TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

EBS staff to hold second strike over ’13th month’ payment

Staff will picket EBS branches and the offices of its parent bank AIB, in protest at the withholding of a December payment.

AIB headquarters in Ballsbridge will be among the venues picketed by EBS workers during a strike next week.
Image: Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland

STAFF AT THE state-owned building society EBS are to hold a second day of strike action next over the institution’s withholding of a ’13th month’ payment for lower-paid staff last month.

The payment – the equivalent to four weeks’ wages – is worth between €1,000 and €2,500 per employee, and was usually given to employees alongside their December pay.

The UNITE trade union says the payment was withheld from lower-paid staff this year, without notice, even though it has been made every year for the last 45 years.

This second day of strike action next Tuesday – which follows a day of action on December 20 – will see workers picket the Ballsbridge headquarters of EBS’s parent AIB, which took over EBS last year, as well as EBS headquarters and branches in Dublin and Limerick.

UNITE regional officer Colm Quinlan said the 370-or-so workers who were affected by the withholding of the payment were “in no mood to back down”.

“The decision by EBS management, AIB or the Department of Finance was wrong.  To have announced it two weeks before Christmas, having previously confirmed the payment would be made was cruel.”

The union also claims that staff above the Assistant Manager grade at EBS were given an opportunity to restructure their pay so that they could keep the payment, but that no lower-paid staff were given a similar option.

EBS disputes this, however, saying management at the building society have not received any bonuses since the introduction of the State banking guarantee in 2008.

The payment is not performance related, but is considered by the government to be a ‘bonus’ – meaning it cannot be paid under the terms of the government’s takeover of AIB.

Union: We’ll picket AIB too if striking EBS workers are not paid

EBS staff begin strike action over ’13th month’ payment

Read next:

Comments (91 Comments)

• Jambbie 11/01/12 #

As far as my knowledge goes and if case law is applied, if they have been getting this extra payment for forty odd years then it has become an “implied term” in their contracts and then effectively it is an entitlement not a bonus. Plus if their managers were given options to alter their pay from 13 to 12 mths then these lower paid people should have an equality case.

• Aydo 11/01/12 #

If its part of their wages they should get it end of story.
    If its a bonus…well then no.
    So far I hear it’s the first not the second.

• Permanent TSB also do the salary divided by 13. EBS are not the only ones…

• Firstly I do not work for them but it’s not a bonus they are getting it’s actually their pay those f**k**g banker wankers would try to get away with anything but your bottom dollar the pricks on top have got theirs. I hope they do get it it’s their money best of luck

• Well said Debbie. I don’t work for them either but it’s like us saving for Christmas and our employer telling us they wanted it back because it was considered a bonus. But the bosses could keep theirs. Wtf?

• Jesus, some commentators grasp of basic mathematics is depressing. Phones have calculators now lads, to help get your heads around it.

• @martin @ reada – are we certain that this payment represents an installment of their wages (paid over 13 mths) rather than a Xmas bonus? Reason I ask is that if it’s the former I’m shocked their union is not banging home this point. If only to get some public sympathy. Coz as a bonus there are plenty who may say ‘tough’!

• Their annual wage is divided into 13 months and they get the 13th month at Christmas. Salaries for management were restructured but not the ordinary worker. What’s fair about that? It’s typical of the way things are going and it’s not the time to be knocking them I think. It’s only because they were merged with AIB that they’re getting away with it. It’s a bloody disgrace.

• They have been paid every 4 weeks instead of monthly, say the last Thursday of the month for like 40 years now, its just the system they use, the management knew of the swindle AIB was about to pull and managed to get their full years pay while these lower paid front end staff find out like a day or two before their pay day that they would not be getting their full end of years pay check.

Its no bonus or special “Bank” bonus staff are getting here. This could be the scene in any office of job in the country.

I see it’s the same names actually who keep regurgitation the same crap as “Its a Bonus, they should be lucky to have a job”
      If your on the dole, maybe the state can reduce your weekly “pay” by lets say 50euro and only pay you this in a lump sum every 12 months, but this week i’ts due and they say nah fuck you, its our new shiny policy not to pay you saps. If self employer, its the same as debtors not paying you the final installment for the job you did for them, a months wage equivalent.

