TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Taoiseach resolves to work ‘harder than ever’ to restore Ireland’s finances

Enda Kenny’s address at Béal na mBláth also reveal details about the overall themes of Ireland’s EU presidency.

Enda Kenny inspects Sliabh na mBan, the armoured car in which the body of Michael Collins was evacuated. Both the car and the Taoiseach attended today's events in Béal na mBláth.
Image: Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland

Updated, 16:12

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has called on his government and the Irish people to “work harder than ever, to roll up our sleeves” and fulfil Michael Collins’ aspirations for Ireland.

Kenny was addressing the annual commemoration of Collins’ death at Béal na mBláth, the small village close to where Collins – the chairman of Ireland’s provisional government at the time – was travelling when he was assassinated on August 22, 1922.

“Like Collins, our founders thought big, dreamt big and delivered big,” the Taoiseach said, as he became the first sitting head of government to address the commemoration.

Referring to the hydroelectric power plant at Ardnacrusha – which was controversial at the time it was built – Kenny said: “Their dream, their vision and their determination created a long-term economic benefit – a less and an example of our times”.

The Taoiseach’s speech regularly recalled Collins’ status as Ireland’s first independent Minister for Finance, and revealed how he drew inspiration from Collins’ own political struggles in his government’s attempts to regain economic independence.

“I give you my word that I will not rest, nor will the government rest, until Ireland has reclaimed and restored its economic sovereignty,” he said.

Kenny added that if his government was to ask people to make “big changes and big sacrifices, we have a political duty – indeed a moral duty – to lead by example and reform the political system itself”.

Collins would “expect and demand no less of us”, he remarked.

Kenny also revealed that the themes of food security, nutrition and climate change would be central to Ireland’s presidency of the European Council when it takes over at the head of that body for the first half of 2013.

Referring to Ireland’s good relations with Britain – embodied, Kenny said, by mutual support for each country’s athletes at London 2012 – the Taoiseach said similar themes would be pursued by the UK when it holds the presidency of the G8 next year.

Another first at today’s commemoration was the attendance of the armoured car, Sliabh na mBan, in which Collins’ body was removed from the scene.

The Irish Army, of which Collins was also the first commander-in-chief, also attended and fired an artillery salute.

Read next:

Comments (111 Comments)

• Addressing the finances starts at home, no point continuing to look across to the continent to address the finances when we have glaring issues within government policies from top to bottom both in how advisors are selected/paid/bonuses. How contracts are awarded/paid/completed. How there are glaring inconsistencies in the financial practices of the likes of CIE and nothing appears to have been done about it. We have a broken health system yet it still receives billions in administration costs.

Addressing the finances starts at home, and there appears to be nothing but apathy from all departments. This man believes he has control of the rudder? The rudder is missing Mr Kenny.

• I hope that this means he will get on with the job he was elected to do. It’s disappointing to hear more promises of something he is about to do.

The superior man acts before he speaks, and afterwards speaks according to his actions.
    - Confucius

• Roll up What sleeves… You have already taken the shirt off our backs…

• His advisers slipped up today.
    Inviting comparisons with Michael Collins while reading a script prepared by the communications clinic would never be a clever move.

• Enda will fix nothing until all pay levels, in particular politicians and public sector arecset at a European average. We are still 18 billion shy a year in our current spending. Unsustainable.

• “In Ireland, to even question our relationship with Europe is regarded as heresy. We unquestioningly embrace every move towards integration and political union as something that will be good for Ireland. Politicians not content that we have shouldered our own banks’ burden, cheer when more bank bailouts across Europe are announced. Europe is in a very sick state and is likely to stagnate at best for many years. Central banks can delay the inevitable, not prevent it. Spain, Italy and France will go down as Germany’s Anglo. Many years from now your grandchildren will iPad you from China and ask why did Ireland refuse to learn from its mistakes. When your answer is we made such a mess of it ourselves we thought the Europeans would do better, it will seem ridiculous.
    Together we can fix this broken country.”
    Paul Sommerville

• Enda Kenny’s attempts at restoring Ireland’s finances.
    - Paying billions to unsecured bondholders.
    - Giving a license to an oil and gas company at a knockdown price last year, and then a few weeks ago extending this license at the same knockdown price.
    This man and the rest of his accomplices in government are traitors to this country and are committing economic treason.
    The problem though, is that the SHEEPLE of this country let them get away with it.
    I can only hope that the sheeple wake up to what they are allowing before it’s too late.

