ‘nice’ words but I’ve already wasted enough time replying to your stupid remark. You just keep on keepin’ on…don’t think, and keep on parroting what you’ve heard like a good little worker monkey. Don’t spend any time reading or thinking just keep on punching in that card. While the rest of the people with brains will be working, thinking, and caring about what happens to the country. Who knows you might even benefit from their work!!

• Kenny is shocked at the audacity of anyone to conduct real politics. i.e. the politics of people, of movements of people, the politics of civil disobedience, of strikes, of protests. Because like all politicians, he fears people becoming organised. We’re coming for you Enda :)

• The scariest thing about Enda Kenny is he actually believes what he says! The man’s convinced that he’s a great statesman that has great support from his people! Deluded to the point of becoming dangerous!!!

• Enda – our weak, weak leader. I do love how they preach about the law of the land and yet when it comes to crippling the country, the findings of successive tribunals or recent whitewashed reports not a word.

• Enda Kenny:

“And on the 31st of May the government will be calling on you to Vote Yes for Stability”

Same difference?

• Vote Yes for Jobs, Vote Yes for stability, Harsher budgets if you vote no…….what next ??…… we need more europe or our lord himself will come down from the heavens and beat us all with his Holy Stick ………?

• Sick of Kenny the prat and his BS !Liars and traitor to this Country and its people

Try to get him to debate anything and he runs for cover or asks others to take his place COWARD

How many promises did he actually keep when he was elected none that helped the lower Classes !

Our children’s futures in this Country is being soled out by the MUPPETS LIARS ,TRAITORS and THIVES running this country !!!!!

• Jes enda does know how to winde people up.if he said nothing it would pass over , but he has the audacity to tell someone to not bring something that affects everyone up in the dail.terrible attitude,terrible laws,arrogant man.

• The old timers (and there are none that fit that bill more than Inda) in the Dáil are outraged at actually being opposed. Get used to it Mr. Dinosaur, the lefties are about the place, and here to stay!!

• should be ashamed of himself ? Selling out a people is not shameful? selling our Forests, Water, Power and everything else they can get their hands on is not shameful ? How about all the promises Enda? People have been demoralized by these YES men, i suppose they are lining up good jobs for when they leave the country and head for Brussels, Fiscal stability alright for but a few.

• cimada 19/06/12 #

Cry me a river. I hate to piss everyone off but the social welfare in this country is a joke. Far too well paid for nothing. No one gives a crap about those who are taking home barely more than dole + benefits + allowances after working for 45 or 50 hours. Why bother working

• Wow, working 50 hours for €220.. That’s gotta be below minimum wage.. Why aren’t they on to the minister for employment about their slave labour?

• Shanti, that’s a disingenuous statement. There are a large number of people in this country who take home far more than €220 per week in social welfare payments.

• As is every statement about how welfare is like living the dream..
      If its ok to make statements like “the social welfare in this country is a joke. Far too well paid for nothing. No one gives a crap about those who are taking home barely more than dole + benefits + allowances after working for 45 or 50 hours” then it is only fair to present the other side of the coin. Perhaps I should have qualified by saying welfare + rent supplement for a single person sharing, but cimada did not qualify their statement either, the “sole + benefits + allowances could literally mean anything too.
      In my experience of the people I know in receipt of disability allowance and rent supplement, this is the average in our area. €188 + €35.70 per week, so technically €223.70, I merely rounded it to the nearest 0 (because my maths is not the best) access to allowances is dependent upon who lives with you and whether the state decides to hold them accountable for your expenses.

• edna kenny should be ashamed of himself for introducing this punitive tax, fair play to rbb for standing up for the less well off, does the ersi report that stated hundreds of thousands of irish households have less than 100 euro a month disposable income mean nothing to these people?

• Endless Kenny’s got a brass neck saying Richard Boyd-Barrett should be ashamed. It’s Kenny himself should be ashamed of heaping austerity on the poor by imposing the household robbery charge.

• Sick to death hearing this “law of the land” nonsense

Unjust laws are there to be broken. To paraphrase Martin Luther King, never forget that everything done in Nazi Germany was legal!

• Vinny 19/06/12 #

If I had the money to pay the house hold tax .I would . But be honest . As a paye worker with 2 children and medical bills each month 132 euros for drugs for treatment and 100 euros GP bills each month and a loan from perment tsb that’has a higher interest rate then the other banks that the the Irish people bailed out . I have to pay health insurance to get treatment to hold down a job . My question is when will we see justice for my family and the the hard working irish people as
    For the Galway tent madness . It’s going on 4 plus years now .
    I want justice now I want yo see people before the courts to justified my family hardship . I was always a labour supporter . Gilmore has gone back on his word .my jack Russell dog has more balls

• If you recognise the injustices of the political and economic system in this state then why are you saying you’d gladly pay their unjust charge? :-o

Surely you see that the way to attain justice is to resist their nonsense taxes and cuts, not to gladly comply with them!?

