TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Paying €1.1bn to bondholders is con job says TD

Donnelly said paying off bondholders while the State cuts funds for disabled children is obscene.

Image: Niall Carson/PA Wire/Press Association Images

WICKLOW TD STEPHEN Donnelly has called on the government not to pay the €1.1 billion due to senior unsecured bondholders this week and restore rehabilitative care services for disabled children.

By the end of this week, the government will have paid four bonds, totalling over one billion euro, two formerly held by Irish Nationwide and two by the former Anglo Irish Bank.

One of the bonds due to be paid today amounts to €598 million.

Donnelly said the HSE recently told parents of disabled young adults in Wicklow that there was no longer any money to fund rehabilitative training for their children.

The rehab provider in Wicklow, Sunbeam House, has places available but the HSE no longer has the €14,000 per teenager required.

Donnelly said the 40 million in debt interest we pay every year would cover rehabilitative training for one teen for the next 150 years.

Drastic Impact

Speaking to TheJournal.ie, Mark Malone of the ‘Anglo: Not Our Debt’ campaign said neither government parties have a political mandate to take this action as they assured voters they would not before the general election.

“These cuts are having drastic impacts on the most vulnerable people in society,” Malone said. He said an elderly man at a recent campaign meeting told him the supply of oxygen for his machine was being reduced from four bottles a month to three.

Sinn Féin’s Pearse Doherty joined these calls for the government to block this payment.

“The government has committed to wrenching at least €3.5 billion out of the economy in this December’s budget,” he said. “This week’s bond payouts amount to almost a third of this.”

“This money should be invested in job creation. It could be invested in our education and health systems. Instead the government is allowing Irish Bank Resolution Corporation to waste it on bondholders, who may have bought the bonds on the secondary market for a fraction of the original price.”

Read: Noonan – ‘I never promised I’d burn senior bondholders’>

Read next:

Comments (65 Comments)

• How does one become a bond holder? This job sounds sweet. If you win you win, if you lose you still win.

• Correct me if I’m wrong but isn’t the whole point of an unsecured bond that the value of your investment may go down as well as up?

• This is true but, stinging the bond holders would kill any confidence for future investment in Ireland. Looking at the big picture, it’s a bad move.

• What does investment have to do with bondholders? A multinational firm deciding whether or not to set up an office/factory/branch on our shores would have nothing to do with whether or not we paid off these bondholders.

• Why would it kill any future investment in Ireland Patrick?

• Burning them now would give us breathing room to recover. Sure it might hurt our reputation now but wouldn’t there be regained confidence in us as a nation and a market following that recovery?

• @Kerry foreign investors will see that we do not live up to our financial promises. They would be very wary to invest here. I would like to see the bond holders burned too, we don’t really have much of a choice but to pay up. The majority of the bond holders are German & Swiss nationals, Merkel would never allow them to be burned.

• Derek 27/06/12 #

There are secured and unsecured bonds available, those that chose to buy unsecured bonds did so in the hope of making a high yield return at the risk of making a loss as well , essentially a gamble, the secured bonds have a more steady, stable and smaller guaranteed return.
      These guys gambled, saying its lessens confidence is only rehashing government spin on justifying their actions and their inability to stand up and say no. Making them sovereign is where the confidence was shown.

• Foreign investors will not invest in a country which has an unsustainable debt like Ireland has either. They would prefer to invest in a country which has written off its bad debt and started again. Besides this we are paying off unsecured bond holders. We are paying 100% to someone (hedge funds?) who took a gamble and bought Irish bonds at a 50% to 70% mark down from the original holder. What our government is doing is criminal and Stephen Donnelly is correct – yet again.

• That’s a fair point Kerry.

• @Patrick The government said during the referendum that nobody in the markets would lend to us anyway. The line that we need to pay unsecured bonds so that they will lend to us again is therefore moot.

• Not when it’s an Irish bond. God forbid a German banker lost his Hugh profit on an Irish bond what would Enda’s boss say

• That’s nonsense. Investors make investment decisions based on cold hard facts. The confidence fairy has nothing to do with. Burning the bondholders is actually more likely to increase “confidence” since the debt is *clearly* unsustainable.

• Stop paying these unsecured parasites. When will the government wake up and put its people first. Morally disgusting attitude by the people in power.

• Fagan's 27/06/12 #

From a business point of view, paying this money back, is less justifiable than going in to your local Centra demanding a refund for a lotto scratch card that came bums up.

• FFg/Labour are thieves. They were not elected into Government to give away 3.5 billion euro this week to unsecured bondholders. They were elected on the understanding that they would take the same approach as Denmark, who allowed to banks to fold last year and never paid ‘one red cent’ to any bondholders.

