TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Fewer teachers now teaching religion ‘willingly’

The figures in the current INTO survey were compared to similar research undertaken 10 years ago.

Image: Karel Navarro/AP/Press Association Images

LESS THAN HALF of primary school teachers say they teach religion to their students “willingly”, a 12 per cent decrease in a decade.

An INTO survey of 363 teachers was conducted late last year to gather information about religion teaching in schools.

About 10 per cent of teachers said they would prefer to teach a broad religious education programme rather than religious instruction in a particular faith. That figure has doubled in ten years.

However, there was also an increase in those not opposed to teaching religion, up eight per cent to 20 per cent.

The biggest change since similar research was carried out in 2002 was in attitudes towards religious sacraments, including First Holy Communion and Confirmation.

More than 70 per cent of respondents say that the preparation for such events takes more time than that officially available for religion. In 2002, less than 20 per cent said the same thing.

Teachers responses about how much non-religion time was used for sacramental preparation varied. Some reported up to nine hours of time inside school per week was used for preparation. There were also reports of hours being given outside of school.

Alternative teaching

The vast majority of schools now have pupils attending who are not of the faith of the school. The provision of alternative education for these student varies. In some schools, children not of the school faith participate in the full religious programme and sacraments while others participate in the full religious programme but do not take part in sacramental preparation.

In other classes children are provided with other class work or they follow their own religious programme during the teaching of the religious programme of the school. Some remain in class or have the option of being withdrawn. However, many schools do not have the facilities to cater for this.

Less than 50 per cent of respondents to the survey agreed that pupils should be prepared for sacraments in primary school – down about 20 per cent since 2002. About 40 per cent disagreed with the practice.

Clergy and church representatives continue to visit schools on occasion with reported appearances increasing to 16.8 per cent.

Finally, teachers were asked their views on religious practice among families. About 85 per cent of the respondents felt it has either declined or significantly declined. Yet over half of teachers believe that the family should be most responsible for sacramental preparation.

The INTO said the sample of respondents reflected the overall teaching population in terms of gender, age, location and ethos of school. Nine in ten were in a denominational school.

More: Average welfare payments for religious ceremonies halved in 2012

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (125 Comments)

• aren’t all children just born religion free and then adults just force it into them whether they want to learn it or not

• You could say that about any subject they study in school.. but i do agree there is no need for religion to be taught at school. May be in a historical sense when they get older but the choice to teach your children about your faith should be left at home to the parents

• I’ve recently come back to religion after being an atheist most of my life. It was my own choice, in my own time. Teaching it in school is ridiculous because I may or may not be right in my beliefs. School should be for fact based teaching only and religious affairs should be discovered on your own.

• I believe that religion has no place in schools. It should be taught by the religious organisations outside of school hours, we would also then see who would go that extra mile to bring their kids to these Sunday school type classes. It also leaves more school time for academia not superstition.

• Barry 11/03/13 #

Agreed,
      The very fact that at primary level religion is thought just as much as English or Maths is frankly insane, in addition Ireland spends twice as much time teaching religion at primary level then the EU average.

Very bad use of school time,

• I honestly think if would be the death of the church, if they couldn’t indoctrinate during school hours….. Which is nice.

• Barry 11/03/13 #

How about replace religion classes in primary and secondary school with programming classes ?. Would be productive and provide very useful skills for later life, I imagine an entire young population of at least intermediate programmers would be very attractive to investors. That or teach a foreign language instead of it . Either would be more beneficial to young people and probably more appreciated.

• There’s a difference between teaching about religions and teaching religion as fact. It would be almost impossible to understand why Ireland is the way it is without reference to its religious history, & the same applies to most countries.

Still, there’s way too much time spent on it.

• Nonsense literacy time is approx 10 hours per week, religious instruction 1 hour 40 mins.

• Unfortunately it’s probably never going to happen in the mainstream system but imagine the benefits of substituting religious education with a foreign language. Surely in later life being able to speak Chinese will be more beneficial then knowing some fiction about an ark!

• Even better substitute it with a programming language.

• Oh ye of little faith. Why don’t ye just bunch together and educate your own children any way ye like. Children love learning and the fun they have preparing for first communion etc is mighty and part of the package. It also brings parents together at meetings which benefits them greatly. I’m just sick of the same old few bashing the catholic faith. We all got a great education from the nuns, brothers. If they didn’t teach, most of ye wouldn’t be able to read and write. Instead of criticising religion the whole time, why don’t ye protest up at the Dail over property tax etc. bullies pick on easy targets, just lay off it gets very very boring yawn yawn yawn. Red thumb me now. I’m catholic and proud and I love it and I most definitely want religion to be part of my children’s curriculum.

