TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

“Ireland must take a stand against Cameron’s plan to dismantle the EU” – Martin

Political and business groups in Ireland have criticised David Cameron’s promise to hold a referendum on Britain’s membership of the EU.

David Cameron at his speech on Europe today
Image: Stefan Rousseau/PA Wire

THERE HAS BEEN criticism from a number of groups in Ireland over David Cameron’s announcement of a referendum on Britain’s membership of the European Union.

The British Prime Minister today promised to hold a referendum by 2017 asking British people whether they want to be in or out of the European Union.

However Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin has said the British ‘Eurosceptic’ agenda should not be indulged and that Ireland must fight against Cameron’s vision to dismantle the EU. He said:

David Cameron is right when he says that public support for the EU is low in his country, but this is at least partly the fault of people who have spent thirty years in a relentless campaign to caricature and demonise the Union.
If David Cameron and his party are so reckless that they will try to bring Britain out of the EU if they don’t get their way, it will be a bad day for everyone, not least the working people of Britain.

Martin said the EU is a “far from perfect union and is in need of reform” but said the British Eurosceptic agenda would dismantle the parts of the EU which have given the greatest benefits to the citizens of Ireland and all other member states.

His comments were echoed by business group IBEC. CEO Danny McCoy said that any shift in Britain’s relationship with the EU could have “massive economic implications for Ireland”.

Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore has said that Britain would be “rocking the boat” if they withdrew from the European Union.

“While we respect that this [Britain's decision regarding membership of the EU] is very much a British matter, we [Ireland] have an interest in it. At this critical time, we need to concentrate on the things that Europe needs to do.

A recent Red C poll found that two thirds of Irish people think Ireland should remain in the EU if Britain leaves.

Poll: Should Ireland hold a referendum on EU membership? >

Read: One third think Ireland should leave the EU if the UK does >

Read: British withdrawal from the EU would be ‘rocking the boat’ – Gilmore >

Read next:

Comments (95 Comments)

• Meh Martin advising UK politicians.
    That’s funny!

• “Ireland must take a stand against Cameron’s plan to dismantle the EU” – That’s not his plan, it’s what’s politically required of him as the leader of his country, that is to listen to the will of the people. Michael “report” Martin shoving his nose in it again.
    Governments are elected by the people for the people, not to dictate to the people as seems to be the understanding among our politicians.

• yes you couldn’t have put it better , I’ve been saying this all along that politicians are supposed to be servants of the people who elect them , but it turns out that we are all servants of eurocratic Brussels

• I’m pretty sure the EU could survive a UK exit. What implications there’d be for Ireland is a different matter. Would it impact on Irish jobs & trade with the UK? I honestly don’t know.

• Every time some country tries to leave this giant cult, we are threatened with financial Armageddon. Same when we had notions of letting our private zombie banks (to call Anglo a bank is an offence to the word “bank”, it was more like a financial septic tank), same response, “you can’t because the world will basically implode”. Anything that doesn’t fit in with this bureaucratically fuelled ideology that has taken over the EU project, gets threatened with ruination. So much so, that the UK will be lucky if they ever get to see a referendum on this subject, and if we were ever managed to get one here, we know well we’d be told to keep voting until we gave the required answer.

How people think that is healthy to remain a part of something like this, is something that I can’t get my head around these days.

• That is spot on iGarage.

• Is this the same Ireland who opted out of the Robin Hood tax today? So whose cherry picking now?

• Seems to me that Cameron is putting Britain before Europe… we should be taking a leaf out of their book. I dont think that the French or Germans put Europe ahead of their own sovereignty like Ireland seem to.

• Regardless of the implications of this move I am more then a little disturbed by Martins characterisation of Camerons decision to ask the people of Britain to voice their opinion as “reckless”. Whats reckless is that Martin has just made clear to the people of Ireland that we are not his employers but merely subjects to be browbeaten to the will of the governement. People should not be afraid of their government etc etc.

