TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Sunday 26 May, 2013

Fianna Fáil support jumps as it overtakes Labour in latest Red C poll

The junior coalition partner is tied with Sinn Féin on 15 per cent support in the latest poll for the Sunday Business Post.

Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin (File photo)
Image: Photocall Ireland

FIANNA FÁIL HAS seen its support jump in the latest Red C poll for the Sunday Business Post with it now the second most popular party in Ireland according to the survey.

Fine Gael remains the most popular party in the county up one from the last poll and on 32 per cent support, the governing party is followed by Fianna Fáil on 18 per cent, up 4 percentage points from the last poll over a month ago.

Micheál Martin’s party has overtaken Labour whose support has fallen by two percentage points to 15 per cent. FF has also climbed above Sinn Féin which is also on 15 per cent, a drop of one percentage point.

The Green Party is on one per cent as is the Socialist Party, with independents and others on 18 per cent.

The poll was conducted among more than 1,000 voters nationwide last Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. Full details will be in tomorrow’s Sunday Business Post.

October: Fianna Fáil remains fourth in party support – Red C poll >

Read next:

Comments (164 Comments)

• Micheál Martin in the picture above ‘Excellent Smithers.’

• Surprise, surprise… We live in a country where the electorate has a memory as large as a golf-fish!

• *Gold-fish

• I wouldn’t worry too much Gavin. These type of polls are as good as it will get for FF. The people of Ireland won’t forget what they did to the country anytime soon.

• Its Ireland, Irish people are the most ridiculous people on Earth. First they give away all their sovereignty and independence, then they believe FG and their 5 Point plan lol Expect FF to storm through the next elections…My God, it gets even more ridiculous by the day.

• @John I hope you are right but somehow I feel that civil war politics is alive and kicking.
      Although I disagree somewhat with policies from the likes of Sinn Fein, ULA and the Socialist Party, I thought that the most recent election was one of the most successful for the advance of democracy and representation of the entire political spectrum. The thought that FF could theoretically take back the seats they lost from the likes of the above, I think would only harm the little amount of democracy that we still hold here in Ireland!

• FG/Labours last attempt at a fiscal correction turned out to be a disaster for Ireland (1982). The economy contracted further, tax take fell dispite rate increases and unemployment continued to rise.
      They consigned themselves to the wilderness and FF/PD’s succeeded in turning the economy around.
      It would appear the current government have not learned the lessons of their own history.

• Goldfish

• Red C Poll probably run by a bunch of Fianna Fáil men. We do not forget to easily. Red C is propaganda at it’s worst.

• Yeah green, white and Gold fish! Sadly it only shows what I have suspected for many years, there is a large section of Irish people who are so conditioned and so brainwashed by the gombeen culture that they are simply incapable of moving away from their overlords who tend to be local or rural FF nepotist families who have ‘ruled’ the area since independence and who have a kind of grip on these people which is not that dissimilar to that of a feudal landlord, likewise the catholic church many of the same people you will see voting FF are the same ones dutifully kneeling at the alter rails on a sunday obeying their Vatican master despite the awful behaviour of the Irish catholic church. It’s perverse, it’s the Irish ‘persecution’ mentality at it’s most extreme, like the battered wife who keeps going back to a violent husband because they know no better and hope he will change! It’s just insane, pure madness!

• FFS!

• shows how bad labour have been in government…

• Low standard in politics is not just confined to FF.
    By the time these jokers are done doing favours for their chums (Judges on benches, party hacks on boards in FAS, and Gov. Depts. etc) we will see that politics in Ireland is just more of the same, no matter what uniform was worn in the civil war.
    labour are no better, cast your mind back to the ‘Spring Tide’ when Dick Spring lambasted Haughy on the canvass and then got into bed with FF in Government and got loads of Labourites into plum jobs.
    Cronyism is rife and crosses all parties.

• anybody else think he’s the bulb off Monty burns in that photo?

• This country seriously needs a new party based on honesty. Promises made before elections to get votes that are broken for no reason should have serious repercussions. Morals have gone in Ireland :-(

• It doesn’t surprise me at all that Labour have dropped. Eamonn Gilmore seems to have disappeared, for one thing. They’re not doing themselves any favours, though they’re hardly alone in that.

