TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

‘Imposing all the losses on citizens is not acceptable’ – Micheál Martin

The leader of Fianna Fáil, Micheál Martin also said that ‘Ireland’s neutrality is a difficult tightrope to walk’.

Fianna Fáil leader, Micheál Martin (file photo)
Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

A NEW REPORT, produced to coincide with Ireland’s current presidency of the EU and the country’s 40th year of membership, has been released today.

Containing interviews with Micheál Martin, Lucinda Creighton, Peter Sutherland and Pat Cox, the report – Forty Years A-Growing – An Overview of Irish-EU Relations – by Notre Europe – Jacques Delors Institute, was produced with the aim of grasping the “specificity and subtleties of the Irish debate on Europe, both historically and in its most recent developments.”

In his interview, the leader of Fianna Fáil, Micheál Martin, talks about having to start again and doing away with the Galway tent.

EU membership and the Irish people

Remembering the then-leader of Fianna Fáil, Jack Lynch, who his father had played football with, Martin said that he viewed Ireland’s joining of Europe as “opening up opportunities for the country” with hopes of moving from an “isolationist past to a future that would be more integrated with Europe”.

The Treaty of Nice and dealing with Lisbon

On Ireland’s initial rejection of the Nice Treaty, Martin remains unsure as to whether this was down to “domestic complacency” or “people’s growing unease with the European project”. Followed soon after by the initial failure to pass the Lisbon Treaty, Martin, at this point the Minister for Foreign Affairs, said that it was essential to ensure that a “very neutral statement” was made by the Council of Europe that would acknowledge “the voice of the Irish people and call for reflection.”

Careful to ensure that Europe did not talk down to Ireland, Martin said that “foreign intervention at a high profile level” in an attempt to sway the decision of voters was counter productive.

Ireland’s corporation tax

“The low corporation tax rate we are absolutely wedded to,” said Martin. While the current rate of 12.5 per cent is quite recent, the Fianna Fáil leader said that the original policy, which had been “aimed at attracting foreign investment”, is decades old.

“They [European leaders] don’t like it [our corporation tax], but most of them understand where we are coming from,” he said, adding:

U2 have their facilities in Holland because of the tax regime there, so it is not a one-way street at all…

Ireland’s neutrality

“Fianna Fáil is, historically, the party of military neutrality,” Martin affirmed, mentioning that the party’s founder, Éamon De Valera, had refused to participate in World War II.

In the years since, Martin said that others had since adopted what had been a Fianna Fáil policy which, in the ’70s and ’80s, broadened to become Ireland’s foreign policy.

This neutrality, Martin believes, has allowed Ireland to take positions “on the merits and morals of a given situation as opposed to being sucked into big power geopolitics.”

But it is a difficult tightrope to walk, when Afghanistan happens, or Iraq.

On the issue of America’s use of Shannon airport, Martin, referring back to World War II, said that things were ‘complicated’ even then, with Ireland “on the side of Britain”.

“That kind of pragmatism has followed through, in particular because our relationship with America is very strong,” he said.

Speaking of “ridiculous arguments” that a loss of Ireland’s neutrality would result in “tanks on O’Connell Street”, Martin picked out the topic of conscription, in particular, as being a “very potent negative campaigning issue.”

The pro-European side sometimes scoffed at that. But when we did the research afterwards, we realized that people really believed it. And I was amazed, when knocking on doors, that people would ask me if there will be a European Army, and if their sons will be forced to join.

What is Fianna Fáil’s position on abortion?

“My party supports the right to life,” Martin said, with the caveat that they would only agree to it being introduced under strict control “for the rare circumstances where the life of the mother is at risk. We are not the only ones; most parties are in that position.”

On the pro-life movement, Martin said that while the church may also hold a similar view, they “don’t politically agitate to the same extent” as the “lay civil society movement” who he said were “very well networked” and effective campaigners.

There is no point in denying that societal views towards abortion are changing.

Europe and the citizen

Martin sees one of the big challenges in Europe as successfully addressing the “disconnection between the citizen and Europe.”

