TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
: °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Update: 600lb explosive device found in Newry was ‘fully primed’

The bomb was found in a vehicle just outside Newry, and police say it had the potential to be devastating.

Image: Photocall Ireland

Updated 2.10pm

POLICE IN NORTHERN Ireland have said a viable explosive device found in a van just outside Newry was fully primed and contained 600lbs of explosives.

The PSNI has said that had the bomb exploded, it would have been devastating. Anyone within 50 metres of the device would have been killed and anyone within 100 metres would have been seriously injured.

The device was twice as big as the bomb which exploded outside the courthouse in Newry in February 2010. The bomb, which was found in a suspicious vehicle in the Fathom Line area on Thursday evening was also 300lbs larger than the Omagh bomb which killed 29 people, including a woman who was pregnant with twins in August 1998.

The Citroen Berlingo van had been abandoned at Fathom Line and a member of the public alerted police on Thursday afternoon.

The PSNI said the road was closed within 12 minutes. Chief Superintendent Alasdair Robinson has responded to criticism that cars were able to drive past the device:

Many police services would struggle to get an international border closed in this time frame. There was some residual traffic following the closures and while we made the public aware of the road closures and advised them to avoid the area, a few cars ignored our advice.

It’s understood that the dissident republicans are thought to be responsible for the device. Police say they can only speculate on what the bomb’s potential target was.

Meanwhile a number of homes were evacuated in north Belfast overnight following the discovery of a device under a parked car in the Ballygomartin Road area.

Read next:

Comments (57 Comments)

• isnt is scary how many “viable devices” are dealt with each week in this country, north and south. one in Tipperary last night too. thank god for the bomb disposal squads.

who gives the tip offs though?? it’s not like the guards stumble upon a device under a car.

• 600lb bomb could have done alot of damage, and killed hundreds, when are they going to stop.

• Will it ever end?

• i hope people wont be out off going to N.I, been there recently and travelling again soon. its a great place with great people. I wish these scumbags would just feck off and leave the NI citizens live some kind of a normal life.

• Just what kind of twisted mentality do these thugs have?

• Why would anyone plant a bomb to kill ordinary people. What a mental and insane thing to do.
    I just don’t understand why someone would do this.
    They must be completely mad.
    A bunch of lunatics

• animals

• Cowardly animals, they wouldn’t be half as fast signing up for a stint in Afganistan, absolute cowards killing the innocent

• Why in hell, would anyone want to sign up for Afghanistan … That would be just plain stupid, going to fight a war in another country, at the request of who??
      I think we need to get these guys into Prison as quickly as possible, before they do any more harm.

• Does anyone know why these idiots are at this?? The don’t represent anyone in the north!! Capital punishment should be introduced for anyone that plants an explosive device anywhere on this island! These are real cowards, leave bombs to explode and run away like children pressing doorbells and scarpering!!

• Absolute Scum, in the words of a current Northern Irish “Peacemaker TD”, “They haven’t gone away you know”.

• We still have our own Taliban in Ireland it seems. Bunch of worthless scumbags.

• bloody sods…. the Berlingo is a lovely van how dare these dirty shites try to blow one up Typical of the bullyiung cowards who hide in North Louth Ravensdale, Jonesboro and Cooley used to be nice places before the rats burrowed into the earth…

• It’s disgusting that this type of thing can still go in a modern, democratic, secular society.

• Aaron t 28/04/12 #

Got to agree with Brian as well I remember not so long ago Martin McGuiness being given police protection up North because one of the factions were calling him a traitor and threatening to kill him.

• The devices dealt with in the south are, for the most part, crude enough pipe bombs not car bombs loaded with fertilizer that can kill dozens. Some context is needed in comparing them. Both are made by republicans though

• Aaron t 28/04/12 #

How do you know the ones in the south are republicans, would love to know where you got that info from. I have been trying to find a source that states who is leaving the bombs in the south.

• I said made Aaron, it has been widely reported that republicans with the know how are for hire to build pipe bombs. Fingers have been pointed at RIRA and INLA. As for who plants it’s the usual, drugs, feuds etc

• Ciaran, anyone idiot with an Internet connection can make a pipe bomb, you don’t have to be a republican. There are hundreds of pages and even videos of how to make them and even more dangerous devices available. don’t let that stop you blaming republicans though.

