TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 17 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Fianna Fáil whip joins calls for Wallace to resign amid reports of censure

Seán Ó Fearghaíl has said that Wallace should resign and that his party would support a motion of censure of the indepenent TD which is reportedly now being considered by the government.

Mick Wallace
Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

FIANNA FÁIL TD and party whip, Seán Ó Fearghaíl, has joined the growing calls for the independent TD Mick Wallace to resign his seat following revelations that he under declared VAT returns before he took office.

It comes amid a report from RTÉ tonight that the government has begun attempts to have the Dáil discuss a motion of censure of Wallace.

The government chief whip did not return messages tonight while the government said only that no course of action had been finalised in relation to the independent TD.

Earlier, Wallace agreed to leave the Dáil Technical Group after being asked to do so by independent members of the group while the Ceann Comhairle Seán Barret denied the Wexford deputy’s request for speaking time in the Dáil tomorrow to offer a personal explanation.

Wallace has come in for considerable criticism and calls for his resignation after he disclosed last week that he had knowingly under declared the VAT his company, M and J Wallace Ltd, owed to the Revenue Commissioners.

He reached a settlement of €2.1 million with the tax authorities which he now says he cannot repay as the company is insolvenet.

Speaking to TheJournal.ie today, Ó Fearghaíl said: “Personally, should he resign? Yes I think he probably should however I think he’s made it quite clear that he has no intention of doing that.”

The Fianna Fáil TD for Kildare South said he had not been informed of any motion of censure being in the works but said his party would support it if it came to fruition.

The independent TD and Technical Group whip Catherine Murphy questioned whether there were grounds for such a censure motion given that Wallace’s settlement was reached prior to him taking office last year.

She told TheJournal.ie: “I would have to see what it was. If it was unprecedented, I don’t want any precedent created that would be used in the future inappropriately.”

Murphy said she had formally requested that the government chief whip, Paul Kehoe, schedule time in the Dáil this week for the matter to be addressed.

Kehoe did not return requests for comment.

When asked if the government was formulating a censure motion, a spokesperson for the Taoiseach’s office told TheJournal.ie: “No course of action has been finalised by government.”

Mick Wallace could not be reached for comment.

Read: Wallace leaves Technical Group, while Ceann Comhairle denies permission for Dáil statement

Read next:

Comments (63 Comments)

• He won’t resign. He’ll stay on the Dáil opposition backbenches along with Michael Lowry, who should have resigned long ago, and maybe he’ll tone down the pink shirts to be less conspicuous.

• He might resign when his two years of service are up and he becomes eligible for his shiny pension. He only has to hang on in there for another few months….

• The crook in the pink shirt will take a seat beside the crook in the ‘blue shirt’.

• Not sure about this really.he apparently had a choice between paying the revenue or his workers and suppliers.if he paid his workers and suppliers then that is the honourable think I reckon

• Padraic you can’t pick which laws to obey, they’re the same for everyone. No where in the tax code does it say “you don’t have to pay vat if you’re trying to be a sound boss by looking after your employees.” Also it should be noted that Mick Wallace increased the fees paid to himself and the other director (his son) in 2008, the same year his firm made a €2.6m loss, so I don’t buy his excuse at all.

• He had a choice to pay his staff and suppliers, or give himself and his son a massive payrise. Guess which one he picked?

• @P Wurple

If he’s allowed stay on, then in two years, when and if he decided to resign, his pension each week should go straight to the Revenue for as long as it takes, including interest!

• Its the usual thing, the Irish politician sticking his two fingers up at the tax payer.
    The next thing that comes out of him (I am the victim) a classic one, a delusion they all suffer from.
    Time and time again, the politicians show their disrespect for the public.
    If he had an ounce of decency he would resign as his not fit to be in office.

• @ Eddie O Sullivan

I believe it’s called “narcissism”! There must be something in the air conditioning in the Dail, it seems to target everybody not just that horrible little weed aherne, Flynn, Burke, Lowry etc. etc. I find disinfectants work very well on these horrible roaches!

• Resign?? He should be arrested. He broke the law

• If he is made bankrupt he will have to resign-why have his banks or the Revenue Commission not done this already?

