TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Former IFA president jailed over electronic election signs

John Dillon refused to pay a court fine after Limerick County Council complained about electronic signs he used last year.

John Dillon gets into a Garda car after his arrest in Co Limerick this morning.

Update, 17.55: Former IFA president John Dillon released from prison hours after arrest>

THE FORMER PRESIDENT of the Irish Farmers Assocation, John Dillon, has been imprisoned over his refusal to pay a fine incurred last year over electronic display signs used in the general election.

Gardaí this morning arrested Dillon over his failure to pay €200 in fines issued by Newcastle West district court last May over his use of electronic road signs to display messages promoting his campaign for a seat in the Dáil.

He had also refused to comply with the court’s order and pay €2,000 in legal costs to cover Limerick County Council’s legal expenses. He had been given three months to pay.

The dispute arose during last February’s election campaign when Dillon erected three electronic traffic signs alongside roads in the county, bearing the slogans ‘Vote No1 John Dillon’ and ‘Dillon Delivers’.

A spokesman for Dillon this morning said the farmer, who led the IFA between 2002 and 2006, had received correspondence from the council during last year’s campaign, saying a “political complaint” had been made about the signs, which the council said represented a traffic hazard.

Dillon had offered to relocate the signs to safer locations, but the council had wanted them removed entirely – something Dillon declined to consider.

‘Stunned and shocked’

“He was feeding the cattle this morning – I was with him – and the Gardaí came along and said they had to take him in,” the spokesman told TheJournal.ie. “He went along with them. They made him change his boots and all.”

The spokesman said Dillon’s friends were “absolutely stunned and shocked” at his treatment, describing the move to imprison him as “an outrageous decision” given “the pressure he’s under, and his health and everything else”.

In a statement issued this morning before his removal to prison, Dillon said his imprisonment was an “outrageous abuse of power” and accused the county council of make it “an offence under the law to irritate their preferred party candidates”.

“I am going to jail today because I annoyed the wrong people,” he said.

I am going to jail proudly because maybe it will take something like this for people to wake up and see that in todays Ireland, it’s one rule for the political cronies and another rule for anybody who stands against them.

The Pallasgreen farmer added: “I will defend my right to free speech and my right to campaign within the limits of the electoral acts”.

“I did not seek nor did I invite this outrageous abuse of power, but I will suffer it gladly if it shows people what an absolute joke the law has become, and how dangerously vindictive the political classes are.”

At the time, the Limerick Leader reported that Dillon had complained that other election candidates, including Michael Lowry and Tom Hayes in the 2007 Dáil election, Mairead McGuinness and Avril Doyle in the 2004 European elections, had also used the signs without punishment.

A spokesperson for McGuinness has insisted that the Fine Gael MEP had not used electronic election signage in the 2004 campaign or at any subsequent time.

Dillon’s spokesman said that “knowing Dillon’s attitude”, he was unlikely to pay the fine despite his imprisonment.

“To think of putting a fella into jail while all the people who have caused the crisis are running around, laughing at us, is outrageous,” he added.

Dillon was eliminated on the third count in the Limerick constituency, having secured 4,395 first preference votes. He also contested the Seanad election in the Agricultural panel, but was eliminated early on having received only 12 first preferences.

Previously: Is this the first song of the election campaign? >

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (78 Comments)

• Seems he is not paying as a matter of principle. This could get interesting….
    What’s a “political complaint” when it’s at home?

• I think that everyone is missing the point in this story. He wasn’t jailed for the non payment of a fine. However that deliberate non payment was in itself a direct challenge to the Authority of a Court.
    Either we believe in the Rule of Law in this country or we don’t.
    Comparisons between this law breaking and what may have been illegal behaviour by other individuals are nonsense.

• Or in other words Peter, the biggest of crimes is the fact of getting caught or the willingness of the state to pursue you. The law is absolute the application of it is sometimes rather suspect though.

• put a man in jail for not paying €2200 in fine/fees – how much will this cost the state?

• He thought like the rest of the politicians that they can do what they like – arrogant gits. Well be should go to jail and be refused the opportunity to run for any political office in the future. These bullies have destroyed our country with their greed and ambition.

• He’ll prob be out tonight as there is no room in the prison …

• The best boost to his future election campaigns he could have only dreamed of!! Thanks Judge! Lulz! He’ll be out in a few days welcomed home a hero in defiance of that lot of political cronies up in Dublin. Dillon Delivers! ;)

• Reg 06/03/12 #

Ah the old, them up there in Dublin excuse. But most of them (TDs) up in Dublin are culchies to start with and it was his own local council that took the case! So do one with your political cronies in Dublin nonsense!

• Is there a Godwin’s Law for country people who immediately put every trouble in the poor benighted lives down to “them lot up in Dublin”?

• I just can’t believe they made him change his boots….the audacity of them not wanting the garda car stinking of cow sh*te. (otherwise I think putting him in jail is unnecessary…smelling cow she*te or not).

• Why weren’t Lowry and the other politicians fined? Sounds like he is right about being shafted by certain political interests. Good on him for standing up for his principles, something you won’t find any members of FG/LAB doing.