• Brian do you think a bunch of geezers are sitting around doing YouTube tutorials on pipe bombs when they can just pay someone to do it for them? Is it not possible that people with the history and expertise might have gone into that work?

• Aaron t 28/04/12 #

It could be anyone that’s what why I was asking where did you get your source from, but you are clearly just speculating. And as someone else said it could be some idiot who has been learning from the web or could be drug dealers or republicans, so we are now back at square one asking who is it in the south making these devices?

• Oh I agree with you Ciaran and there is apparently some guy either an ex-Provo or INLA that is for hire in Dublin according to the media but that doesn’t mean that it’s “republicans” to blame. Is it not possible that someone from a non republican background has decided to hire them self out also? All they have to do is get a copy of the Al-Queada ********* ******** off the web and bobs your uncle. They did a very good issue on pipe bombs and one issue had the aptly named article “How************************ mom”! According to security analysis websites the instructions are spot on.

*I redacted the full title’s in case some idiot actually did go looking for it but I have seen it and it even gives you pictures the whole lot. * So the thing is until we know who is making them and they are caught I wouldn’t go pointing any fingers for fear that the focus is only in one direction while someone else is hiding in the shadows.

• Aaron/Brian I’m not grinding an axe with republicanism, mainstream or anti-agreement. If someone is ex PIRA or INLA they will pretty much still be labelled republican in terms of ideology. As for sources just google dissidents and pipebombs. Pretty sure an INLA member was caught the M50 with a stash, will try find a link. I doubt criminals with access to cash are bothering to study how to construct them. At the same time that fascist nut in Norway built himself something comparable to what was found today, so all it takes is time and effort

• You are right about the M50 Ciaran that was a while back now. As for the ideology, if the guy was caught and it turned out that he was,say, a Fine Gael supporter making a few quid for himself on the side, would you then state that “Both are made by Blueshirts though”?! :-)

• I’m a “Republican” and I don’t make pipe-bombs for anyone, nor do I know how to. Can we just call them all terrorists for goodness sake? For the person who’s at the receiving end, it doesn’t matter what twisted version of an ideology they follow.

• There are still a number of sectarian elements capable of making these devices. Someone said it was common knowledge who was responsible, well it’s not common knowledge to me. It could be any branch of sectarian zealots.

• And some people want us to join up with these murdering nutters! No thank you!

• 20 bottles of bleach please

If you seen the film 4 Lions you’ll get the above……….

• surely the Sine Fein democratic constitutional politicians (and former terrorists) should be able to supply the civic police in both jurisdictions about the activities of many of their former accomplices in order to prevent this sort of rubbish continuing. or are they really satisfied that the dissidents are carrying on the war.

• Aaron t 28/04/12 #

They won’t inform on them for a few reasons such as they are aware that dissident republican activity makes them appear to be a peaceful alternative to violent methods. Also some won’t inform because they used to be comrades with these guys and may respect or fear some of them. Also you need to factor in that new groups like ONH are largely made up of young men who have no connection to members of Sinn Fein.

• Jim, the dissidents HATE SF with passion, even going so far as threatening to kill Adams and McGuinness so do you really think they would be telling the local Shinners what they are up to?

• Only a little while ago when security experts warned of IRA threats to the London Olympics the shinner sock puppets tried to claim the threat was gone.

• Madeline that was Richard English from St Andrews University in Scotland that said that. He also said that it was a dissident threat but the usual SF haters came on and tried to tie in SF with dissidents. The two are totally separate entities but some people are so blinkered that they either din’t know or don’t want to know so long as it’s anti-SF.

You also have to factor in that while Richard English is a highly respected expert in his field he also has to say something like that in order to cover his own ass. If he had said nothing and a bomb did go off then he wouldn’t look so expert would he? Personally I don’t think that they will as the security in London will be enormous and besides every other terrorist group in the world will be having a go.

• Madeline just wants the hate to keep going, some people are incapable of accepting the democratic process. SF are not the problem Madeline and you know it. More likely, its some extremist scumbags from one side or the other (loyalist or Nationalist). Scum are scum, no matter which side they come from.