Some miserable shower on here as usual, either ill informed or slows as this has this had been brought up here and on other forums numerously , on each repeatedly explaining what is happening and what EBS did due to AIB’s take over policy, classing part of their basic wage as a bonus while taking it themselves before calling it “end of year bonus” and other lingo to sway public opinion about it if the staff brought it to light. Again people buy into this as usual, the term used I think is sheep.

I’m clearly wasting my time at this our of night explaining to people who cant grasp childrens maths: 13×4=52 There’s no magic being done here.

• Some companies calculate pay based on 4 weeks in a month, but prefer to lodge pay on the same day every calendar month. Since 52/4 is 13 payments not 12, they pay the extra 4 weeks owed to the employee at the end of the year. Is that the case here, or was it a bonus payment?

• nikki 11/01/12 #

FFS it’s not a bonus! Their annual wage is divided by 13, its a savings scheme. Show a bit of support, I’m unemployed & I’m supporting them, disgraceful how management got their money. Always pick on the little people.

• Jambbie 12/01/12 #

Anyone who disagrees with these “lower paid workers” fighting for what’s really theirs is IMO in agreement with a race to the bottom… Let’s cut everything and be more “competitive”. Competitive me bollix… Be competitive and agree to a life sentence, rather than a LIFE. Competitive is just the businessmans populist term for greed.

• No need for Operation Divide and Conquer in Ireland. Too full of mé féiners already. God save Ireland!

• Private / public sector – them and us
      Racism – them and us
      Job / no job – them and us
      Landlord / renter – them and us .

This recession is going to leave , unfortunately , more than an economic legacy in this country.

• John and Reada
      Unfortunately you are right ..
      Them and us ….
      Divide and conquer:(

• Not while we have flesh on our fingertips tho. :) It is disgusting tho the servile nature of some. Ready to accept whatever lashing their employer will give them while the bosses get treated differently.

Fé mhóid bheith saor, seantír ár sinsear feasta, Ní fhágfar fén tíorán ná fén tráill.

We’re not meant to tolerate tyrants yet we’ve plenty willing to be slaves. And they wonder why they continue to railroad us? Gimme strength.

• Janey Mac!!!….. I am amazed at how begrudging and selfish people are … I don’t mind any one having a different opinion BUT not reading the FACTS is ludicrous….. God Save Ireland as you say …. That plucking cap in hand and be grateful for what you have attitude makes me sick, just as much as the walk all over them attitude other people have ….. .What is wrong with people that they can not stand up and be counted and defend each other in the light of unfairness …….

• I don’t know Eileen. Some people are so mean. As long as they’re ok… And if they broke their leg they’d like to see everyone hobbled. Bed calls, work in the morning. They’d probably like me to crawl in on my knees in gratitude and I probably will crawl if I don’t go sleep now. :-) Feck them!

• I fear for the future of this country judging by some of the MORONS on here. When ignorance reigns, life is lost.

• What part of say, 25k payed over 13 installments instead of 12 installments do people not understand? It is still 25k, even if it is payed weekly. There should be a blackboard app on The Journal to explain some very basic maths to some of the blunter tools in this shed. Here’s a box of crayons to play with in tge meantime. Jesus.

• Their annual wage is divided into 13 months. This is an entitlement. Get the facts before it’s your wage that they cut while leaving management alone!

Management were allowed restructure it into their a 12 month wage. Staff had counted on this wage while budgeting for Christmas. Bit of unity fgs.

• Looking into my crystal ball !!! I forecast we may all face wage reductions but it should be across the board. Management should have to take a bigger cut IMO.

• Reada I’m havin a bad day on this, must be the split, my head is all over the place, have you been talkin to her??

• Ted. You’ll have to find her on a less serious thread. This is about protecting employees’ rights.
      (I did speak to her tho but you better buy some flowers and chocolates!)