• jesus that speech made me wanna vomit, whoever came up with it needs to be fired cos not only have they done a crap job but have in the process made an already disliked person more hated now with what was said in that speech…….Enda for the love of God start acting like a man and leader and stop listening to overpaid asses of advisers the people need a leader not an idiot!

• We will just have to work harder, for longer & for less. After all them poor bond holders can’t be going without now can they… Kenny is big on words but the follow through is sorely lacking.

• Talk is cheap, how long have they been talking about reforms now???

• It reminds me of good old Charlie, punch a few more holes in your belt and work harder at tightening it further! While he bought top of the range shirts and champagne in France, good ol Champagne Charlie on his Yacht and we all hungry! It equals Idiot Enda’s speech, roll up your sleeves and work harder. While he gives himself pay increases and breach’s salary caps for his special advisors!

• “Kenny added that if his government was to ask people to make “big changes and big sacrifices, we have a political duty – indeed a moral duty – to lead by example and reform the political system itself”.

Really???

200 grand a year begs to differ Enda!!! So not only do you continue to insult the good people of this country,now you insult the memory of one of it’s greatest patriots.

• Honestly, how much would you do the job for? Think of all it entails, including the media attention on your family and the travel involved, before answering.

• Far less than 200 grand a year.It would be and should be an honour to lead ones country,not a means to feather ones nest,especially under our present circumstances.

• Cutting the salary of the Taoiseach is not the answer and could potentially deter a great candidate from the job from accepting it. Those most successful in business are often driven by money but deliver far more value to a business than their salary costs. If the role of Taoiseach was seen more as a CEO and less of a civil servant, you’d be guaranteed each department would be run a lot more efficiently than they currently are.

If we paid Michael O’Leary half a million to be Taoiseach for a year you can be damn sure he’d save the exchequer considerably more than his salary. Now I’m not saying give O’Leary the job but I think we need a business person running the show. You’re not going to attract one of those to the job by paying considerably less than the private sector.

Shouting for the populist opinion of cutting salaries for the decision makers worries me a bit because I wonder what calibre of candidates are we going to fill these roles that impact on our day-to-day lives.

• @ Lee Mohan

You shouldn’t accept the job of running a country because of money anyway!
      Anyone that does for money reasons, don’t deserve to be there!

• @Biggins31 Well it would be great that everyone who held the job did it for the love of the country etc but back in reality I’m sure you too would want to be paid.

• british prime minister runs a country at an estimated 62m population and he gets €166,000 so how can you justify enda kenny getting €200,000 for an estimated 4.5m population

• Course you would Ru….and a fine job you would do i am sure…. I see journal.ie has not changed… still the same pathetic talk shop as ever…

• The grossly over inflated salary is completely unjustified. Not only are the people supposedly ‘running’ (or ruining) the country not qualified, and IMHO being a qualified teacher doesn’t cut it there are also paying advisors ontop. 200k per annum is way too much for doing for photo ops. While special advisors and script writers try to pawn us off with empty words. The man won’t even enter into a debate for Christ sake. The change HAS to come from the top and until it does Enda is just like the rest of the previous self serving swines!

• Contrary to popular belief, Ireland is not a business.
      A business doesn’t have to factor in caring for the young, old, disabled etc, Irish society does. That FG don’t understand this is not surprising, given they see themselves as the government of IrelandInc and big business.
      Enda Kenny talks of leading by example etc. pay rises for advisors? time to walk the walk.
      This argument about getting what you pay for re salaries is seriously flawed at this stage. I think bankers, RTE, and the obscene amounts paid out to the top earners in Councils around the country etc puts paid to that.

• @ Lee Mohan

I would want to be paid – but talking the job should NOT be based upon the money.
      One is supposed to serve ones country in what one can do for it – NOT what it can do for you!

