TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

‘Dead Baby Jokes’ on Facebook are not funny, says TD

Gerald Nash says his calls for the Facebook page to be removed are not just a case of him “being PC”.

Image: Facebook Screengrab via Facebook

A LABOUR TD has written to Facebook asking for a page dedicated to ‘Dead Baby Jokes’ to be removed from the social network immediately.

Gerald Nash has asked the director of online operations at Facebook to “personally intercede to ensure that the highly offensive page” is taken down.

The Louth/Meath East deputy was made aware of the page, which describes itself as the “official page for Dead Baby Jokes”, by a constituent.

He said he was “horrified” when he viewed it himself.

“It is quite simply sick and cannot be defended in any way. Losing a child is probably the most devastating thing that can happen to any human being and how anyone can make jokes about it is beyond me,” added Nash. “This is not a case of being PC. There are some line you just do not cross.”

In its ‘about’ section on Facebook, the page says there are “no boundaries on racism, religion, culture and overall anything offensive”. It also adds the following disclaimer:

Dead Baby Jokes contains highly offensive humor and should not be viewed by individuals who are easily offended by tasteless humor. We here at Dead Baby Jokes take the safety of your children at heart, and do not in any way condone the killing of babies, or any other manner in which harm could come to a child.

The page was first created in January 2010 and has just over 19,000 followers.

Nash says that he appreciates that Facebook cannot continuously monitor all postings or pages but believes they are usually “quick to respond to complaints”.

Unfortunately that does not seem to apply in this case. This page has been live for some time and Facebook have not responded to complaints so far.

He remains optimistic that Facebook will react to his request as to not “jeopardise” its “excellent reputation” in Ireland. Nash will also seek to raise the issue of the Facebook page in the Dáil under topical issues. He has notified Minister Seán Sherlock to see if anything can be done under current internet legislation.

There is precedent for Nash’s request as last year Facebook removed a number of ‘rape joke’ pages from its site. However, at the time it said controversial material may remain if administrators add a tag stating that their intentions are humorous or satirical.

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (96 Comments)

• Oh…he’s not gonna like Sickipedia then..

• I felt a great disturbance in the force… as if thousands of jimmies were rustled at once.

• My thoughts on dead baby jokes – I never heard one that made me laugh, and always got the impression it they are made by people taking their hurt out as cruelty, passing it off as humour. I have a dark, sick sense of humour, and these don’t resonate even with that, because I think I have a feel for the mental/emotional space they come from. In the age of postmodern irony, snark and cynicism, these ‘jokes’ are kind of common. Pushing the edge of people’s delicate feelings also does not automatically equal ‘funny’ – it’s not hard to do.

But, at the same time, I don’t agree with removing them. At a stretch, I’d be in favour of age-restriction. They have the right to make shitty jokes, as Gerald Nash has the right to say what he thinks of them.

Losing a child is probably unfathomable to me – but unless ‘dead baby’ jokes are actually aimed at someone who’s lost a child (they’re not), then that part of his point, of protecting such people, does not stand up. It is not the same as racism, where a group is being very explicitly targeted for hate, humiliation or whatever.

• Can I be the one to point out that the greater the reaction, the more these trolls are being fed? I’d say leave ‘em at it. If some people are vacuous enough to be on their frequency, let them be on it. That’s where they will be anyway, regardless – the page is just a manifestation of how they are anyway as people.

That’s easy to say to someone who has lost a baby too… No easy answer to that, but even then, I suppose I would hope to not play into their hands by giving them a reaction. I had to endure a few horrible jokes about chemo and dead fathers after my dad passed… Nothing to do with me in the context they were in, but I understand how it can sting when the wound is still fresh.

• Spot on.

• tl;dr cool story bro u mad

• Jokes about dead political parties are much funnier

• We can still make jokes about people with AIDS though? Is that okay?

• Barry 13/06/12 #

Its called black comedy and its been going for years and years, look at the amount of very very similar jokes that the BBC aired during the likes of “A League of Gentlemen”.

It sure as hell isn’t to everyone’s taste but on facebook if you don;t like the content then don’t visit the page.

Always find it amusing when average joe’s suddenly learn about stuff on the internet thats around years such as trolls and the like, they are nothing new lads.

• I have never heard of dead baby jokes or its fb page . I know I would not find the jokes humorous so I will not visit the page … It seems a bit tasteless , or juvenile . But maybe these people need an outlet too. If you don’t like it , don’t read it.
    I don’t like football so I don’t watch it , simple.