• Sli nios fear – a better way is built on the back of this kind of continual display of arrogance from our elected representatives. This once again is a perfect example of the kind of dictatorial indifference that assures everyone that as voters your voice will never be louder than that of those who now hijacked Ireland’s sovereignty. One thing is for sure, if you are really determined to see the back of this kind of politician – We are looking for 166 people capable of being a TD with the determination, education and vision to bring about a better place to do business in – - spread the word to friends and join in.

• Good for you – I admire anyone that gets involved and actually participates in politics regardless of what their policies are.
      Its way too easy to lash out the simplistic vitriol here. This broad brush demonising of all government politicians like they’re Dr Evil type characters with the sole objective of impoverishing the nation for their own benefit is a depressing indictment of the level of political debate here.

I personally disagree with much of the policies and pronouncements of RB Barrett and ULA but at least they’re involved and trying to do something about implementing what they believe in.

So good luck to you with your venture.

• I asked in another article about your groups links with UKIP Martin. A party full of former Tories who are pretty much a bunch of posh bigots. Care to respond?

• Actually Enda has a point. Sadly.

The right to free speech in Ireland is qualified in that it may not be used to undermine “public order or morality or the authority of the State“.

Which is precisely what this little Trot is planning on doing.

Leaving aside the morality of both that constraint on freedom of speech and the household charge itself, Enda is factually correct.

• Maybe Mick Wallace thinks VAT is an unjust Tax and that’s why he didn’t pay up, making a stand just like Ghandi and Martin Luther King .

• Boyd-Barrett comparing himself to Ghandi and Martin Luther King is a bit rich, if not completely arrogant and self-praising.

• I agree with Enda on this. And to be honest I’m sick of the level of ‘debate’ in the comments section of the journal. Absolutely anything written about the government or any of its ministers is shot down instantly. Does anyone really believe that the government or any other TD is wilfully trying to make poor people suffer more or make their lives harder? it’s a difficult job, which they don’t always get right, but to say they do it on purpose is ridiculous. Id love to see RBB make the hard decisions on his first day as a minister.

• Stewart i told a different commentator on a different thread earlier today,rhe government has a report outlining savings of 500million, why don’t they achieve these first instead of goibg after hard pressed homeowners?

• censored 20/06/12 #

What do you mean, they don’t do it on purpose? Perhaps you’re right though. Most of their “decisions” look pretty zombie-like. Explain why Mayo is suddenly the biggest recipient of lotto funding, and why that has no connection with “honest Enda” being the taoiseach. Time to wake up.

• I have to agree with Kenny here,

To even suggest that any TD in Ireland is in anyway similar to Gandhi and Martin Luther King or to even suggest that what Gandhi and Martin Luther King stood for is anyway similar to the house hold charge is frankly insulting to Gandhi and Martin Luther King.

Whilst we may not like it (and I personally don’t) the majority of the country (over 50%) have paid the household charge so Kenny is correct in saying the majority of people support it, if they didn’t then they would not have paid it.

• I suppose you think every single person who voted yes “strongly” believed in that too do you?

As for the comparisons to other law breakers, what about David Norris, a parliamentarian from Ireland who was a pracitsing homosexual who’s actions were illegal up until 1994. He fought for the legalisation of homosexuality and won. Not everything that is legal is just or moral.

• Barry the household charge has been paid for over 50% liable dwelling units this however does not equate to 50% of householders.As some people registered 30+ units as landlords.

• 19/06/12 #

I’d say a lot of people that paid were coerced by the Government scare tactics. Just because they paid, it does not mean they support it. They just paid.

I’m so glad such a lot of people didn’t register for this and he’s calling us lawbreakers. I’m no lawbreaker but I know what’s right and wrong and the property tax is just plain wrong on so many levels.

• Don’t dare insult our intelligence!

Scare tactics, bullying and blackmail that if he don’t get the money he’s going to take it anyway by other means, is NOT wholehearted support for the yellow back streaked coward in power and/or for the charge!

…And where is Phil at the mo? In Rio at a holiday resort for a week and charging it to the state. For what? For a summit with his other five office co-workers. At 600+ Euro a night per room and other expenses, the trip will cost over €10,000

We have a bunch of robbing, bullying, two faced thugs and liars in power.
      They have learned well from Fianna Fail it seems!

• what a load of crap saying if people didnt support it they wouldent have paid it..nobody wanted it…people were scared into paying it same as they were scared into voting yes in the referendum…Enda Kenny has some neck having a go at anyone..