And by the way, a political party selects it leader which then might upon a winning election be raised to a position of running the country.
      The point? He or she, our new leader would to accurately put it – get there by election and by selection.
      …Not because of wage amounts!
      They have ALREADY opted to take the job as they have ALREADY accepted the position of party leader, which then goes on to an election win

• Welcome back Declan,your pro Fianna Gael BS was sorely missed.Poor David was pulling double shifts here,so much BS for such a young mind can not be a good thing!!!

• @ Declan Cotter

Journal.ie has NO way to make posters post anything.

Posters here post here under their own remit and thoughts.
      Don’t cry about journal.ie just because you disagree with a lot of opinions here!

If they all agreed with your thoughts, I’m very sure you would be saying “Journal.ie is a wonderful place! Full of great minds” – but no, they disagree, so journal.ie is a bad, bad place, eh?

• CSEC BIO 19/08/12 #

I’d do the job for ?45k per year. Also I’d link the salary to social welfare and minimum wage on a 2 for 1 ratio. That is to increase the salary by ?1 social welfare and minimum wage must go up by ?2. To reduce minimum wage or social welfare by ?1, salary must go down by ?2. It is only fair way.

• Well Mr. Kenny can start by having the D?il sit for more than 90 days a year. He and all sitting TD’s should cut their wages by 30%. Only then will they have the respect to talk to us. At present the majority of Irish People do not have fair representation as they can’t afford it. Mr. Kenny tells people in Ireland Economic crisis not our fault but goes to Europe and said we went mad borrowing. What is your real opinion Mr. Kenny? What has Mr. Kenny done about Dr. Reilly’s debt problems? If that was Joe Bloggs off the street they would be in jail by now! Mr. Kenny and all politicians are only present for photo opps. I for one would like to see less of their personal ego stroking and more fruits of their so called labour in terms of achieving real debt reduction, real economic growth. All Mr. Kenny is doing is following the same lame policies of the last government and he has some neck to lecture about hard work! Shame on him for using this day of rememberence of a true National Hero for hid own sickening attempt to install his name in the history books.

• Fine Gale will never be left forget the time they took the Shilling from the Old age pension way back. It is similar today only they are taking everything they can get.

• “Taoiseach resolves to work ‘harder than ever’ to restore Ireland’s finances”
    …then gets the money and shoves it into bottomless pits of banks!

Meanwhile he then introduces even more taxes upon the people to drain more yet again out of them!

• The only thing Enda works hard at , is finding ways to take what little money people have left, dont see any Politician stressed about money…

• Don’t believe the talking points. Kenny is only for the top 10%, everone else is slaves.You can’t have massive spending on top civil servants and billions in tax cuts for the top 10% and have money to pay for Social Security. This year, they offered immigration status for wealthy people to live in Ireland. This despite the low corporation tax rate and the well-known “double irish” tax arrangement that Bono uses to avoid paying taxes to the Irish state.

• rusty9 19/08/12 #

If he was serious about trying to sort out the mess, then he would hold Anglo gurus to account and find our how much they have recouped in their strategy on Quinn, and how many million they have squandered in this farce. He would ask himself honestly how the strategy that he and his Gov. sanctioned on Quinn is working for the taxpayers.

• Roll up our sleeves and get this country to be as Michael Collins aspired it to be….what a joke Enda ya tool….Mr Collins would be turning in his grave if he saw the state ye group of tools have our fine country in. You’re a joke and those before you and those after you will do what ye always do….look after yourselves and feck the rest of the country!

• Collins must be turning in his grave

• made 19/08/12 #

An absolute insult to Collins having that Kenny idiot speaking. Roll up sleeves and work harder, well what the hell has he been doing with the last year, absolutely nothing for the people of Ireland anyway. Making sure unsecured bond holders are paid with our money and that no bankers or politicians answer for the mess they created and then screwing the ordinary working person more and more every day until they have nothing left. What Kenny and his cronies are doing is tantamount to treason.

• He,s an utter disgrace to be coming across and making himself out to be the next Michael Collins…. In fairness Michael Collins fought and died for the independence of the Irish people and then this hypocrite comes along and sells OUR sovereignty to the Germans and now he wants to make out he’s doing everything for the good of the country!

Let me ask ya this?