If the people of Britain have no wish to be in europe any longer then that is their decision, strange though it may seem to people like Martin. It is not a decision for Cameron and his ilk to make, and more importantly, if he sees public discontent it is his duty as the leader of government to ask the people to make that decision.

If the EU is right for Britain then they will vote to stay, if its not, they wont. Martin is obviously expecting a decision to leave, which hes condemning, even though thst would be a decision made by the people of britain about the future direction of their own country… I’m flabbergasted by this…

• As if David Cameron will be taking any heed of the deluded arseholes in this country like Micheal Martin & Eamon Gilmore when he is putting the future of the British people, to the British people.

No matter how bad things get in this country, these stoogies will never be capable of any response other than, “our future lies at the very heart of the EU”, it’s like Father Jacks trained response to any question, “that would be an ecumenical matter”, these stoogie arseholes only know one response, in blind obedience to our unelected EU overlords, “our future is at the heart of the EU!”… Even if that means the complete destruction of our economy through austerity? You know the response: “our future lies at the very heart of the EU!”. Even if that means we are stuck with 500,000 people unemployed and rising, because we are bleeding the evonomy and everyone in it, DRY, to pay for zombie private bank investments that took place 10 years ago? “Our future lies at the heart of the EU”…

At least Cameron has the fundamental cop on to see that you cannot expect a different result on the economic front, for as long as you keep doing the very same thing in terms of whatever course of action is being taken, or as is clearly the case here, whatever course of action isn’t being taken.

• Yer dead right! Like Cameron has even heard of the likes of Mehole Martin! And even if by some freak of nature he has,, like he gives a rats micky what Mehole thinks. Friggin laughable!

• the irony of it is that the unemployment rate now is higher than most of the 80s rates , what would the country be like today if instead of signing maastricht Fianna Fail stepped aside and organised a politician x factor to recruit proper leaders who could have developed an indigenous based economy as opposed to the ‘short term’ come and go economies that the EU brings

• Micheal Martin Enda Kenny FF FG what is the difference answers on a postcard and send it too the Department for the same guys making a living out of pretending to be different .

• HOLD THE PRESS: Cameron fighting for his political life as Britain rocked by Martin’s devastating comments….. Holy God

• Martin said ” the British Eurosceptic agenda would dismantle the parts of the EU which have given the greatest benefits to the citizens of Ireland and all other member states”

what parts exactly is he referring to ? is it the uncontrolled immigration ,the erosion of sovereignty and democracy , the coldron of policy that enabled property developers to bankrupt the country ????

what ever happened to “a sovereign nation owned by the Irish People”

• I agree. The EU has evolved from a common market and currency (a good thing by all accounts) to a sovereign entity dictating terms to member states whose rules and courts take precedent over no longer sovereign members’.

• A lot of idiots voted and if they got it wrong they voted again the “right” way….
      The sooner people realise our economy is so different to main land European countries the better channce we have of surviving this recession. Id be all on for leaving the Euro!!! And before anyone gets in their high horse… Just think about the fact our government thinks its a good idea-cos so far everything they’ve said would help us clearly has…..

• Karens right. As an exporting economy being able to control the value of our own currency (a la china) would be a major boost. The UK needs the EU far more than we do. We export mainly to the UK and US so the loss to us would be less than people imagine. Plus we could abandon our debts (but obviously then balance our budget)

• Spot on John!

• @John, amazing how quick people forget the pressure the Irish punt was coming under before we joined the euro and our deficit was nothing lkike it is now

• The nerve of that man. He who was as guilty as the rest of that FF government that brought this country to its knees. I think he would be better off keeping his mouth shut. He’s one of the criminals that voted for the blanket bank guarantee that destroyed Ireland. As if anyone in Britain would listen to that gangsters opinion.