Look at what they’ve been replaced with as the second-darling party of the country though. That short-term memory loss is the sort of thing that you’d want to go to the doctor about.

• @ Seamus…I have a feelng this is more about Labours impotence rather than FF’s improved performance…FF will remain under ground for many years to come..the only reason they’ll come back will be because FG will let them…and sure poor ole spineless Enda is like a rabbitt in the headlights when it comes to FF.

• Depressing but I’m not surprised, we did somehow manage to elect their clones last election.

• Proof, as if any was needed, that the recession is having a detrimental effect on education – Fianna Fail are growing more popular. The Fianna Fail that led us into recession? The Fianna Fail that removed proper fiscal oversight of the banking sector? The Fianna Fail that encouraged the property bubble? The Fianna Fail that won our little hearts over with giveaway budgets? That promised you so much in every election yet delivered far, far less than you could have believed?

Yes. THAT Fianna Fail.

• That’s all great but what did FG, Lab or SF do during those times. Did they even complain about it? Did the electorate endorse those policies?
      Sorry to tell everyone that FF while not innocent of our economic whose at the moment are not 100% to blame either. We should analyse the reason we got here with a clear head not the propaganda court room we have now.
      Not doing this lead history to repeat itself?

• Graham look at your thumbs…. more or less the same ratio as the Red C poll………… The Haughey/Aherne/Cowen cabal have been removed so FF is ‘pure’ again…… this is the prevalent logic of that 18%…… What nutters….. No wonder the Europeans treat us like children; we’re an under-developed tribe (both sociologically AND psychologically) ……. we’ve absolutely no business running our own affairs! So I pity the sanity of those few remaining Irish with an ounce of common sense caught between the idiot class here and the condescension over there……..

• Worst nightmare. Would the back benchers in Labour please #occupy the Labour party. No way we can go back to FF.

• Ppl can remember the good times with FF greater than the bad days and FG/LB will get the blame for the present! Tis a great aul country!!

• Short memories! Bertie & co are still on the gravy train they created and we are paying for it!!!!! Imagine, Cowen gets€500 a day for doing nothing, for the rest of his natural!!!!!!!!!! It’s outrageous.

• These polls actually mean diddly squat. We are still gonna be screwed by them anyway. :-\

• They haven’t gone away you know…..

• What is wrong with some people, like seriously do we all have a really short memory or something! Fucking hell

• In GE11 Fianna Fail got slightly over 17% of first preference vote. 18% in this poll is hardly a big boost since the margin of error is +/- 3%. In other words Fianna Fail are still fooked by and large,

• Short memories – I want to emigrate more every day – I don’t think the Irish people will ever learn – like those women who keep going back to abusive husbands.

• I think this tells us more about people’s feelings towards Labour than it does about any Fianna Fail. And of course people are not above having a little fun with opinion polls when there are no real elections in the offing.

• DubDon 03/12/11 #

In all the years these polls have been conducted I’ve never been questioned!!! But let’s look at the main thing here in my opinion… Labour are now behind FF in the polls… Jesus its only 10 months ago posters sprung up all over the place with Gilmore for Taoiseach (bit preemptive) and now they are trailing a party that was in effect wiped out. Gilmore was great on the opposite side of the house but he is definitely not wearing the trousers in this not so cosy relationship… Labour will be biggest loser in next election. They are a party completely at odds with itself. The direction this country needs to go is against all the core principles of labour… Big cuts in social welfare, big cuts in public sector, streamlineing admin in HSE to free up jobs and money for front line services and so on… This a govt that has to make hugely unpopular decisions that labour promised would not happen… So now FF will sit back and try to soak up some of labours unpopularity and try to build on that.

• Just goes to show how fxxkin thick people are in this country.

• FF got us into this mess. We are clearly being told what to do by the Troika. Had FF still been in power they would be doing the exact same things as FG /Labour with less thought for the less well off. Do you think under FF social welfare would be left alone this time around? I don’t think so. The last two FF budgets impoverished even more those who could least afford it …the out of work….. lest we forget

• Did Fianna Fáil also get Greece, Italy, Spain, Hungary etc etc “into this mess”?!
      Fianna Fáil protected the vulnerable, insofar as was feasible, in its Budget last yr; we are obligated by the EU/ IMF to make certain cuts, yes, but from where those cuts come is entirely up to the Govt of the day.

