TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 18 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Fine Gael, Sinn Féin in war of words over Dessie Ellis claims

FG chairman Charlie Flanagan said Dessie Ellis’s refusal to discuss British claims that he was involved in IRA murders were “utterly disgraceful”.

Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

A WAR OF WORDS has broken out between Fine Gael party chairman Charlie Flanagan and Sinn Féin’s Dessie Ellis over claims that the latter was involved in up to 50 IRA murders.

Communications between Downing Street and the British embassy in Washington, released yesterday under the ’30 year rule’, claim that Ellis had been linked by “forensic evidence to some 50 murders” in both the Republic and Northern Ireland.

Sinn Féin immediately responded to the claims, published in the Irish Independent, as an “Indo smear” and said Ellis – a veteran councillor from Finglas who was elected to the Dáil last year – had defeated the “trumped-up charges” in court.

Flanagan said Ellis’s dismissive attitude towards the reports – having told the Independent that he “wouldn’t be bothered” commenting on the British allegations – was “utterly disgraceful”.

He said Ellis’s response “shows a clear disregard not only for the position Deputy Ellis holds but also for the victims of our troubled past and the families they left behind”.

Flanagan pointed to suggestions from Gerry Adams for the establishment of an Independent Truth Commission as a method of re-examining past elements of the Northern Irish conflict.

He said:

If this is to be the case, let Dessie Ellis be the first person to be brought before it, so that questions can be answered in respect of the 50 people murdered, to which the British Government suggests he is in some way linked.

‘Shadowy forces’

Ellis responded by noting the importance placed by Flanagan on what he described as “unsubstantiated claims of British intelligence – the same shadowy forces who murdered so many Irish citizens over the years”.

“I’m sure that it hasn’t escaped Deputy Flanagan’s attention that I was cleared by a British court of these trumped up allegations which begs the question as to where he is coming from,” the Dublin North-West TD said.

“Mr Flanagan mentions without any hint of irony the need for an Independent Truth & Reconciliation Commission, despite the fact that it is Sinn Féin who have led such calls and despite the fact that Mr Flanagan’s government has done nothing at all to support the establishment of such a process.

“I enthusiastically support the establishment of an Independent International Truth and Reconciliation Commission to deal with the legacy of conflict in Ireland,” Ellis said.

I hope Charlie Flanagan will follow up his new found support for such a process with positive action to pressurise his colleagues in government to act on this.

Ellis, who said he was “very proud of my involvement in the republican struggle over the years”, was sentenced to 10 years in prison in the 1980s on charges of possessing explosives.

He skipped bail after his arrest in 1981 and fled to New York, where he was arrested in 1982, prompting the communication between the UK’s Washington embassy and the Foreign Office in Whitehall.

Ellis was extradited back to Ireland where he served his ten-year sentence in Portlaoise Prison, only to then be faced with a British arrest warrant upon his release. He unsuccessfully fought against extradition to Britain but was acquitted of any further charges.

Read: Sinn Féin TD Dessie Ellis rejects allegations of involvement in 50 IRA murders

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (111 Comments)

• Will Flanagan ask Kathleen Lynch for a statement on Larry White?

• Any one hear of the Good Friday agreement , we have to stop living in the past , I am not a SF voter but what about all the other TD M Wallace ,M Lauery and so on .We could fill mountjoy with all the bent ones over the years

• Totally agree. I’m not a SF supporter, but what you say is right. As a nation, we passed the Good Friday Agreement and as such agreed to try and understand what and why both sides of the conflict did what they did, and also agreed to accept these people as upstanding citizens going forward beyond the GF Agreement signing. Unless Dessie Ellis did something illegal post the signing of the agreement, then this is all hot water!!

