TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

ESRI report on economy is ‘a waste of paper’

Sinn Féin’s Mary Lou McDonald has heavily criticised the national think tank’s latest economic report.

Mary Lou McDonald
Image: Photocall Ireland

THE ESRI HAS been heavily criticised by Sinn Fein in the wake of its latest economic report published today.

In its quarterly economic report, the Economic and Social Research Institute (ESRI) says that Ireland’s economy is “bouncing along the bottom” and has predicted the domestic economy will shrink this year.

The report said that while the public finances were improving “significant cuts in public expenditure” will still be needed irrespective of any deal that Ireland gets on its banking debt.

But Sinn Féin’s deputy leader Mary Lou McDonald said the ESRI – the leading economic think-tank in Ireland which is partly funded by government – was part of a “band wagon that continues to push the austerity agenda in face of all the facts that show austerity is lengthening the crisis”.

She pointed to the organisation’s claim in the middle of the financial crisis that the country’s banking debt was manageable and said that it was not seeing the connection between its gloomy economic forecast and the government’s policies.

McDonald said: “The ESRI is contributing nothing to this debate and will continue to contribute nothing if it does not stand back and take an objective view of the Irish economy. €25 billion has come out in budget adjustments since 2008.

“In 2012 we still have a €13 billion deficit, debt to GDP over 100 per cent, 460,000 people on the live register, hundreds of businesses closing each year, thousands emigrating, a flat-lining GDP, a domestic economy on the floor.

“Yet nobody in the ESRI or Government thinks that warrants a change of policy direction,” she said, adding: “This report today is a waste of paper.”

Earlier: Think-tank says Irish economy is ‘bouncing along the bottom’

Read: ESRI paper which said many would be better off on dole withdrawn

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (118 Comments)

• The ESRI are muppets. they said there would be a “soft landing” and never copped Ireland was a property bubble.

• How about we cut the ESRI funding? Would that help?

• why don’t we turn all the power off count to ten and turn it on again.. worth a shot. ..anyone have the number for esb..

• mike 21/09/12 #

Yea The gun is always half empty.

• mike 21/09/12 #

Yea Hibernia2012 imagine if we had a Doctor running the HSE.
    You are right though.. But you left that one on a plate.

• we should be glad they we have a bunch of teachers, barristers, estate agents running the country instead of qualified economists and technology specialists!

• mr x 21/09/12 #

3..2..1.. shinnerbots are GO! :-)

• http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=THWbrFy5NWM&feature=youtube_gdata_player

We didn’t listen to then back then and look what happened… The ESRI are a think tank based on research and are generally not politically motivated. Maybe we should pay attention to facts and not allegiances…

• mike 22/09/12 #

ahh your manno. he knows his stuff all right.

• In fairness to the ESRI, they were recommending cooling down the property market since 2000 or so. They warned of the dangers of a property bubble for years before anybody even listened to them. I remember Bertie pretty much laughing at them saying how could he cool the property market when he had a chance to bring Irish immigrants home, try telling them that now. I think if you look back at ESRI reports over the years, they were pretty much spot on. But their policy now of recommending cuts is insane, basic law of economics at this point is to spend our way to growth: infrastructure, tech and primary healthcare

• True, the ESRI’s track record isn’t as dire as people are claiming here, and I for one am glad that they’re there; at the least, the ESRI’S is modelled on a University structure rather than a political party structure, so, at least in theory, political agendas should take second place to objective and verifiable results. There’s also a lot of strange claims here that the ESRI is a right-wing apparatus, this also doesn’t hold up, over the past 30 years there’s been quite a few left-wingers on the staff..

• mike 21/09/12 #

Sean. where would we find proof to that correlation. I also hear there is a correlation between people who use insults to back up their opinion and low IQ.

• mike 21/09/12 #

I Don’t support any party Darren. That includes the united left. I don’t think any party has the compete solution here. The problem is that all parties think that they their way is the only way.
    In Ireland we run a Democratically Elected Dictatorship.

• Nobody’s perfect, but it comes down to taking advice on the economy from either the ESRI or Mary-Lou, I’m afraid Mary-Lou wouldn’t be taking the gold. Easy to slag off an organisation like the ESRI, but to do it like a stroppy teenager without any solid basis doesn’t inspire confidence. I very much feel that, if SF are to move onwards and upwards, Mary-Lou will have to take a bad-seat. She’s too much a new model of the bad old days and is a political dead-end.

