You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

need to know

The Evening Fix... now with added Facebook privacy

Here are the things we learned, loved and shared today.

Zen, a Shar Pei puppy is carried by her owner on a chilly day in Bucharest (Photo: AP Photo/Vadim Ghirda)

HERE ARE THE things we learned, loved and shared today.

THINGS WE LEARNED

#DONE DEAL: It’s official: there’s a bank debt deal. Taoiseach Enda Kenny has confirmed that the promissory note payments have been scrapped and replaced with new long-term Government bonds – the first of which will be paid in 2038. Here’s what happened:

#TROIKA: The Troika is happy with how Ireland is getting on with the bailout programme, but warned that unemployment remains “stubbornly high”. Here’s what they had to say in the ninth review of Ireland’s progress.

#INDUSTRIAL ACTION: Firefighters who are members of SIPTU are to ballot for industrial action in response to proposed cuts to fire services.

#APPEAL: Gardaí have appealed for help in identifying the body of a man taken from the River Corrib in Galway.

#FARM DEATH: The death of a teenage boy on a family farm near Skibbereen in Cork is being investigated by the Gardaí and the Health and Safety Authority.

THINGS WE LOVEDBrrr. Shirtless South Korean Marines and their US counterparts run on a snow covered field during joint military winter exercises in Pyeongchang, east of Seoul, today.

• The first camera phone picture was taken in 1997 and – in a foreshadowing of what was to come – was of the photographer’s daughter. That, and other facts, are contained in this visual history of the photograph.
  • Do you know who your TDs are? If so, well done for being politically engaged. If you’re not sure however, put your street name into this website (usefully called WhoIsMyTD.Com) and find out. And then hassle them about all of your issues.
  • Ireland’s Eurovision entry is going to be one of these five songs. You’re welcome.

THINGS WE SHARED

• Slate’s succinct piece on how to stay private on Facebook in one easy step.
  • Filmmaker Matthew Johnston is leaving Dublin after living in the city for five years. He made this poignant video of all the things that he is going to miss when he goes.
  • It is the 100th birthday of Grand Central Station in New York City. A group of actors decided to celebrate by staging a surprise light show in the giant windows of the station using just flashlights and camera flashes. Here’s how it went down:

(Video: ImprovEverywhere/YouTube)