TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

Enda Kenny defends appointment of former advisor to €127,000 post

The Taoiseach personally intervened to ensure that his former advisor received a salary €35,000 higher than the current salary cap for advisors.

Image: Screengrab via HEAnet

ENDA KENNY HAS defended the appointment of his former advisor to a government job with a salary of €127,000.

The Taoiseach personally intervened to ensure that Ciaran Conlon received a salary €35,000 higher than the current salary cap for advisors.

In a heated exchange in the Dáil this afternoon the Taoiseach hit back at Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams who questioned why an exception had been made for Conlon.

Kenny told the Dáil that Conlon had a relevant Master’s degree and political experience which made him suitable for the position, saying that “in particular circumstances… technical expertise was required” to fulfill the role.

Conlon, who was an advisor to Enda Kenny for eight years, is now an advisor to Richard Bruton, the Minister for Jobs and Enterprise.

“He was chosen for a specific purpose of getting people off the dole,” said Kenny, adding:  ”Yes, I did to my duty in respect of sanctioning that advisory position”.

In a fraught exchange the Taoiseach attacked Gerry Adams for raising the issue, citing the expenses claimed by Sinn Féin TDs in the British parliament.

“I understand that in the two year period to the end of this March, the Sinn Féin MPs claimed £969,328,” said Kenny.

And you, sir, claimed £106,880 for staff in a parliament for which you never attended.

Adams had questioned why the Taoiseach had personally intervened to ensure a pay rise of €35,000 for a “political crony” while other citizens had their incomes and services slashed.

“To give one citizen €35,000 extra and then to take money away from those that are most vulnerable is absolutely and totally wrong. How can you make a difference between one citizen and another?” asked Adams.

“It’s not fair. It’s wrong. And you know that it’s wrong”.

It emerged at the weekend that the Taoiseach had personally written an email to ask for his former advisor Ciaran Conlon to be awarded an annual salary of €127,000.

The figure was a pay rise of €35,000 – and was a significant increase on the €92,000 cap on salaries of special advisors that the current government has implemented.

Earlier in the Dáil the Taoiseach had defended the cuts to disability allowance, saying that it would only affect new claimants.

Kenny said that the change would standardise levels of social welfare payments across the board, making disability allowance available at the same rate as Jobseeker’s Allowance.

Disability payments have been cut by up to €88 per week for people aged 18 to 24.

Kenny was responding to criticism from Fianna Fáil leader Michéal Martin who accused the government of “concentrating your cuts disproportionately”.

Martin said that young people with disabilities need help and support, which could not be achieved by reducing their incomes so dramatically.

Read more: Taoiseach breaches pay cap to award former advisor €35k pay rise >

Read more: Creighton ‘understands concern’ over pay rise for Taoiseach’s former advisor >

Read next:

Comments (60 Comments)

• EM 06/12/11 #

This makes me sick! This is the exact sort of corruption and cronyism we had hope to eliminate when we got FF out of government. We were fools. Enda Kenny is clearly as corrupt as the rest of them.

In any decent country Kenny would be made to resign for this sort of thing. €127,000 for an advisory rile, f@@king scandalous anyway.

• Ah but this isn’t a decent country EM.

• And Conlon even emailed the HR department complaining that he didt get his €35k rise….Fker hadt even started his job and he looked for the money…good to see he got his priorities right…..look forward to seeing alll these great initiatives he going to advise the government on….want to bet he advise them to get more advisors to help him…..

• I listened to joe Duffy this evening, it was realy disgusting, revolting would be more appropriate…. I,m lost for word,s

Where are the fighting Irish…..

• I think someone should introduce a law that says if you’re paid 35k over the pay cap you should pay 35k in extra taxes

• lol As I said before, Ireland…the best country in the world to be a politician. Its hilarious at this stage

• They’ve all taken cuts at this stage, reformed expenses and got rid of costly Garda drivers. Enda Kenny reduced his pay rate by 7% when elected. Unless on a substantial salary who would do 12 to 14 hour days, face consistent scrutiny from the media, face a job interview every few years from the fickle electorate, do media interviews late at night and weekends, travel for work around Europe, listen intently in constituency office to Joe Public harp on about how he can’t afford his 11 children (RTE One News today), etc.