• If thats the case, maybe he should try ban Frankie Boyle, who, like it or not, is hilarious!! Its called humour, people. Its a sad world if we cannot make light of a bad situation. Im not saying I condone these kinds of jokes but its been said before, if you dont like the content of a page on facebook, dont like the page.

• Paul 13/06/12 #

What the f is he wasting our time on this crap for. The place is tumbling down around us and this fool is writing ridiculous censorship letters to the man in the internet….wtf is wrong with these people. WTF is wrong with us for electing such idiots. I despair.

• An absolute fool

• I’ve just had an awful thought. Yes, another one, yes it was lonely etc etc.

Will the Irish still be able to make childish and stereotypical jokes about the English? I’d hate for that to stop, especially during the football.

• Damocles asks “Will the Irish still be able to make childish and stereotypical jokes about the English? ”

Don’t see why not, the English are doing the same for the Irish! Even if they’re all absically the same jokes.

• Dead baby jokes are back in vogue? It’s like 1990 all over again. Though we’re not quite as successful in the soccer.

• Denis 13/06/12 #

Ahh it reminds me of the old days of the bawdynet mailing list back in the mid nineties.
      It always had a good few dead baby jokes.
      Even back then people went around the internet looking for something to outrage them so they could put on their boss of the internet hat and demand it be banned.

• He would be better off spending him time and effort on issues of importance like jobs, the economy and banking crisis. Typical of Labour!

• I am part of a group of bereaved parents that set up a charity to help parents bereaved by stillbirth and neonatal death. We offer memory boxes to hospitals and offer support to parents. We have been contacted by a number of bereaved parents, who have been extremely upset about this page. I remember myself after I lost my own daughter, watching a “comedienne” on the tele make a joke about a baby that died at birth and it completely flooring me. I couldn’t believe that people could find these kind of jokes funny. When you lose a baby, you are at the lowest point of your life, regardless of anyone’s sense of humour, you don’t need something else to add to the hurt.

• the country is falling down around are ears and this is all are labour TD s have to worry about

• Knock knock….

• Just had a look at first few posts on the page and majority are from people telling the people who set the page up how sick and twisted they are. I can not see how this page would upset anyone and before the protests start yes I have experienced the grief….

• this guy is a hero seriously!!!!!!!! he get elected by the people gets paid a nice ministers salary and spends time trying to take down, POINTLESS!!! Facebook pages,, i’m sorry this T.D needs a good hard kick up the hole!!!!!

• It’s obvious to any right thinking person that losing a baby is a horrendous experience. But if you had just lost a baby, why the hell would you go and start looking dead baby jokes?
    Just sayin…

• In that case we have to ban everything just in case someone might find it offensive?
    if we ban this page then where do we draw the line?
    The price of free speech is that we have to tolerate things we may find offensive,
    I don’t find these jokes funny, so I don’t go to the page, simple as that.

• So many rustled jimmies in this thread. Such rustling exceeded even my greatest expectations.

You all seem to think you have a right to not be offended by what other people say. You don’t. Deal with it.

• Labour is now the joke police. Grand. Everyone please submit your joke requests and FB page designs to the TDs office for evaluation. Content will be judged upon whether he thinks their funny or not.

Also in similar news, your ability to express yourself freely is revoked. Gardai beatings with batons will continue until morale improves. This is all.

• I’m offended by by a few things in the course of my day, and you know what I do? I don’t look at them.

Obligatory Steve Hughes: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fHMoDt3nSHs

• A page of “Dead TD” jokes would be a bloody sight funnier. There was once a book called “101 Things To Do With A Dead Cat”, although frankly I can’t see any use in a feckin’ TD, dead or alive.

• Jesus Christ. How does a dead baby joke get people thinking about the country being fupped. we know the place is fupped. you don’t have to bring it up in every bloody thread on here.

• Dead Baby jokes? Really? The whole country is in shit and we have a clown up on his high horse about dead baby jokes.nThis is incredible. What a nation Ireland is. The wolves are disguised as the shepherds and all the sheep follow.

• He won’t get elected again by the Drogheda people. He let them down, did a u-turn over the local Cottage Hospital in refusing to save it or do anything about it. he’s an utter disgrace but them so is the rest of the party he belongs to.

