You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

need to know

The Evening Fix... now with added Beyoncé confronting herself

Things we learned, loved and shared today….

Jet skis dressed as horses with the riders wearing the colours of the jockey silks due to race in Saturday’•s Grand National at Aintree as part of a race on the River Mersey in Liverpool today. Pic: Bob Collier/PA

HERE ARE THE things you need to know as we round off the day in three easy steps

THINGS WE LEARNED

• The number of people signing on the Live Register fell by over 2,000 in March according to data from the CSO today. The unemployment rate remains at 14 per cent while the figures show that 44 per cent of those signing on have been on the Live Register for a year or longer.
  • Gardaí are now treating the discovery of the body of Deniss Timosejevs in Swords yesterday as suspiscious. The 22-year-old Latvian was last seen walking in Applewood Village on Monday evening.
  • A union representing hundreds of IBRC workers is urging staff at the liquidated bank not to cooperate with NAMA and has warned of ‘further serious action’ in order to resolve a dispute over redundancy terms.
  • The Irish Medical Organisation has voted unanimously against proposals on the successor to the Croke Park Agreement on public sector pay and reform. At its annual conference in Kerry today, members also said they would not be bound by ICTU’s decision if it chooses to accept Croke Park 2.
  • Dublin City Council will restore full water services to the city from tomorrow but some services will have reduced pressure. It comes after water restrictions were in place in the capital over the Easter weekend and much of this week.
  • Mick Philpott, who killed his six children in a housefire last year, has been sentenced to life in prison with a minimum 15 years at a court in Nottingham today. The father-of-17′s wife and a family friend were also each sentenced to 17 years for the killing.

THINGS WE LOVED

THINGS WE SHARED

• These 34 realistic paintings that you’ll never believe are actual paintings.
  • Buzzfeed’s explainer of a rather bizarre interview with Jeremy Irons in which he discusses his views on gay marriage and incest.
  • Finally, this cool new ad for Pepsi in which Beyoncé meets her former selves:

YouTube: Pepsi