• we don,t give two fucks about italy ,spain ,greece ,portugal etc they got this nation into the mess and a if there was any suitable justice in the country most of them should locked up by now,preferably tied to a post in thortonhall without blankets

• @Louise see http://www.fiannafail.ie/news/entry/7600 for precisely what would do

Also welfare as the biggest spend (2/3 of total income) department was always going to see reform, also under FF the basic dole rate was increased over THREE TIMES the cost of living increase 1997-2009, lest we forget actual facts

• And that inflationary vote buying tactic (pushing up the spend, as well as the cost of purchasing a home, ergo building one) thus making everything more expensive, and our country more expensive, was a success, was it?

Do you crowd even realise what you did?

• You can play with figures all you like, but the monetary supports available to unemployed people (an unsustainable situation YOUR party brought about, by the way), are now far worse than they would have been otherwise.

And now you have the cheek to try and get the out of work vote, instead of coming up with concrete solutions to right the wrongs, and help those people who now need help the most?

The same party who thought it perfectly fine to turn FAS into a €1Bn a year gravy train, in yet another FF mechanism to transfer exchequer funds to those “in the loop”, while retaining a bloated organisation that was not fit for purpose? And when FF thought it fine to put third level education and a diverse training policy on the back burner in favour of stoking the boom, and pushing our young people head first into a teetering and oversized construction sector?

Well done. Your party has learned nothing.

• Paul Anthony Ward @ ”Fianna Fáil protected the vulnerable, insofar as was feasible, in its Budget last yr; ” Typical arrogance of a FFailure ….. It is the job of those in power to protect the vulnerable.FULL STOP .Not insofar as was feasible. That is such an ‘I’m alright Jack’ attitude .Typical FFailures.

• The key point to take from this poll is that over 50% of the population would not vote FF or FG.

That’s progress.

• i think they still need to be kept in quarantine for a substantial period of time until all signs of contamination are cleared. only then should they be slowly released back into the public space. then the people can decide if they are fit enough to be trusted to be ‘servants of the public ‘ again. else the epidemic will only resurface in a more virulent form. if only we could vaccinate the whole population against such outbreaks of corruption. until then the risk remains imminent.

• It was only a matter of time before the voters turned on FG And Lab they told the electorate lies as to what they could deliver when they knew the state of the finances , SF talk the talk in opposition but as we have seen in Government in the North they can’t and won’t walk the walk in Government .

• That’s it.Final straw.I’m emigrating!

• Surprise another red c poll Who are paying these guys? Something fishy here

• Wasn’t it a red c poll that had uncle fester racing ahead for the aras ….. I couldn’t see it then and I don’t see it now in this poll…. Dare I say the word ? Ok so I will spell it — p-r-o-p-a-g-a-n-d-a !!!

• Labour is the political equivalent of the character ‘Andy’ from ‘Little Britain’.

Want that one – are you sure- yeah, want that one – really? – yeah, want that one – OK then – don’t like it…

It was ever thus. The election of Gilmore as their “leader” should have sounded alarm bells. Perpetual coasters in the Irish political system since the 80′s.

• If labour had any brains they would have not gone in to government, next election it wil be a repeat of 97

• In fairness nobody with a brain would go in to government

• Not a chance Martina, the party that nearly destroyed the country through greed, stupidity, corruption, incompetence, hypocrisy, not to mention a leader quite probably succumbing to a crippling drink habit attempting to lead a country at her worst hour while wreathed in alcohol fumes and hangovers… That party stays locked out for two electoral cycles minimum.

That party has to stay dead in the long grass for a decade, at which point hopefully the thick, greedy, chest puffing, corrupt incompetents that made up the majority of their dáil membership may have died off politically and the party might be fit to be considered for public office.

In ten years time.

