TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Interview: ‘We’re mourning a Republic we never had’ – Fintan O’Toole

Our system has made Irish people feel ashamed, the author and journalist tells TheJournal.ie ahead of a series of ‘state of the nation’ debates.

Fintan O'Toole
Image: Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland

Ahead of his appearance in Four Angry Men, Fintan O’Toole spoke to TheJournal.ie’s Christina Finn on how Ireland has never really acted like a Republic and why we need to focus on one problem at a time.

THE GOVERNMENT HAS a ridiculous sense of reputation, but they misunderstand what reputation is actually all about. There is far more to be said for a reputation of making a stand and standing up for our own destiny, than being passive – which is the best way to describe them.

Why aren’t we standing up more? For people as a whole, the system has made people feel ashamed of themselves: that we all partied too much, we crossed the line and now we have to suck it up and take the medicine. Of course it is completely untrue. It is due to the beneficiaries of the property bubble, this small, elite group of people; but they have managed to convince people that they should all feel guilty and don’t have a right to do anything about it. Another factor is that we had civil conflict on the island for some time before and people are wary of social unrest, for good reasons.

We are being exploited and being made to feel like we have no right to say anything about it, we should just put up and shut up.

The Republic

One of the reasons that we are all feeling despondent is because there is a certain type of mourning going on – ‘we had a Republic and now it’s gone’. But actually, we never had a republic. There isn’t any evidence that says Ireland has ever really acted as a republic would. One might think it is because we are a relatively newly-declared republic, historically. However, it is often the new societies that set up new institutions and are full of energy and actually do try and create something good out of a crisis.

Perhaps due to the Civil War, which followed our declaration, the national movement was very divided at the beginning. It had a particularly tough birth and then we basically adopted British institutions and never really went through the process of thinking for ourselves and about what way we wanted to govern ourselves.

The political system here pre-dates the state, so we are unusual in that regard. What happened was we had different people, but we were operating under the same system. The machine is very out-dated and very anti-republican. The whole basis is we as a people, are not entitled to anything. We are told – you are a client for me, the middle man and I will get stuff for you in return for your vote. Irish politics still works that way, making it very powerful. Once we have that attitude, then we won’t be operating like a republic.

The whole sense of public life, of how people relate to the state, is seen as ‘you are dependent on the middle men’ – who are in fact, pretending that they are getting stuff for you when they are not. We don’t operate under a proper parliament in that way, because parliamentarians are still pandering for votes.

‘We need a win’

If I could do something tomorrow, then I would think about focusing on one thing. We need to win one: the public need a win, even just to know that they have power. It would make it easier for us to start moving in the  direction of a Republic; as in, if we win one, then we can actually achieve something. I think we should look at what is the biggest outrage at the moment – which in my opinion is the promissory note for Anglo Irish Bank.

People find it hard to believe that we are doing this. We are going to take €3.5 billion out of the budget. We are going to have more tax rises and cuts and then we are going to put €3.1 billion into a black hole in March for the promissory note. We were told we had to keep the bank alive as it might damage our reputation, but the bank is dead. This is the single biggest absurdity and obscenity.

I hope we can focus on one issue, like this, and we need to do this before March. We need to make a declaration as citizens that we are not going to pay it. We only hear about the payment the week it is due to be paid, and then it is too late, we need to move on this now. I think if we concentrate on that and we get enough people to say that they are instructing the government not to pay it, then I think it would have a huge effect and force the government to respond.

Fintan O’Toole is an author and assistant editor of The Irish Times. He will be taking part in Four Angry Men - Debate the State of the Nation, which will examine the current crisis and debate where we should go from here. David McWilliams, Fintan O’Toole, Shane Ross and Nick Webb will debate the issues with Olivia O’Leary. The debates will take place at Cork Opera House, Sunday 25 November, 7.30pm; Bord Gáis Energy Theatre, Dublin, Tuesday 27 November, 7.30pm and the Radisson Hotel, Galway, Sunday 2 December, 7.30pm.

Read next:

Comments (61 Comments)

• very interesting article,and I agree with most, but I don’t think our government behaved passively. it was more insideous than that. they were greedy, self serving, back scratching nepotists in bed with the banks and entirely complicit in this countries down fall.