When you ENDA Kenny first became Taoiseach your salary was €214,000 approx which wa above your salary cap. Then you took a payout ” for the good of the country” and your wages went down to €200,000 per annum, yet approximately a month ago you raised your salary back up to €211,000 which is above your salary cap.

Now how can you propose to cut social welfare yet again when people are living on approx €9,960, and with this we buy our own petrol, we drive our own cars, we pay our own bills and we live off of 1/10 of what you live on. So tell me how cutting people who are barely living on the breadline even further is going to help this country.

Maybe if you start cutting from the top instead of wasting money on chauffeurs to drive ye around the place, I mean seriously ye have two legs just like the rest of us!

IRELAND NEEDS TO STAND UP AND FIGHT BACK IN THE MEMORY OF MICHAEL COLLINS!

• Kenny would not be fit to wipe Collins ‘ boots . Kenny is a coward !
    ” No foreigner will be able to intervene between our Government and our people.”from The Path to Freedom General Michael Collins http://www.generalmichaelcollins.com/The_Path_to_Freedom/1_Path_to_Freedom.html

• And what has he done thus far? Did I miss something?

• Works very hard and honest at least

• More than most of the keyboard warriors on here who attack every statement he makes yet have no plans/alternatives/suggestions themselves.

If anyone thinks they’ve something to offer they should start planning for the next elections. Stephen Donnelly did.

Although its a thousand times easier just to be critical from the sidelines!

• WS 19/08/12 #

Hahaha an honest politician! Thanks for that Rickie, gave me a good laugh there.

• @ Stephen: Where did I say listen to Kenny in my post?

All I said was that people should get involved if they think they could do better.

• You were defending him like the loyal FG sheep you are!

• Ryan, we are involved. Who do you think foots the bill?? Tax payers and we have a right to praise / comment or criticise all we like.

• @ Stephen: As I’ve repeated before several times on here I am not a member of FG. Indeed they’ve never even had my first preference in an election.

Instead I find it frustrating that people constantly criticise the government and make out as if they could do better. Yet when it is put to commenters here that they are perfectly entitled to run for election if they think they could, they suddenly change their tune or throw out insults like you did.

I’ve far more respect for the likes of Stephen Donnelly, Paul Somerville who is quoted below, Dylan Haskins or the guy setting up Slios No Fearr than anyone on here who complains and then does nothing.

• Martin Critten, is doing a great job, with Sli-Nio -Fearr. You are right about sounding off on the, If you can dobetter then you gointo Politics. But you come across as defending the man, the guy is a C***p!

• So according to Edna he has “a political duty – indeed a moral duty – to lead by example”. Does that mean that everyone is getting a 10000 euro pay rise in September to match the one he awarded himself?

• Up to now he’s been giving away our hard earned taxes and borrowed more money to give it away to professional investors who thought they had lost their money.. Lucky for them Enda pays other peoples way with our money.

• When will people just realise that you don’t trust anything this man or any politician says.If the tide turned and and by some freak of nature Collins was hated by the people, he would be at the forefront of that argument like a social chameleon.Michael Collins would be disgusted at the state of our nation.He was an Irish man first, then a soldier and a politician last, and it was the latter that saw him assassinated.Just take it as a speech, words written on a page for Enda Kenny to read out aloud because its nothing more.

We’ll all start “working harder” when the government stop exporting our taxes to pay for foreign bondholders who lost money on a now defunct bank.We’ll work harder when the white collar criminals go to jail for a long, long time for the ruination of a countries economy and enforced hardship of the working man and woman.We’ll work harder when the politicians listen to the people and take a hit like all of us.We”ll work harder when they start working full stop (they must be half way through their 2 month holidays by now..what a joke!) God bless you Michael Collins.

• @Ryan…freedom of speech, ever heard of that?

• He gave his word so that will have to keep us happy for another year and a half until he gives his word again and that will be 3yrs what’s the betting we’l be in a bigger mess and he’l swear to baby Jesus ad his mother again then time up and he’l pass the baton to Bruton.Job done country worse than ever.

• Enda Kenny’s word is worthless. Its empty rhetoric at this stage……..people are tired of waiting for the promises that came from his mouth. I would call him a lier but I’d be pointing out the obvious.