• I would gladly pay the household charge if it meant Mr Philip Hogan could have a hotel upgrade. I mean the poor man, having to hard tail it in Rio on a cultural trip. I’m sure he didn’t want to go. Actually – no. But he can sniff my ar*e to see if he can find the €100. Because I haven’t got it to pay it. Simple. The puppies go hungry or his bar tab is covered. Sorry Phil – you lose. Woof

• Wake up, he is giving us pocket money each week. Hello

• Richard Boyd Barrett is a glorified windbag

• Enda Kenny is a LIAR !!!!!!!!

• Amazed 19/06/12 #

Just a windbag Oliver, nothing glorious about that poor little rich boy

• Haha, I’ll pass that on to Richard, he’ll be glad of the laugh. Just because he has a bit of a posh accent doesn’t mean he’s rich.

• Amazed 19/06/12 #

He has a TD’s salary, thats richer than most!

• Claims the average industrial wage, so earns a little over €32k a year. Rest goes to People before Profit.

• Amazed 19/06/12 #

Is paid a TDs salary, if he wants to give it away that’s his problem

• I hope you can see the flaw in your logic amazed.

• EMD 19/06/12 #

€32k is more than many earn and then when you start to add on the expenses etc. I’m sure you will find he earns plenty more than that. This crap about taking home the average industrial wage is just smoke & mirrors, he still gets paid the same as every other TD out of the public coffers but he, apparently, gives some of it to the party. He is still costing the Irish taxpayer the same as every other TD and spouting BS just the same.

• €32k is the adjusted average industrial wage, i.e. removing high earners, adding up everyones wages and getting an average. So by definition of average 50% earn less than does and 50% earn more, excluding again high earners.

Secondly, Richard is a member of my political party and I can tell you it’s not all smoke and mirrors. He holds himself accountable to the Dun Laoire branch of PbP and if he started claiming all the money for himself he’d be kicked out of the party.

Thirdly, the party gets paid c. €90k euro plus another c.€35k in automatic expenses for each of Richard and Joan. Then Richard and Joan are given the €32k. The rest of the money goes towards paying the wages of party organisers, posters, demonstration costs, leaflets and some goes to local community groups and charities. Some of their wages go to the ULA as well, funding the No campaign recently for example.

You clearly think he’s just as bad as the rest though so that’ll be my last post on the matter, people can make their own minds up. I know the guy and he’s not in it for money, he just cares about helping working people and socialism, creating what in our opinion, is a fairer, more equitable society.

• Amazed 19/06/12 #

Correct, he costs the state the same as any FF, FG or Labour TD. If he chooses to give that to the Socialist Workers Party or ULA or whatever thats just his donation, anyway add (exactly each month hmm) €1000 expenses and you’ll find he’s no pauper.
      http://www.oireachtas.ie/documents/members/dep25feb31dec2011.pdf

I might add that that I have no love for this government, just tickled by Boyd Barrett and the lefts hypocracy

• Amazed 19/06/12 #

Thats correct EMD NOT Martin, your obviously on the payroll :)

• It’s obvious Martin is on the payroll. He spends his day on the Journal forums and sure many others I am sure spouting his nonsense. No one else would spend that much time unless they were being paid. He’s just the same as any paid PR person for any political party.

• I’m actually a research student who is spending my whole summer typing my thesis up on his pc and likes to come onto the journal distract myself. PbP registers all its employees, I’m sure you could find out who they are and although I wish I was being paid, I’m not. I just don’t like tossers like you, I do it for personal enjoyment. For the love of trolling the right-wingers.

• At least RBB is standing up for the ordinary people and I admire that, as we need somebody to stand up for us, because enda’s lot won’t ever. I am very proud to write that I am one of those who won’t pay the household charge, because I know like everyone else, it won’t stay at 100 euros, and so therefore if it is more than that in a few years time, I definitely won’t be able to afford it , with other stealth charges as well. I will willingly come up and take part in the protest, because i think we have to make a stand on this, and is better than sitting on our comfortable chairs at home and whinging. At least RBB is not a coward like enda, and doesn’t shy away from hard questions, whereas enda was too afraid to take part in a referendum debate on TV3, and used stupid excuses not to debate it. What is obvious, is that hogan used the proceeds of the household charge to pay for a 832 a night room in Rio , living like a tycoon when the country is on it’s knees, so am glad that I didn’t pay it and have no intention ever of doing so. Welldone to RBB for standing up to kenny, at least he has guts and honesty, and should be proud of him. On what scale is not paying the household charge, criminal, when the serial murderer who killed two women back in 1976 was on a life support machine at the cost of taxpayers for four years, until he died this year, and it should have been turned off immediately in honour of the women taken so young. . Should the non household tax payers be treated as criminals, like this man? No I say, we have not broken the law, we are only protesting, and we non payers have not hurt or killed anybody, and reading this article, it seems that because people haven’t paid is worse than commiting murder! Shame on you enda, you are the 2nd worse leader after cowen, and Richard Boyd-Barrett would make a better leader than you.