• Maire could you kindly share how religious indoctrination has benefited you in your life and what learnings you may bring to the table for the rest of us?

• I’d distinguish learning about religion from religious education. For example, as part of my literature class, we read quite a bit of the Bible, which is incredibly helpful to enhance your understanding of art and literature. But we looked at it as a literature text, similar to Beowulf and the saga of Gilgamesh.

Ironically, it probably served the opposite effect as Catholic schools would intend: familiarity with the Bible breeded contempt for a lot of my classmates!

• Hi Maire,

How’d you feel about children being prepared for a Jewish or Islamic ceremony instead of a Catholic one? Children love learning and I’m sure they’d have as much fun preparing for a Bar or Bat Mitzvah. It would also bring parents together at meetings which benefits them greatly.

• ‘Most of ye wouldn’t be able to read and write.’ I flippin’ love irony!!

• It’s hard to see how this situation is good for anyone, including parents who feel strongly about their children growing up with a firm grasp of faith issues. Wouldn’t this demographic be better served by having their kids taught outside school hours by people committed to faith formation? Then the hours spent on this could be devoted to core curriculum subjects, another language, or whatever. My children go to a multi-denominational school, and children who need to prepare for the sacraments simply stay in late one day a week to be taught by someone who actually cares about the matter. The children of Muslim parents have a similar arrangement. This seems to work well for everyone.

• Preparation for communion and confirmation should be done outside of school hours at the parents expense. This should not be funded by the state nor should it take up valuable hours during formative years that should be dedicated the maths, science and coding.

• The bit that really concerns me is that kids of other faiths are expected to take part in the religious indoctrination and sacraments.. Surely this is the ultimate in religious / non religious disrespect?

• I’d happily teach religion. I don’t follow any religion so I’m impartial to the different faiths. Id just talk about how powerful and destructive various religions have been throughout history.

• Well, you might want to throw in a couple references to the effect it’s had on art and culture. I was baffled to have to explain what “road to Damascus moment” was to my religious Catholic partner a few weeks ago!

• SuperFry 11/03/13 #

The art and culture it created was just very well executed (artistically speaking) propaganda at the end of the day. If you have the money, you can get the best talent and they did. Ill leave that to the art history teacher.

• SuperFry 11/03/13 #

The art and culture it created was just very well executed (artistically speaking) propaganda at the end of the day. If you have the money, you can get the best talent and they did.

• Motivation is irrelevant – a basic understanding of Biblical fables is helpful from a cultural perspective.

• More time being given to ancient make believe than maths or English in some schools?
    Embarrassment of the nation.
    Get with the program people.

• My son opted out of his confirmation this year and it was the best decision he ever made. His grades have improved ten fold because of all the extra classes he’s been able to attend while his fellow classmates endure hours of storytelling about mythical beings and magic tricks.

• 10 fold? WOW

• I love the exaggeration!!

• Yes ten fold, he’s struggled academically for years but this year he’s been top of his class on numerous occasions because of the extra hours not wasted on religious studies. Most parents don’t know (or don’t care) that their kids are wasting valuable study time in school being brainwashed about a faith that is dying out. If parents encouraged their children to think for themselves without the fear of reprisal in an afterlife that doesn’t exist the world would be a better place.

• As Carl woud say “bull sh!t!”

• Paul, you do realize “ten fold” would mean he was getting less than 10% in every test previously? So for him to be getting A- in a subject now would mean he was getting 8% or 9% in that subject before. Or to be getting Cs now, he was getting 5% before.

However, that’s not to say he isn’t experiencing a significant improvement. He may well be. But “ten fold”? That seems kind of implausible in any circumstance, let alone simply an extra 1-2 hours study a week.

• I was excused from religion and used the time to get my homework done, the other kids were well jealous

• Can I ask those demanding it be taught outside of hours: have you children and have they received the sacraments? With your consent? Nice to see the old “superstition” BA being trotted out again. Some things never change.