• Nothing

• @Ryan Allen
      Um… how about following Iceland’s example? They’re at less than 6% unemployment, have paid up their loans – early! – and are experiencing a massive boom in economical recovery.

Ireland? Enda Kenny promised “not one more red cent”. Yet his party is preparing to hand over a couple more billion to those jackals. Enda Kenny’s party single-handedly created the economical disaster that is Ireland, and has not only perpetuated FF’s failures, but increased them at a magnitude that will see our children’s children suffering for his pandering. His party refuses to tax the wealthy in any proportion compared to his insane taxes on the middle and lower classes. Even bringing the taxes of the top tier into line with EU averages will bring in over €3bn – the current shortfall, for which we will be given new and harsher taxes in the new year is €3,5bn. Just by equalising the taxation on the wealthy, he can gather enough funds to almost wipe that out.

And you’re ok with that??? Jeez. Blinkers much?

• Any one got work for me
      Didn’t think so

• Does anyone remember ‘it is morally wrong, unjust, and unfair to tax a person’s home’, this idiot couldn’t run a tuck shop!

• Enda will just go through the motions, do what the Bundestag says & by the time Ireland is actually sorted he & the rest of them will swan off into retirement with their gold leafed pensions. This fool is no Michael Collins, not far off Eoin O’Duffy more like (red thumb away).

• The Coalition is under pressure, how long do you have to be a Minister to qualify for the pension? That’s how long more, they’ll last. Anyone that thinks they are doing it, because they love their Country? See a Doctor!

• I think he means we will work harder!

• alan 19/08/12 #

‘our founders thought big, dreamt big and delivered big’

Household charge

‘Kenny also revealed that the themes of food security, nutrition and climate change would be central to Ireland’s presidency of the European Council when it takes over at the head of that body for the first half of 2013’

GM trials

“big changes and big sacrifices, we have a political duty – indeed a moral duty – to lead by example and reform the political system itself”

Seanad still in existence

• The child allowance is next for the chop, then the children of Ireland can go to bed without their supper . Some man for one man.

• “I give you my word that I will not rest, nor will the government rest, until Ireland has reclaimed and restored its economic sovereignty,” he said.

i bet he has a snooze in his fancy limo on the way home…..

• Politicians must never sleep.

• alan 19/08/12 #

“I give you my word that I will not rest, nor will the government rest, until Ireland has reclaimed and restored its economic sovereignty,” he said.

then added. ‘ok. whose for lunch and a pint?’

• Pony…I’s say they have made significant progress on that front….

• Empty words that mean and will amount to nothing.

• I give you my word that i will not rest, nor will the government etc etc….i just need a 2 month holiday and so does the rest of my government as we are exhausted a lot of bullshit from kenny …..this is the person who went on tv to tell us how the handing over of our sovereignty was not our fault then a couple of weeks later was telling everybody in europe sure we all partied hard and serve us right the country is bankrupt…..when the euro implodes kenny will still be paying the unsecured bondholders and yes he did promise that not a cent more would be handed to the banks or bond holders if he was elected leader….so kenny keep the platitudes and bull for those who are naieve to believe the words that come out of your mouth as the majority of the country think your a person that will say anything and promise anything to get into and stay in power….420000 unemployed prices going up and up taxes going up and wages down

• Some suggestions to get back us on track:

1) Dump the banking guarantee scheme and insolvent banks – which are not supposed to trade anyway if they are bankrupt. We will lose our deposits, but that is a lot less than the pyramid scheme of debt that we and our children are expected to pay, through ransom, by the bankers in state assets. These are completely unconstitutional extortionate taxes and extractions of wealth. (Mary McAleese, our protector, why did you let these through?)

2) Dump the euro. Control our own money supply. Examine closely fractional reserve banking and debt limits.

3) Keep our own national assets and resources – of which there are trillions of euros around our coast. Create a national council for protection and management of assets – out of the control of financiers and politicians.

4) Stop the spending. Everyone needs to cut their wages, especially the extremely well paid on €150K+. With a debt write down, these super incomes are not required to pay back debts. The culture of entitlement has to go. “The most vulnerable in society” brigade cannot keep spending borrowed money to discourage work.