• Also Martin would want to cop himself on and realise that the fastest growing parties around europe are in fact anti eu parties , for example Dansk Folkeparti of Denmark and UKIP of Britain , True Finns of Finland etc etc

• Ah cut the bull, we let our own property developers run wild, nothing to do with the EU. In fact around the turn of the millennium the EU had strong words for McCreevy who was spending like there was no tomorrow and over-inflating the economy.

• Higgins…. nothing to do with the EU??? And I guess seein as ur a member of the Continuity FF party, that is FG, that ur opinion is probably fairly reflective of yer partys view too.

Yer assertion is so ridiculous… Firstly we, in Eire, had no control of interest rates courtesy of our good friends in the ECB, which absolutely fueled that crazy manic building boom. Did the euro really suit our economy, or did it suit Germanys economy?

Secondly, all we need do is look at how the EU treated us during and after the bailout….

FFS

• And they won’t stop onto they get what they want and thats is a fed E.U. and what will Ireland agree

• John
      Your wrong actually! Most of our exports go to the EU excluding the UK. Funny how a political view can be based on incorrect information!

• I think we need to do the exact opposite to what ever it is that some of the big businesses here and IBEC want us to do!!!! Seriously I like the single euro currency and most European people’s, but that’s as far as it goes. IMO we need to get out of the EU more so now than ever, default on the entire debt, hence eliminate all mortgage and personal debt, create a new bank owned and controlled by the irish people, peg ourselves against the USD or STG and start living again. With no debt overhanging then our salaries we get could be reduced drastically and we can set proper pay scales for all and start a fresh only this time with proper leaders. We could get rid of the Seanad completely, create a new electoral system that works and simply the entire public sector. Why do we have 15 different rates of PRSI??? Seriously…, simplify simplify simplify…

• MojoRise 24/01/13 #

As for why I don’t trust IBEC the main reason is this…. they seek to make the wealthy wealthier at a huge cost to the ordinary citizen. My justification for this reasoning is simple and can be backed up by a recent report published on the journal a couple of weeks ago. The Dept. of Justice released figures showing that there were ~ 80000 successful irish visas applications in 2012… Yet we also know that approx 100000 young Irish people are leaving this country each year. Now my question is how can this be let happen??? Most Irish people would take many off the jobs on offer these days simply to get back to work, but the fact is that big businesses like the big meat/chicken processing plants, fruit processing company’s, manufacturing plants etc. all want/demand and lobby IBEC and they in turn lobby the government of the day to allow such huge numbers of non EEA to allow mass immigration of people who they (big business that is) can and do, unfortunately, easily exploit e.g. Brazilians, Russians, Indians etc….

http://www.thejournal.ie/visa-immigration-ireland-2012-737991-Jan2013/

So u see IBEC are representing the rich and successful big businesses and lobbying government to allow for mass immigration and portraying it and pawning it off as a jobs shortage in the ITC sector when in fact I reckon it’s actually mass immigration to fill jobs in many many sectors.

• MojoRise 24/01/13 #

So its full steam
      ahead and the irish government are facilitating the emigration of the well educated jobless young irish and the ‘sure to be soon uprising trouble making’ people whom will seek change with the cheap and easily exploited sheepish (no disrespect intended but they know if they don’t tow the line there out) non EEA people’s…. And IMO this is what both IBEC and the government want…. It helps both stay in power for longer…

If I’m wrong don’t red thumb me i rather if u disagreed and stated a reason/reasons.

I want an island of Ireland for all of its people’s to benefit equally (not some more equally than others) and use all of her resources for the sole benefit of the people’s living on this island. My vision my dream…

• Martin part of a government that sold out the country to suit the Franco German needs. As member of a party that sold out our natural resources with the support of the new collection agents for Europe in FG/LAB. FF leader Lord Haw Haw Martin a servile lackey to Europe with supporting muppets Enda Eunuch Kenny and Goebbels Gilmore.