• BA = BS

• What exactly does that have to do with it? I’d like to expose my children to my religious values, but it’s important enough to me that I’m planning to sacrifice some time every Sunday to do so. It’s about parenting priorities – if you’re not that pushed on teaching them yourself, then it probably isn’t a priority to you.

• Fortunately my sons teacher is extremely religious so he’s gained several extra hours per week with his resource teachers. Ten fold may have been a slight exaggeration, but only slight. His improvement has been significant now that he doesn’t have to listen to ghost stories about ‘zombie jews’ and ‘eternal life’.

• Paul extra classes? 20 mins a day , must have put that free time to great use , please don’t distort issue with gross exaggeration

• Good. The sooner we get this religious nonsense off our backs the better. There is no big sky god people get over it.

• Instead of teaching religion in schools (leave that to the parents) teach Evolution and personal development and something useful like another language or computer coding.Fairytales should stop at play-school it just enforces a belief system that the child didn’t actually choose and makes no sense.

• “Prepared for the sacraments”- to think that some people take this nonsense seriously, baffles me.

• Paul 11/03/13 #

It is hard to understand.

• I think the most damaging part is when we’re told that if something doesn’t make sense, “it’s a mystery” and shouldn’t be questioned. “I don’t know” is a perfectly acceptable answer. “I don’t know – can we think of some ways of trying to find out?” is a better one. “Shut up” is why we had the Dark Ages.

• Where’s Stephen? The fun doesn’t start till he gets here.

• If religious aherents actually gave some simple, adult thought to what thy are asked to believe, they would see through this BS. However, that won’t happen because anything other than blind, unquestioning faith is considered an ‘occasion of sin’. When one tries to defend the indefensible then all logic is thrown out the window. I myself decided against this nonsense when I reached the age of reason…….about 62 years ago.

• The Catholic Church needs to indoctrinate the next generation of ‘believers’ when they are young, as no sensible adult would believe the crap that they come out with.

• Faith formation has no place within our education system, especially when you consider that the Catholic religion is based on a doctrine that teaches us that women are inferior, that gay people are an
    abomination and many other outdated & backward beliefs. It would be so much more beneficial if kids had a class for “modern day ethics”, where they can learn how to treat others properly (stop bullying), the importance of equal rights for all human beings (stop racism) etc.

• Looking at the figures given- shouldn’t the headline be: “90 per cent of primary teachers still won’t teach a broad religious education programme rather than religious instruction in a particular faith” ?
    That seems pretty shocking to me..

• Perhaps it would be good if one class per week explored all faiths.Then if the children and parents want to become involved in a particular faith they could do so outside of school. Having some faith would be a great support to them in the challenging years they face ! I know if it were not for my faith I would have called it a day a long time ago !

• In secondary I had a teacher that explored all faiths, pretty much the same bulls**t but at least I got a better understanding of different faiths.

• random 11/03/13 #

That’s what I remember of religion class in secondary school. Generally the teacher would make an effort in that direction for a couple of classes at the start of the year, and after that it would become a class to do your homework in.

• It’s time that mediaeval mumbo jumbo was silenced!

• I don’t understand all of the red thumbs and yet no comment promoting religion in schools :/

• Irony

• Was just thinking the same

• There have been a couple, though I disagree with them.

For my part I’d suggest the red thumbs are probably because some posters are being so hyperbolic and extreme in their comments that even many/most people who are secularists would take issue with them. Just because someone agrees RE should be done on students own time, at the parents/church’s expense, doesn’t mean that they’re going to agree that society should be purged of religion, or that religion is the font of all evil in the world.

• They red thumbs are because people can see whats going on here.

They have a second article on here today, ”should less time be given in schools for preperation for the sacraments in religion class” – & quoting statistics that ” too much time was being given”.
      Needless to say, – followed by (the usual), hundreds of anti catholic outrage & hatred.
      So for this morning its ”lets attack religion in schools
      Tomorrow it will be something else
      They can headline, emphasise, or highlight whatever they want, – & the commenters will duly oblige.
      Most people are not stupid, they can see whats happening.
      Hence the red thumbs.

• I would imagine that the red thumbs are a result of the comments section being filled with the usual anti-theism. Arguments for a secular education system don’t need to be wrapped up in the “zombie jews”, “sky fairies” and “brainwashing” comments do they?

• well in fairness it is brainwashing when you take a young child and construct and ingrain metaphysical ideologies into their consciousness and convince them that this is the only truth and to question or deviate from it will lead to eternal damnation..
    I don’t know of any other “factors” in our society that do this..
    perhaps there is but they are just too subtle & clever for me to notice,
    you tell me, what are they?