• To those that my find the idea of a read babies joke site funny let me tell you what it is like to lose a baby. Just after midnite on an April nite 4 years ago my wife and I were woken from our sleep by a phone call from the neonatal unit of CUMH asking us to come in immediately. We drove there immediately from where we were staying, ran down to the neonatal unit where our son was barely clinging to life, he died two hours later and nothing and I mean nothing prepares you for such an event so forgive me if I don’t find the idea funny.

• I’m a baldy, but that doesn’t give me a right not to be offended by baldy jokes. I understand that dead babies could be seen as more serious (to some), but the same principle applies.

• And I’m not a fan of dead baby jokes either, just a believer in free speech.

• Right on baldy! :)

• I agree, I lost a baby three months ago, personally don’t Find dead baby jokes funny… But I’m not going on a rampage to get a FB page closed down!!! No amount of sites closed down will bring back mine or anyone else’s baby’s, but if he put more efforts to dealing with Unemployment or banking crisis maybe we could actually solve a problem in this country…. Humour is very personal what I find funny you may not and likewise….

• @dec Rowe that’s made my night, well played sir.

• Eh sorry Jennifer, think you may have misunderstood me, I don’t find the baby jokes funny and I was only using the baldy joke as an example of a joke that could be personal to me (as I’m a baldy), obviously I don’t compare losing a baby to going bald, they can’t even be compared. The point I was trying to make was that nobody has a right not to be offended, freedom of speech is far more important. When the government start trying to control the jokes you’re allowed to publish, you’re moving into very dangerous territory; next thing you know we’ll have a law against blasphemy, oh hang on…….

And yes, very well played Dec :)

• I think this is truly terrible, they talk about raping children they steal pictures of people children and write things like they would look better if they were dead. Yet no matter how many people report it this page is still active and there are over 19,000 fans! How sick can people be to write things about children that have died.

• Admittedly the “Dead Babies” page is pretty sick, but you don’t have to look at it if you find it offensive (one look was quite enough for me, thanks all the same).
    And as for TDs being the moral guardians of the nation, I think they’re largely disqualified on the evidence of several tribunals and news reports. Mr Nash would be better venting his displeasure at the causes of our woes rather than wasting efforts on irrelevant sideshows.

• I dont know what its like to loose a child, but i’ve enough brain in me to know that this page is highly offensive, pointless, sick and twisted. To me, the people who entertain this muck are lowlife and the type of person to steer clear of. The only positive about pages and people who like this makes me know that god forbid, if i ever stoop to a lower level i’ll have an awful long way to go.

• You do realize by posting this article MORE PEOPLE, myself included, now know of this page and join it, right? The phrase, “The more you disapprove, the more fun it is for me.” sound familiar? You’re just promoting the page for free. Good job!!! And thanks, btw. I didn’t know it existed until reading this article. =P

• Jennifer your a blonde aren’t ya?

• disgusting page who ever invented it should be ashamed of them self.

• A’ boy Nash, Enforcer of the Internet… way to tackle the big issues of the day… wait til he gets a load of South Park!

• Sympathies Sarah if you are still there.

• 1) This page is a page designed specifically for a specific kind of joke. It is not violating the fundamental laws of Facebook and as such, the moderators are not going to remove it, so by reporting it to the moderators, the police or even MI5, you are achieving nothing other than wasting valuable e-mail text or gaining a more expensive phone bill…

2) You are not being forced to come onto this page, let alone comment on it, so if the content offends you, bearing in mind the page title clearly specifies the page content, then steer clear and avoid entry…

3) The jokes are about non-existent and hypothetical babies, and do not reflect in the slightest on any actual baby that has died, nor do they reflect any specific real life loss, nor are they targeting a specific individual, couple or family…

4) By coming onto this page when you have seen the title, thus knowing the page content, and claiming you have been upset and offended by what is on the page, you only have yourself to blame for directly putting yourself in the firing line of what you know full well is offensive to you…

5) When you call the patrons and the Admins of this page sick, and then wish pain and suffering on them, their mothers, their children, their cats or their vets’ receptionists, you automatically and instantly surrender your right to take the moral high ground and inadvertently make yourselves worse and far more sick than both the patrons and the Admins combined…

6) Not that you ever will be taken seriously on this page by its supporters, but if you do want to even entertain the idea of being taken seriously, please use appropriate spelling, grammar and punctuation, in order to signify that you are not retards. Please also be considerate of the fact that the patrons’ and the Admins’ first language is English and that they are not fluent in Retard…

7) Finding dead baby jokes funny does not mean that one automatically condones the harming of actual babies, and it certainly does not make one a paedophile, as many have suggested in the past…

• It’s sad when people think jokes about dead babie’s is harmless, because IT IS NOT FUNNY…..it’s sick and pathetic and clearly those ass…. have never had that particular devastation to live with……

• If its funny it’s not offensive.
    If its offensive it’s not funny.