• I’ve paid the tax, didn’t want to but I felt obliged, anyway. Why doesn’t RBB get all the people who will go to the protest to join FG, then Enda et al would have to listen to them. Just a little suggestion.

• Nice to see the left coming out of there shells again after ducking and diving over the wallace affair. I suppose ye will out at Dublin Airport welcoming Mick and Clare back from the Euros

• Richard Boyd Barrett was on national radio condemning Mick Wallace the very same day the story broke about the VAT underpayment, so your comment doesn’t make much sense.

• The left’s response to the Wallace affair was a bit disjointed but the condemnation was clear. Wallace is not involved in anyway with the ULA. He’s a capitalist and a tax cheat who happens to be friends with Clare Daly. Their personal relationship is none of our business and once it doesn’t compromise Clare’s politics or the Socialist Party’s principles it’s of no concern.

• Gandhi and Martin Luther King were fighting life and death and fighting for basic civil and democratic rights.

Boyd Barrett is fighting to keep his tennis club membership instead of paying property taxes on his mansion out in Dun Laoghaire.

• RBB is fighting for social justice while your dear leader heads his little vichy government in administering the greatest social injustice to befall our people in the history of the state.

Proud of your party davie??

• David i’m sure Richard on the inflated wages he gets as a TD will have no problem paying for you have stated(you have proof of course),i on the other hand am working as is my wife.We are struggling to pay the bills we have at the moment.Please tell me where i get the money to pay a charge i can’t afford.Do i miss a mortgage repayment or starve my children once a week.Suggestions welcome because i don’t know.

• Ah higgins jumps in to the discussion when everyone has commented and passed this story by. Then thumbs himself up. Why didn’t you join the argument earlier when everyone was here.

• What mansion? I must go out and have a look. I thought he lived with his mammy and daddy like you. Is that the best you can do, first you back an unfair tax and now your complaining because someone on the left plays sport. I’d say things are very tough in FG at the moment, at least from what I’m hearing. I was wondering when you’d would surface with your usual drivel. You backed the wrong horse David, they’ll be no political career for you.

• Aww David, you all upset?

• And this comment from a man who follows Roy cropper on twitter !!
      No further explanation need !!

• kenny and gilmore …

rock on richard .. keeps it real working for the people getting shafted left right and centre by this crumblin mess of a government.. yea whatever about mick wallace.. he said he owed how many of the other lot have admitted even knowledge of the banking fiasco throwing the muck to rake in the votes…

theyre trying to shaft richard now with their scaremongering and threats.. same as they do to a lot of people speaking out against the scams..

next week ill be living on 15 foodling euros after those doucherys in the bank take it all in interest and overdraft .. i dont like cursing but the bank manager got a verbal bitch slapping today..

toss…

• Nice of RBB and others such as those in Sinn Fein to give up half there Dail Salaries to there various parties which gives them a working salary of 673 euro per week
    however not one of them has mentioned the fact there is another 1500 euros appox per week tax free claimed in expenses which goes into there own pocket .

2000 per week in the hand not bad even for a socialist

• So what’s are the hero’s of capitalism sitting on the back benches supporting the government earning Jerry? You know those pulling down all their salary and expenses? Might give a bit of perspective in fairness.

• That should be your campaign speech.

• Nice to see the left coming out of there shells again after ducking and diving over the wallace affair. I suppose ye will out in Dublin Airport to welcome Mick and Clare back from the Euros

• Gerry what party of the left was Wallace a member of that you are accusing of “ducking and diving”?

• Did you not see the picture of Leo V out with the supporters in Poland last Saturday Jerry? Was hard to miss as it was on the front page of thejournal.ie

• That’s a nice pink shirt Jerry. Are you taking the lead from Mr Wallace?

• Leo payed his own way and owes nothing to the state ….. I presume he did not park in the Aer-Lingus staff car park either .
      Clare Dalys relationship with Mick Wallace is nobody’s business but there own , however the fact of her non condemnation of Mr Wallace’s situation reflects badly on the left and is causing a huge problem for those who complain about rich developers/bankers getting off and the poor having to pay property taxes .
      My pink shirt is something I wore when this particular photo was taken unlike Mr Wallace I do not use it as a cheap marketing tool

• You suggesting the state paid for Wallace’s trip to Poland Jerry? No I’m sure Leo didn’t leave his car in the Air Lingus car park he probably took the government bus to the airport or a taxi being a local. I’ve got no great interest in Wallace but you know he’s earning I think around 80k as a member of the opposition while Leo is earning something like 125k is a member of the government and is meant to be helping run this country. Bottom line I guess if your going to apply standards apply them to all.

Add New Comment