• David Cameron has no intention of leaving the EuroPoject he has not, he is on record as saying it.He is under severe pressure from UKIP who are flying up the polls because they want out and so does the population.So Cameron says put me back in next election and i “Promise” i will give ye a referendum .Now does anyone with any sanity see the connection between what politicians say and what they dont do.He’s talking spin buying time deflecting away from his own unpopularity and diverting it away to Europe.Cameron like all other International leaders are puppets for the Central Bankers so even though him and our fella have a healthy habit of lying to the citizens he comes and says aload of crap that any serious political commentator says is a re-election ticket but no we carry on to believe them until we find out they were making fools of us but then its too late because they are already on to the next lie and the cycle continues its baffling to see people still taking these proven liars word for anything they say.Some trick and johhny public still falls for it everytime.God bless ye.

• So martin want’s Ireland to make a stand against the United Kingdom dismantling the eu…
    Now would that be because they havn’t finished shafting it ,or is it that all the fat cats (this shower included) don’t want to have to get off the eu gravy train and be made accountable.
    Maybe there should be a referendom held here or are the government afraid of the outcome.

• THERE IS NO IRELAND ,only a small part of a german state. !! go for it david, dont rock the boat ,sink the f***ing thing !!

• We should row in behind Britain and have a referendum to see if we still want to be in the United States of germania. I mean Europe. I’m tired of our little piglet politicians all fighting to suckle on mama pig (Europe) nipple instead of growing a set and standing up for what’s needed in this country. We are now living on the scraps that euro leaders decide we can have. And apparently sky sports and movies are not in the deal are they noonan. Keep telling everyone it’s our debt. It’s not our bucking debt. 99.9% of the people did not buy land in rings end worth more per sq meter that beach front land in Monaco. Where was European legislation to stop that happening. It looks like Europe need us more than we need them. Pay back what we can when we can. You get one life and we have already lost one generation to this agenda. Lets not loose more.

• I reckon we should do the same here, it will give the government the correct mandate on how to proceed with the EU

• The problem with the European union is that there are so many different Cultures. It was okay I suppose in the beginning. Somewhere along the way. The Idea of a common Market seems to have evaded them. I think it was meant to be a common Market now it is the powerful countries more or less dictating to the lesser one on what should be done.De Gaulle’s Idea of A European Common Market has all but been thrown in the air.Also there are to many countries with different historic backgrounds. Where they trying to have a United states of Europe I wonder.

• There’s probably not a single thing more likely to encourage an out vote than foreign EU leaders interfering in Britain’s affairs.

What Mickey is mostly worried about is that a major source of EU funding will dry up, that once they are confronted with being net contributors the Irish people will want out and that Ireland will then end up in an alliance with the UK that’s far from his republican ideals.

• IMO ,England would be doing the right thing by leaving the EU ,and Ireland should do so too.

• Ireland is suffering from Stockholm syndrome

• Julie 23/01/13 #

I can’t think of any benefit of being in the eu , you have to admire Cameron he is giving the people the represents a choice! The eu is not democratic , we have no say in anything we just have to go along with whatever the eu says and who elected these people to the eu I know we had no say in it !

• We’ve seen here on several occasions, what flavour of “democracy” that the EU affords to people: “no matter what you tell us, we’ll just keep asking you to hold referendums until we get the correct answer out of you and your wishes comply with our ideology”. At least if the UK gets a vote on membership, they wouldn’t tolerate being asked again in 12 months time on the same deal. There is something seriously shítty at the very centre of the EU and it’s about time the whole thing was exposed for what it is, a giant bureaucratic cult that doesn’t serve anyone except those engaged in the infinite offices and quango’s that run this monstrosity.

• The biggest mistake for Ireland was joining the European Union. How exactly does EU membership fit in with Irish Nationalism/Sovereignty? It doesn’t. If Scotland becomes independent they would be smart not to join the EU, they have their North Sea; so they will be fine without the EU. What long-term benefits does the EU offer Ireland? This country has just become a poodle for the EU.