• Teachers applying for posts in Catholic Schools are asked at interview about their willingness to teach The Catholic Faith. Not to do so or to lie about their feelings tells us more about them than the Church.

• SuperFry 11/03/13 #

Go away Jesus lover!!

• @ Alan, I’ve been reading the comments on here and your ‘hounding’ and intimidation of someone who doesn’t have the same opinion as you is pathetic and then you go on to call him a ”dangerous individual” REALLY??? Tell me Alan, is the Catholic Church creating fundamentalists? When you read the news online, are Catholics demanding their religion replace the country’s laws of stoning homosexuals, adulterous women, of issuing fatwas by their top ‘clergy’ for anyone who does not totally conform to their will, of indoctrinating thier followers to have hatred for anyone different from them? I am not seeing any cars or suicide bombers being blown up by Catholics. In the UK, a country that has become secular, parents lie to Catholic schools about being Catholic to get their kids in. Clegg has himself put his son in a Catholic school, so did the Blairs. Why? Because Catholic schools excel. If you don’t like Catholic schools then by all means, don’t you send your kids to them. You are making out that Catholicism is a dangerous thing. But you fail to look at the bigger picture, if you want to insult a religion, insult all religions, don’t just pick on one. And to answer your question, yes, I believe the state should pay for Catholic schools as it should pay for non Catholic schools. Then parents decide which school they wish to send their kids. After all, us Catholics also pay taxes not just you saviours of the modern world!

• The UK’s not secular. They have an official state religion and the head of state and the head of the state religion are one in the same.

• I never called him a dangerous individual. I implied that if he agreed with state sponsored religious indoctrination of youth then he would be and I stick by that. I would be shocked if anyone came to any other conclusion.

Also, I have not in any comment above disregarded anyone else’s opinion, merelt sought more information and opinion to foster debate and clarify position.

My vitriol is not direcred solely at Catholicism mind (nor at individuals) but at all forms of organised religion. In this instance the topic is catholic education in state sponsored schools – something I am passionately against. I have a right to my opinion but more importantly you have a right to ignore me should you see fit. It would however seem most are in agreement with me, as per the swathe of green thumbs above.

I enjoy debating religion with anyone however quite often it seems I am more educated in catholicism than most “believers”. I find them incapable if open and honest debate. This saddens and angers me as I know that were their eyes opened they could enjoy this world for what it truly is and learn to love others unconditionally.

• Headline could easily have read “increase in those not opposed to teaching religion in schools” but then again that wouldn’t really encourage the anti-religion bigots to start sliming people of faith.

• I don’t think Religion is that serious. It may be as important for students to learn about and not to be sucked into a demanding kind. As a philosophy subject seems okay

• Only for the Catholic Church in Ireland there wouldn’t be most of the great schools you have today, if you don’t want your children to learn about Catholicism well send them somewhere else simple as.

• Not many alternatives available, jimmy, unless you want them to emigrate, that is.

• Jimmy doyou believe the state should be funding the religious indoctrination of Irish children?

• Plenty of educate together schools out their to facilitate their needs

• Answer the question Jimmy

• I’m not aware of what schools are doing this but I do agree that religion should be taught on a curriculum that covers all aspects of different world religions like in the junior certificate programme but its key to still uphold the catholic ethos of the school

• Barry 11/03/13 #

Nonsense Jimmy,

As for other choices, for the vast majority ther choices are very few and far between,

Also ask yourself this,
      - The church gets to run the school to push its religion
      - The church doesn’t have to pay teachers..the state does
      - The priests that visit the school are paid for by the state, if this funding alone was cut we’d be able to employee approx 250 new teachers in Ireland!

So given the tax payer pays why should the catholic church get to decide how the school is run and what religion is in it?

• In the primary school sector, there are 65 Educate Together schools and over 3000 denominational schools.

• Jimmy do you understand the difference between education and indoctrination? Expecting children to uphold a catholic ethos and not question or critically analyse that which they are being taught is indoctrination. Why should the state, and hence the taxpayer, pay for this?

• I agree there has to be a revamp of the subject but definitely it’s key to hold the ethos of the school, it will cost the state millons to buy all the schools as they are owned by the Christian brothers etc, those who set up the great educational system we have today

• Barry 11/03/13 #

Jimmy, really, there’s plenty of educate together schools? Sure about that?