• Fianna Fail is the biggest single disaster to happen to this country. They are sly , hypocritical, arrogant , mean spirited, brainwashed and are only out for what they can get /do for themselves and the country does not matter . They are still fighting civil war politics and the treaty. They remind me of spoiled little children who do not get their own way. They have a blinkered view of this world we live in and Cowen , Bertie et al should be done for high treason. Haughey got off scot free.

How can people put them ahead of Labour ??? The mind boggles .

• Around and around we go. Is anyone actually surprised at this. We replaced them with Fine Gael! Thats the limit of our imagination. We didn’t take to the streets and we voted a party with the same sort of agenda. Resistance comes in the shape of a phone call to Joe Duffy. A complacent people produces complacent politicians. If you think I am wrong Iceland did the exact opposite to us an according to most media they seem to be recovering just fine

• Eric 03/12/11 #

Well this was always going to happen, wasn’t it ? FG and Labour had the option of sitting on the fence and opposing for the sake of it before they got elected because their words and actions were of no consequence as the opposition party .

Now that they are in power and the stark reality of Ireland’s circumstances has been pointed out to them by their advisors, labour and fine Gael are continuing as Fianna Fail left – cut, tax, cut , tax and the comments above show an incredible naïveté on the part of the journals readership believing it would be any different .

Enda and Eamon’s stock response to any disagreement from Michael Martin is to say “well, you got us into this mess!” – get over it, that was then, this is now, they are worse in many ways than FF when you consider just how many election promises they’ve U-turned on.

• well said eric …current gov are a shower of gobshites …nice to see FF support slowly coming back and yes i am a card carrying member of fianna fail and proud of it

• Nothing is worse than fianna fail. NOTHING. Bent, clique ridden, in bar bullying useless gobshite of a bought property developer financed farting in the Galway tent laughing and destroying the country party of the few.

NEVER AGAIN.

That party stays electorally kneecapped for a decade minimum.

• The arrogance of FFailures on this thread just beats all. Spare us please.The amazing thing is these supporters are suffering the austerity just as much as the rest of us , and still see Meehall Martin as their Knight in shining armor :) :)

• 03/12/11 #

Get a bit of perspective. 82% still DON’T want FF in government, down from 86% last month.
    Labour are slipping because they’re being found out. As long as they insist Croke Park is sacrosanct, the people paying for the whole Ponzi scheme i.e. the productive sector, will not be supporting them again.

• Folks, this is hardly a “jump” in support. In real terms it represents a mere 0.5% increase, and when you bear in mind that there’s a margin of error in every poll, they could possibly be either down or up. But not significantly.

At best, they can say that they’ve hit a floor. However, given that honesty is not one of the party’s watchwords, this will no doubt be spun by them as a massive recovery, and vindication of the decisive, masterful, charismatic, and always moral Michael Martin.

• Good time for a few economists and business people to launch a new party. People want to vote change again. As the last change was merely a change of shirt colour there is real opportunity for something refreshing.

• don’t see what jean mcconville has to do with this article…that comment is petty and pathetic

• the long and the short of it is that as a nation, the Irish are a selfish, self centred lot who never see the bigger picture and will always vote in a government containing either fine gael or fianna fail. we never learn and never will. pains me to say it, but we are pathetic and will put up anything our government throws at us. politics as it is currently in Ireland is a joke. we need a new party for the ordinary hard working, tax paying, ripped off people of Ireland.

• Irish people are stupid

• mike 03/12/11 #

Can see ULA, PBP, SF and socialists making gains at next election. The three main party have proved themself to be full of lies , fraud and deception.

• How?!? Three biggest parties in Ireland – Fianna Fail, Fine Gael and Labour.

Fianna Fail messed up the country and Fine Gael are in the process of messing up the country. Surely logic would dictate that the third biggest party in the country, Labour, should at the very least get the support of people who are disillusioned with both parties, and at the very most should be given a chance of putting policies neither of the other too use into practice. Then again, I’m starting to become fairly certain logical thought isn’t a trait many Irish people are in possession of.

• I have lost all faith in the intelligence of the Irish people…

• Fianna Fail and their supporters have brought this country to its knee’s. They have destroyed it for generations to come. This will take decades to fix. The Constitution should be amended to protect it from Fianna Fail and their supporters. Fianna Fail should be outlawed as an illegal organisation.

