TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Fianna Fáil was doomed by its own political model – documentary

Plus, party members say Brian Cowen’s 2011 cabinet reshuffle attempt was the catalyst for his demise.

Image: Niall Carson/PA Archive/Press Association Images

THE SECOND INSTALLMENT of RTÉ’s two-part series on the inner workings of Brian Cowen’s government looks at how Fianna Fáil was always doomed to fail – not because of the series of mishaps after the 2008 banking guarantee but because its party model was essentially flawed.

The political model refined by Bertie Ahern and implemented by Brian Cowen focused on short-term electoral gain, the makers of Crisis: Inside the Cowen Government said ahead of tonight’s episode.

Tonight’s show highlights how this goal of retaining power led to the whole country paying a “heavy price”.

Picking up at the annual Fianna Fáil think-in at Galway in September 2010, the documentary features Morning Ireland presenter Cathal MacCoille talking about that infamous morning-after interview with the then-Taoiseach.

Cowen was accused of being hungover for the radio interview and various ministers recount their recollections of the chaotic aftermath of his performance.

The focus then shifts to mid-November when members of Cabinet were denying talks about a rescue package were taking place.

However, as Dermot Ahern called the bailout rumours “fiction” on national TV, department of finance officials were in Brussels for negotiations.

John McGuinness said that, as a backbencher, he could not believe that Ahern (and other senior ministers) were so disconnected.

“Is this how Cabinet is functioning?” he asked. “We were just backbenchers so were not likely to be informed of these things.”

Meanwhile, in Brussels, Brian Lenihan was looking for a “bespoke” programme for Ireland, his special advisor Alan Aherne reveals. He describes how the Finance Minister wanted to keep bank and sovereign debts separate.

The arrival of the IMF signalled the beginning of the disintegration of the administration – and the end of Cowen’s political career.

As 2011 dawned, fresh revelations about Cowen’s contacts with Anglo’s disgraced chairman Seán Fitzpatrick emerged, prompting a vote of confidence in his leadership.

His party members recall the conversations they held with Cowen ahead of that vote in tonight’s documentary. Mary Hanafin remembers telling Cowen to step aside “in the interest of the party”. Willie O’Dea echoed those sentiments.

McGuinness says he was “devastated” when Lenihan came out in support of Cowen.

However, Cowen’s victory in that vote of confidence and the resignation of six ministers led to the attempted cabinet reshuffle, which Hanafin believes was his biggest failure of judgement.

Many advised against such a “crazy” move – even Green Party leader John Gormley texted the Taoiseach warning him not to go ahead with the plan.

The Government Chief Whip John Curran observes, “The fact that the Taoiseach of the day wasnÂ’’t in a position to appoint cabinet ministers, he was well aware that was a position that wasnÂ’’t tenable, thatÂ’s one of the key functions of a Taoiseach and when thatÂ’’s gone, yeah there were issues and problems.”

The programme will be broadcast on RTÉ One at 9.35pm today.

More: Cowen’s ministers felt pressured to approve bank guarantee – documentary>

Read next:

Comments (20 Comments)

• The last few governments were doomed because of Incompetence, lies and corruption which is now lovingly rewarded with millions of Euros in pension pots for the rest of their miserable days. Power and Irish don’t go together. People lose themselves and turn on their own and the worst thing is…… No one is ever held accountable in this country. No justice is ever served.

• No one is accountable because we the electorate don’t insist on accountability. Al TD’s clinics should be at bursting point with people demanding action against the self serving bastards. Alas we are to quick to accept the “Cute Hoor” syndrome and yes I’m also guilty.

• “No one is accountable because we the electorate don’t insist on accountability.”

I don’t agree with that statement.
      We do insist on accountability, opposing parties tell us they will bring reforms to generate accountability so we vote for them. Then they ignore campaign promises of accountability because it would be used to make them accountable.

Then the party which we originally wanted held accountable tell us that if we give them power again they will make the new government in power accountable.

All the while the original pillars of accountability in representative democracy are given a bad name by the media. Better not protest or your labelled as a loser. Better not spoil your vote to send a message that none of the candidates represent you because you would be pissing on your right to free speech.

• Last week was full of self serving shite, funny how many in FF disagreed with what was going on but never thought to speak up.

• Is tonight’s programme going to be full of Cowen’s colleagues saying he did everything wrong again? Funny how they said the opposite at the time!