I know atleast two sets of parents who are atleast 30miles from a educate together school, their local schools are literally 1-2miles down the road.

What do you purpose for these parents?,

Should they throw the kid onto a bus for a 2hour+ round trip each day for school (if a bus service even exists), perhaps the parents should drive the approx 350miles extra per week to drop their kids to school?

Or it would make far more sense to have state funded schools not run by the catholic church and not pushing the catholic ethos.

• Jimmy again I would ask you to answer the question – Do you believe the state should pay for religious indoctrination of Irish children?

• Barry 11/03/13 #

Jimmy, there’s an easier solution, the state doesn’t have to buy any school.

The church merely tells the church run schools that teachers that the state pays for won’t be teaching the catholic ethos and that the school education plans will in no way by used to push the catholic faith like it is.

The church can take it or leave it, if they leave it then they are stuck with a bunch of empty buildings and land.,

The state pays for these teachers as such it gets to call the shots here,

If the church wants to push its own religion it can do so outside of the normal education plans and outside of school hours,

• Jimmy given your lack if response then let me answer for you.

If you answer no then you are a hypocrite.

If you answer yes then you are a dangerous individual who strongly needs to question his morality.

By failing to answer you have shown yourself to be an individual of no moral conviction.

I hope at the very least I might have opened your eyes slightly and you may begin to question your own beliefs.

• Well said Jimmy. Short memories indeed.

• By my clock it’s 11am in Ireland, you lads seem to have a lot of free time on your hands.

• The morning commute allows plenty of free time

• Batman works nights Kevin.

• “religion is bad”, “religious people are crazy”, “religious fools” same usual anti religious bigotry zzzzzzzzzz you’re all very boring and intolerant.

• Please learn to use quotations correctly. None of your observed quotes have actually been used on this thread ergo you argument is now invalid.

• I was using hyperbole to mock the usual intolerant mob of bigots sorry have upset you Batman.

• hyperbole, you hit the nail on the head there Carl.

p.s. intolerance of bullshit is not bigotry.

• agree Carl
      It will be a different topic tomorrow, – followed by the USUAL hundreds of comments, of anti catholic hatred.
      -all along the same lines.

• It is not unreasonable that so many here are so anti religion,
      when you take into account the history of the catholic church and the fact that most of us in this country were “educated” with a strong creationist philosophy from a very young age.
      My experience was in a rural catholic primary school which I presume was similar in its teachings as the majority of Irish citizens. We were taught biblical mythology as undeniable historical fact, it is no mystery why so many people become angry once they develop the ability to reason and think for themselves (sadly many never seem to achieve this incredible ability)
      The truth is that the only reason most people remain or consider themselves catholic is because of a sense of tradition and identity, and also probably the fear of god which was instilled at such a young age.
      It is morally unjustifiable to fill young minds with beliefs dressed up as facts especially when they are led to believe that the fate of their eternal soul rests on them accepting them without question.

• Paddy,
      we can be ‘brainwashed’ – & our opinions & valued shaped in all kinds of ways OTHER than ‘religion’
      The media for example,
      – they can profoundly shape our society, with the power of words & headlines. Have you ever thought about the power & influence they have?
      There are numerous ways that we are ‘brainwashed’ on a daily basis, – & far more subtle & effective ways than ANY religion.

• Zoe are you incapable of defending your faith? Or is The Journal not an accurate snapshot of society that we can safely say this is how the majority of people truly feel?

• I’m sorry Zoe, I don’t understand what point you are trying to make or how it is connected to the teaching of religion in schools…..
      The media is generally concerned with the dissemination of information, usually dealing with factual and current issues.
      Granted it is created by individuals who may have their own agendas and opinions,
      most people realize that all media is subjective and fallible.

Are you saying that you are anti-media but pro-religion?
      is religious brainwashing ok but all other forms are bad?

sorry I don’t get it..

• Alan – if you want to believe whats here is an ‘accurate snapshot of society’, – then that fine
      Thats your choice.
      But all I’m saying is everything in the media can be ‘spun’, headlines, opinions, commentaries, quotes.
      Most media has that immense power, to influence our society attitudes & values.
      Religion is ‘old hat’. There are far more powerful & subtle ways influencing our opinions than mere ‘religion
      Don’t necessarily believe everything you read, – & read between the lines!