• Agree Finbar but if they do set up a truth commission the first name on that list should be Brian cowen followed by Bertie ahearn ,

• So should Dev have been elected or Collins ?? They both had blood on their hands . Definatly not a SF supporter but he is elected to office and has nothing to answer until new evidence can be produced.
    FG looking to deflect the country from there own affairs again

• I’m sick to death of people using the argument of comparing Collins or de Valera to the IRA bombing campaign in Northern Ireland. It’s completely inaccurate The key difference between the IRA in the Troubles and the IRA in the War of Independence was that during the War of Independence they had the democratic backing of the vast majority of all of Ireland. They were the military force that represented the first Dáil- of which its members were elected. It is this that in respect legitimised (as opposed to justified) their actions, in contrast, IRA during the Troubles which had no democratic support from either North or South.

• Forcing a people into a country they don’t want to be part of is terrorism/tyranny. I would love to see a United Ireland and am no fan of Loyalism but that doesn’t justify a terrorist campaign. If the majority of people in NI wish to remain part of the UK that is their right. Comparing Collins to terrorists is just insulting/degrading his name. Sinn Fein love dwelling into the past when it suits them, when it comes to their past everybody needs to “move on”. What a load of BS.

• they are already in Ireland.
      the border that partitions our country, was carefully drawn up on the basis of a secterian headcount, so that there would be a 60/40 Protestant / Catholic – Unionist / Nationalist ratio within its borders

• Michael that is already understood and it doesn’t justify mass murder of innocent people. “this is a Catholic state for a Catholic people”, giving the Roman Catholic Church a superior position, and burning down Protestant orphanages is sectarian as well. Regardless of it being gerrymandered originally (for fears of persecution by Catholics which is understandable as Southern Protestants were persecuted after independence) the people of Northern Ireland have a right to decide their own future. There was no “war” like Sinn Fein claims it was a terrorist organization (who weren’t backed by the majority North or South) vs. the British state. It wasn’t the Irish state vs. the British state and the NI-IRA did not have a backing by the Irish government to savagely murder people.

• @ Erin Go Bragh:
      the border was never set up as you suggest, (& it was set up against the wishes of the Irish people as expressed in the 1918 election), to provid,“a Catholic state for a Catholic people”,
      on the contrary – it was set up so that there would be a 60/40 Protestant / Catholic ratio within the Six Counties, & as expressed by one of the leaders of the time ‘A Protestant state for a Protestant People’, & it operated in that fashion for some decades.
      the 26 Counties was & still is, just the remaining part of Ireland.

there is no one ‘justifying mass murder’, on this thread –
      there has been violence from both sides & by he British state, in the course of the recent conflict in The Six Counties.
      the freedom from British rule, which we in this state enjoy, was not achieved without a share of violence either & our heroes of the 1916/21 period were designated as terrorists, by the British state.
      & let’s not forget either that some of the most dastardly deeds of the 20th century in Ireland, were carried out & supported by those who governed this state for its first decade – the grandpas of those, like Charlie Flanagan, who hold power today.

• Mr. O’Toole where was I denying any of this? You’d have to be a moron to not know that Catholics were treated like second class citizens in the North and that it was gerrymandered the state of Northern Ireland giving Protestants a special position. Valera and Craig were both bigots; Collins and Carson did not have such a narrow mindset about this is a Protestant or Catholic state crap. Its also very evident that a large minority of loyalists have an extremely supremacist/racist mindset. It’s beyond me what they are loyal too as they don’t even understand basic geography of what Britain actually is, an island comprised of England, Wales, and Scotland or seem to acknowledge how many of “their” Queens cousins are Catholic. They are British Citizens but they are not a British people since they are not from the island of Britain regardless of a 500 year old ancestry link from the Lowlands of Scotland. I have no difficulty understanding all the injustices, atrocities, or whatever done to BOTH, Catholics and Protestants. People from both sides in the North suffer from the victim complex and they justify mass murder when it suits them. The reality is that over 75% (at least) of NI want to remain part of the UK. It’s time to take the hint and move on and start worrying about ourselves down South. A United Ireland will eventually come but healing needs to take place first from all the terrorism by the so-called “IRA” and it’s Loyalist Terrorist counterparts.

• The so-called “terrorists” of the South had a majority backing; while actual terrorists in NI didn’t have a majority backing from either the North or South. Did they “free” the North in the end? No. Was the loss of life worth it? No.