• The lady won’t get an ounce of respect for such a childish criticism. She must articulate an alternative economic view which unfortunately is somewhat beyond her abilities.

• I think you have it there…. Am I going to take advice from someone who is educatted in English Lit and Human Resoures about Economics… SF continue with any populist slogan…

Yea, the ERSI screwed up but they are right in one thing. We can’t keep spending €13bn more than we got year on year… Get that to close to €3bn and we have a negociating postion with Europe…

• An interesting reference above is that the ESRI report states that the economy is at the ‘bottom’. In my language that would imply that there is no further to fall. So if that is what the ESRI thinks then it doesn’t make sense to keep cutting. It makes sense to to stimulate the economy. Anyone with any knowledge of economics would know that much.

• So the fact that the same organisation said that the bank debt was manageable is completely irrelevant then. I’m no sinn supporter but it seems most people are ready to dismiss out of hand anything they say without being able to provide a constructive counter argument.

• I agree that it would be better to “stimulate the economy” rather than pile on the austerity but the sad fact is that we don’t have any money to spend, remember we had to borrow with conditional loans from the troika as we could not get market loans at sustainable interest rates.

I take it the SF’s position is “increase taxes” but taxing the middle classes would also take money out of the economy. Populist slogans like “tax the rich” would not bring in much revenue, and I do sincerely hope they are not thinking of increasing the corporate tax rate and scaring away all the big multinationals.

My gut feeling is that Ms. McDonald may have been inspired by the need to deflect attention from the revelations about Mr. Adams’ alleged IRA past.

• So which is worse Mary Lou, wasting paper or wasting ink?

• I think Mary Lou is really saying ” I pull da head off ya , ya slag”
    That’s what the pic looks like anyway.

• mike 21/09/12 #

Sorry Darren but Typical means the Majority option, not the Opinion of 100% of Sinn Fein members.
    It’s good to know that your there to uphold the rights of those whose policies don’t agree with your parties.

• I agree with ye mike that has been a big problem in this country just because u support a party should not mean anything they say should be presented with open arms I’m a supporter and a member and I know il never b like that but honestly mike all party member/supporters are the same

• She’s actually right though, this think tank is supposed to advise on economics not preach the obvious.
    After so many cuts and a rigid intransigence to sticking to the austerity policy it’s pretty obvious it’s not working too well, maybe this quango would be better off designing an alternative route out of the mess instead of just narrating on how the country is faring.

• SF economics policy. Stick head in ground and tax the wealthy, whoever they are.

• Irish revolution,you’d want to check your facts,the ESRI made a report way back(the link is
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=THWbrFy5NWM&feature=youtube_gdata_player )stating as early as 2000 that this country would be seriously damaged If the government were not to do anything to slow the housing market down.They were told by the ESRI before it happened what would happen,you can’t get any more accurate then that

• nonsense, the ESRI have always spoken out of both sides of their mouthes.

• I think the ersi is a worthwhile institute that we need to help get the country back in its feet. They need to change tack and realise austerity is not working.

Paul krugman advocates the continued stimulus of economies to foster greater growth of the economy hence leading to more jobs and balance in society.
      This is what Mary Lou mcDonald is
      saying. We have no money to invest in the economy it’s being suck out to pay bondholders. Why can’t people see this instead of squabbling among each other and unite under to demand a shift in European economic policy. This starts with getting a government strong enough to do this.

• Sinn Féin are so pessimistic..

• Hope they didn’t print it in colour!

• mike 21/09/12 #

Typical Sinn Fein. Every economist who doesn’t agree with their policies is wrong and needs to go. Don’t think I want to live in their idea of a free republic.

• Hey mike I’m a shinner and I don’t think that ………. Guess your wrong on that :)

• maybe she has a point . the country is stagnant business are closing people can’t loans for houses that are really cheap all this goverment seem to want is what Germany tells them to do. all the promises Kenny made before the election he as renaged on . or am I wrong in my thoughts.

• And when an economist disagrees with their view point, party strategy is to mis-,partially, or out of context quote them into making it look like they are saying exactly the opposite of they actually said. Good going SF. This strop of course has noting to do with the fact that it makes SF economic policy look like it was written by JRR Tolkien at all.

• Sinn Fein dont have a economic policy! If a party like that came into power business’s will also be emigrating. Just ask them.

• they are more realistic than FF/FG/labour. Cheapest bailout in the world, turning the corner, labours way or Frankfurt’s way, blah blah blah , waffle waffle.