• As I said to a middle class Fine Gael TD canvassing during the bye election, a poll by the star or the herald would be more indicative of real peoples views, not these up market business.
    Never ever vote FF FG or Labour, cos it’ll be the same.

• Bruce 03/12/11 #

Labour get used to it. Gilmore its keely useless. Labour will loose a lot of those dublin seats. Sadly I think the shinner gang will over take labour. And as for fg – don’t get too comfy on 32%. A lot will change in the next 12 months including the leadership.

• Bruce 03/12/11 #

*keely useless – meant to type “totally useless”
      Just to restate it: eamon gilmore is totally useless. Please resign and go home and count the 500,000 ye got from the property speculation

• people have short memories

• This is not just 18% having short memories, it is pure greed and selfishness. It’s a rot that we need to remove from our country, if we are ever to have a chance at prosperity again.

• So FF are only slightly less unpopular than Labour. Surprise, surprise…

• Not that shocking really. We are, sadly, starting to see a conservative versus liberal divide with centre parties having to choose sides. Labour is feeling the pain because they are a centre left party in coalition with a centre right party. In my opinion if there was an election tomorrow the Fine Gael and Labour coalition would be returned to government, but with a few less Labour TDs and and a few more Fine Gael TDs, but not enough for a majority. Interestingly enough, far left parties like the Socialist Party would lose the two TDs they have.

• Enda is no Chris Christie, but that’s who we need right now. Someone to put the cards on the table and explain to us what we can expect in the coming years.
    The State has control over the all those Civil & Public Servants, the semi-states and now the main banks. That is a very large payroll that we cannot afford.
    Of course FF were popular when they were making unrealistic promises about salary that could never be maintained. They were writing big cheques with no money in the account to back them up. Now FG/Lab are in charge of that bank account and all those cheques are still being presented to be cashed, by state workers and by bank bond-holders (FF wrote the biggest cheques to them).
    Now there are people who miss FF, but they actually miss the lie that FF sold them. FF convinced us that everything is rosy in the garden, and they claim now to have the answers to fix things. They don’t, they just have the same mindset as before.
    As for those who feel betrayed by Lab for deserting their socialist roots, if there’s no money in the bank there is no money in the bank. They cannot change that and they cannot match the promises they once made, or the fairytale promises the opposition Left still make. There are a shrinking number of workers to pay a larger social-welfare bill plus pay back in installments the massive overdraft that FF burdened us with. Times will get tougher, but they have to get proportionally tougher for everybody, from the wage-earner to the welfare recipient. It cannot be left for the wage-earners to shoulder all the burden of pulling us out of this mess.
    FG/Lab will make unpopular decisions, and more people will feel the pain of these decisions, but they are making these choices because they have no choice. FF left them in an impossible position that they are trying to make possible. So whether you are left or right of centre, your representatives in government need and deserve your support. They are doing what is best for the country in the long-term, even if it means more pain for us all in the short-term.

• There are so many people here that are so blinded by hatred for Fianna Fail that they don’t read the papers or listen to the news or if they do they are selective on what they retain in their brains.

There is a global economic recession and one thing for sure is that FF didn’t cause it; Ireland’s crisis is a part of the European crisis and for people to think otherwise is just down right stupidity.

Yes FF made bad judgments calls and yes the banking crisis happened under their watch but to blame FF for the lies and cover-up’s by the bankers is also down right stupidity.

When money was a plenty FF gave it back to the people by lowering income tax by increasing Social Welfare, they gave the pensioners of this country a pension they could live on with some comfort and they invested in infrastructure and invested in communities.

Maybe they should have spent less and saved more but with Enda Kenny shouting that FF were not spending enough would the people have thanked FF for spending less?

The election in Feb was a bloodbath for FF not because they were FF but because people were suffering and people were angry but as the old saying goes “you always hurt the ones you love” and people punished the Government of the day which happened to be FF but as the DW by-election proved and todays poll proved FF are a party that will survive because they are a party that represents every parish in Ireland and people know that in order to preserve the Irish way of life FF cannot and will not be eliminated from Irish politics and no matter what our left wing fanatics in the national media along with their communist friends in SF and ULA do they will not achieve that goal. Fianna Fail will never be destroyed because when you scratch the skin of the majority of Irish people they know that FF is the only party capable of running this small Island.