• @ Erin go Bragh:

“The so-called “terrorists” of the South” ??
      there was no “south” prior to 1922.
      the ‘terrorists’ as designated by the British state of the 1916-22 period were fighting for the ending of British rule in Ireland – all 32 counties of it.

“actual terrorists” ??
      like your “so-called terrorists”, your ‘actual terrorists’ were designated as such by the British state too.

did they “free” the North in the end?
      your “so-called terrorists” didn’t free the “north” either,
      but both sets of …. ahem …… ‘terrorists’ advanced the freedom of Ireland from British rule,
      & the campaign of the late 20th century virtually ended the ‘Protestant State for a British People’

“Was the loss of life worth it?”
      life was lost both in attempting to maintain, & to end British rule in Ireland.

• On Please ! Let it go . He did the time for the crimes he was convicted of and was acquitted of others referred to in these papers !
    As if Finn Gael can afford to take the high road on morality in this country . They are merely trying to deflect away from the mess they have left ordinary people to stew in . This TD is following Kenny’s ex ample of hitting out at Sinn Fine every time they ask a civil question in Dáil Éireann !
    Whether I or you agree with this mans politics or past is irrelevant. He is a democratically elected representative of the people in his area .

• Itscalm 29/12/12 #

So Charlie Flanagan and Fine Gael,are calling for a truth commission into all the deaths from all sides?
    I’m all for that,but no wonder the British are against it.

• FFG/Labour have zero intention in making a formal stand on the Truth and reconciliation program. They need to keep people in the dark, and use the War in the North, as a political weapon, so that they can deflect any answer about current Government performance.

• Cal you seem to be surrounded by champagne swigging blueshirts. Watch out now they and pseudo republican FF might bring back hanging or execution to stop you telling the truth to the people about the war in the north and the truth that dessie Ellis along with being a patriot is also a brilliant on the ground working class TD. Careful now, down with that sort of thing. :)

• Why do FG always go on about SF’s past? Do they know that we live in the year 2012, soon to be 2013 and not 1970-1980. Same with labour. And their shite don’t stink?

• At least dessie was cleared in court I don’t think the rotten bastards that did and still are robbing and destroying our country could stand up on court and be cleared of anything that goes for Bertie and biffo

• Back under your rock Flanagan.

Deputy Ellis was acquitted in a British court. Is there new evidence?? Didn’t think so.

• Petr, read Kevin’s comment below. Once again your making excuses for some people and out right condemning others?
      I’ve no idea who’s guilty but all those murders up north and no one is guilty of any crime.
      What kind of society do you want to live in?

• Declan — I read it; and I am aware of the details anyway. Thing is, he was acquitted, and that is the bottom line. If you are aware of new evidence that would convict him then please share it with the waiting world.

I’ve no idea who’s guilty but all those murders up north and no one is guilty of any crime.

What are you on about? Lots of people have been convicted for killings and varies other offences down the years.

• People in glass houses should never throw stones ….eh Charlie, fair few history skeletons in FG too …..
    http://flag.blackened.net/revolt/freeearth/fe2_ireland.html

• It’s really sad that some of us still have this tribal mentality where we will defend murderers, serial killers, terrorists, etc. just because they are our “own”. People talk about equality yet when the Queen visited there were signs saying “Britain out of Ireland” that had Britain in Orange. Bigoted much? We alienate our own Protestants who are happy to be Irish and promote this overly selective “real” Irish agenda. If one actually read Irish history without blinders they would reject such notions of “real Irish”. Out flag is symbol of tribal sectarianism, the “Gaelic” tradition and “Orange” tradition? HUH? If being Irish is based off of hating things and further promoting this “victim” mentality then I am truly ashamed to be Irish.

• What sort of Irish man are you, you are talking shit. You type of people sicken me, you have all the answers, you know exactly who is to blame, who is right and who is wrong! The troubles was a war and people died, it happened in other countries for centuries, and I’m not sorry for saying that I think it was a just cause. It’s the way I wax brought up and I don’t apologise for it, Ireland should be one and some day it will and I for one will always argue the likes of you about that, tiocfaidh ar la!

