TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

DUP demands action to stop North ‘haemorrhaging’ soccer talent to Republic

Nigel Dodds demands work to “address this injustice” after Derry native James McClean declares for the Republic of Ireland.

Sunderland midfielder James McClean has been cleared to play for the Republic of Ireland, despite having represented the North at underage level.
Image: Steve Drew/EMPICS Sport

Updated, 11.13

THE DEPUTY LEADER of the Democratic Unionist Party has urged the British and Irish governments to work together to stop the ‘haemorrhaging’ of Northern Irish footballers to the Republic.

Nigel Dodds made the call after Sunderland midfielder James McClean, a Derry native, was last night cleared to play for the Republic of Ireland despite having represented the North at under-21 level.

The 22-year-old had previously been called up to the Northern Ireland senior squad for competitive games, but pulled out before making any on-field appearances – which would have render McClean ineligible to play for any other international side.

FIFA rules dictate that players who represent a country at international level cannot switch teams later, though in 2004 new rules were introduced allowing players to switch country if they did so before they reached the age of 21, or before they had played in a competitive senior international fixture.

McClean follows the lead of the likes of Everton midfielder Darron Gibson, who represented the North at under-16 level before switching allegiances to the Republic at under-17 level and later as a senior international.

“Action should now be taken to stop the haemorrhaging of talent from Northern Ireland,” DUP deputy leader Nigel Dodds said in response to McClean’s declaration.

The British and Irish governments should now work to address this injustice which sees footballing talent developed in Northern Ireland, at some considerable cost, lost to compete at international level with the Republic’s team.

“No one should be opposed to the idea of talks to resolve this issue, and there is a degree of irony about the demands for free eligibility.”

‘All-Ireland team’

Dodds said it was the Football Association of Ireland’s breakaway from the Irish Football Association, which governs the game in the North, that had led to the modern problems, and said the original restrictions on eligibility had been introduced after the FAI complained about players representing both Irish teams.

There simply is no point in thoughtless calls for an all-Ireland team to resolve this issue as that is not going to happen.

“What is required are discussions at a higher levels between the British and Irish Government as well as a recognition by FIFA that the current situation isn’t sustainable and a change is required to bring an end to this ongoing problem,” the North Belfast MP said.

Though players switching allegiance between Irish teams is not a new phenomenon, relations between the FAI and IFA became significantly more strained after Darron Gibson – then a promising prospect with Manchester United – opted to switch to the Republic.

In a subsequent case, the international Court of Arbitration for Sport conclusively ruled that Peterborough midfielder Daniel Kearns was entitled to declare for the Republic because he held Irish nationality alongside his British nationality.

Though it is much less common for Republic players to later opt for the North, it is not unprecedented: Leeds midfielder Alex Bruce, the son of former England defender Steve Bruce – who signed McClean while managing Sunderland – last year switched to Northern Ireland.

Though the younger Bruce had played for the Republic’s senior team on two occasions, both of those games came in international friendlies – meaning he was entitled to switch allegiance once he could demonstrate a connection to the North.

Despite the FAI’s enthusiasm about his switch, McClean has not been included in Giovanni Trapattoni’s Ireland squad, announced this morning, for the pre-Euro 2012 friendly against the Czech Republic later this month.

Read: Oh, Trap: No place for McClean in Ireland squad >

Read next:

Comments (55 Comments)

• The team play in green but the supporters wear red, white and blue, I wonder why Catholics travel south…….

• Exactly look at Neil Lennon. He once said he would like to see an all Ireland team and the death threats came pouring in. He played with passion while with northern Ireland. During the nations cup last year the northern fans booed our anthem and our president. There known for sectarian chants. How would any young nationalist up there declare for northern Ireland when they see the abuse a former captain got. And the hate the spews from the stands towards the Irish which alot off these young players see themselves as.

• Catholic players have been treated terribly by bigoted NI supporters, Neil Lennon for example. Why would any Catholics choose to put themselves through that

• It is indeed a problem for Northern Ireland, but not one to be solved at inter-government level. It is about ending the sectarian identity of the Northern Irish football team. A new stadium away from Windsor park would help.

• They are born and bread irish and have a choice who they want to play for…how is it hard to understand…..

• The real anomaly is the existence of a Northern Irish football team in the first place. If they were to play by the same rules as the rest of the world plays by then there would be one team for the Republic of Ireland and one team for the United Kingdom and the citizens born in Northern Ireland would have the choice to represent either Ireland or the UK as is recognised by the constitutional situation in that territory.

The UK is a sovereign state, the Republic of Ireland is a sovereign state, Northern Ireland is a territory which is goverened by shared sovereignty(to an admittedly limited extent) between those states and which has enshrined in it’s legal underpinnings the right of it’s people to self-recognise as either Irish or British – McClean is ours, get over it!

• James McClean is a young man who wants to go places, he doesnt want to be stuck forever in the bottom of the Northern Ireland bucket. He made the best choice for himself, as did anyone who came to the Republic. But out of grief I am going to play the worlds smallest violin all day, just for the Northern Ireland Football team. Because they did put “Considerable money into his training” you know.