The Labour party in Government have once again proven that when Frank Cluskey died the Labour party died with him.
    Labour care less about the plight of the working class as much as their comrades in the right wing FG party that are running around at present like headless chickens, but I do feel that when Labour once again walk out of Government because they can’t make the tough decision Fianna Fail for the sake of this wonderful country should support a miniorioty FG Government, I have no doubt that FF will do as they have always done and put the country first.

• Blindfolded is an understatment, they have had their eyes gouged out by Fianna Fail, they are incapable of seeing anything

• @Ciaran

As one who despises FF with every throb of my heart I nonetheless have to commend you on an excellent post.

And your right! FF’s grassroot ‘party machine’ is only equalled by the GAA in terms of logistical spread and that a ‘bog basic’ ability to stir up the troops will be their path to recovery. The pothole outside granny’s gate and the planning permission for the front porch will be the bread and butter of their return to glory.

• Ciaran Bolger….FFailures Never put the country first . The stampeeded over each other in feb to leave the sinking ship that was the FFailure Government party.. Shame on them all. I will never trust any one who supports FF. How can you be so blinded? I mean you are entitled to your own opinion but How can you not see the harm and damage they did to us !

• Every “Parish” in Ireland? I’ve heard enough already. This is a country, a Republic, not a fucking catholic fiefdom. That one sentence shows that FF and it’s supporters have learnt nothing about what the majority in Ireland now want this country to be.

• Fianna Fail are not the only ones capable of running this small island. That is utter fantasy. We have never had a government without either centerist or right wing policies in this country and look at us now. We have never had the bottle to try a real alternative government. While Enda Kenny might not have been shouting at Fianna Fail to stop spending and to monitor the banks, there were advisors to the FF government and respected economists who did. And we know what Berties answer to them was. Something to do with an oven if my memory serves me correctly. Plus, the single biggest mistake of any government in the history of our state, was to guarantee the all the debts of all our banks. This saddled us with a debt that has proven to be a millstone around our necks. That was a FF decision too. I don’t blame FF for everything in this mess. However, their corruption, cronyism and ineptitude are perhaps the single biggest contributing factor to us being where we are today. They will leave us with a legacy akin to that which the British left us; colonised people whose children are forced to emmigrate. I can only hope that history repeats itself where the Irish people fight against that system and however hard the struggle, win back our independence.

• Good post Ciaran. Agree, some people would have you believe that FF were in power in Greece, Portugal, Italy, Spain and were the cause of their problems too. Whilst the problems were rooted in the gamblers, speculators and big business in europe, there’s no hiding from the fact that FF mislead and lied to the people of Ireland. They lied about the IMF, coming in, they tried to cover up the cosy relationship with developers here, etc etc etc. As a result they lost the trust of they’re own core support along with that of the softer voter. Its the party that basis itself at community level (not parish), and understands the hardship, pain and suffering of those at the lower level and acts accordingly, that will gain the trust anns respect of people. Don’t, lie

• Sorry, premature ending to my post. Should have finished with. Don’t lie and play politics with peoples lives and livelihoods, and stand up to those who would tell you to eat cake because you’ve no bread, and then you’ll get the respect you deserve.

• A man who spent years working for FF.

Look at all the FF’ers on here that are so passionate and look at their CV’s. The motivation becomes very clear.

• Having just re-read my post, I can see how I might be interpreted as advocating armed insurrection given our countrys traditional method of struggling for independence. This is not my hope. There are much better ways to get ourselves out of this economic colonisation. That was not what I was advocating, so I do apologise if anyone thought I was advocating violence.

• All I can say is God bless us. Before we know it, we’ll have Bertie back in power… :/

• It is a positive to see the Irish people respond to Fianna Fáil’s internal reforms & perhaps that the people are tired of the falsely constructed, & frankly laughable, narrative that Fianna Fáil “destroyed the country”; if the past yr has shown us anything, it’s that crisis is clearly a European, indeed a Global, crisis.
    It’s a positive step for Fianna Fáil, but obviously there’s a lot more to do over the coming yrs.