• Good man, Kevin. You might want to take a wee look at the history books and do a “before & after the EU” comparison in Irish economics.

• KEVIN.N 23/01/13 #

The Celtic Tiger was between 1995-2008, while Ireland has been in the EU since the 70s. Was the Celtic Tiger economy really that great in the end? How long has Ireland been an independent country? You can also credit Eamon de Valera/the Roman Catholic Church for keeping Ireland poor and uneducated after independence. Oh wait and what party did he belong to? Fianna Fail have been in control the last 14 years (1997-2011). The same party that oversaw and didn’t (ignored all warnings/signs for short term profit at the expense of the whole country) even try to prevent the collapse of the Irish economy or care to.

• Hey Vincenzo it all comes down to what did we owe then and what do owe now .Did we have electoral control of the country do we have it now.

• @jack- actually it comes down to standard of living, employment, infrastructure, prospects.

• Jasus Vincent, which side are you taking! Cause yer deffo makin the euro-skeptics case there ole son! lol

• Vincezo do you not thin that we would not have came with modernization anyway surely we would have moved on from the reign of De Velera and Haughy naturally i think we could have managed that .Then again when you have FF FG successive Governments for 50 years maybe it might have been a struggle .

• @jack- economic power houses in Europe & across the world are terrified that the emergence of the highly populated BRIC nations will render them irrelevant and you want little old Ireland to follow an economic path predicated in the potential of the peat cutting and roof thatching industries. Please.

• There is a thing called Free Makes another thing called Exports another thing called oil another thing called gas another thing called wind another ting called fish another thing called wrong guys in power wrecking all the god given moneybags we would have in this country but we dont because of Imperialist snobfoolerys like set government and old english gentleman.

• Markets.

• 80 % of our trade is with the uk and the eu forced us into going begging to the imf so financially we should all understand who our friends are,the eu is purely a financial club and one that we are quite obviously not welcome in.

• It’;s probably worth pointing out that the most recent youGOV poll shows that 40% of UK population want to stay in Europe and 34% want to leave.

http://yougov.co.uk/news/2013/01/21/eu-vote-stay-40-leave-34/

Also, business leaders have said that Cameron’s political strategy is risky and could harm the economy.

http://uk.reuters.com/article/2013/01/23/uk-britain-europe-business-idUKBRE90M0QL20130123

pandering to the back benches.

• Ireland is still suffering from the arse licking grovelling syndrome.

• Time for a United Ireland again; as part of the UK!
    Makes such obvious sense.

If we hurry, we could rejoin in 3 years time to mark ’100 Of Mismanagement’: we ran our own affairs, ruined our countryside with ghost estates and zombie hotels, bankrupted the national wealth & lost our sovereignty, driving our best and brightest into mortgage slavery or emigration. 1916 – 2016.

• So basically what we’ve learned here is that Martin either didn’t understand what Cameron said and reacted with the usual europhile “yez’ll all die cold and hungry in yet beds… dont you remember the famine? that’s what it will be like outside the EU!” nonsense or didn’t read what he said and reacted in the usual “oh dirty Brit eurosceptics want to ruin the EU for everyone” manner.

I don’t fully trust Cameron’s motivation on this. I suspect it’s more to do with national election rather than a Harold Wilson type desire to reform the UK’s relationship with the EU.

However, taking what he has said at face value, it’s not that dramatic, dangerous or reckless at all. He’s brought up the much bandied about but never involved “subsidiary” idea, given to us via the Laeken declaration but ignored since.

What is “reckless” is the mindless europhiles like Martin, Kenny et al who, as mention by Wilson, enter negotiations “crawling in” and issue “unconditional acceptance” of whatever is put to them.

It’s rather sad to see one of leaders of the opposition making such a tool of himself… Again.