• The kop 10/02/12 #

simple solution is….get rid of Northern Ireland team….and give players from north the choice of playing for Ireland or England…. they sing god save the queen and the majority of flags at Northern Irish matches are union jacks anyway….no need then to change anything…anthem or whatever….and unlike the rugby then we wouldn’t have the farce of having to play Ireland’s call or whatever …..such a farce at rugby matches where we have our anthem played…we get the blood pumping and then we all are sent back to slumber land with having to listen to Ireland’s call……. do we really need it…..

• Boo hoo, you want your players back for your bigoted fans to threaten and abuse. You also want to remove any plausible negotiation terms. The solution is all Ireland team and if that happened we would be doing you a favour.

• How funny is that…. The Catholics are all of a sudden good enough for the unionists. Shame Neil Lennon wasn’t shown the same welcome. It’s also a shame that he never played for the Republic.

• Agreed. Poor Nigel is outraged just because McClean doesn’t want to put up with chants of “you fucking taig” from the fans of Norn Iron and a more subtle jokes from IFA officials about taigs and micks. It all went down hill when they introduced one man, one vote in 1972 to the province.

• A simple solution for those in Northern Ireland feeling aggrieved, give up the oul Racism.

I have been to Windsor park and its a frightening , terrifying place to be an Irish man of a certain hue.

• Perhaps McLean, Gibson and others who made the switch remembered the sectarian abuse and worse hurled at Neil Lennon from Northern Ireland’s so-called supporters and just made a rational choice.

More cynically, from a commercial point of view, they’re more likely to play in major tournaments for the Republic than for the North, thereby increasing their value on the transfer market, so for future earnings lining out at the Aviva instead of Windsor makes sense too.

• dear bigots of the north and of scotland.

Thanks for the famine song,general hatred off all things not protestant and the bombs and bullets to irish cektic players.

you just drove your best and brightest into our arms….mcgeady….mccarthy….gibson…..mcclean….keep it coming.

Signed,

REPUBLIC of Ireland fan.

• When James McClean was playing for Derry the IFA nor indeed Nigel Dodds were in any rush to give him a senior cap for the north.
    Alan Manus ex shamrock rovers keeper us another who when playing LOI football couldn’t get a sniff of a cap at Windsor park, moves to St Johnstone and is suddenly keeper of the decade for the good ol boys at Windsor.
    The issue of international football eligibility on this Island has been adjucated on by FIFA and the CAS, the IFA lost the case and continue to bury their heads in the sand as to the reason that almost all young eligible Catholic footballers refuse to play for the north.
    So called supporters sending bullets to the norths two Glasgow Celtic players hardly helps either but I’m sure that would not stop the like of Nigel Dodds blame the predators from the heathen south of Ireland for tapping up innocent young sons of ulster

• The injustice is the fact we have two teams on this island. We can be better together, just like the rugby.

• It’s like asking Messi to play for Inverness Caledonian Thistle.

• The Norn Iron set-up represents a Protestant, British, Loyalist tradition. Until they stop singing GSTQ, flying the Union flag and chanting anti-Irish songs very few lads from a nationalist background will want any part of that nonsense. DUP person can complain all he likes but they are the problem here not the FAI. Reform or lose out. Your choice IFA.

• Whatever solution is found football, indeed all sport, must be kept out of the hands of governments and politicians.

• The simplest solution is to amalgamate the teams into a single all-Ireland team. It works for practically every other sport. The footballing authorities have no right to complain about this pattern of talent declaring for the southern team. Residents of the north can hold Irish passports, and are as Irish as anyone else on the island. To deny them the right to play for their country as they see it is a denial of their rights. The northern team is surrounded by bigotry and sectarianism anyway, I couldn’t blame someone for declaring for the south instead.

• Time for a united Ireland team? If rugby can do it, why not soccer?

• The path to a single Irish national team has to go through having a single national league system first. Having the Shamrock Rovers and Linfield fans being regularly in the same stadium and the Gardai/PSNI being able to police it would have to be a stepping stone before they are both gonna be cheering the same team. What about the flags, would the Tricolour & Union Jack be banned from the stadia and a new flag designed. How would the separate fiefdoms of the IFA and the FAI be merged, which of the presidents/treasurers/chairmen are gonna want to give up their fat wage packets and powerbases.

People seem to think we can just merge two groups of players like some kind of frankenstein monster,they have to get real. If there is ever to be a single team it starts with turning off your Sky sports and getting out to support your local team in the next round of the Setanta cup. But realistically it’ll never happen.

• Well no. Not if we wring our hands and continue to believe it wont. So how does rugby manage? If the football unions can’t merge, what hope for a united Ireland? Dream a little…

• I do dream, but I’m just setting out the viable logical path.

First the Northern Irish football community would have to get envious of our clubs success in Europe and the financial benefits and switch to summer soccer.