• Hardly surprising as FF are constitutional Republicans who are the only party offering constructive opposition.

FG and especially Labour only have themselves to.blame as they knew precisely the economic situation before the election, yet still promised measures they knew they wouldn’t be able to deliver.

Labour’s insistence of protesting the public service at the expense (literally) of the private sector highlights just how out of touch their old ministers are

• They didn’t know the whole story, because your constitutional Republicans (I see Sinn Fein is the new enemy, now!), hid all the booby traps from the public, just as much as the opposition, especially during your fourteen years of unbroken undermining of democracy.

FF was only ever any good at two things, getting into power, and looking after their “own”. Their latest tactic in respect of the former goal is not only to undermine the government, instead of providing constructive opposition, but to try and attack their nearest rivals, Sinn Fein.

• SF in the form of Pearse Doherty offering very credible opposition.

• I think he’s a very capable guy, even though I would disagree with him on many things.

• Stephen, what exactly did you do for Dick Roche, as State paid Special Advisor, what exactly do you do as Semi-State paid director of Wicklow Port. Was it State or Party funds that paid for your services to host his website, when u charged him 3250 euro’s.

P.s. – Any one want hosting leave me a message here, and i’ll sort it out for a hundred euro’s per annum.

Isn’t it gas that FF’ers are always the worst for sucking at the teat of the country. Stephen, will you not consider joining FG, now that FF are going to be out of power for a decade, what will you do having to stand on your own 2 feet for a change.

• Owned! Nice work, Tim.

• @Rommel actually this bounce is a vindication on Micheal Martins decision not to contest the presidential election also that FF have a credible plan to recover the economy

• ” a credible plan to recover the economy ” Meehall Martin was a minister in that government and should be done for treason alongside Biffo and Bertie . He is detestable .

• Bounce mehole! 0.55% on Feb?
      Martin didn’t run a candidate because there was no point splitting the vote of the de facto candidate (gallagher). As for a credible plan, don’t make me laugh.

• Martin ran two candidates – ‘The Quango Queen’ and ‘Baldy Bertie’, and it was by pure luck that at least one of them didn’t get in!

• And, as I’ve outlined above, it’s not so much a bounce as a splat on the concrete.

• @Ryan Murphy I was admiring your posts on this site. So much so I clicked on your profile. You work for ESB…………..the biggest monopoly in the state…you mention ‘bloated organisations’ and pensions etc….sorry but you guys in ESB are the great example of all that is wrong in this country. You don’t pay any pension levy, pay continues to increase while the rest of use are kicked in the balls every week/month/year. Any expression of discontent results in the undercurrent of pulling the switch and putting us all into darkness!!! Electricity workers in Ireland are the highest paid in the world bar none!! Get off that high horse before you fall off and break your neck!!!

• What a load of uninformed dribble! You obviously take all your cues from the Independent, and their editorial stance, which is patently biased, incorrect and hypocritical. And you obviously haven’t read about the pension reform, pay freezes, and ongoing cost cutting that has been happening in ESB since the beginning of the recession. Nor have you read of their inability to reduce energy prices for many years due to regulation, or the large amount that they return to the exchequer in the form of a dividend on profit every year. You don’t hear me whinging about it because I’m lucky to have a job, and like most workers there, would never in a million years attempt to pull the plug.

Is this the part where I’m supposed to apologise and shut the fuck up, because I have a job?

• Maybe we’ll find the money we need in Micheal Martin’s wife’s bank account, isn’t that where donations ended up in the past. Pretty standard procedure for any party or org. I presume.

• Gwan the boyos!!

• A lot done, but there’s a hell of a lot more to do. We’ll have to become whiter than white if we’re ever to seize power again in this country. First off, we need to boot out the Bert and the rest of the corrupt scum that tainted the party.

• Martin McCormack people see the proposals of Sf in opposition fir what they are populist rants and the proof if this lies within their own performance in Government in the North and to answer your point we don’t fear Sf in our worst election we only lost 3% of our core vote to them

• :) yay

Add New Comment