• @Desmond…agreed. However at no point does it mention that the use of “electronic signs” is against the law. I am merely setting David straight. He believes that Dillon should have read the rules prior to using the signs. There was no rules against there use.
      Anyway, where Im from these signs are always used to promote local events etc!
      It was the road traffic act that he was charged with from what I am reading.

• Hi Ian .. the use of electronic signs is OK by the side of the road if they are used to warn of traffic problems and dangers. Using electronic signs for advertising, including political advertising, by the side of the road can constitute an offence under the road traffic legislation. Likewise, using corryboard posters at the side of the road must comply with road traffic regulations as to fixings, non-interference or obscuring of traffic signs etc. If other local politicians got away with that before then someone in the local Council should be asked to explain why. However, Dillon clearly broke the law and by refusing to pay the fines and challenge the right of the court to make and enforce its ruling deserves his time up in the ‘joy.

• Ian
      The planning legislation governs things like roadside signs particularly regarding their size, duration of existence, impact of position, lighting, colour, shape etc, on the safety of passing traffic. For example if a proposed commercial or promotional road sign has a resemblance, because of any of the above, to official warning or directional road sinage it is considered illegal and not allowed.

• to the FG member commenting..why are we still wsiting for legislation.to enable fines to be attached to earnings or social welfare payments. does anynody realise the ammount of Garda timevand resources are wasted on collectiin.of court fines..not to.mention.the costs of incarceration. time for legislators to enact “simple” legislation to reform. for the ranter abovecabout public service..the majority of my colleagues and myself left jobs in.private sector to pursue our career choice..those choices were open to.all not just school.leavers. front line service providers are blue in.the face looking for reforms but the silence of the replies is deafening. stop reading sindo.and do.real research

• He has been released..finevand costs paid. Photos will come in.handy for future election campaign though..€2200 not expensive for this kind of publicity…forgive me im.just so damn cynical

• Farmer in disobeying planning law shocker!

• Gerry 06/03/12 #

The ‘Public Service’ is a public money distribution service. Those outside must be kept outside. How many qualified people are kept outside while ‘retired’ former members are re-hired. How many people from the private sector are hired to work in the Public sector, not many. Join from school or f**k off.
    Lifers on increments and no accounability.
    This man would cause trouble by telling the truth. So make it hard for him. Thats whats goin on here.

• The kop 06/03/12 #

i presume that everyone that is condemning this man have paid their household charge etc….otherwise its a bit of the pot calling the kettle stuff…..i won’t condemn in light of the fact that i won’t be paying the household charge or any fines that follow….

• “they made him change his boots” …… Only in Ireland

• It’s a joke seeing a person going to jail for something silly like this when all these fraudsters who have bankrupted the state and scumbags who terrorise people are allowed to walk around free. This country is pathetic.

• He’s an idiot and playing the fool. By using roadside electronic signs to advertise his political campaign he was risking the safety of road users by using signs more typically used to warn of traffic hazards. His action was reckless, irresponsible and potentially very dangerous to road users. So instead of accepting that he was in the wrong, he acts the fool and this consumate insider (the IFA is nothing if not a lobby group for insiders), thinks he can stick two fingers up to the law. Well I hope he’s comfortable up in the ‘joy.

• john joe 06/03/12 #

A text book labour comment if i ever seen it! Alway blaming country people and against the ifa. Sure all unions really are is lobby groups too in that case? What about them election poster that are put on corners are they also not dangerous?

• Paranoid there much john joe?

• Is there a Godwin’s Law for country people who immediately put every trouble in their poor, benighted lives down to “them lot up in Dublin”? Country people are not being blamed, just this jackass who thinks he can put road users at risk becasue he believes he has a right to flout the law and put electronic road signs up at the side of the road. Maybe he thinks his (now truncated) political career is more important than road safety.

• john joe 06/03/12 #

You called the ifa nothing if not a lobby group for insiders. So ur not just on bout one person you have insulted quiet a large organisation

• The IFA IS a lobby group of insiders. The IFA has been right at the heart of government for as long as I’ve been around. There’s nothing insulting about that, it’s a plain fact.

• john joe 06/03/12 #

Insiders? Explain cuz as far as im aware no senior in the ifa can hold any political position

• You don’t need to hold political office to be part of the inner circle.

Seanie didn’t and I presume you would accept he was an ‘insider’?

The IFA are just the CIF with cows.

• He should have been arrested long ago for his inability to communicate as leader of the ifa.

• To be very honest about it, Mr. Dillon has decided to take a stand against crony-ism that is rife within local government. In my part of the country you can put up as many signs on the side of the road advertising whatever you like as long you know the right people. This behaviour that is etched into Irish organisations is why we are in a black hole at the moment.

• A poster boy for non compliance

• Its a sign of the times.

• This is effectively contempt of court. It’s not as if he doesn’t have the means to pay the fine and the costs.

No citizen gets to decide that they can put themselves above our Constitution without there being consequences.

• I feel hes entitle not to pay while the bankers are walking the streets free, the have also broken the constitution and put themselves above the law.

• John Joe – two wrongs don’t make a right.

Because the bankers are not being jailed, does that mean I can come around and burgle your house?