• From my understanding. He made a settlement with revenue after going to them and fessing up. Revenue are not very likely to to try and make some one bankrupt especially when the person involved goes to them. Bad press for want of a better word. As far as I know he was paying off the settlement and then the banks went after him in the courts for borrowings of around 20 billion. The banks won and Wallace’s company promptly went to the wall. Meaning the payments ended to revenue. Why the banks have not applied to make him bankrupt is anyone’s guess. Maybe it is because he is in Leinster House or maybe they have done their sums and decided there would be no return in doing it.

• Mick Wallace to resign – Yes!
    FF reps calling for it- No, you hypocrites!

• So the logic is this: Fianna Fáil did wrong so Mick Wallace should get away with cheating home buyers out if VAT which he then trousered. Interesting. Utterly barmy. But interesting.

• Because if they did they would have to acknowledge it as an irretrievable debt – and that would increase bank exposure and revenue right off which queers the figures. What I see repeated is the mix up between Mick Wallace the individual and Mick Wallace Director of a limited liability company. Company Law is hundreds of years old and not necessarily morally correct. The principle is that in bad times when all goes bust the individual is released of any liability as the company is seen as an entity in its own right. That’s so people don’t necessarily go hang themselves and can at least start up again – aware of where they went wrong previous. There isn’t a business person anywhere on the planet that hasn’t experience some failure before getting it right in the end. But our big problem here is the great wise ones on the hill have decided that all bank debt is now absorbed by sovereign states which blows in the face of the capitalist system – were things are allowed to fail under whats called constructive destruction. The exchequer would work on the principle that in not gaining revenue out of a company that’s gone to the wall is a calculated loss in comparison to what it has enjoyed in previous years which will often far out weigh – remember our bureaucrats create nothing only take.
    Will the last one out of the Dail Chamber please turn off the lights – after George Lee tonight we can’t afford them left on

• Pot kettle black?? Hilarious ff the traitors party??

• Yeah. More than a bit rich coming from them.

• Some people have no dignity.
      Wallace is not the only one I could list.
      But it appears to be an Irish impediment to admit wrongdoing and then do the right thing to resign.
      Not a very positive trait.

• F Fail should not be allowed have an opinion!

Nobody needs or wants to hear their opinion. What we need to hear is from M Martin, standing up in the Dail, admitting to all that he knew, and telling us about stuff we still don’t know about it. At the end of his confession, walk out of the Dail and never come back.

Yes, Wallace should have resigned today, the longer he prolongs it the worse it’s going to get for him, not that I’m worried. He stole, he admitted it when he knew the media/electorate were going to find out.

• Hugh. Could you ask Seán Ó Fearghaíl if he called for R. Burke, L. Lawlor, CJ. Haughey, either of of the Flynn’s, John Ellis, B. Ahern or even Lowery to resign from Leinster House when they experienced difficulties with revenue? You might also ask him if he called for those above from his own party to be expelled from FF when revelations came to light about their behavior. Thanks.

Got no sympathy for Wallace but this looks to me to be the establishment (the cosy cartel in .Leinster House on all sides) going after someone they consider a threat.

• Except that I am afraid we do have to listen to them as some did get elected and in a democracy even the minorities must be heard. Or are we proposing anarchy now? As for Wallace, as much as it loathes me, he was also elected and really it up to those he represents to seek his resignation, not those looking for a scapegoat

• Fagan's 12/06/12 #

While he was speaking about this FF’s PJ Mara, 3 times Director of Elections for them, and the main back office force in FF HQ for 30 years was out in Poznan with Sean Fitzpatrick.

There really is nothing lower in society than a FF’er.

• Is it honourable to pay his staff(some well over paid at the time no doubt) while the rest of us bail out the government in PAYE?not in my bokk and agree with breaking the law comment

• You don’t see any of them calling for Michael Lowry to resign?

• i said it before that Irish people don’t know how or who to vote..for… they are lead like sheep and they vote for the muppet they are told to vote for… like voting for greedy rae in Kerry or crook lowery in tipp and not forgetting those celebrity tds that are completely useless ..

• Tara 11/06/12 #

Nothing but a hypocrite! Bertie & Co. are still walking the streets, with their huge pensions.. Also, you’d find if it was Enda Kenny, Eamon Gilmore or any other Minister that was caught doing what Wallace did, they’d be given time to speak to The Dail. They’d also carry on in their positions, ignoring calls to resign, without a care in the world, looking forward to their huge pensions.