FFg/Labour are the new FF … Financial Terrorists, out to destroy what is left of our economy.

• Fine Gael’s five point plan:
    1 Growth and Jobs
    2 Fair Deficit Reduction
    3 Smaller Better Government
    4 A new Politics
    5 Healthcare for All
    These are the committments they made and this is why they were elected.
    They lied, they are still lying and they will always lie.

• 2 children’s hospital gone in the push of a button is that real enough for us !!!

• Damianm 27/06/12 #

The govt had a chance to grow a pair and not pay these bond.. 2 Hospitals could easily have been built.. The Queen just visited Fermanagh to open a brand new 300 bed state of the art hospital… Built in 3 yrs reportedly had 1,100 employed directly without counting the knock on jobs for suppliers and the local area… We could do with 2 state of the art Hospitals, we could do with the jobs… We are paying inflated salaried to a govt to take hard decisions and they bottled it, again… Burn the Bondholders and commit to 2 new hospitals with the new jobs as a bonus BUT this would risk our politicians upsetting the big bad bond holder (german & french no doubt) and the EU (germany & france), this in turn would maybe put them in the spotlight from europe to sort out their pay, pensions and croke park that is left untouched as long as they do as there told…. NO BONDHOLDER GETS LEFT BEHIND…. This goverment is sickening and with no mandate to carry out these actions surely this is treason ??? where is our president or senad to speak up for the citizens ???? hiding behind their numerous pensions & perks !!! I suggest anyone who can to Stop Paying Tax to finance these parasites and Emigrate! When a country cannot put its citizens as a priority over gambling bondholders who lost all hope is lost…..

• We only here the words “Bond holders” Wouldn’t be great to find out who these people are that are holding our country to ransom. Anyone got a list of these “no risk” gamblers?

• Fagan's 27/06/12 #

God Brian Lenihan, must be bursting his hole laughing from down below and Biffo laughing from a snug in Offally.

It will be interesting to see who from the last FF cabinet gets directorships on banks, financial houses, once the heat dies down.

• The key to this is what is stated in the article

“…two formerly held by Irish Nationwide and two by the former Anglo Irish Bank.”

These 2 institutions have sold their bonds on to Unsecured Secondary Bondholders at knockdown prices, and now these new Secondary holders will be making a huge profit on these payments.

These were bought as bets by Gamblers, and now we are repaying the Gambler for losing. Does the loser of a horse race take the winnings…..Jaysus this Govt are such a bunch of complete Morons, they totally defy logic of any kind !!!

They were voted in by the Electorate of this country to carry out the policies they were spouting in the lead up, “Labours way Not Franfuts way”, “Not one more cent”. And now they have turned on that same electorate and are penalising them to pay the Gamblers over peoples welfare.

This is both Larceny, Fraud & Embezzleent on a grand scale.

Pity there is no way to challenge this in court !!!

• Clearly us commenting on here isn’t enough. Revolution is needed! Why do we take it??

• jrbmc 27/06/12 #

You dame right , where do we sign up!!

• Its such amazing stupidity. “If we burn them, they’ll hold it against us”. Look what happened when we didn’t leave them in the lurch back in late 2010 – they trousered their money and said “See ya”. Cue IMF
    The state took on massive loans that had to be paid back in order to pay off debts that weren’t ours in the first place and were unsecured to top it all off.
    Why would they lend to a country that was beggaring itself to pay debts it didn’t need to? All because of the fear of how the neighbours and EU gentry might react.
    We might not have the words defaulters stamped across our foreheads but the word “imbeciles” should be tattooed on the brow of all the members of the last two administrations

• Would disagree with a lot of Stephen Donnelly’s politics but as usual, on this sort of stuff, he’s spot on. It’s actually mind boggling disgusting!

• Fagan's 27/06/12 #

I disagree with some of it as well. He may be wrong on many things, but it is a decent kind of wrong. A right wrong – if you will. As opposed to the likes of McCreevey or McDowell who might not be too different to him economically but who wouldn’t exactly be motivated by the national good, not by a long shot.

His intentions are good.

• Unfortunately our politicians are in charge of signing the extortionate loan offers that these international loan sharks are offering our country.
    So when our school teacher politicians fail to negotiate a good interest rate, we loose and these loan sharks make a few billion more.
    When our schoolteacher, full time, ”professional civil servant” lifers of politicians make a cock up and overspend we loose and these loan sharks make a few billion more.
    So eventually when these ”fine noble politicians” retire on there tax free 100k plus taxpayer paid pensions they get nice little discreet directorships on one of these loan shark’s company boards.