Popular consent with Europe will be lost, he believes, if there is not constant engagement with the people on European matters.

Despite the Fiscal Treaty passing, Martin believes that people saw ‘yes’ as the lesser of the two evils, and that Irish people are not confident about Europe:

The overriding sentiment of the Irish people is not one of great confidence in Europe at the moment: they went along the proposed treaty because it is in their self-interest and they have no other choice.

Believing that the “handling of the financial crisis at European level has been quite poor,” Martin said that recognising a Greek default on day one would have been better for all concerned, before adding:

And from the perspective of the Irish, the idea of not facilitating a contribution from bondholders at the very beginning was wrong. Imposing all the losses on citizens is not acceptable.

Fianna Fáil’s blanket guarantee to the banks

“They [the government of the time] feared that there would be a run on Irish banks,” Martin said.

Saying that the banks hid the fact that they were insolvent, Martin said that the initial guarantee was based on the banks only having a liquidity problem.

Yet, despite all the criticism about the Fianna Fáil government’s bank guarantee, to the present day there are bank guarantees going on in Europe.
So the Irish policy, whether you agree or disagree with it, was in line with the broader European position.

Describing Ireland as “doing quite well when the euro was introduced”, the euro led to a further growth in exports.

But it was like pouring petrol on a fire because it also opened the tap for a lot of cheap money to come into the country, on top of the economic growth we were already experiencing at the time.
We liberalized the banking sector: German banks came in, and other foreign banks, and they all lent on property, not on industry or high technology companies, and thus contributed to creating the bubble.

Can Ireland exit the Troika-funded programme?

While the Ireland of the 1980s grew its way out of recession – helped by an expanding export economy – Martin is unsure as to whether exports will be as effective this time around. “In other words, we are locked into the wider European future,” he said.

Despite the “awful hammering” that Martin says his party received in the last general election, he said that the current government – although they won’t admit it – have “ridden on the piggy back” of the “draconian budgets” which Fianna Fáil implemented before losing power.

What about the rise of Sinn Féin?

Believing that “populist parties in general” have seen growth, Martin believes that the position of Sinn Féin is “to be against everything: oppose every cut, oppose every tax and just mop up the votes basically.”

Now the degree to which Sinn Féin will try and mainstream itself is open to interpretation.
The honest truth is that voters don’t have a great trust in politics, irrespective of what political party you look at. My party has to adapt to that, and start again basically.

No more Galway tent

“That went four years ago, we drew the lessons from what happened,” Martin said.

“People don’t like the idea that you can buy influence, and rightly so,” adding:

We now have one national draw – it is fifty euros a ticket – and we have a national collection, people still do church gate collections in Ireland. These are the two big fundraisers for the party now, which means that 90% of all our fundraising is below one hundred euros.

What is the Fianna Fáil’s agenda in Europe?

“Fianna Fáil is fundamentally a pro-European party,” Martin said. Recalling when Éamon Ó Cuív went against their party in relation to the Fiscal Treaty debate, Martin said that he reaffirmed the party’s commitment to Europe: “He had to resign as deputy leader.”

In-full: The interview with Micheál Martin >

Read: ‘It’s quite disturbing how negative the views about Germany are’ – Lucinda Creighton >

Read next:

Comments (110 Comments)

• Considering we’ve only loaned this money to the banks, we should be fully repaid with interest!!

• Don’t hold your breath bud.

• In the early months of 2008, experts more or less predicted the situation with our banks and advised FF against any such ‘blanket guarantee’. FF still went ahead against the advice of these experts and socialized the banks losses onto the state balance sheet. Again, this went against the advice of experts. This was exposed by a respected journalist recently.

• The expert advice was made with the best interest of Ireland and the economy in mind. The actions of FF were about self preservation and protecting their key business donors and friends. If the developers didn’t have Nama etc then FF would have a very tight future financially and there would be no kickbacks via envelopes or directorships for a very very long time.

• If we were any use we would be marching on Leinster house making our demands known!! And not holding our breath..,,

• Funnily enough he voted for these losses to be foisted on the taxpayer.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/0120/112889-angloirish/

• Ha, fancy that, coming from leader of the party that gave the country away, LOL…jesus Mikeal you crack me up boi!!