• I would love it if I could give you 100 likes for that comment! not condoning what he did tho

• Lamb 12/06/12 #

The taxpayer had to make up the shortfall that he underpayed in his taxes. If we uncovered enough guys doing this sort of thing we could start plugging the gap in the budget. I don’t want my taxes paying his pension or his salary… not when he doesn’t pay his way!

• Tara 12/06/12 #

I never said let him away with what he did.. But why should he be punished when the rest of the corrupt, greedy rats are walking free? Its double standards.. Constantly! I mean the absolute hypocrisy of a FF member to come out with this.. They’re all just not right upstairs!

• Barefaced hypocracy of fianna fail aside, can you censure a TD for something they did before they were first elected?

• Sean o fearghaill has said he should resign. Is he himself guilty of something? If not then he has every right to call on his resignation. Yes there is something called guilt by association but that doesn’t mean a person is guilty of a particular crime. Should TD’s stay silent because they belong to one party that were guilty of wrongdoing?

• While he’s at it maybe he could give the Gardai a ring about the 50k Pee Flynn collected but never passed on to the Party? just saying.
      Sorry Declan, but I just can’t take FF seriously when it comes to financial irregularities by association or otherwise..

• FF, just go away please. I’d say they had a grand laugh when drafting this statement.

• Fianna Fail should be banned from running for office for ten years.

• While he’s at it maybe he could give the Gardai a ring about the 50k Pee Flynn collected but never passed on to the Party? just saying.
    Sorry Declan, but I just can’t take FF seriously when it comes to financial irregularities by association or otherwise.

• Judging by the number of likes/dislikes it seems to me that a lot of people have forgiven or forgotten what FF have done to this country. What is wrong with you people?!

• Wallace is stealing from the FF playbook. The one thing that’s different is that he’s admitting to it in public. I’m still wondering whether that’s a belated display of integrity or if he’s giving us the two fingers. Since he’s refusing to resign, I suspect it’s the two fingers.

• There are a lot of older politicians very quiet. Are they also guilty of settling with revenue and defaulting? Maybe they have settled with Anglo and defaulted? Then again maybe they bought shares kin aib and defaulted on their loans to AIB but never paid – just offered them a guarentee instead in exchange.

• Micheal Martin expelled from the Party all those condemned by the Mahon Tribunal & referred all cases to the Director of Public Presecutions for further comment (in stark contrast to FG, which has never dealt with Moriarty att all)
    Martin also called on Lowry to resign after Mahon (in stark contrast to FG, which did not & gave him speaking rights to defend himself, while not giving Mick Wallace the same opportunity)

This call on Mick to resign is perfectly consistent with the Party line.

• Scarr 12/06/12 #

What Wallace did was wrong. But at the end of the day, I would rather have 5 wallaces in there, who fiddled the revenue in order to keep people employed and who has employed many people over the years than any kenny, Healy-Rae, Gilmore, rabbitte, Sherlock, Martin, callally, cowen, haughey, coughlan, lenihan, Flynn, roche, hogan, noonan, harney, ahern

• fianna fails one to talk!

• There’s a lot worse than Wallace in the government. Give the man a break. Instead of declaring a rip off tax, he decided to feed a few families instead. Fair enough he took a payrise and also fattened his sons pockets but be honest, who isnt guilty of being greedy at some stage during the course of our lives? The only reason he isnt allowed to speak is because he can point out the real criminals in Leinster house and they dont want that to happen in the public eye. In a way he was wrong doing what he did but also he was doing right by feeding his staff’s families instead of giving taxes to an already greedy and corrupt government.

• if i had a business and i paid over 10 million in tax to a corrupt country lead by cronies i would of done the same thing. i don’t care what any of ye lick-holes say

• Ah cop yourselves on you bloody muppets VAT is the crime, a complete rip off, fair play to you Mick, and all you gobshi…. whining about the law, these so called laws were written by the same FF/FG/LAB/GP bast**ds that sold us down the river.

• And how many you ever done a nickser? I bet you did tell revenue about it now did you?

• Typical sly, sneering, sneaky politicians all sticking the boot in when a man is down.

• He should have paid revenue and possibly sent suppliers to the wall causing more unemployment ???

• mick for taoiseach!!! fight the power. shine on you crazy diamond!

• This guy has no respect for his … he should be shot

Add New Comment