• Smells like a FF/FG smear, wasn’t Ellis extradited & stood trial in the UK in relation to these matters, so the fact he was acquitted is not good enough?…it was good enough for Haughey and Blaney in 1970

• How quickly FG forget the ‘terrorism’ of Big Mick when their political pants catch fire.

Double-think outbreak on Animal Farm. Some are more terrorist than others.

• This story isn’t even leading on the Irish Independent that most virulently anti Irish Nationalist or Republican tabloid today. It is a lame duck news story to fill a quiet week.

• “He successfully fought against extradition to Britain and was ultimately acquitted of any further charges.” – This is incorrect. He did not succeed in his fight against extradition. He was extradited. His legal defense was over a legal loophole in the Legal System and was therefore acquitted. He was the first person to be extradited from the Ireland to the UK under the 1987 Extradition Act. He went on hunger-strike in protest at efforts to send him to the UK but was extradited in the sixth week of his fast.

I find it very odd, to say the least, that someone who is elected to the houses of government has no regrets and claims to be “proud” of his involvement. He made bombs which targeted innocent children. He made bombs that ended up killing people, innocent people, in a fight for a United Ireland. He has blood on his hands and was convicted and jailed for explosives in Ireland, despite skipping bail. He has admitted to making the bombs, was convicted of such, admitted to being within the IRA and very high up – but is mortally offended at the mere suggestion that he was ever in any way involved in anyone’s death?! Did he make some sort of bomb that didn’t kill people? The mind boggles.

Why in the name of god do allow such criminals be elected? Now I know the Shinnerboat will arrive and say this and current governments are a shower of criminals who mislead and lied to the Irish people. But neither of those were convicted criminals and heavily involved, high up in fact, within the IRA. This type of criminal should not be in the Dail. Its completely different.

• Pesky democracy. Sometimes people you don’t like get elected.

• Thanks for the correction Kevin, I’ve amended the piece now.

• I voted for Dessie and I’ll vote for him again. There are plenty of Irish and British politicians both past and present who were involved in the struggle for and against Irish sovereignty. It was war. War is a dirty business. Seems the only people unprepared to move on are the Irish government, certain sections of the media and supporters of parties afraid of Sinn Féins electoral gains.

• @ Kevin O’Sullivan
      tou ask -
      “Why in the name of god do allow such criminals be elected?”

perhaps – because
      a significant proportion of the electorate who participat in our democratic elections, aren’t ‘west brits’, like you ??
      & others look to the present & the future, rather than dwell on & exploit what from the past suits their agenda.

• Killing and designing bombs designed to kill innocent people is a much worse crime than anything our politicians has committed

• Andrew
      Good man! I’m sure you thoroughly reviewed his suitability for the role of TD before you voted and took that into account together with the skills he would ultimately bring to the job. Did you have any thoughts as to how a television repair man could contribute to our Legislature or was it his Bomb making skills that you believed to be of value in Leinster House?
      Perhaps you reviewed his educational background and considered that important?
      Andrew ………..?

• Smarmy git Michael

• MVM 29/12/12 #

@michel j..what qualifications do any of them have enda was a primary school teacher can’t see how a teacher could be qualified to run a country

• So there are types of criminals so … there’s the convicted type and the type who claims to starve and drive people to suicide … by their actions …. any idiot that thinks their is no blood on our current blueshirt and champagne socialist mafia is just that a total and utter idiot ….

• If you seen the work Dessie done in Dublin NW over the years as a councillor you would know the reason why Dessie was voted in as a TD

• Kevin , if you take the time to really study your history , you will discover that if one took the people out of The Dail with either a Republican / IRA , or for that matter a Fascist tradition ( FG )
      that there would not have been many seats occupied at all over the years from the Dail founding, to today.

Then again , would it be your suggestion that Citizens should not be allowed to utter their choice in the Ballot Box ?

• Michael J, good man yerself. So you’re saying only middle and upper class people should enter politics and not working class? Need to maintain the status quo eh Michael? Teachers and accountants don’t have the best history in leading our country either Michael, best remember that.