It is however the best country in the world to be on social welfare with a hugely generous weekly allowance, accommodation provided, free medical treatment, free dental treatment, single mother’s allowance, back to school allowance, single mother’s allowance, fuel allowance, etc. Not only is the State expected supported your basic needs, but also your cable tv subscription, nights out, cigarettes and so on.

• How about a crony tax?

• Id take the job Sean, because it carries a hefty salary, you get ridiculous allowances actually both are near top of the scale in terms of the entire EU. You get a golden pension for the rest of your life and you can retire early to get it.

On top of all this by making friends and shaking hands behind closed doors you come out the other side ‘of retirement’ with a back pocket full of contacts and youll end up making comparable if not more money than you did during your public office for the rest of your life.

Dont cod yourself Sean. you have your head in the clouds if you think its a bad number to have. Oh you have to face the cameras every so often. means nothing ,you get to blame other departments for decisions or accept no responsibility at all. ‘I never received that correspondence’ case closed.

Have you lost the plot? Its clearly a gift job . Facts are facts Sean

• Id rather earn a decent wage in peace rather than go out every day and try to be all things to all men. The money wouldn’t incentivise me, life’s too short for all that a$$ licking and posturing But maybe that’s just me.

• I wouldn’t do the job either Sean.
      But I would expect that when I’m cajoled into voting for any political party on the basis of promises and undertakings to the electorate that these promises would be honoured by those elected. That they would stand by the principals of the democratic wish of the people and not engage in the nest-feathering and cronyism that has typified Irish politics.
      This is just blatant cronyism similar to the Kevin Cardiff nonsense.

• Yes Sean, that’s why Enda is still paid more than the Prime Minister of England, and our ceremonial President is paid more than the President of America. As I said, best country in the world to be a politician, they can do what they want, when they want. They can bail out banks, target the poor, lie and give each other salary increases whilst their electorate confine their indifference to the Internet or the pub.

E90,000 minimum + E20,000 expenses and you are telling me they have a difficult job? Share your wisdom with the mother of a handicapped child, better still you try and survive on E180 a week and all your imaginary allowances. People like you give me a pain in the hole, I so hope you loose your job.

• MIchael D Higgins salary – $336,755
      Barack Obama’s salary- $400000

Do you usually just lie when the facts dont suit you?

I wont lose my job because unlike some people I didnt run off to a building site when I was 18 to make a quick buck laying bricks and building shoebox apartments. Glad that my tax contributions look after the likes of you and your child though.

You have a pain in your hole? Maybe get off your ar$e and do something with your life.

• MIchael D Higgins salary – $336,755: Ceremonial president of Ireland, an island of 4 million people
      Barack Obama’s salary- $400,000: The President of America and of 312,725,000 people

The Logic of Sean: That is a relative comparison and acceptable to use as a counter argument

To be honest Sean, your ignorance, apparent stupidity and tabloid sound bites are irritating more than anything else. Then again the confidence of ignorance will always overcome the indecision of knowledge.

P.S I am not unemployed, I do not have a child, I have never claimed welfare

• Like Obama would say “Sean got owned!”

• ” and our ceremonial President is paid more than the President of America. ”

You do realise know that $400,000 is more than $336,755?( It’s a bigger number) I despair for your stupidity. Continue on with your inane comments about how “hilarious” things are in Ireland.