5) Change politics. TDs should not be holding clinics to interfere and corruptly canvas decisions in exchange for votes. Ministers should be appointed, by a board, with expertise in their area and a proven track record, and not be driving all over the country to open pubs and force through horrendous planning permission for constituents.

6) Become self sufficient for energy, food, and other essentials – we are highly vulnerable if current the current system of trade collapses.

• Absolutely vomit inducing words. Kenny cannot ask us to give more of ourselves or the meagre finances we have left while billions of our money is stolen by his government to pay unsecured unguaranteed bondholders and he refuses to bring in a third rate of tax on higher earners. He is the anti-Collins.

• alan 19/08/12 #

He’s working on a new six point plan, the extra point will have him shattered god love him.

• More pious horse sh*t from our ‘beloved’ leader…as for offering a better way than is being currently offered?…they (FG) promised us that before the last election and have failed utterly to change things..Kenny has lost the trust and confidence of a huge number of people in this country and has made his government an impotent unit being percieved as taking orders from Europe. They won’t change anything to help this country..they’ll get the Troika out by achieving their beloved 3% deficit and in doing so will mangle the economy. I wonder what Michael Collins would say …..

• Lee maybe we could attract someone with a brain that isn’t brainwashed into the trappings of money wasn’t it the geed that broke us in the first lace .Yep put in a business man/woman that has connections and loyalties to those who have direct input into how they want the country run here boss il give you a donation there for inside info.I mean do you want change or not .

• The man told massive lies in order to achieve power! That in my book is unforgivable! For Christ’s sake he doesn’t even trust himself to appear on a live tv debate! He’s only a puppet for his wealthy masters who tell him to take everything he can get from the people who can least afford it! So much for democracy!

• What an utter and total moron. He’s decimated the economy to the point that a handful of businesses are closing every week – and will continue to do so for generations to come.

When are you going to grow a pair of balls Enda (or should that be Edna, you’re surely ball-less) and stand up to the banks and say NO MORE, NOT ONE MORE RED CENT? Oh wait, you promised to do that. What a lying sack of doohickey. Why is it that Iceland are out of debt, on recovery, and have less than 6% unemployment? Oh right, they didn’t pander to the banks. They grew their economy rather than fed on it.

You won’t learn. We all know you couldn’t be arsed reading these comments because you feel you’re gold, God’s right hand man in a world of chaos. Let me tell you, YOU are the cause. YOU are the reason Ireland’s sons and daughters are under the breadline. YOU are responsible, you wretched ill-thought-out excuse for a man!

• Best comment of the day John!!!

• In fairness, it’s not a red cent, it’s a green one, putting us further into the red!! The people of the country need to get up and get out and show just how sick we are of Edna and her cronies. For God’s sake, 5000 turned up to SUPPORT! a corrupt failed, banker wanna-be, yet less than half that marched against the household and water taxes. We are criminally negligent in our facile acceptance that we can’t do anything. We can, and we must. To leave this legacy for future generations borders on treason not just by the lackies in Kildare St., but all of us. Edna is filling in time, The Father of The House is no more than a senile old man who has forgotten about the promises he made. He will step down at the end of this term leaving us worse off than when he arrived. The fridge may have been bare when he took office, but its been sold off to the Germans rather than attempting to restock!

• David its not shit a lot of people working very hard every day with getting sli nios fearr up and running.an unemployment week coming up in October which they organising .what u doing .

• Someone pat him on the head and give him a bone, take him out and play fetch!

• The people of Ireland baled the banks out and we should work harder if the big lad was around you and the bankers would be shoot

• roll up our sleeves lol

• Yes, Roll up, Roll up! To the greatest show on Earth, we have Bertie and his clowns on golden pensions! Then we have Enda and his big white elepant in the room, with lowry and O’brien next. After that, we have the Irish citizens paying for the whole show. Then nothing changes and it begins again,All hail our fabulous politicians!

• What are you say Stephen? Are you saying that Enda Kenny is corrupt in some way or is controlled by Dennis O’Brien???? You this is why this type of junk journalism is disregarded by so many….If you said that on any proper form of media you would be forced to back it up with evidence or withdraw it….On here people talk utter b*****x and are not answerable to anyone…
      A joke of a comment

• That is exactly what I am saying, his words and actions back up what I say. He is a spineless, double-jobbing, two-faced dog and like a dog! Is loyal to who-ever feeds it, an annoying bark and surrounded by flea bitten dogs.If he has done no wrong in your eyes, then the owner is worse than the dog. You are not living in Nazi Germany you know, Its my democratic right to find fault with this fiddler!