• Zoe – you’re preaching to the coverted here (for want of a better expression) on media influence and bias. The greatest lesson I was ever taught was to question everything. Before forming an opinion on anything you must examine the facts and research for yourself. When I applied that teaching to my religion (at age 15 when I actually sat down and read the bible front to back twice) I realised it was all bullshit, some good stories but mostly bullshit. I realised that I had been lied to my whole life. My eyes were opened and honestly reading the bible was the best thing to ever happen to me.

• you seem to be wandering off topic there Zoe,
      I thought this was a discussion about teaching religion in schools,
      not about the medias ability to shape public opinion..
      the media is a tool for discussing and expressing opinions.
      Is it that you are angry with the media because it sometimes questions
      or is in opposition to your personal beliefs?

• “Don’t necessarily believe everything you read, – & read between the lines!”

OYG!!!

You,Zoe,defender of the faith are seriously suggesting the above and you don’t recognise the irony of your words ??? Thanks,that gave me a good laugh :-)

• Paddy
      the word ‘brainwashing’ was used by a few commenters, to describe the role of the church in education.
      There is a second article in the Journal earlier this morning, regarding the church in schools.
      All I am saying is that there other factors, that can influence our opinions in society & our education.
      And that can be done in a far more subtle & clever way, than religion could ever do.

• well in fairness it is brainwashing when you take a young child and construct and ingrain metaphysical ideologies into their consciousness and convince them that this is the only truth and to question or deviate from it will lead to eternal damnation..
      I don’t know of any other “factors” in our society that do this..
      perhaps there is but they are just too subtle & clever for me to notice,
      you tell me, what are they?

• easy, – just look in front of you.

• I see an article about how more teachers are becoming unwilling to teach something that they do not believe in or agree with and people sharing their opinions in the discussion..
      what do you see?

• you see whatever you want,
      & no doubt ‘the Journal’ will supply more of the same tomorrow.
      - no further comment.

• good point Zoe,
      I may have to rethink my opinions after this thought provoking debate.
      thank you for showing me the error of my ways. x

• Leonard says above ‘I’ve recently come back to religion after being an atheist most of my life. It was my own choice, in my own time. Teaching it in school is ridiculous because I may or may not be right in my beliefs. School should be for fact based teaching only and religious affairs should be discovered on your own.’

Note the ‘Come back’???? How would he have ‘come back’ if he hadn’t been there in the first place????

• that’s cool the way you like your own comments before anyone else sees them…
      well done you !!
      twas a great comment in fairness though

• censored 12/03/13 #

It’s the Holy Ghost at work.

• Because I was brought up a catholic? Sorry I fail to see your point. My point is I stopped believing in a God for my own reasons, which I’ll not bore you with. There’s so many things I learnt that science can’t explain for example, what happened before the ‘Big Bang’. Everything has a beginning which I’ve learnt. I’ll not tell you the main reason I came back to religion because again, it’s personal to me and I’m too tired to be ridiculed.

• SO THIS is where all the sectarian bigots that are too old for youtube hang out……
    Gas the way christianity is constantly attacked here while other religions that are ‘dangerous’ get ignored.

Let’s see now here are a few derogatory, too well worn cliches we get here daily
    1. Magic book
    2. cult
    3. fairy tales.
    4. Beliefs (so insulting as it infers that WE ‘believe’ something that isn’t real and it pigeon-holes those of us who ACCEPT that we were created by God as opposed to those living in their little media-created secular bunker where RTE2 ‘comedy’ is king.)
    5. Every thing anti-church is ‘progressive’ and cool and anything religious is ‘backward’, ‘regressive’, ‘medieval’, ’1950′s’, ’18th century’ and anyone who things otherwise is to be RIDICULED!!!!
    6. Man who lives up in the sky (whoever said God lives in the sky????????)
    7. superstition.
    8. nonsense.
    Tedious rubblish that they have all seen/heard others saying. NOT an original idea among them all. SAAAD.

• if you are interested in the opinion of someone who is not without a developed sense of spirituality and ideology,
      I would have to question the so called christianity of the catholic church.
      It seems to me that the church is what Christ would have been fundamentally opposed to.
      But perhaps that is only the christ that is in me.
      It does not resonate,
      in fact it disgusts me.

• censored 12/03/13 #

So where does ‘God’ live then? (and what does he do with all the money?)

Add New Comment