• “Why in the name of god do allow such criminals be elected? ”

kevin, the biggest act of criminality befalling our people by elected representatives is being carried out by members of your political party, fine gael, who are stealing billions of peoples money, committing a generation to poverty, and handing it to unsecured bondholders.

• Bruce 30/12/12 #

Superbly put. No further comment required.

• Paul
      I’m sure he done great work. But we should question his intelligence as the bomb making material found in his possession was under his bed! Jeez what an idiot.

• 10 year sentence for possession of explosives and now he sits in the dail. Is it any wonder this country is in the dog house when we vote criminals into office.

• I thought once your sentence has been served you are free to re-integrate into society?

• @ Barry Doyle:
      take a look at the ….. ahem . “criminals”, voted into office by the CnaG/FG voters over the years,
      wonder does that explain why “this country is in the dog house”, mr Doyle ??

• Werry Vunderbarry…

..so now it was SF, and not FF and the PD neoliberal flying squad viral vector, that sank the country into the manufactured debt, now being copperfastened with a pink Labour collar ‘n’ cuffs on the viceregal blueshite coagulation.

And I says to meself…what a wonderful world..

• MVM 29/12/12 #

Bla bla bla Sinn Fein done this and done that..they were Ireland’s first government,faught for freedom as did others who are considered modern day heros like nelson Mandela..using a weak argument like this is a political joke with us being money in troubles.if he is guilty he will be tried in court and sentenced but until then its just a rumour.
      Ever since ends had a go at Adams a few weeks ago over the IRA(enda in government with eamon Gilmore former IRA member) all the little fg’s singing the sane tune

• I agree entirely , one doesn’t have to dig too deep to find FG ‘s Fascist past , where they fought to maintain Franco’s right wing fascist monarchy & raised their own Private Fascist Army here in Ireland , wearing their Blueshirts (hence their nickname ) together with their Nazi salute !
      The truth in the history of most Democracies, is that many of the eventual Leaderships in many Parties in the World , have been involved prior, in a military way .
      Many of the US Presidents would have had a similar past.

Cut the nonsense Labour/FG & get back to dealing with the real problems in this Country!
      Ye have made enough of a liathroidi of the job to date !

• Bruce 29/12/12 #

Noddy, sentence served or not, it is still fair to question the caliber of individual elected to the dail.

• Mr doyle it’s muppets like you that has this country the way it is! Voting the same wallys into power every time! If you don’t support Sinn Fein well it’s obvious you voted for the traitors that are in power! Do you reckon your vote was worth it? The state the country is in!

• The British had forensic evidence against the Birmingham Six also.

• What about the idiots who gave away our sovereignty and those who continue to back that policy all without the backing of the people. I have little time for the shinners but it really annoys me to hear fine gealers or fianna failers and their cheerleaders taking the high moral ground. Hypocrisy of the usual high order.

• Look Charlie Flanagan or most FG TD’s couldn’t care less what Ellis did or didn’t do. If Charlie had to polish Dessie’s shoes for a decade every day to stay on the gravy train then he would no problem. If they needed his vote to be in power, then they would offer Ellis the earth.

This is just a game to them.

• How many FG or FF TDs have a record of terrorism? You say forget it…let it go! Say that to the orphans and widows created by the SF revisionists.

• Hibernia
      Sinn Fein voted for the Bank Bailout.

• Michael, that is an out an out lie … FF & their fellow financial terrorists FFG, are the only two parties in the Dail to have voted in favor of the final bill proposed to the Dail in support of the Bailout. Labour refused to vote for it based on a technicality. SF voted aginst it, after FFG/FF moved to ensure that the bond-holders would also be bailed out (the first rev of the bill, advocated only guaranteeing individual savings up to 100,000). Its is this type of sick FFG BS that is causing people to turn to SF. The lies and hypocrisy is becoming more and more glaringly obvious to all people.
      Be a man, like you name-sake was, and admit you either deliberately lied, or that you didn’t know the truth before you made your comment.