• Every time I see, hear or read of him or his party, I develop a strange case of tourettes….

• “The leader of Fianna Fáil, Micheál Martin also said that ‘Ireland’s neutrality is a difficult tightrope to walk’.”

Hopefully he’ll be the first to try it… or any other tightrope!

• No doubt he should be on a tight rope lol. Some neck on the man to start to question our neutrality as well. He will have no trouble shipping our young men to their deaths long as he gets some nice plaudits and maybe like Bertie a talking circuit in a few years to come.

• This is what annoys me so much about Irish politics….. let the other side take a stance, wait to gauge public opinion and then stand on that side…. oh FFS!! They spend every day or their damned lives trying to get “one up” on the other side and they waste all their energy in this futile points scoring that nobody gives a rats about…

How about articulating options that may help or helping the current government for the improvement of the damned country!!! its why your constituents elected you!

• Ah f**k off Michael!!!!!!

Sorry, I have Tourette’s when it comes to this fella.

That guy has zero credibility when it comes to anything political – he was one of the f**kers who got us here in the first place

• I’m lost for words on this one title etc have no idea what to say. He was a minister in numerous FF governments wasn’t he?

• A close friend of Haughey who was the man who brought him in, got his first break under Albert Reynolds and came in to his own under Bertie Ahern. Show me his friends and I’ll show you the man.

• What hypocrisy! It was FIANNA FAIL who guaranteed Anglo Irish Bank (under Brian Lenihan).

FF had the opportunity to skip the guarantee but chose not to do so.

• Pity you didnt vote in favor of it then you double crossing hypocritical financial terrorist. Take a hint Miceal, the Irish people will NEVER forgive you or your lot …. EVER. You can fool some of the people some of the time, but you cant fool all the people all of the time. There hasnt been a FF leader in 40 years that wasnt forced to resign in a cloud of dirt, coming out of the dirty low-life sc*m tricks they played and got caught with.
    Pretending you are any different to your predecessors will not work.

• Hypocritical just one word that jumps out at me even though I agree with every word you said. You should see the rubber neck of the parasite after mass on Sundays and all the Well off Fools that tip their cap and Que to shake the hand of the Master. No wonder we are known as the Thick Paddy all over the world.

• wow! dont know whats worse, that they have the neck to come out with this trash or that 24% of the people support them and the support is rising.

• I blame the brain washed grassroots that keep voting them in . Really are people that Stupid and blind . Do thy not see the mess that . That shower of parasites left behind . Thy are not a foot ball club that you fallow blindly its is reall life . We are paying for there greed and stupidity

• Then that dirty traitor Lenihan, that slob Cowen, your good self Micky and all the other things in FF should not have voted and arranged for that to happen.

Mr. Martin you have a neck that would make “The General” seem like a quiet little man.

• “Imposing all the losses on citizens is not acceptable……………………………I still can’t believe we got away with it”

• Rayven 05/02/13 #

It’s funny one looks at banks and in the past never would have thought that the biggest thiefs were inside an then looks at politicians the law makers and they are the biggest law breakers of all and the Catholic Church the religious moral guards become the most heinous immoral sickos ever, go figure

• He makes me sick!
    the leader of a criminal organisation that has beggared this Nation!
    he was in cabinet when the damage was done and he expects us to forget??

• Is Michael Martin suffering from loss of memory! Was it not the FF lead government that created the problems of today? FF guaranteed the bond holders of Anglo Irish Bank at the expense of the Irish Taxpayers. FF want us to forget who lead the last Government and overspent every year by borrowing huge sums of money. Was it not Bertie Aherne who said the economists who forecast a doomsday for Ireland should commit suicide!, Has he apologised? NO! why not? If FF apologised every day for the next 100 years it would not be enough! Michael Martin allows and supports the former FF Taoisig Bertie and Brian to draw significant unfunded pensions at the expense of the Irish Taxpayers. We should have Laws like Iceland where government Ministers can be arrested and charged with gross mismanagement! lets change our Laws to make TDs accountable. Michael you can still apologise and condemn excess pensions to your colleagues. How many TDs wee charged in Court over fiddling their expenses? I rest my case!

