TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

# enda-kenny - Tuesday 21 May, 2013

From The Score NFL

San Francisco to host Super Bowl L

The L stands for 50, you know.

From The Score Local Hero
From The Daily Edge PITY THE FOOL

9 children and dogs who know how to celebrate Mr. T

We pity the fool who doesn’t dress their kids or dogs as Mr T!

Cameron needs opposition’s help as gay marriage vote is passed

The House of Commons has held its last vote on gay marriage in England and Wales, amid a Conservative revolt.

SPONSORED

From The Score Tidy

‘O’Brien is beef and I’m cattle’: Lydiate keen to link up with his Irish equivalent

The Paris-bound flanker even offered to give Sean O’Brien a hand on the farm, if he needs it.

From The Daily Edge Help Yourself This post contains videos

7 things that are just asking to be robbed

Here, take my bike, please.

Column: Changing the law on abortion is dangerous and unjust

There is no evidence to show that abortion treats suicide ideation – this means that any legislation based on the grounds of suicidal ideation is irredeemably damaged, writes Cora Sherlock.

Man arrested over discovery of body in Cork apartment

The remains of 58-year-old Liam Manley were found at an apartment in central Cork eight days ago.

From The Score Oklahoma

Kevin Durant gives $1million to the Oklahoma Tornado Relief fund

Generous move from the OKC talisman.

From The Score Merry-go-round

Tony Pulis’ future in doubt amid Stoke exit rumours

The Potters’ boss may be hanging up his baseball cap.

Commissioner told Shatter about Mick Wallace’s encounter with Gardaí

Opposition TDs have demanded to know how an unrecorded incident came to be known by the country’s top Garda.

As it happened: Final day of the Oireachtas hearings on planned abortion laws

TheJournal.ie team brought you live updates from day three of the hearings, including testimony from legal experts.

From The Score Countdown

Lions ‘ready to play’ after added pressure of open day

Forwards coach Graham Rowntree noted that the extra eyes scrutinising his pack’s line-out is exactly what the squad needs.

The Evening Fix… now with some famous Germans

Here are the things we learned, loved and shared today.

From The Daily Edge Our Eyes This post contains videos

We may have found the worst music video ever

Make it stop / we can’t look away / is this actually real? etc.

Shatter: I made comments ‘to defend the integrity of An Garda Síochána’

Here’s the full text of Alan Shatter’s Dáil explanation.

From The Score COYBIG

LA Galaxy refuse to release Keane for England and Georgia games

The Ireland skipper’s US employers have pulled rank on Giovanni Trapattoni.

US can keep dead Osama bin Laden photos under wraps

A court ruled that pictures of a dead Bin Laden could reveal classified intelligence methods.

From The Score Allo Allo

Brian O’Driscoll: ROG and Jonny Sexton will be allies in France

The Leinster talisman says Sexton’s even invited O’Gara to his wedding. He’ll want that bouquet.

From The Daily Edge Bean Juice

9 food issues that will cause fights at the dinner table

Haven’t we all nearly come to blows over mayonnaise?

Four men sent to prison for blackmailing couple in NI

A senior PSNI officer said blackmail can be a “difficult crime to combat”.

Dead treasure hunter’s loot of 899 artefacts returned to Irish museum

The items came to light following a tip-off from the British Museum to the National Museum of Ireland.

From The Daily Edge GIZ A TIP This post contains videos

Open thread: Are you a big tipper?

How much to tip and when? The internet is making us wonder.

US Senate: Irish tax havens are leaving US children without education

Corporate giant Apple transferred 64 per cent of its income to Irish subsidiaries.

Jack & Jill Foundation refunds €130,000 in donations after card scam

The charity says it received donations from private credit cards, made by criminals try to see if stolen cards were still working.

From The Score Tekkers This post contains videos

Stunning flick by Kerry minor footballer to set up goal in Munster semi-final

He didn’t bend his back to pick up the ball but we’ll leave him off on this occasion.

From The Score Mane Man

Look how much fun Paul O’Connell had at Lions training today

‘I’ve got Jack Johnson and Tom O’Leary waitin’ for ya…right here.’

The 5 at 5: Tuesday

5 stories, 5 minutes, 5 o’clock.

From The Daily Edge Bertie Is Great This post contains videos

“Tea? No thanks”: Things Irish people don’t say

“Wooden spoon? Doesn’t bother me”.

From The Score NYC

Man shoots himself at altar of the Notre Dame cathedral

The tourist attraction in Paris was evacuated this afternoon.

Should Alan Shatter resign over points furore? ‘No,’ insists the Taoiseach

Enda Kenny offers a loyal defence of Alan Shatter, as opposition TDs continue to call for the justice minister’s head.

Oscar Pistorius’ brother acquitted of killing woman in road crash

Carl Pistorius’ case was brought to court shortly after athlete Oscar Pistorius shot dead his girlfriend on Valentine’s Day.

From The Score Wheelie This post contains videos

Howlin: ‘Public servants have given a huge amount but this is the last ask’

The minister said he was glad the structure was there for a new deal but was “not taking anything for granted in relation to the ballot”.

From The Daily Edge Thanks St. Patrick! This post contains videos

Let’s all take a moment to be grateful that there are no snakes in Ireland

The actual size of this python a normal person encountered in their daily life in Florida is terrifying.

Water treatment plant workers down tools

Work stopped at Shanganagh Waste Water Treatment Plant over staff demands for fair pay.

From The Score NO 2

Brighton ‘sorry’ for pre-match dirty protest

The Championship side have formally apologised to Crystal Palace for the dressing-room incident.

From The Score Sports Stars

Your ‘Lions Captain And 2 All-Ireland Football Winners’ Pic Of The Day

Sports stars from different codes met up in Carton House today.

From The Daily Edge Shatter Knows