• You are a lier Michael. SF did not endorse that perpetual straight jacket on the Irish people. It was FF supported by ffg.

• Deputy Ellis was acquitted in a british court. In a time where the British police happily fabricated evidence – with still no repercussions. Why would this claim have any weight?
    I sense a poll about to come out with SF on the increase.

• Which is why I think FG are sooooo jumpy! Loosing votes by the bucket load. The way I see it, voters are going to go back to FF, or switch to a party that has yet to get a go, either way FG are loosing votes. And that’s good enough for me

• If enda says all FG lad,s are good he must be telling the truth now musend he , he never tells lies

• British Justice was always a justice system to be trusted along with the Propaganda its media published regards conflict in the North…

No Evidence = Innocence in any Man’s Lingo… Internment-Diplock Courts the list goes on British Justice real pillar of Truth. NOT.

• “Sinn Féin is united and strong. Sinn Féin is looking to the future. Sinn Féin is making a stand. The British army, the heavy gangs, the old Orange regime and slibhin governments here could not break us. Censorship, the prisons and the death squads could not break us. And no amount of black propaganda in the Tony O’Reilly press will break us either.” – Gerry Adams TD

• Groannnnnnnnnnnnnnnn, I wouldn’t even give FG the credibility of replying. They lied to get into power, are lying now and screwing the taxpayer. They need to be wiped out, with FF/Labour/SF and the Socialists. All past their sell-by-date, out of touch and out of ideas!

• What about Paddy Ashdown the X SAS soilder that was a British MP. Ooops sorry all them are saints.

• All in the past, Kenny and Gilmore with guns to the heads of old and sick all in the name of bond holders, it’s time FG shout the F–k up and do the jobs the very much over charge for, time will show the real ba—-ds in this country.

• Julie 30/12/12 #

This is all just a stunt to try knock back the ever growing support for Sinn Fein .
    The corrupt guys want to hold onto their salaries for a bit longer. Irish people are waking up to yer crap. Why don’t they just stop with empty accusations and do as Gerry Adams has said and keeps saying lets have the troubles investigated properly, no this government won’t they don’t care about victims of the troubles, they didn’t back then and they don’t now. There just afraid of a party who will be fair to all Irish citizens, cuz they might have to live on a normal wage instead of Enda Kenny being paid more than barrack o bama! Disgraceful

• He served time for one crime. If there is forensic evidence linking him with other crimes, he should be tried, especially if these took place in the Republic. The Good Friday Agreement should not be used as some sort of cloak by those wishing to avoid conviction.

• All the bullshit apologists and they did it too brigade. What kind of people are you? The man, and others like him, sit in our Dail and are responsible for legislating the law of the land. It’s time Mary Lou, Doherty etc ditched these clowns before they are too badly tainted. SF have some rising stars but are overshadowed by the bogeymen. Then again, a party that dictates its members living standards and has never had a leadership battle is more akin to a dictatorship. Must be afraid to heave…

• Stephen Kearon is conspicuous by his absence from this debate, must be on a winter sun break, it’s well for some who have income from multiple sources including web sites & the Wicklow port job Séamus Brennan gave him before he jumped from the sinking fianna fail ship with the other rats.

• The rats like good ole spider web spinner Kearon are starting to take up spaces on the ship again for one last shot at the honey pot. They are building up their ranks of corrupt immoral minions once more.

• It is astounding that in this country you can not attain a Dail seat (or you lose it) if you’re declared bankrupt.

However, possession of explosives (for a peaceful bombing campaign I’m sure), 2 extradition requests, 10 years in prison ….. totally ok.

• What’s your point it was war shit happens in war.

• Here’s comes the champagne swigging pseudo republican, socialist, capitalist, ill say anything to get your vote Fianna Fáil corrupt minion kicking a great man when he’s down.

Hark back to FF’s past. Some good men passed through its ranks right up to the 60′s. then people like yourself and your forebears got involved for personal gain. Remember your party is responsible for many murderers excluding in this instance good republicans in the 40′s, the murders are speak of are in people who committed suicide because FF robbed them of house, business and savings. Robbed, thieved, lied. That to me is worse that bring accused of a crime by a securocratic state know for lying and collusion.