• I don’t feel guilty. I feel angry.

And I want my revenge!

• Agreed Creamy, so Fintan has given this interview to promote the up coming “4 angry men show”. Having just heard of this, when you follow the link you find its a debate that costs ?25 pp to attend. Whats the point of this if they are not going to do something about the issues they highlight? If its simply a talking shop then it stinks of them cashing in on peoples frustrations.

• im with you.lets go.

• I can’t but agree with Ronan. Funny isn’t it, how all of the people O so critical of the government have no problem charging plenty selling books, talks, conferences, and now theater pieces at nice little prices for themselves. Its all part of the bigger problem of so many people in Ireland feeling an entitlement to gouging everybody else so they can basically cream off profit, preferably while doing as little work as possible. I think its a national scandal that unearned income is tacitly taxed at a lower rate than earned income – that is the real inequality in Ireland and yet we are still all caught up in bondholders, neg equity, tracker v variable etc. Nobody sees the wood for the trees.

• Why don’t these 4 angry men start up a new political party and actually change something instead of talking and moaning about stuff we already know. FG and Labour are doing enough of that as it is. We need intelligent leaders in this country not another talking shop.

• What about DDI ?

• its not the intellect of our politicians even though that lacking its the resolve of the general population that is the core of the problem. This is only partially a republic once every five years the rest of the time its an oligarchy because people dont do enough.

• I think they chickened out on that idea before the last election….we cannot depend on the media types to do this….it’s up to the ordinary citizen

• Alan,
      While I agree with you in some aspects, I think the whole point of these kind of talking shops is to give people the opportunity not just to listen to what they have to say, but to take it in and make their own minds up after that. You can’t knock these people for trying to put an alternative viewpoint out there. The political spectrum on this island has been far too blinkered and needs to be changed, but the political classes are neither willing nor (at this point) able to do that. Face it; if you’ve got a clapped out old banger that keeps on breaking down every other day, you’re not going to hold on to it are you?!

• “Why don’t these 4 angry men start up a new political party and actually change something instead of talking and moaning …. ”
      easy
      because talk is cheap
      & BTW – O’Toole is a bolli*.

• This article is a great read, it puts things into an interesting perspective. I agree, we do need a ‘win’. But, for that we need politicians who aren’t uncharismatic dinosaurs who are just there to get the most for their cronies…

• Ciaran
      There is a slight difficulty with your view but thats perfectly all right unless you are a member of the Extreme Left and that difficulty Is usually referred to as a Democracy.
      Change in the people that form a Government depends entirely on those you elect and the Party system is not going to change any time soon. As for Fintan and his pals well they’re doing very well thank you from all their double jobbing but would only become members of the Dail ” if they could be guaranteed the Balance of power” .
      What a bunch of hypocrites.

• @Garry, spot on, its the electorates fault for electing the scam artist politicians we’ve had for as long as i can remember, this new bunch are the worst yet

• Why haven the details of the night of the Bank Guarantee been released? It is possibly one of the most significant events/days in our nations history and we are kept in the dark. Who was in the room and who forced Lenihan to sign off?

• No one.

• No one forced Lenihan to sign off, he had no problem with it. Lenihan was a nice bloke, a good talker and very convincing. Unfortunately for us he was the opposite as a Minister. Lenihan was made a saint by his death, he would be as reviled as Ahern if he was still alive.

No one forced Lenihan to screw things up to protect the few, he did it willingly and with a flair that no other could have brought. The man was a traitor, that is plain to see.

• United we stand as they say. There’s too much division, factionalism and fraternal groupings in this country. The soccer fan never talks to the rugby fan, the GAA fan is slagged by the FAI fan. Northside versus Southside, Urban versus Rural, Private sector versus Public Sector, Garda versus the public, etc.

All these divisions are exploited and given meaning they don’t have by certain sections of the Irish media who are briefed to encourage division and hostility among the population in an effort to divide and conquer.

Just listen to how Joe Duffy manipulates his callers or how Paddy O’Gorman’s voyeuristic interviews on the Pat Kenny show serve to stigmatize the poor and needy. RTE is a very middle class institution and is a mouth piece for the establishment.