• Fair play to you Stephen, you should know by now that Mr Cotter suffers with selective amnesia when it comes to Dumb and his merry men when they were handing money over to people tax free and under the table, not to mention the fact that the man has no morals, no balls and is a bare faced lying racist, who thinks himself worthy of giving himself a salary increase to the tune of 10K – cause he’s worth it!!!!! So between his salary and expenses,and those of his several special advisors, speech writers, Taoiseachs secretary and the secretary to the taioseachs secrety we can figure and all their bonuses and incremental increases, that the Dept Of an Taoiseach costs us give or take a couple around 100,000 euros p.a. Absolutely Scandalous, the people should be outside Dail Eireann demonstrating calling for him and his cronies to resign, before they become entitled to pensions. The breaks need to be put on the gravy train.

• ** *the dept of taoiseach (give or take a couple of 100,000) about 1 million euros***

• Stephen…complete bull!!!! pub talk is all it is… I dont beleieve for one second Enda Kenny is corrupt… The fact that journal.ie allows you to state it without a shread of evidence said a lot about its creditibility…

• I think we need the ongoing pressure from the Troika until we have reformed the significant overspend and poor administration in the largest two government departments , health and social welfare. If we regain our sovereignty , the pressure for change will be lifted and we will return to / continue with inept governance. I’ll get my coat ………

• People like micheal Collins would turn in there graves if they could see the leadership Ireland has at moment and the state of the country and economy.fine geal blueshirts would sell this country to British or Germans if they could,Enda kenny our muppet leader is a liar ” it morally wrong and unfair to tax a persons home”.

• Freedom of speech on this my ass….my comment removed….journal not as great as I thought it was!!!!

• I’ve just consulted the oracle of bally Bollo* and all we be grand in a wee bich

• Stephens absolutely right out with old look up http://www.sli nois fearr for a proper change

• @ gavan what was wrong with the latest comment i made or are you going to delete this comment and continue to ignore me

• By “work harder” he mean “tax the Irish economy till it dies”

• I see the free speech nazis at the journal are hard at it again.

• I feel I need to be a bit of a Pedantic Pat here. The tagline on the above picture “the armoured car in which the body of Michael Collins was evacuated.” is just so wrong.
    You do not evacuate a body/person in that way. To evacuate a body would be to empty it of its contents. Yuck!
    Come on now folks, some standards please. Journalist should not be making such basic mistakes with the language.

• Great speech,not about the self,all about the country & our people. Can’t give a report one year into a four year term,the government is doing a good job so far I believe. Some have an issue with political leaders in general,the party is irrelevant they mostly have issues with authority

• Good job at what?

• Good job according to who’s standards? His? Well its not in line with what the rest of the populace who think otherwise and who are still waiting for the reform and change he promised! Unemployment figures are rising….etc etc etc etc etc. I could go on but wont bore you with all doom and gloom that real people are feeling! Good job my arse

• “the party is irrelevant they mostly have issues with authority”
      Excuse me? The issue here is that this coalition has single-handedly destroyed the Irish economy. Businesses are closing left, right, centre because there is no money to spend in those businesses. Why is there no money? Because it’s all been taken in stealth taxes, land taxes (after paying them on purchasing the damn house), water charges (illegal in most of EU), increased VAT, and increases in loan interest rates (despite our money bailing them out).

Enda Kenny and his ilk are directly responsible for this shambles. By not holding bankers and the wealthy speculators responsible, and instead attacking our economy directly by infecting the low to middle classes (you know, those classes that actually spend money on IRISH businesses). By paying our unsecured bondholders – who took an unsecured risk in the first place. Do you understand the meaning of unsecured? It means, you risk your money – failure means no money for you. Yet this man has single-handedly made sure that these unsecured risk takers took no risk at all.

It’s people like you who are responsible for the general apathy and sheer arrogance this man is getting away with destroying our country’s sovereignty, our dignity, and our economy.

Add New Comment