• They do ……..,and wait for it …. IT’S COSTED BY THE DEPT OF FINANCE ….. Ehmmmmmm should a done your homework

• Well I’m not in any party but the only manifesto that had a costed economic plan supported by international economists, rather than by paid off Irish ones was Sinn Fein. I wouldn’t share their views on many things, they would class me as a West Brit, but economically they are far more sound than the muppets who ruined the country or the current ones who are making things worse.

• Jaysus IR do you get your jocks off by winding people up with your BS. Your hilarious

• mike 21/09/12 #

Darren the dept of finance have costed the individual components of Sinn Fein’s financial policies. BUT and it’s a big BUT they did not cost the combination of the individual components into a single unit. Basically put they did not cost how one unit effects another, like how an wealth tax and an increase in corporation tax would effect foreign direct investment and reduce job creation.

• Sad state of affairs if we are listening to ex terrorists lecturing us on economics.

• Sinn Fein and economics?

• You’re wasting your time criticising sinn fein,because none of what they say matters. They are just bringing attention away from this failure of a government. There is a correlation between people who get wrapped up in party politics and people with low iq.

• Oh Mary Lou would you ever de-grimace for 2 seconds and actually be constructive and give a potential alternative. Your buddy G screwed up the other night on primetime on simple questions on budget shortfall and how this could be rectified. If you guys wanna be take things to the next level you need to really give plans and visions not whinge and moan constantly. That is all

• mr x 22/09/12 #

*cough* printer cartridges *cough* pot *cough* kettle *cough* black :-)

• Fairplay to Mary Lou for speaking out, the cuts backs in the economy have been directed at people who spend all their income on getting by. Its further proof that the economy is going no where and fast . The current policies are simply not working , their needs to be a massive change in direction. Banks need to start lending like they promised before they were given our money, public sector pay needs to be capped for everyone no exceptions, a third rate of taxation needs to be introduced , a stimulas package needs to be introduced based over a number of years targeting key infrastructural projects setting ireland up for the future, the softy softy approach to the bank debt needs to change in europe, its embarrassing to see the minister for finance begging in europe for deal and then for Angela to come out and say its not even on the agenda.

• nice to see janice battersby got a job after leaving corrie

• A lot of the customers was saying that Mary Lou will be our first woman Teeshock, Ps A lot of Mayo and Donegal in tonight all having great banter,Great to see.

• Reg 21/09/12 #

Hard to take an Umpa Lumpa seriously!!

• And every cent paid to every politician in the Dail is money waisted. Troika blood money is keeping our broken political system going and we the people have to pay for it…..

• First they misquote economists during the treaty referendum, then they attack the fiscal advisory council and now they’re going after the ESRI.

Sinn Féin can’t be trusted with our economy

• Mary Lou, criticises the very economics her party members in Northern cells happily implement at council and executive level. SF definition of bilingualism is speaking out of both sides of their mouths at same time.

No doubt this latest stunt is a desperate attempt to deflect from Adams abysmal performance against leader of opposition, Micheal Martin, during Prime Time debate

• at least she never ripped off the Irish taxpayers by charging 3500 for web hosting worth 25 quid.

• I bet u liked your own comment ,, as u are a f/f man after all lol
      Listen get a life that Martin lad fuked up the health service and you supported him your like the David Higgins of the old days would ye ever retire and stop embarrassing some of the younger members of your party who wish to change from your old rhetoric

• Ps as long as your chairing cumman meetings s/f in Wicklow have nothing to worry about …….. F/f revival my eye lol be like all them lads on the plain in America reinacting Gettysburg bunch a auld lads with nothing to offer only old story’s of the past

• I heard FF kicked him out and told him he is not allowed use their name on any of his promotional material.

• Seriously Stephen, FF or any of their members or foot soldiers have no right to make any comment on economics, you do realise that it was your party…which included your self promoted leader of the opposition Micheal Martin…are solely responsible for the monstrous depression this country is in?

All very well for you lot of clowns to sit in smug judgement of other parties policies (FG/Labour included) when FF’s constant stupidity, recklessness and quite frankly disastrous tenure in charge of the purse strings lead us to where we are now.

You do realise all this don’t you…. or are you inflicted with the selective amnesia the rest of your party seems to have contracted?

• Those fiscal policies are enacted by the British government. Both power sharing governments have nothing to do with the budget set out to them. I suggest you, being a man from a great republican party in fianna fail, write to the British government to give these fiscal powers to the power sharing executive. Then you could cause but not until then.

Steven the annual best fianna fail employee of the year must be coming up. I see your getting in your tuppence. Michael will be so proud of his teachers pet.