This would allow the two leagues to merge with the carrot being the promise of a bump in attendances for games that would have a serious rivalry attached. Rovers Linfield would put bums on seats no doubt! Sky might even pay to screen that league.

The merging of the leagues would require a merging on the administrative side aswell, the embryo of which exists as the Setanta Cup committee. But any further merger in this area is being hindered by the resentment that exists over the ‘player switching controversies’.

Their(IFA’s) argument is that “it’s not fair because we capped the players at underage level”… but that argument doesn’t hold sway because they won’t allow us access to the players at underage level. Will they allow the FAI to set up academy’s near Derry, Newry & Belfast so that youngsters who self-define as Irish have the opportunity to play underage for us – fat chance! And why should a decision a kid makes on who to play for as a child determine their whole carreer once they become an adult. We don’t let children sign contracts in other areas of life, so why should footballers be committed for life for decisions made in their youth.

Anyway back on track, the only hope is that an Irish team (probably Rovers) can establish themselves as a champions league group stage team and that the northern teams seeing the money get jealous and want to jump on the bandwagon and work towards a merger.

The rugby is a totally different story because the IRFU never split, and their support base is less miltitantly nationalistic anyhow.

• Tough shit

• Jambbie 10/02/12 #

If we go the way if Rugby Boxing etc, Maybe we (ROI) can use the Norn Iron team as a B team ;-P

• Join the two teams together. Rugby can do and football also. It makes total sense. If the men of violence can turn away from violence football supporters can surely get behind their teams. There is no better way to bring people closer than sport and it’s about time.

• if we had two teams we’d be like rugby with two anthems. irelands call is a joke.

• New stadium,new national anthem and get away from all the politics is the only way will stop these players from not playing with them

• Silent P 10/02/12 #

Michael. I long for the day both associations can agree to form an all-Ireland soccer team which both traditions are proud to support. It really is the only logical solution to this matter. Nigel Dodds/IFA can grumble but you can’t force guys who are Irish nationalists from Northern Ireland to represent a hardcore Loyalist side. The IFA must reform or this will continue. I’m no mono-cultural bigot but sometimes you just can’t ignore the elephant in the room.

• I’m against an All Ireland team. As the northern fans are troublesome bigoted and have no respect at all for us down here. It works well with rugby but two different type off unionist up north. And the bigoted type usually stick to soccer

• I was thinking ‘ wow he is being a fairly forward thinker who has noticed the need to end sectari…. thoughtless calls for an all-Ireland team. same old same old

• Derek dougan was banished forever by the IFA,for organising a united Ireland team to play Brazil,in the early 70,s.Lennon and rogan had their lives threatened because they had the audacity to earn a living at Celtic,what has dodds for brains ?sawdust! i think,i used to hope for a all Ireland team,but its a no go,not because of the FAI,but the IFA,who cares anyway,we have the best players the world class coach and a brand new stadiun,and are playing tournament football this summer,and Northern Ireland have….????????little or nothing,the prods created the bad blood,and now they are reaping what they sowed,people have long memories when it comes to this sort of thing,billy boys knee deep in fenians blood,not the kind of soccer chant that fills you with pride if you are Irish.most catholics have mcleans attitude,they would rather not play at all rather than play for the bigots who treated them as second class citizens forever.

• You can’t have a all Ireland team football fans ant be trusted to behave themselfs. It would be a nogo place for families and kids. At least now you can go to an Ireland game ( provided a rich uncle left you a few bob) without worry but adding that lot up there into the mix would be a disaster

• Silent P 10/02/12 #

If unionists won’t support an all Ireland team they will simply boycott the games, therefore your no go theory is redundant. If a few good footballers from east Belfast play on the all Ireland team and score an important goal or two these arguments against would disappear very quickly.

• To have an international team you must have a domestic league according to FIFA rules. So it’s not just a simple join them together. You would have to join both domestic league together to, and try get any team to give up the lucrative European spots and the money that comes with it would be a different ball game altogether.

• I’m shocked at the idea of a new national anthem. What we did in rugby was a disgrace. Yes a united Ireland team is a viable option but plz people, have some pride, loyalty and love for your country. We are the most unpatriotic country in Europe. We have created a social view that somehow nationalism and republicanism is a bad thing as we associate it with negative terrorist connotations. Our national flag, anthem and some degree of allegiance to our first language according to the constitution aids in identifying us a people. Not just the common ignorant view that ” of course I’m Irish, I fuckin hate the Brits when we play them in sport” but otherwise live my life exactly like them. (btw I’m not anti-British at all. They were right we can’t self-govern!)

• Merge the teams and this problem will be solved. It also helps resolve the problems of having 2 half decent teams. It would be a big step up to have a national team, like 90% of sports in this country.

Also, has the css gone on the site. The structure has been gone for the last 24 hrs for me. I’m viewing in Chrome (Version 16).

• I’m Irish, I fuckin hate the Brits
    when we play them in sport’ but its ok to support to an English team :)

Add New Comment