• Even if it’s a cynical tactic on Cameron’s part to get re-elected, I for 1 am glad he had the ‘cojones’ to give that speech. Rather than continuing to sheepishly follow the dictates of the EU without questioning, without any real voices of dissent or opposition from European leaders, I believe he has exposed the ‘elephant’ in the room by addressing issues and concerns EU citizens have. He’s the first European leader to speak out, all others seem to be afraid of Germany getting upset. I hope the reform he is looking for is carefully considered as I believe it’s badly needed. The way it is at the moment, the very life is being sucked out of us. Something does need to change!

• If Ireland held the same referendum I would vote to stay in the EU.

• Is it me or do the comments by Micheal Martin really sound as though they’re coming from a man who fundamentally doesn’t expect to be a Taoiseach serving at the same time as Cameron is in Number 10? At least he understands he and his party won’t be getting a chance to finish off this Republic any time soon.

• What did the EU ever do for us? They built all our roads. Well yes, but apart from that what did the EU ever do for us? They are a big part of the reason we’ve attracted all the FDI we have. Well yes, but apart from that what did the EU ever do for us? Well, they kept our farmers afloat through huge transfers. Well yes, but apart from that what did the EU ever do for us? Well they lent us money to bail us out when we were BUST.

All this is a big part of why many Brits want out if the EU. but now we’ve milked it we want out per Journal readers. Can’t believe all the anti-EU tone here. Sure it’s not perfect and the “denocratic deficit” is a major issue but we have been massive beneficiaries of our EU membership. FACT as Rafa would say

• Many feel that we live in a dictatorship…why would we want to continue living in that system when its a disaster for us and the planet…theres 100000000s of ways to make things simpler for everyone…Iceland and the type of society there could happen here.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/politics/2013/jan/10/scottish-independence-british-irvine-welsh
      “On wider political issues, he considers that the peace process in Northern Ireland could be encouraged if the Irish Republic felt more like part of a “shared geographical” entity with Britain.

“This state has stopped England from pursuing its main mission, namely to build an inclusive, post-imperial, multi-racial society, by forcing it to engage with the totally irrelevant (from an English perspective) distractions of Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland,” he writes on the Bella Caledonia website.

“From the viewpoint of the Scots, it has foisted 35 years of a destructive neo-liberalism upon us, and prevented us from becoming the European social democracy we are politically inclined to be.

“Therefore I’m advancing another proposition: political separation could promote the cultural unity that the UK state, in its current form, with its notions of ‘assumed Englishness’ is constantly undermining.”

He refers to last summer’s Olympic celebrations, put together by director Danny Boyle, who turned Welsh’s book Trainspotting into a hit film.

“Despite the shallow flag-waving social engineers in government and sections of the media, who tried to turn it into a bread-and-circuses propaganda event, the Olympics were the best expression of inclusive Britishness we’ve had for decades,” he argues.

“Danny Boyle, in a couple of hours, did more to assert democratic socialist values over neo-liberalism than the UK Labour party has managed to do in almost 40 years. But it was also nostalgic; it mirrored not just what many of us still aspire to, it showed us what we have to accept we’ve irredeemably lost.

“But I cheered just as ecstatically when Brad Wiggins crossed the line as when Chris Hoy did, and plenty other Scots I know did too. So post-UK, why not, for example, just keep the British Olympic team?”

He contrasts the countries that make up the UK with those of Scandinavia, in an attempt to dispel any notion that Scottish political independence could lead to “conflict” or distrust.

“If we rid ourselves of the political imperialist baggage of the UK state, new possibilities emerge,” he continues.

“For example, it would become feasible for Ireland, as an established sovereign nation, to see itself as part of a shared geographical and cultural entity.

“This, in turn, brings potential opportunities for the continued development of the peace process in Northern Ireland.

“The idea of the political independence of England and Scotland leading to conflict, hatred and distrust is the mindset of opportunistic status-quo fearmongers and gloomy nationalist fantasists stuck in a Bannockburn-Culloden timewarp, and deeply insulting to the people of both countries.