• Well said, Dermot. If only there was a shred of accountability here and banishment from politics forever – FF RIP; FG/LAB -RIP…..let’s RIP it all up and start again – our 3 main parties are traitors destroying this country. How can somebody like Michael Lowry be allowed run for election, let alone vote in the Dáil???! It beggars belief and it’s only for starters.
      We have too many problems with no solutions nor the political nous to face up to the ECB/EU/IMF. With our current political landscape, we are DOOMED!! This country should be on strike, telling the political elites “NO” – not our loan!
      The rest is a charade and MM knows all about it!!! Knave…and sleebheen

• Meehall has avery short memory, in fact a goldfish has more than him. It was his party and he was in the very same govt. who got the country into the mess in the first place. He along with his shyster colleagues were the ones who landed the public with the banks losses in the first place, the hapless Lenihan and Cowen signed the bank guarantees and he along with the rest of his party, pd’s and greens went along with it so it’s a bit hypocritical to say the least that he is coming out with this BS now. Of course the current cabal are only continuing with the last lots policies so there is no change there, one shower of useless gombeens following the other showers failed policies. Welcome to Ireland where groundhog day is every day! Alas it’s wishful thinking if you think Ireland would behave like Iceland in these matters, the Icelandic people aren’t plagued with the same kind of neurosis which seems common to most Irish people. They have a backbone and are not afraid to bring the political incompetents and criminals to book for their crimes, you’ll be waiting a long time to see any such action in the banana republic!

• Hahaha Oh lord that’s just too much.
    Wasn’t that ass in the last cabinet that sold this country out?!!

• Judas only got 30 pieces. Isn’t Martin’s pension about 90k a year? No offense to Judas in that comparison.

• What it shows is how confident FF is that the electorate already forgave them. And sadly, he might be right…

• One hope for this blighted country is that most of FF’s support base, are over 65. They are reviled by most people under 40, so their voted base is in decline.

Either way they will be out of power ten years unless they go in as FG’s junior partner after the next election. Which will finish them or they will be out in the wilderness for at least another 8,9,10 years. FF survive on selling state perks and the benefits of power. If they do not have that then they have no reason to exist. They are a catch all party where the trade unionist and the libertarian can sit beside each other, all bound by a desire for power. That is history either way and they will fade over time.

• oh such a short memory micky you think we have forgotten what your party and the rest of the opposition did that fateful night….

• I suppose those who caused the problem best know who should not have to pay and who is truly to blame.

Remember, remember the 29th September 2008.

The State Guarantee was the financial and economic death sentence for the State. We made our bargain. It was a night of infamy.

• Oh what a Tragic Comedy, Irish Politics….

• Paul 04/02/13 #

Go away Fianna Fail.

• Somebody sold tell mr Martin that it was his party who instigated theses charges and taxes.
    Oh and while there at it please tell him that their is no difference between FF and FG.
    Both guilty of crimes against the people of Ireland.

• Utter dribble from Martin. He’s talking as if FF are a big party. He’s out of touch as is his party. I like the way he talks about Dev and neutrality but forgets to mention that Dev was one of the main drivers allowing the Church be part of state matters and we all know what that led to!

• Your article in the SINDO micheal Martin states that,the apology by Adams in relation to the death of Garda Mc Cabe was politically self serving.You and your party’s hollow apology is also hypocritically self serving, and this from a has been political party that let us not forget did more damage to this country and it’s people than any bunch of deluded ragtag bunch of criminals.

• I gave no interest in what Fianna FAIL have to say.

• What ever resentment I have for this shower is f*** all compared to ff.
    I feel a bout of Tourettes coming on.

• It was ff who done most damage to this country

• Fool! That was FF policy that the sad lot in Government are following!!