• The ‘party model’ was inherently corrupt. That’s the bottom line. No point putting a tooth in it. It has wrecked the country for the foreseeable future. Ask anyone who is seeing their children embrace forced emigration for an opinion on the ‘party model’. When will the public see anyone, any of the many, who benefited through their connections to the ‘party model’ make an appearance in the dock?

• @ Adam: They won’t see anyone else in the dock, as FF/RTÉ have decided Cowen was entirely to blame. Apparently it was his fault entirely, nobody else’s. He isn’t even given right of reply.

• @Ryan – I guarantee his reply would be to direct blame elsewhere. All of the party are culpable but they will never admit it. The party system is a farce. They literally take credit for things like roads being built and anything which the public service does well but when something goes wrong they blame everyone but themselves.

Its not a trait which is exclusive to Fianna Fail either.

If people want progress and accountability they need to recognize where progress comes from rather than elect people who do nothing but take credit for the good things others do.
      When you recognize where the progress comes from then you can start holding the right people accountable in order to increase the levels of progress in society.

That is, unless you actually believe that these people can change society for the better, stop people getting depressed etc.
      Its an insult to you when they claim they are going to stop people jumping of bridges.

Yet it was one of the promises we heard from our presidential candidates.
      Not one of them actually explained what causes depression and how we can prevent it as a society.
      What does that say of their collective character, “Want to stop suicide, find out how if you vote for me”.

You could argue that they will get briefed by technical groups on how to fight it but that brief would be better directed towards society as a whole.

• I’d like to see a programme dedicated to Bertie. Too much onus on Cowan. Bertie should share the blame.

The programme tonight was like a promo for the shower that’s left of FF. All wringing their hands – pretending they were all in the dark. Too easy to blame it all on Cowan and Lenihan. All the sad faces – like little orphans. Don’t fall for it. Gimme a break.

• I’ve actually, somewhat incredibly, ended up feeling almost sorry for Brian Cowen (and yes I know of his €150k pension). This is a two hour character assassination by RTÉ aimed at placing all of the blame on what FF did squarely on Cowen and allowing the party to move on and rebrand itself.

• Cowen/Linehan gave a state guarantee on private companies debt. That Cowen/Linehan guarantee has cripled our country. They both committed Treason against their people and should be jailed. RTE are not going far enough in my opinion!!!

• Feel sorry for him??? At least he can afford to send his kids to college !!! FFS have you NO memory ? He got well paid to do a job he sought and FFAILed. Give your sympathy to your country men women and children who are paying the price for his ego.I do not wish him ill, but prioritise your sympathies Ryan :(

• @ Eileen, I said I ALMOST feel sorry for him. Cowen is being made the scapegoat while the rest off FF are conveniently all let off. Yes he was the worst Taoiseach we ever had, however Bertie is let off the hook almost entirely in the programme as are the rest of the Cowen cabinet – who are now coming out and changing their stories completely. If they felt so strongly at the time, why didn’t they stand up to him?

This is a 2 hour re branding exercise for FF by RTÉ. Cowen was the public face of all that was wrong in FF, however he isn’t the only one to blame for what went wrong. That is the point I am trying to make. Do you believe Mary Hanafin, Willie O’Dea, Dermot Ahern etc are all innocent and blameless? I don’t believe they are without blame, but that is the impression this programme gives.

The recent TV3 documentary looked at a period far wider than 2008-11 and spread the blame in a more proportionate way.

• Well said Micheal. It cannot be said enough that what Lenihan and Cowen and FF did to this country was treason and no amount of hagiography of Lenihan or poor aul Cowen can change any of that.

• OK. Almost ! So you were being sarcastic ? But I really can not feel anything for the man only contempt . Is RTE so biased that they are re branding FFail for them ? Maybe so, but Cowen is as you say the worst taoiseach we have ever had …. Yes they all should share the blame .With reduced pensions preferably….

• ……oh and prison sentences !

• I think the laugh is that while all the focus is placed on Cowen and Ahern, neither of these men actually brought in the ‘light touch finance’ which allowed Anglo to act with impunity and gave us a regulator which if was toothless.

So Cowen and Ahern are not innocent but I think there is more to be included in the dock.. including apathetic opposition and electorate…

Question has to be asked would any one got a vote outside his familly if he stood for dail in 2002 on the premise of more goverance for the banks…

Add New Comment