• “The Logic of Sean: That is a relative comparison and acceptable to use as a counter argument”

Sean where do you read in that sentence that one doesn’t understand the numerical difference between the two salaries, that you rightly pointed out? You seriously don’t understand that I was attempting to demonstrate how ridiculous your counter argument was. I.E. Not exactly comparing like with like, thus the geographical and population comparisons Genius…Ah here, this is like reading a bedtime story to a 4yr old. Sean Ill give you the benefit of the doubt and put your stupidity and ignorance down to some insecure craving for attention on a screen from strangers…I genuinely can’t believe I just had to explain myself, again to this idiot…He actually thought I was an unemployed mother of a child also, because apparently he can not read or interpret very basic English and grammar, funny guy :)

Sean, have some rest. Take it easy, good man yourself:)

• Sean stop, please, I am embarrass for you now. It’s like watching someone after whiskey trying to talk to someone sober

• Once again Magic MIchael D Higgins salary – $336,755
      Barack Obama’s salary- $400000.

Barack Obama’s salary is a bigger number so that means he gets paid more. Now you said “” our ceremonial President is paid more than the President of America. ”

I hope you understand that Barack Obama actually gets paid more in every sense of the word.

• @Magic Ignore him, I suspect he might be very young. How someone can compare the president of a small island to the United States of America, with such a small difference in salary is comical. Don’t feed the troll

• I didnt initiate the comparison. I simply corrected the lie that Barack Obama earns less than Michael D Higgins.

• Simon 06/12/11 #

I’m sure a great number of people here would be more than happy with a yearly wage of €35,000, so offering it as an increase in times of great austerity cannot be seen as anything but political cronyism.
    If Fianna Fail did this; Fianna Gael and Labour would be down their throats over it ranting and raving. But then again, it’s only cronyism when the other guys do it!

• I agree with the his increase, how the hell was this guy meant to live on 7700 a month.. ??
    In all seriousness does anyone have any information on Ciaran Conlon so we can at a glance what education, unique skills or connectedness with the people actually is?

• Kenny has no credibility – he’s a hypocrite.

• You’ll notice that according to the article Mr Kenny evades answering the question. The answer he gives here is to the question ‘is xxx qualified for the job’, not why did you give him extra pay that NO other civil servant deserves? ‘He has a master’s degree and political experience which makes him suitable for the position.’ Two logical possibilities arise here: 1. Mr. Kenny did not understand the question or 2. He is a cronyist liar

• 10 red thumbs so far for calling Kenny a hypocrite. What would you call it?

The blindness of some people (and I say that as someone who voted FG)

• Indeed :(

• So he sought he appoint “because he has a masters”, and used this to defend himself, at the same time as he put forward measures that would effectively cut the number of people going into masters courses?….

• He was appointed because of his expertise, which if I follow Kenny, is to get people off the dole. Well, so far so good. He has kept himself off the dole. Only another five hundred thousand to go…

• As expected Enda tries to deflect from the question by attacking SF. When will Fine Gael start taking responsibility for their decisions? They blame everyone but themselves.

• Does anyone have his email address? Must fire in my CV – If he’s getting paid over €100,000, he must be pretty nippy at “getting people off the dole” according to Enda.

• neo1 06/12/11 #

Unreal

• This is just disgusting. We need a revolution. Wipe the slate clean and start all over again. If this bloody elitist adviser is so damn good and worth his hugely excessive salary then why isn’t he the Taoiseach? All these crooks should be behind bars not wringing every last cent out of this screwed up country.

• And I am assuming Paul you would refuse the large pay packet if you were offered it ;-)) get over yourself ..

• What is wrong with you Nialllateshow? Do you not find this reprehensible? Do you condone such cronyism and corruption? I’ve just returned to Ireland from living in what is perceived to be one of the world’s most corrupt countries and I can assure you that even there Kenny’s level of cynicism wouldn’t fly. Makes me absolutely sick to my core that this level of corruption is tolerated by anyone…especially at a time when the ordinary citizens of this country are being force fed a bitter tonic. Disgusting.

• Niall FFS. It’s not Mr Conlon’s fault that he took the rise. It’s Mr Kenny’s fault for canvassing for it on his behalf, thereby over-ruling his senior cabinet colleagues, and breeching the salary cap imposed and supposedly championed by the Government.

Added to which, I hear on the news today that 14 further advisors have surpassed the salary cap. It’s incredible, and in equal measure despicable.