• This labour TD was asked by a constituent to look into this matter. That’s what TD’s are supposed to do. They were elected by people and if one, some or all come to them with some issue that they feel strongly about they should follow through in some way. He is doing his job that he was elected to do.
    We all make jokes and some go to far and ultimately someone always gets offended.
    So how about putting ourselves in the shoes of someone who lost a child and think for a moment how they are feeling.
    Free speech is great but I dont think it’s for causing offense to the defenseless!

• Brian that’s a bit different don’t ya think your not dead these babys are.everyone has an opinion i agree but being baldy is not a big thing in life.worse people of than that.

• Are you taking offence on behalf of dead babies?

Kinda pointless…

In other news, this idiot would want to concern himself with his job, and not what some people on the internet get up to.

• Barry 13/06/12 #

Jennifer, as you’ve said everything is subjective,

Whilst you may not see being bald as a big thing and neither does Ryan there are others that let it rule their life and long to have hair and are bound to find any bald jokes very offensive, also what about all those blonde women that have been bullied throughout their life with blonde jokes?
      Whilst I’m sure the majority are not massively affected I’m sure some certainly are by the jokes.

Also Paddy Irish/Scots/English man jokes are very offensive but i don’t see s TD looking for any mention of them to be banned,

Again its all very subjective,

• True Jennifer , but in this day and age people’s views of the world stop at the end of their nose! Anyone who has had a relative die as a baby would see it as it is, cruel and horrible! But this is the world we live in!

• Can’t read this. Punctuate, will you?

• Hey Jennifer, I replied to your comment, but made a mistake and posted above, cheers!

• his a joke,, tune in to dail, which we pay tv licence for and jeering while someone speaking, going back in history to ff we are sick of hearing, we never get any news, think it should not even be televised or fine them a 1000 a jeer while someone is talking, then we the public who pay their salaries, may hear something, dead politicians would be a great site ,,, someone has to have one, how to end the shite out of their mouths, enda never says anything but at least if you tune in to germany we can find out how they are going to screw us, 24 hours earlier by germany, why do we need a dail, why televise muppets, there is a muppet show already, cant they ever move on and do positive instead of school boy teasing, get out of the yard and into the ring,

• Damien 14/06/12 #

If you get the page taken down, will you start posting ways for me to win stuff or an ipad?

• Have you nothing better to do with your life than to seek out things that offend you just to get them banned?This stuff isn’t being shoved in your letter box you have to look for it.If I don’t like something I don’t go looking for it.

• I could make a page to remove your pages, as they offend my First Amendment Rights.
      That would accomplish just as much as your page.

• @Ann: This isn’t the US ;)

“First amendment of the Irish Constitution, (2 September 1939): Extended the definition of “time of war” to include a war in which the state is not a participant. The motive behind this amendment was to allow the Government to exercise emergency powers during the Second World War, in which the state was neutral.”

• With all do respect this even bein an open public page enables people to post the link out of spite and as amo with its contents to people that have suffered a loss just to be nasty and spiteful also understandable if.. If the members of the sick page were not stealing peoples baby photos and uploading them with very unpolite comments onto the disgusting page how dead babies can be amusing to anyone I don’t know plus they are also talking freely of abuse to their own children some members and cruelty in a humorous way personally that is as bad as pedophilia and child abuse and should not be tolerated full stop..

• yeah ryan just not into jokes that would concern the lost of someone baby funny or anything to do with it.just not a site i have bein in but i have heard of it and i just don’t think its appropiate.everyone to there own what they find funny but i don’t see the funnyNess in it.

• Btw Facebook does have standards/rules to follow and they have every right to take down a page.

• It’s not hard to be decent and civilised on such a site… If you want to make racial or crude, violent jokes do it via instant message to your friends not publicly make a page for everyone to see and then use against others in a act if cruelty because that my friends is against the terms and conditions of fb and the safety too.. Read for yourself

Add New Comment