The Independent Newspapers titles are all about sensationalism and division. They focus on negative stories about immigrants and social welfare recipients. They pretend to be the voice of the common man yet are entirely controlled by men who are millionaires and billionaires with very planned out agendas, political and commercial.

We need to unite in strength and lose all these perceived superficial differences and stop being labelled by those who need to box us off into our little sections in order to control us.

• ISBA 25/11/12 #

It is not just as simple as Fintan puts it. Ireland has a massive leadership deficit coupled with a massively flawed culture.
    How / why are we continuing to elect such incompetent parish pump fools to run our country.
    The last government was not the worst in living memory – the present one is – Enda Kenny is an embarrassment, totally out of his depth on virtually all key aspects of our socio economic well being.
    So it is left to unelected, grossly overpaid, disconnected out of touch civil servants to run the country.
    Sadly there appears to be no basis upon which a meaningful platform for change can be created. The good commentators and authors (Fintan included) remain just that – commentators whose views fall on deaf ears in and around Kildare Street.
    The starting point is finding a LEADER and there are no known candidates.

• It’s amazing that Irish people are so willing to be led and so unwilling to take responsibility. The article suggests empowerment and people moan that O’toole wouldn’t take leadership. The article suggests, as individuals taking responsibility and acting like the republic we aspired to be. Yet some of you suggest that journalists and economists should instead enter and perpetuate the failed system that he decries, conditioned sheep not capeable of free thought, you certainly are responsible for where we are and in that aspect it’s not just the elite who hold responsibility for the state of the nation.

• Irish politics is parochial, slap an FF/FG Rosette on a Donkey around election time and it’ll get elected. nnHopefully, generational political swerve will diminish but I’m betting it’ll take another generation. One thing is for sure, Ireland is getting ready for political change and momentum is picking, people are only starting to rub the sleep out of their eyes.nnA rampant overhaul, no demolition and reconstruction of the political and judicial system will take place and hopefully happen outside of the negative big brother influence of the EU.

• I disagree with your view on not changing the political system, Sean. It’s because of the political system that this country is in the mess it’s in right now. The system has never matured since day one and is rotten to the core. It’s the system that attracts the leeches we have there now; salaries, allowances, need I go on?

• Fair enough lads – but why does the public not vote in an alternative? Where is the alternative? Who is dedicated enough to knock on the doors and to go to the funerals to get the votes…..political change in Ireland…?? give it another 50 years…

• ” … never really went through the process of thinking for ourselves and about what way we wanted to govern ourselves.”

True, the 90yo that acts like an infant.

• I’d have to agree.

The Political system here is outdated.

It has failed us once and if we do not change it,our Country will be doomed again and again!

• yes, what is the alternative? perhaps Denis the peasant was onto something with his anarchosyndicalist commune where they take it in turns to be executive officers for a week, whose decisions must be ratified at bi- weekly meetings by a simple majority for internal affairs…… ah if only it were that simple.

• Unusually I find myself agreeing, somewhat, with O’Toole.
    Ireland never really had a republic and has moved further away from republican ideals since the founding of the state.
    The Irish people have every right to protest and should.
    However, protesting in itself will achieve little. Irelands citizens have been increasingly poorly served by the state. By almost every measure the service provided by the state is failing. While the institution increasingly becomes an agency serving the European establishment and banking cartel rather than the people who pay their wages.
    If we want to turn around our fortunes, we need to, as a people, act in our own Interest and stop expecting the government to act in our interest. They won’t.
    We should understand that the state is not the most powerful institution in this nation; society is. Society should not be bending to the will of the state, when the state is acting contrary to the interest of society.
    Two concrete steps for the Irish people to take their destiny into their own hands.
    Pursue Direct Democracy.
    The spontaneous rejection of the Euro by the Irish people. The currency of the European establishment can be printed at will to protect europes banks but not to benefit the citizens of the periphery. Ireland will not return to growth until we adopt a sound currency that cannot be manipulated to benefit France and Germany.