Now get back in your box or back to you lair u hideous Fianna Fáil creature.

• Bombing students is a very noble way in going about war.

@Ollie, you know absolutely nothing about me or the economic crisis by the sounds of it. Grow up, you accused me of kicking a “good” man while he’s down while simultaneously trying to make political hay out of Suicide.

• I see I’ve touched a nerve. I see your commenting on readies past while not answering and acknowledging Fianna fails militant past.

Those on the FF executive (which may include you) should be locked up for life for murder, corruption and perjury because of all the denials down the years. I have no problem with Sean lemasses past but I have a problem with FF post 70′s past. Corrupt and bereft of dignity you all are.

• *Dessies

• I know your party signed away our economic sovereignty and condemned generations of children to debt burdens. Who nationalised the bank debt mr Ryan?

• Deflect away, you’re so far off the point that putting bombs outside shops is a bad thing. Lets put out the point “ye rooned the country” line!

Remember, Fianna F?il was responsible for the looming US fiscal cliff, as well as the issues in Greece, Spain, Portugal etc.

Your over simplifying things.

• What an insightful retort Mr. Ryan. Full of denial and Mish mash. Im afraid it is too late for you and your party. It along with you are rotten to the core.

Good day to you kind sir.

• You can argue this all day but for a second just stop and imagine an Ireland with Sinn Féin in power… Shudder.

• You must be a banker then.

• Brilliant Colm. He must be a big landowner or a banker or maybe a politician probably from FF. :)

• Yes, bravo Colm. You truly are a sparkling wit. You should sheath that razor sharp banter for fear of hurting my delicate sensibilities.
      Obviously anybody who doesn’t believe in “another way” with Sinn Féin and Éirígí must surely be a profligate banker swilling expensive port and puffing Cuban cigars?
      I suppose if I was as intellectually blessed as you and was able to draw such insightful conclusions from a short comment I’d say you were a crusty humanities student grinding your way slowly through an arts degree angry and bitter at those naughty professionals, grumbling away in some corner and just dying to rise up and take to the streets.
      However that, like your dumba$$ conclusion, would be complete boll*cks since I don’t know you from Adam and would just be leaping to stupidity and being a complete t*t.

• Shinner Bots are out in force today.

• The shinners and there west Brit argument absolutely ridiculous they will never accept that killing innocent people was wrong, we had to gain revenge because the British was killing us this type of pure nonsense, an eye for an eye never solved anything and never will but will they ever apologise sadly no because Sinn Fein don’t know what the truth is.

• Pseudo republican Fianna failer who doesn’t know his history. Many many Republican FF (now gone, including my great grandad) stored weapons, provided safe houses and fed the likes of dessie and martin ferris on the run. They sold and bought Easter lilies for fund raising and stood with men being spat at in the street. Why? Because they also lived in a time where they were once oppressed and terrorised. They knew what our brothers and sisters in the north were going through to achieve an equal footing in society. The right to live and to self determination.

Have You forgot great men like dan Breen, ernie omalley, frank eiken, all SF then FF. Then the likes of haughey, pee Flynn, Bertie, cowen, Lawlor, Martin (loitering around empty car parks with businessmen) I could go on forever, got involved in the FF party and not only wrecked it but wrecked and defiled our own society. imagine a republican party colluding with the ruc, British to murder and censor republicans that fought the same fight as Aiken. All this was done from auspices of the Galway races champagne tent.
      Frank was as battle hardened as dessie. Deny this golden? Also deny FF role in covering up abuses of the church? Good man dev and his successors.

I’m a republican and I salute men that had to resist oppression in order to give people basic human rights.

join SF. we will enact policies that have equality and fairness for the people of Ireland at heart.

• Those equating the actions of Mick Collins with Ellis is stomach churning! The Shinners are out in force today backing their guy and trying to infect people with their selective amnesia! In fairness to SF communications….they really can fire up the troops when needed! Oops…sorry….bad pun!

Add New Comment