“Swedes, Norwegians and Danes remain on amicable terms; they trade, co-operate and visit each other socially any time they like.

“They don’t need a pompous, blustering state called Scandinavia, informing them from Stockholm how wonderful they all are, but (kind of) only really meaning Sweden.”

Print this

More on Scottish independence
      The Scottish parliament building at the foot of the Royal Mile
      • Learn all you need to know about the referendum on Scottish independence which will take place in 2014 with the Guardian’s essential guide

Article history
      Politics

Scottish independence

Books

Irvine Welsh

UK news

Scotland

More news

More on this story

Judges in wigs

Alex Salmond should start work on a constitution now ‘in fairness to voters’

A leading human rights lawyer objects to a delay to work on a possible written constitution for Scotland, while other experts dispute whether one is necessary or workable

Kevin McKenna: Scottish independence is fast becoming the only option

• actually I think you’ll find we had plenty of roads before we joined the EU in 1993 , yes we got funding to build new roads but there is nothing to suggest that given the right political leadership that an Independent nation state could not self generate such funding 10 times over !! , I mean look at the ROSingapore ,appearing in the top 5 GDP per capita economies of the world in reports prepared by the IMF and world bank , yes the prospects for Independent Sovereign states looks quite promising , lets just go back to free trade agreements and keep it at that

• KEVIN.N 23/01/13 #

It’s interesting how whenever Ireland votes “No” on a treaty they just dismiss the vote until it comes out to the result they like…..Hm democracy in action.

• Really nothing more than a cynical tactic by PM Cameron to recover lost support from UKIP. I cannot see the LibDems or Labour endorsing this referendum, so it may never come to a vote. As for all the nonsense about Irish economic sovereignty outside the EU, you should take a course in Irish economic history. I can heartily recommend a course delivered by my colleague, Dr. Aidan Kane at NUI Galway :)

• Britain has behaved as a “half member” of the EU over the last 35yrs and rather than play their full part, they look to place the blame on other EU members for their antipathy.

• Nonsense. The UK has been a contributor to the EU budget since 1973. No half contributions either. The UK is the second highest net contributor to the UK budget to the tune of €3.5bn a year.

Simply evaluate they don’t accept everything without question doesn’t mean they’re not part of the club.

• Methinks ‘Meehall’ hasn’t read what Cameron actually said, “Ireland must take a stand against Cameron’s plan to dismantle the EU”. Really? What would Ireland do, threaten to stop buying all things British, maybe stop exporting to the UK in protest. Martin is a clown, one of the same clowns from the last circus who, in govt. handed over what was left of Irish independence to the ECB and IMF when those muppets lost control of the economy thanks to their incompetence and the greed of their banker and developer friends. The UK is Ireland’s biggest trading partner and vice versa, so whatever happens to the UK and EU partnership it is going to affect Ireland and at this point it would be hard to say in what way. Don’t forget folks, before Ireland ever joined the common market as it was then, it already had very favourable access to the UK market and free movement of goods and people thanks to the common travel area. The UK will do what is best for the UK and in truth it is unlikely they would leave anyway, even Cameron himself has said as much. There is a battle going on within the conservative party right now which Cameron can’t afford to lose and many hardline Tories are switching to UKIP hence the hardening of the Euro scepticism stance by Cameron. Mehall needs to at least get with the programme if he is to avoid making stupid statements like this. Mind you it’s only Fianna FAILure we are talking about here! He’ll be backing ‘drink and drive’ permits in Kerry next!

• Journal 2017 headline: David Cameron in Brussels to grovel re-entry post Economic rebound of the worlds largest trading block and subsequent crash of the over quantitatively eased pound…

• Frankly, there is about a 1% chance of this referendum occurring. Cameron won’t be PM after the next General Election and the referendum will be after that time

Add New Comment