• I can’t afford chocolates or flowers because all the cuts in my sector and employees rights don’t exist where we’re concerned! Testing times ahead but along as I have easygoing I’ll be grand. I’ll make her a card and call over……..Thanks Reada :)

• I’ve been too busy scouring the net trying to learn how to put a fada on your name….FYI I’ve a very happy bunch of employees….very loyal to me so I must be doing something right…like extra paid holidays, a hotel spa break each year, paid for Xmas party & gifts etc… Now please send Ted over as I’m waiting here patiently – on the 2nd bottle of red :-)

• Reada people have got this idea in their head that the Staff a EBS were to get a bonus and do not want to hear the truth about the 13month pay it is 4 weeks wages along with all the cuts they had to take as wel as the rest of us but none of us had to loose 4 weks wages too
      Good Luck to the Workers of EBS o-one should be expected to work for Nothing even for 1day never mind 4weeks Wishing you all well

• At least you have a job AND a bed to go to ……. :) God Bless !

• This country really is populated with fools, but let me say it slowly for slow learners:

This is not a bonus. This is the people’s wages. It doesn’t matter that the employers chose to divide their year up by 13 instead of 12. They’re still owed the money. How hard is that to figure out?

Are these commenters completely stupid?

No. Forget I asked that. The innumerate fools commenting on this thread are clearly incapable of grasping the simplest arithmetic.

• Exactly it’s a bonus not an entitlement, as far as I’m aware there are 12 months in any given year. Can’t see them getting much public support on this one, especially in the current climate. But keep in up for awhile, less letters to my house!

• 13 Lunar months in a year

• Its not a bonus though. Its part of their pay. It was taken out of their pay during the year to ‘act’ as a bonus at christmas but it is essentially their pay!

• We’ve all been cut

• Yeah people have, but this was announced less than a week before christmas. Imagine doing the work, but not being paid for it. Would you stand for that?

• Ardo Ci 12/01/12 #

WRONG! It’s their salary divided up into 13 with the 13th payment being made with the 12th. This was not uncommon in a lot of companies particularly on Britain in the 70′s. Salary was announced to prospective employees as an annual figure and then as accommodating ruse for the financial benefit and clerical comfort of the wages distribution was suggested as 13 payments of 4 wks with 2 being paid at Xmas as though the company were offering the staff a savings account. The treatment of these poor staff makes my blood boil and ignorance of people like you in their misunderstanding of the situation only adds grist to my mill!

• Ted Power
      I know you are not stupid ! It is not a bonus , nor is it a pay cut . It is their wages . 52 weeks in a year divided by 4 weeks(So they get the same money every 4 weeks) = 13 months . but we all know there are only twelve months in a year so they get the 4 weeks owed in december .. What is so difficult to understand about this ??? They worked for it . It is not a bonus . It is their wage , their entitlement….

• There where told that instead of a bonus they could borrow up to 5 grand interest free , that bank belongs to the Irish people and who ever came up with that should be sacked end off

• We should all go down and throw left over Christmas puddings at them

• One bank pays for its staff to join golf clubs, another is laying off theirs and this lot are going on strike because they say their not being paid fairly.
    Only in Ireland…….

• If this is a legal entitlement why are they wasting their time striking? Their union should just get into the courts for them. Unless its NOT an entitlement??

• Thought for a horrible second it was the ESB,phew.

• Get over it guys you are not getting it & resign from your union because they do sweet FA other than talk bull & take your subs.

• No sympathy here…. I’ve taken 2 pay cuts in the last 2 years plus bonus’s gone too as can’t meet my targets ! I’m in retail so not a hope of meeting my targets in near future :( get over it bankers and cherish the fact you have a job like I do …. Unlike a lot of people in the county !

• @haron Clifford so did the staf as well as everyone else in the country take a pay freeze and pay cuts and extra taxes and all the rest BUT THE EBS STAFF ARE ALSO LOOSING 4 WEEKS PAY ON TOP OF ALL THE REST
      what is it with folk they canot understand the 13 month salary
      it is a easy as 52 weeks in th year devide by 13
      or 4 weeks multiply 4 by 13 equals 52 ggggrrrrrr and i do not work for EBS it is after all simple sums and it does not mean a bonus

• Sharon @ We have all taken pay CUTS including these workers , but this is not a pay cut it is their wage 52 weeks in a year divided by 4 weeks(So they get the same money every 4 weeks) = 13 months . but we all know there are only twelve months in a year so they get the 4 weeks owed in december .. What is so difficult to understand about this ??? They worked for it . It is not a bonus . It is their wage , their entitlement….