• Cal,
      I’m sorry but that is another nonsensical comment/accusation. I’m not saying all members of SF support the RIRA. I’m saying the people who went out of the way to attempt to discredit the experts’ ( Richard English? thank you Brian) on the other thread were largely the same people who constantly post on here to preach whatever opinion SF tell them to have.
      As usual the facts bear me out.

• Madelline, Not every member of FFg/Labour support the RiRA either. You are right……… You see how anyone can twist such a sick twisted view. Its is scum-bags that try to sell this information in this fashion, in order to encourage terrorism. Get a grip and give peace a chance, instead of trying to associate SF with the scum bags involved in this incicent. You conveniently forgot to mention that SF members (North and South) had to get Police and Garda protection, because the scum nags wanted to kill them for supporting the Police and the Northern Assembly. I know this is just an inconvenient truth, which discredits your arguments, but dont let the truth get in the way of your making these type of arguments. I am not a member of SF, never have been and never will be. I beleive SF will advance their party support by voting in a new leader. So, please dont try and brand me a Shinner etc… I speak the truth and you know it.

• padraig i be s one meself other side of Annaverna yes to blow up a Berlingo c’est tres sacrilege m’sieu

• The question should be asked, what benefit do these bombs offer to the cause of ‘dissident republicans’? What is the point of carrying out such operations? They are not only wrecklessly dangerous but futher alienate any support they still have and are, as such, completely, stupidly counterproductive.

It is not out of the question therefore that these alerts are originating from another source. Do certain elements within the security forces need to prove their jobs or funds shouldn’t be cut? Is it in somebody else’s benefit to heighten tension?

• mcbab 28/04/12 #

RG Cuan. You are out of your mind!!!!

• An idiotic statement RG

• RG Cuan has a very valid point and it would be very childish and ignorant to suggest otherwise. The British security forces have a history spanning decades of false flag operations. Its common knowledge that there are elements in the British military intellegence opposed to the fruits of the peace process. Common knowledge.

• Isn’t it more likely that some young thug looks at certain terrorist/politicians and sees a chance to have a nice lifestyle. Terrorist crimes, prison, sob story. write a few books then go into politics. Easy, if you don’t have a conscience.

• Flashpoint,
      defend terrorists blame British. Let me guess which party you support?

• It’s a valid theory, but theory nonetheless… The facts are what we are told by the security forces and we are supposed to believe them because they are there to protect us! Or are we all just a pack of gullible shites? My opinion, we are!

• Madeline, its people like you and Torkeel and other commentators that wont stand shoulder to shoulder with the democratically elected TDs and MLA’s. Its the likes of McAllisters TUV that continue to spin the hate message, and lets not share power message, that only encourages the scum like those involved in this incident to keep doing what they are doing. Give peace a chance, and attack policies, not personalities.

• Cal,
      what a short memory you have. You might take a look at your own post history Plenty of attacks on personalities there…
      Again, logic fail on the fact that I won’t stand with TDs.. I would be prepared stand with those I believe have the best interests of this country at heart ( which is very few of them). Your comments are nonsensical but then what should I expect from someone who accuses me of being anti-Irish for condemning the murders of Irish people by the IRA. Why don’t you put the 6 killed in Gibraltar ” into context” as you put it. If you’re so independently minded.

• Madelline, i attack the likes of FFg/albour for continuing the financial terrorist policies that FF maintained. Big difference to your attacks which relate to a war that ended in the last century. Yes, FFg/Labour and Sf are all born out of war, they were all involved in guerilla war fare and all involved in the murders of innocent peoople, in exactly the same manner as the Loyalists, the RUC and the British Army. The WAR is over. Scum bags like these guys with their bomb, and the murderers of Ronan Kerr etc, should all be locked up forever. The Irish people endorsed and supported the Good Friday Agreement that saw violence ending on this Island. Everyone shoudl accept it and embrace it. But we have haters who want it to persist. They want to create divisions and start the troubles again. Its people who try to associate SF with this incident today that are the scum bags on this Island. They will sell revisionist trip to anyone who will listen. They need to get a grip and stop supporting terrorism.

• mcbab 30/04/12 #

Just want to mention the bravery of the men who go in and disarm these bombs. Compare them to the cowards who leave them to kill and maim.

Add New Comment