• “This report today is a waste of paper.”…… A quote from the Shinner McDonnald …. What about all the INK the Shinners waste on pure Sh@@e ? and the paper too and the tax payer paying for it ????

• For once Mary Lou is talking sense?

• @Nik so what’s your opinion I c a lot of posts on the j from you and you seem to be really good at the one liners why don’t u come out if the closet and state your party preference I’m s proud s/f supporter by the way ;)

• @ Darren – that’s fair enough. I’m 62, and I was an active Socialist in the 70s and 80s in the UK ( I’m Irish and was born in Ireland, but I emigrated after school and later ended up as a University student there, My ( then ) wife and I returned to Ireland as we wanted our kids to be brought up here ). I stopped being politically active when the Eastern Bloc imploded, as it left myself and many other hard-line / intellectual socialists feeling conned and hypocrites. Basically our rhetoric and our beliefs were shown to have been false, and we’d been helping to perpetuate oppression. People forget now that, until the very end, many socialist states, especially the DDR, were extremely successful at pumping out false propaganda that they were efficient, caring and humanist-driven. Hindsight blurs the past. So, long-winded answer, but politically I’d consider myself left-wing, but I’m not a member of any party and I’m disgusted at much of this new wave of Irish lefties, as their politics are closer to anarchism or crypto-fascism than socialism. It’s anti-tax, anti-democracy and disrespectful of the people it claims to serve. I’m also aware, sad to say, that socialism is at it’s best as a balance and check against regulated capitalism, as socialist-dominated societies are too vulnerable to corruption and the greed/laziness factor. Hope that answers your question.

• Hey Nik …. Not that easy I’m affraid you say your socialist however not a supporter of any socialist in this country ….. What exactly would you like to see and further more how do we get it ?

• Hey Nik …. Not that easy I’m afraid you say your socialist however not a supporter of any socialist in this country ….. What exactly would you like to see and further more how do we get it ?

• Of course I support socialists in this country. Most of my older friends are socialists. They were the people I spent a hell of a lot of time with. That’s life. I’m not a member of an Irish political party, because the one I was a member of no longer exists. Again, that’s life. I don’t support this new-wave of left-wingers because, as I’ve said, Their arguments are fundamentally not left-wing. they are against government control and the wealth of the state being in the hands of the state. Taxation is presented as oppression. Wealth is being taken out of private hands! But isn’t that approaching a socialist state? But the money’s leaving the state to go to our nasty Foreign Shylocks. But here’s where the thorny issue of trying to balance a nationalist agenda with a socialist agenda, who should you feel more affinity with. Our good old home-grown capitalists or our fellow workers in Germany and France? The nationalist agenda has to favour the Irishman, the socialist agenda has to put the worker, any worker, as more important than nationality. And none of the various shades of left, from labour pink to Angry-as-a-bull red, can properly name who the opponent is. Us or them? But there is no US. That loose group floating unconvincingly around the ULA are closer to being embittered and disillusioned capitalists than socialists. They don’t want state
      control of the nation’s wealth, they can’t have the wealth themselves, but they don’t want any other capitalistic to have it. So they spend more time bickering amongst themselves, when the basis of left-wing ideology Is solidarity.

• @nik with respect to you and your history you know a lot more than me about socialism however you still failed to address my question of which all these arguments come from….. What is the way forward and how do we get there ?? When someone of any political background makes a statement u are there to either disagree or sometimes be just sarcastic . When are we going to c you come up with a solution ?

• If you’re serious, the first step would be to institute a new rule about any public vote; if less than 65% of those eligible to vote cast an unspoilt vote, the result is invalid. Remove politicians who sail on public inertia. Have a two term maximum. Focus on solidarity, both at a national and international level. Accept that we’re tied into the EU, and isolationist own-currency pipe-dreams are not real alternatives in the short-term. Legalise and tax cannibis Legalise and tax prostitution.

• Ok would agree with all that ,it makes sense ….. But it’s a bit light on detail about getting the country out of this mess , my point is the countrys crying out for change when anyone raises there head to say “hey I have an idea ” there shot down by people set in there own ways , face it were all the same we’re Tribal when it comes to politics that’s the first thing that must change

• oooh I love this banter…..and one line comments

• Poor old Mary Loo Roll looks like she is trying to squeeze one HELL if a one out….just one more…hnnnnnnnn……

• “Significant cuts in public expenditure” Easy. Close the useless ESRI.

Add New Comment