If the cap fits, or not.

• *breAching* – obviously

• Is Enda Kenny setting a precedent here of invoking the ‘Gerry Adams defence’? According to this logic, any time that a politician, public figure, or even a mere mortal for that matter, does anything dubious or morally questionable, it will be argued that because ‘Gerry Adams did X, I am entitled to do Y’. Ok if it works for everyone but if it is to be reserved for a certain elite … tout ca change is all I can say.

Previously I had thought that the current government would have one term in office before they go the same way as Fianna Fáil. But judging on this performance I’m now willing to bet that they’ll be gone before the present Dáil’s term is up. When that happens the baton will naturally fall to Sinn Féin. We’ll see then what their real mettle is. Will they break the chain or will they adopt the Enda Kenny defence of one hand washing the other?

As for Ciaran Conlon and his masters degree – there are people with PhDs stacking shelves for a living. Did Enda Kenny think of asking any of these people?

• This pay rise is unjustifiable and Kenny should cut his pay in line with other advisors. As an FG member It’s appalling to see the same kind of behaviour that we’ve accused only Fianna Fail of in the past. Kenny is doing a fantastic job as Taoiseach otherwise, however this is indefensible and I hope the Taoiseach puts this issue to bed soon.

• I expect I wasn’t offered it because I told the smug, vote canvassing, blueshirt smarm-bags on the doorsep to feck off, as Enda was the last one I would’ve voted for, this side of hell freezing oer.

• Kenny’s point re Adam’s Westminister expenses is a mute one.
    SF MP’s are elected by the people of Northern Ireland and represent them fully in their capacity as their elected officials in all but one way, actually sitting in Westminister. The SF MP’s incur the same expenses any other MP incurs in running their constituency office and representing their constituents.

• I’d have done it for half what Kenny is paying yer man. Still, it’s only public money. I hope Enda and his cronies end up on the dole, and soon!

• Pay peanuts, get monkeys. €35000 in the greater scheme of things to get (hopefully) the right man for the job is no big deal. Moan about something else, there’s plenty of options!

• mart_n 06/12/11 #

€95,000 is hardly peanuts for what the job entails. He’s not heading up an MNC or charged with ensuring the smooth and prudent running of a bank. He’s simply an advisor.. And that’s all beside the point anyway.

• Unfortunately Gordon, we are already over paying a minister and thousands of civil servants to do this job and last time I looked, unemployment was increasing. They are failing and getting cash bonuses, where do I apply?

• ……and pay loadsa peanuts, get fat monkeys!

• Pay peanuts, get monkeys. Yes please they would do a better job.

Seem to remember during the boom times people when questioning the salaries of ministers, advisors, senior civil servants, bankers etc were told if you didn’t pay well you wouldn’t get the best for the job. Well we all know were that policy got us.

Kenny can defend it all he likes but we all know it’s a job for one of his cronies. I mean how does he know he is the best suited for the job? It wasn’t advertised for god sake.

• CMD 06/12/11 #

I suppose that’s how we ended up with twats like Cardiff. Pay more peanuts u get fatter monkeys. Kenny is a disgrace. Sean Macc. If u think that a job u can get for about 8 years and end up with a fat pension for life is not attractive I’d like to know what your job is. It must be some number!

• Yeah im sure the PDs said that when they first hired him… now what ever did happen to the PDs now….Great money for advising people on a subject that he doesnt have any experience in,,ie job creation….but if it means having a masters degree and political experience with fine gael will see the dole queues are going to be reduced then we can look forward to jobs appearing again…..somehow i reckon that be like a minister brining forward a bill reducing tds salaries to €60k a year 4 weeks holidays and vouched expenses and no advisors

• There’s no point in saying 95000 is enough, it’s too much, it’s too little etc. pay the right money for the right person, hopefully. But this bangin on about 35 grand makes me laugh, the media sensationalize it and the opposition use it as a populist tool, knowing full well it’s nothing!

Add New Comment