• The cut they are getting is a ~7% cut in wages. It’s not as harsh as being put on a three day week.

*however* this should have been discussed and dealt with in a more transparent way. Don’t get me started on the timing of the announcement.

• beetlejuice …It is not a pay cut . Read the article . Read the comments.

• If a company doesn’t make a profit, then no bonuses should be made. Simple! Where is the money going to come from?

• IT IS NOT A BONUS
      IT IS THEIR WAGES THEY WANT THAT IS ALL

• It is not a bonus it is the following ;;;;;; it is their wage 52 weeks in a year divided by 4 weeks(So they get the same money every 4 weeks) = 13 months . but we all know there are only twelve months in a year so they get the 4 weeks owed in december .. What is so difficult to understand about this ??? They worked for it . It is not a bonus . It is their wage , their entitlement….

• Ohh if only we all had a 13th month…

• It is not a bonus it is the following ;;;;;; it is their wage 52 weeks in a year divided by 4 weeks(So they get the same money every 4 weeks) = 13 months . but we all know there are only twelve months in a year so they get the 4 weeks owed in december .. What is so difficult to understand about this ??? They worked for it . It is not a bonus . It is their wage , their entitlement….

• lol…. That is all.

• Lucky to have bloody jobs …..

• Does anyone else out there get a 13th month bonus? I’m afraid I have no sympathy whatsoever. Bonuses when everyone else is being robbed weekly. They should be scrapped altogether as far as I’m concerned from the top down since their greed and incompetence have us where we are.

• Everyone who is jobless would agree that it is a bonus. EBS workers should be bloody grateful that they have a job.

• My Father did get the thirteenth month it was his wages for 52weeks if he did not get the thirteenth he would have been paid only for 48 weeks it is also known as the bakers dozen
      IT IS WAGES NOT A BONUS

• So if you get a job you’ll be ok with your employers stealing four weeks worth of your wages and saying “Hey, be thankful you have a job”

• Mary Lawlor@ We have all taken pay CUTS including these workers , but this is not a pay cut it is their wage 52 weeks in a year divided by 4 weeks(So they get the same money every 4 weeks) = 13 months . but we all know there are only twelve months in a year so they get the 4 weeks owed in december .. What is so difficult to understand about this ??? They worked for it . It is not a bonus . It is their wage , their entitlement….

Bernadette …. I give up . these people are so blinkered …… God help us we will never get out of this recession … Such a shower of begrudgers ….. :)

• If they don’t like it, feck off. There are many who would be grateful for the work

• I thought EBS was shut down?

• Mx 12/01/12 #

So the EBS has been living in a 13-month calendar year time warp for the past 30 years, is this month called EBSember? Get real, its a bonus no matter how you dress it up. No wonder they went down the pan

• The payment is non pensionable so it’s not part of their basic pay, it’s a bonus!!! They can argue all they like, but the fact stands that this building society has been bailed out by the taxpayer, including themselves, and they should only be getting basic pay for the work they do! When things improve in the country maybe they should get their perks back!!!

• Its a non pensionable payment… This 13 month wage thing is a joke! This bank has been propped up by the taxpayer so it’s my belief that any “special payments” should be done away with! Join the many others who get 12 months flat pay!

• Are you thick!! Why are there so many morons on here??

• Dec Rowe 12/01/12 #

If you were stupid enough to accept a 13th month payment and think it was never going to be taken away then you would be definitely classed as thick!!! We’ll all be saying bye bye to the EBS soon!

• Dec Rowe
      The agreement has been in place 45 years . It is a form of savings for the staff. They get paid the same amount on the same date each month BUT there are 52 weeks in the year and only 12 months so they get the 4weeks with their dec payment. This is money they have worked for after all the pay cuts and levies and USC etc this is their entitlement……. It is not a special payment. It is their rightful wage .

Add New Comment