• john joe 06/03/12 #

Sitting back hoping that the government will make it right obviously doesn’t work either taken a stand may. Bit of a strange comparison you have there donal, burgling a house and not paying a fine for using a sign?

• John Joe, fair enough it is an extreme comparison. I used it because you bought in bankers who have nothing to do with this. My point was that I can come around and burgle your house (or do whatever I want) because ‘the bankers are walking the streets free’. Not because this man refused to obey the court.

• Donal
      You are absolutely right. Two wrongs do not make a right and one would hope the banker that broke the law would be pursued with the same vigour as the intruder that broke into your house.

• Funny how these signs are used throughout the country to advertise local and community events, yet Councils have never complained before. This case is totally over the top and costing the State thousands in unnessesary costs.

• Barry 06/03/12 #

Your wrong there,
      If signs are put up on the road side the council must take action if they become aware of the signs or they issue is reported to the council. I’ve reported a number of companys over the years for littering the countryside with large signs with no permission to put them up.

Its a farce to think that putting and leaving signs up is ok, imagine what the countryside would look like if every joe soap did the same and no action was taken.

He’s in the wrong and he doesn’t even have the balls to admit it, it doesn’t matter who reported him he’s still in the wrong.

• skeolawn 06/03/12 #

It’s about time people running for election learned to respect the law of the land. This is exactly the type of attitude that created the situation we’re in today. The law applies to everyone (and yes, I’d love to see it applied vigorously to those FF/Green Party traitors and the banker “elites”)

• Pay the god dam fine, besides making himself out to be a victim

• I hope he has a septic tank charges and household charges that he wishes not to pay. He might get out for 2016.

• Can court not execute amount due, I don’t know, at his salary source etc?

Sound bit excessive to put him in jail, and makes no financial sense, as this will cost us probably more…

• another case of the small ordinary man getting punished by our so called law and justice system while the bankers and wankers that have brought this country to the mess its now in continue to walk free and enjoy the good life unaffected by even the slightest hint of recession that most of us are trying to cope with!

• skeolawn 06/03/12 #

You’re right that there’s an interesting contrast here but … former head of the IFA, running for election… just a small ordinary man? By his contempt for the law of the land he’s displaying the same attitude as the rest of his ilk in the Dail.

• He was released again this afternoon! http://bit.ly/AlyYGN

• Am I the only one seeing the bigger picture here? A political complaint was made so the council called it a safety hazard and told him to take it down. He told them to piss off and rightfully so. If an “electronic sign” poses that much of a danger to a driver, I think you have to question the driver. I drive around electronic signs all day and have no issues. This is nothing more than a clear cut case of abuse of power by the county council. Not uncommon by any means. This guy is now incarcerated due to county council cronyism. I’m no left winger or new age freakzoid by any means, but when you get to the stage of putting people in jail because the county council told you to do something and you don’t agree, it’s getting out of hand.

• Anyone standing for election should read the rules. He seems to think that just because others may have gotten away with it that it’s ok for him to do the same. Pay the fines and take it like a man!

• Electors act allows it the signs he used. I have just read the law around it. The courts changed their tact and deemed them dangerous it seems.

• @Ian .. the Electoral Acts make no mention of using electronic road signs as part of an election campaign. Dillon’s offence was probably under the road traffic acts, i.e. of risking the safety of road users by using electronic signs more typically used to warn of traffic hazards. In which case, his action was reckless, irresponsible and potentially very dangerous to road users.

• @Des…See above, I clicked reply to the wrong comment!

• The kop 06/03/12 #

condemning a fellow Fine Galer David…if only you’d do the same of your leader who lied his way to election….. wow! wonders never cease…

• He should absolutely pay the fines…but so should other politicians that have been using the same methods for the same purpose as Dillon. I can’t just randomly throw up a sign for my business without clearance from the Gardai. A bit of transparency wouldn’t go astray here. I’m from Dillon’s general area and wasn’t swayed by his use of electronic signs to vote for him! :)

• Oops, so did I …

Hi Ian .. the use of electronic signs is OK by the side of the road if they are used to warn of traffic problems and dangers. Using electronic signs for advertising, including political advertising, by the side of the road can constitute an offence under the road traffic legislation. Likewise, using corryboard posters at the side of the road must comply with road traffic regulations as to fixings, non-interference or obscuring of traffic signs etc. If other local politicians got away with that before then someone in the local Council should be asked to explain why. However, Dillon clearly broke the law and by refusing to pay the fines and challenge the right of the court to make and enforce its ruling deserves his time up in the ‘joy.

• Well, putting him in prison at a cost of €205.48 per day for failing to pay a €200 fine makes a lot of sense. Send the sheriff down to seize his car or something if you have to pursue it that vigorously. (And I agree on the point that it’s one rule for some, another for others.)

• Seems to me that anyone posting in favour of obeying the law is getting a lot of red thumbs

And we wonder why our bankers, politicians and developers paid scant regard…..

Our tolerance for illegal Behavior and a rather pathetic ‘ah sure it’ll be grand’ attitude is the underlying problem this country faces.

If you find yourself wanting to red thumb this post – its your fault!

Add New Comment