Please do not under estimate the importance of these little soft schoolteachers to the loan sharks.

Every signature is a few billion more.

• Stephen Donnelly is one of the few in the Dail worth listening too, unlike the traitors in ff,fg and labour. I don’t understand why the people who voted fg are now surprised the party are breaking all the election promises, that was always going to happen. Fg are just reverting to type like their Tory brothers across the water. Kenny and the bully Noonan probably have a shrine to Maggie Thatcher for inspiration. Labour on the other hand, I expected more from them. They are the real disgrace in this government. I’ll never vote for them again and I know a lot of people who think the same. labours way my arse

• Why dont we just try not paying this time, and lets see what the consequences are?! I bet there will be zero negative consequences!

I’m really starting to wonder if some high ranking members of the irish political and banking systems aren’t the “bondholders”…

• Whatever Gilmore meant when he accused FF of finacial treason, when they never asked to be elected to deal with a financial crisis, even though they bore huge responsibility for the crisis, he must accept my accusation of financial treason against those who sought office on the basis of burning bondholders and ‘not another cent’ and ‘labours way or’ etc etc.
    For it is treason to promise something to people for the purposes of gaining office and completely about turn once office is achieved.

• All hail the yes voters…

• Wow – Not paying the bondholders! What a brilliant and brave idea.

• Crikey, the ranting here is pretty surreal. Calm yourselves down.

I don’t agree with the bond holder payments myself but I’m not going to blame the government for it. They’re clearly being backed into a corner or held by the throat by someone behind the scenes and those are the people I would like to see exposed and burned publicly.

There is obviously things being said or threats being made that has our government scared into paying this, otherwise they wouldn’t. If you think they’re merely out to screw people over then you’re incredibly ignorant.

Something changed between what they knew in opposition and what they know now in government and I’d imagine that thing is a knife to being held to their backs, as it was with Lenihen over the blanket guarantee as we all know (or should know) now.

• Fine Gael’s war cry pre election was not a penny more. they were elected on the back of this and when they got elected the phrase turned into not a penny more that the last government promised. they conned the irish public into voting for them. the real reason fine gael are paying because they want everything to stay the same so they can do their term and then retire with their big fat pensions.

• There is no connection between the bond holder payments and our governments pensions. Zero, zip,zilch,nada,nein…none!

You’re very, very naive if you think opposition parties are going to be able to do exactly as they say they will try to do pre-election. Dangerously naive really.

I suppose you thought that jobs would appear the day after the Lisbon treaty(and similarly, of you opposed it, that the minimum wage would drop to <€2 the day after) too?

People need to realise that what a government want to do and what a government can do are two very different things. Overall, they can only do the best with what they're given as unfortunately for our current government, they weren't given much more than a massive financial hole and a sinking ship. This is reality.

• Winston,nThe effectivity of blackmail and threats is directly proportional to the moral courage of the victim.

• So all those who succumb to threats are cowards?

No, it comes down to what is at stake and obviously there is a lot of the government have to put their plans by the wayside to deal with them.

• Winston C. If I remember correctly all the parties met with the Troika before the election and held discussions with them. All parties also had access to the Dept of Finance before the election. They had the full picture of Ireland’s problems and still made claims that they knew they could not follow through on.

• Niave! I think its the other way round sir…If you think Enda Kenny is doing his best you are living on another planet..he went missing during the final weeks of referendum and he continues to avoid questions on what he is doing to get ireland a better deal.
      Fine Gael got elected by promising that they would do a better job than the last lot but they are exactly the same.
      Your point about promises in opposition not being fulfilled just goes to show that you find it acceptable that politicians are allowed to lie and cheat their way to power.

• Damian, yes, naive.

If it were a case that the success of a party in an election was solely based on what it said leading up to the election then Sinn Fein would now be in government and by quite some margin too with all their empty promises. However, that is clearly not the case.

Yes, I think Enda & his party are doing the best that they can. Given that satisfaction in the government has risen in the past few months, it would appear that I’m not alone in thinking so. In fact, 32% back FG, almost twice that of the nearest opposition and are rising.

• Sinn Fein were slow out of the blocks this time…but by all accounts their popularity is on the rise and thats a purely unbiased assessment as i have no ties whatsoever to sinn fein…your entrenched party loyalties are well and good but only galvanise my first impression which is party first country second. you say you are against the paying of the bondholders but ahh lads sure what can we do. Enda Kenny is not up to the job.

• What a revelation. These TD’s catch on fast…oh wait, no they don’t.

Add New Comment