• Nozaed 04/02/13 #

Even if we forget about the huge F*** up of the Bank guarantee, the last FF Government were an absolute disgrace. Everyday something new happened and they all looked like fools being led by a fool so please Michael don’t tell me the New Government are riding piggy back on the policies that they implemented.
    As for the Bertie years well his policies were Euro, decentralization, increasing the Civil Service , huge public employee pensions and wages that we now have to tackle. In short most of the shortfall in running our little country from taxes received were caused by this man.
    Then lets look at good ould Charlie, God bless him. Well they say you should never speak ill of the dead so we will leave it at that.
    So now we are back to Mick the dick he expects us all to forgive FF in one term of Government, I hope the Irish are more tough than that but then again we will probably vote FF again next time out.

• You just know people are going to vote them back in again.

• Wat an idiot

• get back into your box please micheal .

• Has MM had a frontal lobotomy? Does he think we are all as doolally as the idiots who still support the corrupt party he now purports to lead? We need people who enter politics to serve their country and not their conies pockets which in turn feeds their own grubby pockets like FF have been doing for years. FF arevstill riddled with corrupt deadwood and until this is discarded they have no future in Irish politics, end of.

• What a vile f***ing man. You turn my stomach Mr Martin, now crawl back under your rock.

• Like he can talk…

• Better late then never, Micheal Martin admits he & the Fianna fail party engaged in unacceptable behavior on 28/09/2008, surely there is only one action left open to them, disband,retire from political life & face judge & jury for what they did to this country & it’s people.

• Disgustingly hypocritical comments from a man heavily stained by his closeness to Bertie Ahern and his awful record as Minister for Health.

• What a muppet!

• Good to see out of 67 commenters only 3 idiots support this traitorous clown. If only he knew how stupid he sounded every time he opens his mouth he might do us all a favour and retire. Oh and disband that party of thieves while he’s at it.

• This is the man who helped put this country in hock for generations. He has some neck, I’ll give him that.
    You should keep a low profile Mr Martin, or do you think our memories so short we can’t remember what you’ve done?

• Fianna Gael and labour were never any good to the people of this country. People have very short memories. Taxing children’s shoes and clothing brought down the government the last time they were in power in the early 90s. Now they are bullying the Irish pensioners into paying extra tax for the privilege of living in their homes already bought and payed for, tax payed. Phil hogan chief among the bullies. How can we prevent children from bullies when it begins with people at the top filtering down to the workplace and into our schools? The economy never performed well when FG or Labour were in power. Give me FF anytime under Micheal Martin. FG and Labour have blood on their hands with numerous suicides occurring in our society.

• Oh yes and let’s not forget how Fianna Fáil cuddled up to the church and let the bully’s and abusers of innocent defenceless children off scot free. How they sold the fledgling Irish republic out to the Vatican state . No wonder most of their fund raising comes from hanging around outside RCC churches on a Sunday.

• william the problem in this country is deluded people like you , it has got. to the point you are actually dangerous .

• Nozaed 05/02/13 #

Willie,
      Fianna Fáil ruined this country and the party elite retired on large pensions after they wrecked our country. To use suicide as an argument not to vote FG And Labour is an absolute disgrace and you should be ashamed of yourself.
      Either way it makes no difference to our generation whether its FG or FF have power because we are going to have to run our country on the advice and rules of Germany and the EU.
      But my dear friend history will tell the true story and you can be sure FF will be remembered as the party that destroyed Ireland sending our youth on the planes again to Austrailia , Canada , Britain and the US. Shame on all FF people, your party ruined Ireland and thank God I can tell my grandchildren I never voted for them. It’s that generation that you destroyed and when the truth really comes out about Cowen,Ahern and Haughey your head will drop in shame for ever having anything to do with them.

• an “isolationist past ”

whats he talking about , Is he implying that sovereign independent nations cannot have trade agreements with the rest of the world ?

all you need is trade agreements for economic success , you dont need political union for anything apart from making politicians feel superior about themselves , political union is about two things only – Greed and Power

• Like it or not people Martin is elected by fellow Irish citizens as well as being the leader of the largest opposition party in the Dáil. He would be doing a disservice to the people who voted for both him and the party he leads if he were to shy away from putting his views and the direction of his party forward.