“The people = government doctrine is equivalent to political infantilism – an agreement to pretend that the citizen’s wishes animate each restriction or exaction inflicted upon him. This doctrine essentially makes masochism the driving force of political life — assuming that if government is beating the citizens, they must want to be beaten, and they have no right to complain.” — James Bovard

• The Four Angry Men thing really should be free to attend. They are also four rich men; I’m sure they could forego the few bob so that more people could attend.

• Every election time 2 muggers approach us with smiles. one with chains, one with a hammer. We go with the Hammer guy…he hammers us. The following election we go for the chain guy and he chains us….What do we the the third time? And every other time since the foundation of the state??? We vote inevitably one or the other. We vote for these 2 parties without fail. We get mugged again and again. This is not theory this is fact. Here’s how to change everything, vote an independent and not a party politician into power. Real change doesn’t need words or deeds, just a vote at the ballot box.

• Kieron. Nice enough theory. Only thing is that the independents can hardly agree among common policy and they’re in opposition! Try running a government with 160 egos floating around the Dail….nightmare…

• Agree with Fintan – we need a big win. However, don’t agree when he absolves us all of responsibility. Why has Ireland the highest private debt levels in the eurozone? True, there’s a minority that caused the crash but there’s a lot that rode the wave on the way down. Still, if it sells tickets Fintan, then why not?

• There are two main reasons for the high level of private debt in Ireland.
      The first being dysfunctional monetary policy. Pursuing low interest rates during periods of economic expansion invariably results in an economic boom and bust (ie. a period of high levels of borrowing/consumption). The ECB pursued low interest rates to benefit France and Germany and contrary to the interest of the periphery.
      Secondly, demographics. People tend to have their highest levels of debt in early adulthood (student loans, new mortgages, babies etc). This declines as they grow older. Most entering the black sometime in their middle ages. Ireland has the youngest poulation in the Eurozone.

• O'Reilly 25/11/12 #

So what you’re saying Sean is that people took advantage of low interest rates and stretched themselves? So we’re on the same page then.

• Not everyone took advantage of those low interest rates.. But we are all paying the price aren’t we?

• O'Reilly 25/11/12 #

That’s right Shamti. We’re all paying. But at least you accept that many did…

• Some did..
      Some went mad – some lived well beyond their means (forking out a few million for fireworks at your wedding reception anyone?).

Others took out a ridiculously oversized mortgage because there was a lot of encouragement to buy houses and those at the top said it was foolish to think it would all cave in.
      Others took out more moderate mortgages in counties further away from the capital and travelled the equivalent of their working day in their commute – rather than pay the ridiculous prices around Dublin.. Now all their jobs have dried up and they’re trapped where there’s no investment or jobs and the nearest work is even further from where they’re now, essentially, trapped.

Others never took out any big loans, but they’re now paying more tax, with more to come.. Charges too.

The problem is that the ones who really splurged and went mad are still living it up, while the ones who were conned into buying their own homes at greatly inflated prices are the ones getting screwed (and the ones who never borrowed at all).

• Sean O’Keefe – once you remove personal responsibility from the equation all discussion of this sort becomes farcical. Were the institutions bent and throwing out money? Yes, of course. Did too many people take ridiculous risks? Yes they did. Did they read their bank contracts and consider the full implications of what they were signing ? No.

• Dermot the current crisis is by no means unique to this era or Ireland, but mirrors many preceding bubble/busts such as preceding the great depression, the Mississippi, south seas and American continental bubbles. A common theme of all is the irresponsible behaviour of individuals And the irresponsible behaviour of monetary authorities.
      While the vast majority will have no option but to lear the error of their ways, the ecbs delinquency is accelerating as is the ultimate cost of their misadventure.

• What would you do to improve the country?

• Our hope for a whole irish republic died the day Michael collins was shot! Arthur Griffith was another huge loss, the government of the time were only interested in themselves and getting rich!

They gave the church power mick collins would never of given them,

Michael collins ideas were:
    1. Introduce the metric system
    2. Create an export market to Europe
    3. Support catholics in the north of Ireland
    4. Redraw the border with northern Ireland and 3 catholic counties were in the north would be part of the south
    5. The South would never have become a catholic country,

if you look at most Irish patriots most of them were protestant, we today have never honored our patriots
    Casement
    Wolf Tone
    Pearse
    Collins
    Ned Broy

There are GAA stadiums but no real monuments like other countries have! Very sad!