All the giving out about politicians not doing their job properly and when one actually does what he is elected to do people still slate him!

Seriously guys ye may not like Micheal Martin but a large number of people did elect him and members of Fianna Fáil to represent them. That’s democracy folks.

It’s actually a really good interview but judging by a lot of the comments here it seems that a few people just saw the name Martin and Fianna Fáil and commented without any scrutiny of the article and that’s a great pity in my view.

• FF don’t have enough votes to become the “largest” party:

Sinn Fein: 19%
      Fianna Fail: 21%

Counting Independents in; Sinn Fein are likely to come out as the bigger opposition party. The last time I checked, most Independents dumped Fianna Fail.

• For christs sake did ye all get a phone call to go on to journal.ie and defend Martin? Can he not speak for himself?

• A great pity indeed though I am not surprised that the anger at FF/ MM bleeds through every associated article. It will take a long time before we can forgive FF and certainly not with MM leading them, he needs to step aside and let an untainted leader rebuild the party.

• Sorry Hugh but if I do a poo in my bed tonight I don’t think my missus will really listen if I complain of a smell of sh1te.
      Martin was part of the government that caused to problems this country face. He has no credibility talking about a problem he caused.
      If he wants the people to listen he needs to hand back his minster pension and call and fight for all ex FFer’s to hand back there’s.
      Then organise a walk from malin to mizen with all the ex cabinet minsters in nothing but their boxers handing out Hawthorne branches to all to whip them as they see fit.
      Then and only then will that man or any of his cronnies have anything to say that I’ll be willing to listen to.

• Jeasus Hugh,yourself and rodgers shoild organise to meet up for a pint some evening. That would make for interesting listening.

• Every single commentator on this thread forgets that Fianna Fáil has a mandate. You might not like it, but try and get over it please.

MM leads the largest opposition party and he has a role in public discourse on this island.

• Wakey waked. I am amazed at the blindness of you commentators. FG & Lab are far worse than FF. They are ruining this country. Morale is at an all time low under this administration. The next Government will probably end up being FF & FG coalition.

• The present incumbants are merely FF Lite, they are not the answer to our problems but listening to MM waffle how he’d put right a situation that was caused by his own party is indeed laughable to say the least, FF needs a complete transfusion of new blood to rid itself of its sins from the recent and not so recent past of which MM was one of the biggest players. Then and only then and no matter how long this takes because it needs to be done right, will they have a moral right to again present a mandate to the people of this country.

• Typical reaction and just proved my point blinded by hate FF are in a rebuilding process and like it or not people are still prepared to vote for FF who are leading the opposition under MM’s stewardship .

• If People could put their hate of everything FF for a minute and read the interviews content you would see it comes from a man who cares deeply about his country and its people , he didn’t walk away but stayed on the pitch to rebuild Ireland . Avery good and honest interview .

• If he cared that much he would have defected and joined the coalition trying to provide real answers and solutions to the unmeasurable problems facing the country! FF created problems on such an incomprehensible scale, we’re lucky to have a Taoiseach brave enough to want to tackle such a cancerous legacy.

• Irish people are bred at this stage to hate the type of man or org. that sells out his country for a few shillings. It is down to history I guess. Martin and FF can’t run away from the actions and deeds of their party and Govt.

” a man who cares deeply for his country and its people”. I don’t think his own mother would even describe his in those terms ffs.

• Hard to know who’s more deluded Mark Power or Padraig O,it’s a toss up.

• Mark he’s a hypocrite hungry for power. He and his crony friends didn’t give a s#%t for the citizens of this nation when they were in power and sold us out. The best way to judge future performance is by past performance and let’s face it FFs past performance was pretty s#%t.

• M Bowe 05/02/13 #

Where was his consideration for the people of this country back in sept 08??????

• Refreshing and honest comments from MM.

• So lets get your argument straight it’s alright for Gerry Adams to get up in the Dail and apologise for the cold blooded murder of a Garda but Micheal Martin is not allowed an opinion !! Who by the way was democratically elected by the people at the last election .

Add New Comment