• Almost 100% useless rubbish, make him the head of rte

• Great idea…so let’s everyone of us ask all our friends to write a letter to their local FF and LAB TDs instructing informing them that as a citizen you are instructing them not to pay this !

• Oh great; Fintan going on about shite! Why didn’t he stand for election? Afraid citizens would challenge his ideologies? Problem is Fintan, like most academics & journalists, writing about the universe they create and live in!

• Brilliant

• Paul many thanks for that informed response. Just a quick update, I am involved with trying to engage the Diaspora and voting. Currently I am organizing meetings in Hammersmith and with the generosity of the ICC Hammersmith and Fed of Irish Societies, we hope to get a greater voice for those living abroad or have had to move abroad to pay mortgages and food bills for many families they left behind. I pay my own flights, I arrange meeting rooms, send countless emails and often post work.

On a whole Fintan and his cohort of four angry men are making a hell of a lot of money off people’s unfortunate situation and well incoherent historical revisionism! Every individual struggles in the constraints of a democratic structure! Individualism and choice don’t remedy our national problem either!

As for fence sitting; Fintan he has been perched on the fence for so long, he actually thinks the pen is mightier than the sword! we need ground movements not book selling prose to define our nation! Try it sometime!

• Aodhan, writing and commentary are part of the education of people and introducing new ideas. It’s not all marches and protests. There has to be an argument behind it that can be backed up. Some people are intimidated by academia because they’re not educated past second level. That’s their problem. They can get past that by reading more and educating themselves.

• Education; the system of enlightenment! Truth depends on which way you look at stuff! Believe the less educated you are the more critical you can be; as your objectivity is clearer! Fintan believes through his own discourse he can reveal a new way of the nation being a republic! Individualism will enlighten us and so forth! In fact he wrote a theory, sold some books and then done a show! Remember monorail & the Simpsons?

• Fintan, do you want a job? The pay is good, you can retire early and there’s no accountability for stupidity, incomptence or corrution. Do what you like, say what you like and we’ll love you anyway!

• I saw 4 angry men in Cork last night

I came away thinking Olivia O’Leary was as good as all the men put together.
    To be fair to Fintan O’Toole, Fintan was very passionate about his ideas.
    Dave McWilliams, talks like he’s teaching a bunch of kids in primary school……………. giving them lots of parables. The audience deserved better!!
    Shane Ross and Nick Webb, for me just didn’t quiet ignite…………..
    The part I disliked the most was all 4 so called angry men were plugging a book……………. we are well beyond selling books!!!!!!!!!!!!

We certainly need change, I do hope this forum starts something………………
    but we won’t be heard until this movement hits the streets……………..
    Younger generations need to learn to stand up for themselves, we’ve taken too much for granted……….. feeling partnerships, and Croke Park agreements are going to solve all our problems.

It’s time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Paudie

• Things haven’t changed since the boom. It is still the same old politicians and their friends hovering up anything of value left in the country before they retire. The Croke Park Deal means a lot of people have job security with huge pensions and still get pay increases every year. There are people at the bottom of the pay scale ( the little people like the rest of society) who get a raw deal but the senior people and TDs councillors etc are simply taking what’s left over and cashing in their chips. NAMA are a prime example of a closing down sale. Next are the crown jewels – our forests and other assets. All this is being done to pay the wages of people at the top. Finton is perfectly right but too many votes in our civil service to support his agenda.

• This column is one of the best I’ve read in a long long time on this issue and is a view that I’ve held personally put haven’t been able to put forward as eloquently as Fintan.
    I personally feel that a copy of this column should be posted to every household in the country; therefore giving every citizen the opportunity to read it slowly, take it in, think about it seriously while putting ANY personal political prejudices aside for a while and then make THEIR OWN conclusions.

It’s called common sense.

For me at least; reading this column has proven my personal belief that ALL of the long established political parties are at the end of the day one and the same, do NOT offer anything different and are nothing more than greedy pigs with their snouts stuck collectively in the same trough.

• Solution to all our nations ills: at the next election, vote for local independent candidates.

Add New Comment